Majority
After remand, in 2014, the trial court granted Retirees' motion for class certification with respect to the implied contract claim, rejecting the Regents' argument that individualized issues predominate. The court noted the University's statements about retiree health benefits "do not vary materially" and its "conduct was uniform as to Retirees, as a group." Although the Regents began to include "certain disclaimers and caveats" in the 1980s, these statements again "did not vary by individual retiree and generally included the same content" and will therefore "present common legal issues," or could be addressed by creating a "subgroup of Retirees who were hired after the Regents started to use such disclaimers." The court certified a class of retirees and their eligible spouses and dependents. Notice was sent to approximately 9,000 class members.[3]
The trial court subsequently adopted a trial plan proposed by the Regents, which identified the following five issues for resolution: (1) Were the Regents authorized to enter into bilateral contracts governing the employment relationship; (2) Did the Regents enact legislation clearly evincing an intent to create private contract rights; (3) Did the parties' conduct show the formation of an implied contract; (4) Does any such contract include the promise that Retirees would remain in health insurance "pools" with University employees; and (5) Has any such contract been unconstitutionally impaired.
In 2015, following a bifurcated bench trial on the first two issues, the trial court issued a statement of decision finding the Regents were authorized to enter into contracts governing employment relations and enacted legislation evincing an intent to create private contract rights. The court found the Regents issued a resolution in 1961 authorizing "the President [of the
3 Two rounds of notice were sent because the initial class list was incomplete. The reason the initial list was incomplete-an issue disputed by the parties-is not relevant to this appeal.
Following this statement of decision, Retirees submitted a proposed trial plan for the remaining issues. To prove contract formation and terms, Retirees intended to present, in addition to documentary evidence, testimony of ten named petitioners about their personal awareness and understanding of the Regents' provision of retiree health benefits, including what they were told by human resources representatives and whether they were aware of representations in benefits booklets or brochures. With respect to impairment, Retirees stated their position that they could prove impairment without proving economic damages, noting evidence that LLNS benefits are terminable at any time and the LLNS retiree health plan is a separate risk pool of retirees only.
Retirees' trial plan also proposed to prove money damages on a classwide basis. Under Retirees' plan, money damages consisted of higher monthly premiums and higher out-of-pocket costs (i.e., co-payments and deductibles), which would be determined separately. Damages from higher premiums would be determined either by "mapping" LLNS plans (of which there were several) to the most comparable University-sponsored plan and calculating the net premium difference, or by calculating the difference in employer contributions. Damages from increased out-of-pocket costs depend on class members' utilization of health care. Retirees proposed to approximate the
The court also found individual questions predominate "as to whether each putative class member has in fact been damaged by [the Regents'] actions. Whether the putative class members have been damaged by being provided with health plans sponsored by LLNS rather than [University]-sponsored health plans depends on a number of individualized factors, including the employer contribution to the member's health plan, what services are provided, the policy limits, the amount of deductibles and copays, and any geographic market factors affecting the cost of health care services. ... [I]n some cases the putative class members may incur less out of pocket expenses under the LLNS sponsored policies than under the [University] sponsored
The facts in this case, as the trial court found in its statement of decision on the first two bifurcated issues, are that the Regents, through employee benefits booklets, "repeatedly and consistently, over the course of several decades, offered retirement medical benefits to current employees, stated that the same medical benefits would be available after retirement, subject only to certain criteria not at issue in this case, and represented that employees who cease work because of retirement 'may continue their coverage.' "[4] Retirees assert the formation of an implied contract can be proven by the booklets' language-which they claim is an unequivocal offer to provide retiree health benefits-and class members' acceptance of this offer through their employment. Our question is whether, as the trial court asserted, the analysis requires an inquiry into what "each of the 9000 putative class members ... read, were told, or otherwise understood concerning their right to [University] health benefits after retirement."
Retirees rely heavily on Kashmiri v. Regents of University of California (2007) 156 Cal.App.4th 809 , 67 Cal.Rptr.3d 635 ( Kashmiri ), in which the University issued written statements on its websites and in its catalogues promising not to raise certain fees for the duration of each student's enrollment, and then raised the fees. ( Id. at pp. 815-818, 67 Cal.Rptr.3d 635 .) The Court of Appeal concluded an implied contract had formed between the University and a class of all affected students: "Since the language regarding the [fee] in the catalogues and on the website is unequivocal, the reasonable expectation of
4 The court noted that the booklets began to include a reservation of rights beginning in the 1980s. Although the decertification order found Retirees had not shown all the booklets contained the same language, it referred only to language added in 1990. We discuss the relevance of this change to the predominance analysis below.
Requa, our prior opinion in this case, also suggests such an analysis. We concluded Retirees' sufficiently pled an implied contract claim by alleging "the Regents authorized University-sponsored group health insurance coverage for retirees"; "during Retirees' employment at Livermore, the Regents-through various benefit booklets and handbooks published by their authorized representatives-offered to provide Retirees with University-sponsored group health plan coverage when they retired"; and Retirees "accepted this offer through working at Livermore and continuing to provide services over time ...." ( Requa, supra, 213 Cal.App.4th at pp. 227-228, 152 Cal.Rptr.3d 440 .) Although we noted the individual petitioners alleged they remained at Livermore "because of the promise they would have University-sponsored group health plan coverage in retirement," we did not suggest such an allegation was necessary. ( Id. at p. 228, 152 Cal.Rptr.3d 440 ; see also id. at p. 226, 152 Cal.Rptr.3d 440 [agreeing with Retirees' contention that "the University's obligation to provide lifetime retiree medical benefits to them on the same terms as other University retirees may be implied from the authorization of those benefits in 1961, the uninterrupted provision of those benefits for more than 50 years, and from the University's publications
The Regents' authority is not to the contrary. They cite contract cases outside of the employment context, in which individualized determinations were clearly necessary. Fletcher v. Security Pacific National Bank (1979) 23 Cal.3d 442 , 153 Cal.Rptr. 28 , 591 P.2d 51 involved a bank loan contract specifying a "per annum" interest rate; the bank in fact calculated the interest on the basis of a 360-day year. ( Id. at pp. 446-447, 153 Cal.Rptr. 28 , 591 P.2d 51 .) Such a calculation was an "industry-wide banking practice" which had been followed for many years and the bank "freely explained" the term when asked; the trial court thereby found " 'a number of' the estimated 50,000 class members" would have known what the term meant. ( Id. at pp. 445, 448, 153 Cal.Rptr. 28 , 591 P.2d 51 .) Because a borrower "who had full knowledge of the meaning of the 'per annum' interest rate in the contract provision, could not prevail in such a breach of contract action," individualized issues precluded class certification. ( Id. at p. 448, 153 Cal.Rptr. 28 , 591 P.2d 51 .) In
7 The Regents note the booklets' language changed beginning in the 1980s (a change also noted in the statement of decision on the first two bifurcated issues), and the decertification order notes a language change in 1990. Retirees' theory is that their contractual right to retiree health insurance vested when they accepted employment, and thus any change during the term of their employment cannot alter that vested right. This theory presents a common question. (See Brinker, supra, 53 Cal.4th at p. 1021, 139 Cal.Rptr.3d 315 , 273 P.3d 513 [predominance "hinges on 'whether the theory of recovery advanced by the proponents of certification is, as an analytical matter, likely to prove amenable to class treatment' "].) We note that, to the extent class members were hired after any material change in language, it may be appropriate to create a subclass of employees hired after the language change. The Regents also argue benefits counselors orally told employees retiree health benefits were not a vested promise; the record citations provided refer to such representations in the 1980s or later. We express no opinion as to whether such oral representations preclude classwide determination of contract formation for a subclass of employees hired after this time.
In United States Trust Co. v. New Jersey (1977) 431 U.S. 1 , 97 S.Ct. 1505 , 52 L.Ed.2d 92 , New York and New Jersey enacted laws limiting the ability of the Port Authority to use revenues or reserves for purposes other than as security for Port Authority bonds. ( Id. at pp. 9-10, 97 S.Ct. 1505 .) The express purpose of the statutes was to increase investor confidence. ( Id. at p. 9, 97 S.Ct. 1505 .) Subsequently, the states retroactively repealed these laws. ( Id. at p. 14, 97 S.Ct. 1505 .) After finding the initial laws created contractual obligations, the Supreme Court considered the impact of their repeal on bondholders. ( Id. at pp. 18-19, 97 S.Ct. 1505 .) There was conflicting evidence about the effect of the repeal on the secondary market for Port Authority bonds. ( Id. at p. 19, 97 S.Ct. 1505 .) The court did not indicate any resulting inability to redeem matured bonds. (See id. at p. 41, 97 S.Ct. 1505 (dis. opn. of Brennan, J.) ["No creditor complains that public authorities have defaulted on a coupon payment or failed to redeem a bond that has matured."].) Nonetheless, the Supreme Court found the repeal impaired the states' obligations to bondholders: "As a security provision, the covenant was not superfluous; it limited the Port Authority's deficits and thus protected the general reserve fund from depletion. Nor was the covenant merely modified or replaced by an arguably comparable security provision. Its outright repeal totally eliminated an important security provision and thus impaired the obligation of the States' contract." ( Id. at p. 19, 97 S.Ct. 1505 .)
10 The supplemental fund provided an additional payment "to retirees whose current defined benefit program allowance has fallen below 80 percent of the purchasing power of the initial allowance due to inflation." ( Genest, supra, 154 Cal.App.4th at p. 1021, 65 Cal.Rptr.3d 326 .)
In sum, we conclude the trial court's conclusion that Retirees must prove they suffered actual economic damage in order to prove their impairment claim was erroneous. A noneconomic impairment can constitute impairment. Retirees claim such an impairment because their current health benefits can be terminated at any time. This presents a common question. The predominance of individualized issues on class members' actual economic damages is not a basis to decertify the class for liability purposes.
In a
ddition to finding individual issues predominate, the trial court found Retirees' trial plan proposed to prove liability for a 9,000 member class based on the testimony of 10 individuals, and thereby relied on an impermissibly small and nonrandom sample. (See Duran v. U.S. Bank National Assn. (2014) 59 Cal.4th 1 , 13, 172 Cal.Rptr.3d 371 , 325 P.3d 916 ( Duran ) ["A trial plan that relies on statistical sampling must be developed with expert input and must afford the defendant an opportunity to impeach the model or otherwise show its liability is reduced."].)
11 We note that the trial court's decertification order found the University benefits were also terminable at any time. Although we must defer to factual findings supported by substantial evidence, this is not a finding of fact but rather a legal conclusion: Retirees' implied contract claim asserts that the University cannot terminate retiree health insurance benefits because to do so would substantially impair the implied contract term promising such benefits.
We concur.
JONES, P.J.
NEEDHAM, J.
Livermore is a facility owned by the federal government. From 1952 to 2007, the federal government contracted with the University to manage and operate Livermore, and individuals working at Livermore during this period were University employees. In 1961, the Regents of the University (Regents) authorized the University to provide a group health insurance program for employees and retirees, and Retirees allege the University told employees their health insurance benefits would continue in retirement. Retirees and other Livermore employees who retired before 2007 initially received University-sponsored group health insurance after their retirement. Funding for this insurance was provided by the federal government as part of the University's contract.
In 2007, the federal government transferred the management and operation of Livermore to a private entity, Lawrence Livermore National Security, LLC (LLNS). When LLNS took over operation of Livermore, its contract with the federal government required it to assume responsibility for the health benefits of Livermore retirees. In 2007, these retirees were transferred from University-sponsored group health insurance to LLNS's health plan. The summary plan description for LLNS's retiree health plan states: "LLNS, in its sole discretion, reserves the right to amend or terminate in writing at any time the Plan ... and/or any Benefit Program. No benefit described in the Plan will be considered to 'vest.' [¶] The Plan is governed by a Federal law (known as ERISA) .... This is a change from the status of benefits provided by the [University], which may have been subject to the 'vested rights doctrine' or similar doctrines, which limit certain benefit plan changes."
In 2010, Retirees filed a petition for writ of mandate against the Regents. The operative petition alleges, on behalf of Retirees and a putative class, impairment of an implied contract ( Cal. Const., art. I, § 9 ) and other claims.[1] The petition alleges the LLNS health plan "has significant disadvantages and no comparable new advantages, when compared with the University-provided retiree medical benefit plan," and seeks a writ of mandate restoring Retirees and putative class members to University-sponsored group health insurance. It also seeks money damages.
The trial court sustained the Regents' demurrer and this court reversed. ( Requa v. Regents of University of California (2012) 213 Cal.App.4th 213 , 152 Cal.Rptr.3d 440 ( Requa ).)[2] With respect to the implied contract claim, we explained: "[T]he essential allegations of Retirees' claim of implied
1 Because class certification is not at issue with respect to the petition's other causes of action, we omit facts relating to them.
2 The lead named petitioner subsequently withdrew for medical reasons.
Following Retirees' submission of this trial plan, the Regents filed a motion to decertify the class, and the trial court granted the motion in the appealed-from order. The court found "individual questions concerning the formation and terms of the alleged implied contract for each class member predominate. ... [¶] Here, [Retirees] argue that their implied contract with [the Regents] is based on language in benefit booklets issued by [the University] (of which there were at least 136 in the fifty years before 2007); on oral representations by [University] and [Livermore] personnel; and on [Retirees'] understanding that they would be entitled to [University]-sponsored health plans after retirement because other [Livermore] retirees were receiving them at the time. [Retirees] have not established that all 9000 putative class members received or read the benefit booklets, or that all the benefit booklets contained the same language concerning any right to [University]-sponsored health benefits over that fifty year period. (For example, [Retirees] admit that beginning in 1990, the benefit booklets made it clear that all benefits were subject to change or termination at any time by [the University].) Nor have [Retirees] established that all 9000 putative class members were orally promised by [University] or [Livermore] personnel a right to receive [University]-sponsored health benefits in perpetuity after retirement. ... Finally, any understandings of
I. Standard of Review
In addition to the predominance of individual issues, the court found Retirees' trial plan "highly problematic" because it sought to "prove [the Regents'] liability using only the testimony of" ten individuals without showing they "had experiences typical of the entire 9000 member class (as to either implied contract formation or resulting damages) so that the Court could extrapolate classwide liability on the basis of those ten individuals' testimony." The court also found Retirees' plan to prove out-of-pocket expenses "does not appear valid" because they "cannot prove their own damages by relying on data concerning health care expenses of nonparties."
DISCUSSION
"On review of a class certification order, an appellate court's inquiry is narrowly circumscribed. 'The decision to certify a class rests squarely within the discretion of the trial court, and we afford that decision great deference on appeal, reversing only for a manifest abuse of discretion: "Because trial courts are ideally situated to evaluate the efficiencies and practicalities of permitting group action, they are afforded great discretion in granting or denying certification." [Citation.] A certification order generally will not be disturbed unless (1) it is unsupported by substantial evidence, (2) it rests on improper criteria, or (3) it rests on erroneous legal assumptions. [Citations.]' [Citations.] Predominance is a factual question; accordingly, the trial court's finding that common
II. Predominance of Common Issues
A. Implied Contract Formation and Terms
Retirees challenge the trial court's determination that individual issues predominate on the question of contract formation and contract terms. Retirees contend this finding rested on an erroneous legal assumption, to wit, that each class member must prove their personal awareness of the offered retiree health benefits. On the facts presented by this case, we agree.
"Generally, the terms and conditions of public employment are not protected by the contract clause because they are controlled by statute or ordinance, not by contract." ( Deputy Sheriffs' Assn. of San Diego County v. County of San Diego (2015) 233 Cal.App.4th 573 , 578, 182 Cal.Rptr.3d 759 ( Deputy Sheriffs ).) Nonetheless, " '[p]ublic employment gives rise to certain obligations which are protected by the contract clause of the Constitution ....' [Citations.] Promised compensation is one such protected right. [Citation.] Once vested, the right to compensation cannot be eliminated without unconstitutionally impairing the contract obligation." ( Olson v. Cory (1980) 27 Cal.3d 532 , 538, 178 Cal.Rptr. 568 , 636 P.2d 532 ( Olson ).) Because "vesting is simply a matter of the parties' intent ..., public employee benefits may become vested by implication in appropriate circumstances." ( Requa, supra, 213 Cal.App.4th at p. 226, 152 Cal.Rptr.3d 440 .) Retiree health care benefits can be such a contractually vested right. ( Retired Employees Assn. of Orange County, Inc. v. County of Orange (2011) 52 Cal.4th 1171 , 1176, 134 Cal.Rptr.3d 779 , 266 P.3d 287 ( Retired Employees ); Requa, supra, 213 Cal.App.4th at pp. 227-228, 152 Cal.Rptr.3d 440 ; Thorning v. Hollister School Dist. (1992) 11 Cal.App.4th 1598 , 1605-1609, 15 Cal.Rptr.2d 91 ( Thorning ).)
"A contract is either express or implied. [Citation.] The terms of an express contract are stated in words. [Citation.] The existence and terms of an
5 The Regents assert it was stipulated in Kashmiri that the students read the written promises. We agree with Retirees that the case does not so indicate. Although the parties stipulated to most of the facts, the court's recitation of facts sets forth the language of the promises but makes no statement about whether or how widely the promises were read. ( Kashmiri, supra, 156 Cal.App.4th at pp. 815-817 & fn. 1, 67 Cal.Rptr.3d 635 .)
Numerous other cases involving public employment compensation terms indicate an implied contract is formed through the employer's offer of the term, the employer's intent to be contractually bound by the offer, and the employee's performance of services. They contain no suggestion that each employee must prove personal knowledge of the term in order to establish a contractual right. (See Olson, supra, 27 Cal.3d at p. 540, 178 Cal.Rptr. 568 , 636 P.2d 532 ["a public employee's pension rights are ... a vested contractual right accruing upon acceptance of employment"]; Betts v. Board of Administration (1978) 21 Cal.3d 859 , 863, 148 Cal.Rptr. 158 , 582 P.2d 614 ["A public employee's pension constitutes an element of compensation, and a vested contractual right to pension benefits accrues upon acceptance of employment."]; Fry v. City of Los Angeles (2016) 245 Cal.App.4th 539 , 549-550, 199 Cal.Rptr.3d 694 [" 'with regard to at least certain terms or conditions of employment
To be sure, " '[c]ourts seek to enforce the actual understanding' of the parties to an employment agreement.' " ( Guz, supra, 24 Cal.4th at p. 337, 100 Cal.Rptr.2d 352 , 8 P.3d 1089 .) However, we conclude that, where an employer issues a written policy intended to inform employees about contractual terms applicable to their employment, an employee's understanding of the employer's offer can be inferred without requiring individualized proof. (
6 The Regents also rely on cases involving non-contract claims. These cases, which stand for the unremarkable proposition that class certification is properly denied when individualized issues predominate, do not impact our analysis. (See Hataishi v. First American Home Buyers Protection Corporation (2014) 223 Cal.App.4th 1454 , 1457, 1467-1468, 168 Cal.Rptr.3d 262 [claim under Pen. Code, § 632, prohibiting recording confidential communications without the consent of all parties]; Kight v. CashCall, Inc. (2014) 231 Cal.App.4th 112 , 116, 130, 179 Cal.Rptr.3d 439 [same]; Davis-Miller v. Automobile Club of Southern California (2011) 201 Cal.App.4th 106 , 121, 134 Cal.Rptr.3d 551 [claim for fraudulent business practice based on alleged misrepresentations].)
As an alternative ground for denying certification, the trial court found individual issues predominate on the question of impairment because the determination of actual economic damages requires individualized inquiry. Retirees challenge the finding that economic damages require individualized inquiry, and also argue the trial court's conclusion that economic damages are a necessary element to an impairment claim is an erroneous legal assumption. We agree with the second, but not the first, contention.
1. Economic Damages
As noted above, the trial court found: "Whether the putative class members have been damaged by being provided with health plans sponsored by LLNS rather than [University]-sponsored health plans depends on a number of individualized factors, including the employer contribution to the member's health plan, what services are provided, the policy limits, the amount of deductibles and copays, and any geographic market factors affecting the cost of health care services. ... [I]n some cases the putative class members may incur less out of pocket expenses under the LLNS sponsored policies than under the [University] sponsored policies, depending on how much and what type of medical care the member uses."
The Regents submitted a declaration from Michael Baptista, the Executive Director of the University's Human Resources-Benefits Program and Strategy Department. Baptista averred: "Based on my experience administering the University's health insurance benefits program, the premiums and out-of-pocket costs for an insurance plan are inter-related. The factors that determine how much an insured individual will pay for healthcare ( i.e. , insurance premiums, deductibles and co-pays, and costs of uncovered services) are complex and inter-dependent. For example,
Baptista continued, "the overall economic cost to an individual will also be affected by the extent to which the individual has health needs that call upon the coverage afforded by his or her chosen insurance plan, i.e. , the individual's 'utilization' of his or her insurance plan. ... [I]n order to make a comparison of whether the individual would have been economically better off, or worse off, under a different insurance plan, it would be necessary to understand the individual's actual utilization of healthcare services, and to compare the terms of his or her insurance plan ( i.e. , covered services, deductibles, limits, and co-pays) to the terms of the hypothetical alternative plan. As with premiums, out-of-pocket utilization costs cannot be viewed in isolation in assessing the overall economic cost of different insurance plans."[8]
Baptista's declaration provides substantial evidence supporting the trial court's finding that individualized issues predominate on the question of actual economic damages. Retirees proposed to calculate damages from premium costs and out-of-pocket costs separately, but Baptista provides evidence for the finding that they must be considered together. Because, as Baptista opined, "a plan with higher premiums should have lower deductibles, lower co-pays, or cover more extensive types of healthcare services or some combination of these terms," a class member who pays more in premiums may pay less in co-pays and deductibles; calculating these separately would not accurately reflect that individual's actual damages. Retirees assert that they will be comparing comparable plans-i.e., a University plan with higher premiums and lower copays will be compared with an LLNS plan with higher premiums and lower co-pays-but they submit no evidence that, at all times since 2007, each LLNS plan has a sufficiently comparable University plan. In fact, they concede that one of LLNS's plans is a "gateway" plan "that provides access to approximately 300 health care plans and 380 prescription plans," which "are generally not comparable to [University] plans." Retirees' proposal to calculate premium damages by the difference between the subsidies provided by the University and LLNS fails entirely to take into account the various interdependent factors contributing to an individual's actual health care costs.
8 Retirees argue Baptista did not claim to be an expert in evaluating their damages model. They fail to explain why such an area of expertise is necessary, in light of Baptista's stated qualifications and background on employer-sponsored group health insurance.
However, this conclusion does not end our inquiry. " 'As a general rule if the defendant's liability can be determined by facts common to all members of the class, a class will be certified even if the members must individually prove their damages.' " ( Brinker, supra, 53 Cal.4th at p. 1022, 139 Cal.Rptr.3d 315 , 273 P.3d 513 .) We thus turn to Retirees' argument that they can prove noneconomic impairment on a classwide basis. If so, the fact that economic damages will require an individualized analysis will not justify decertification. (See Bluford v. Safeway Stores, Inc. (2013) 216 Cal.App.4th 864 , 873, 157 Cal.Rptr.3d 212 ["Because Safeway's liability can be determined by law and facts common to all members of the class, the class will be certified even if the class members must individually prove their damages."].)[9]
2. Noneconomic Impairment
Retirees argue that impairment is not limited to actual economic damages. Retirees' theory is that their loss of an entitlement to health insurance-since LLNS insurance can be terminated at any time-constitutes substantial impairment and this issue presents a common issue.
Retirees argue several cases have found impairment absent actual economic damages to class members. For example, in Valdes v. Cory (1983) 139 Cal.App.3d 773 , 189 Cal.Rptr. 212 ( Valdes ), members of the Public Employees' Retirement System (PERS) challenged a state law suspending state-employer retirement contributions for three months in order to balance the budget, and directing contributions in an equivalent amount be transferred from the PERS reserve against deficiencies. ( Id. at pp. 777-778, 189 Cal.Rptr. 212 .) The court noted: "The employee has no out-of-pocket losses from suspension of employer contributions, because PERS benefits are defined by statutory formula at the time of employment." ( Id. at p. 785, 189 Cal.Rptr. 212 .) Nonetheless, the court concluded "the interest of the employee at issue here is in the security and integrity of the funds available to pay future benefits," and the law "substantially impairs public employees' assurance that they will ultimately receive the retirement benefits to which they become entitled." ( Id. at pp. 785, 790, 189 Cal.Rptr. 212 .)
In Teachers' Retirement Bd. v. Genest (2007) 154 Cal.App.4th 1012 , 65 Cal.Rptr.3d 326 ( Genest ), a state law reduced the state's contributions to a
9 The Regents argue that, even if actual economic injury is not required to prove an impairment claim, Retirees seek damages and therefore must prove them. To be sure, Retirees must prove economic damages to recover them. But if they can prove liability on a classwide basis, their claim for damages will not defeat class certification.
The Regents dispute Retirees' theory that that the loss of their entitlement to health insurance constitutes substantial impairment, arguing the asserted noneconomic injury is too speculative for mandamus relief and LLNS and/or the federal government are obligated to provide class members with health insurance. We need not and do not decide these issues.
DISPOSITION
The order granting the Regents' motion to decertify the class is reversed and remanded
12 The trial court also found Retirees' plan to prove out-of-pocket damages on a classwide basis invalid. As noted above ( ante, part II.B.1), we need not decide the validity of Retirees' proposed method. We also need not decide Retirees' alternative arguments that the decertification order was procedurally improper.
Cases cited
- Brinker Restaurant Corp. v. Superior Court 53 Cal.4th 1004 p. 408
- Williams v. Superior Court 221 Cal.App.4th 1353 p. 408
- Guz v. Bechtel Natl., Inc. 24 Cal.4th 317 p. 409
- Kashmiri v. Regents of the University of California 156 Cal.App.4th 809 p. 409
- California Association of Professional Scientists v. Schwarzenegger 137 Cal.App.4th 371 p. 411
- Fletcher v. Security Pacific National Bank 23 Cal.3d 442 p. 411
- United States Trust Co. v. New Jersey 431 U.S. 1 p. 415
- Duran v. U.S. Bank National Ass'n 59 Cal.4th 1 p. 416
- Requa v. Regents of University of California 213 Cal.App.4th 213 p. 849
- Deputy Sheriffs' Ass'n v. County of San Diego 233 Cal.App.4th 573 p. 854
- Olson v. Cory 27 Cal.3d 532 p. 854
- Retired Employees Ass'n of Orange County, Inc. v. County of Orange 52 Cal.4th 1171 p. 854
- Thorning v. Hollister School District 11 Cal.App.4th 1598 p. 854
- Betts v. Board of Administration 21 Cal.3d 859 p. 857
- Fry v. City of Los Angeles 245 Cal.App.4th 539 p. 857
- Hamwi v. Citinational-Buckeye Investment Co. 72 Cal.App.3d 462 p. 858
- Bluford v. Safeway Inc. 216 Cal.App.4th 864 p. 861
- Valdes v. Cory 139 Cal.App.3d 773 p. 861
- Teachers' Retirement Board v. Genest 154 Cal.App.4th 1012 p. 861