Majority
Appellants' home and pickup, which were insured by State Farm General Insurance Company (State Farm), were "damaged and destroyed" by fire on June 1, 2009. They immediately notified State Farm.
Dennis Strawn was prosecuted for arson in connection with the fire, but the case was ultimately dismissed on February 19, 2013.
In August 2015, State Farm informed appellants that it was denying their claims on the ground that Dennis Strawn had intentionally set the fire and Diane Strawn had fraudulently concealed evidence of this wrongful conduct.
On August 8, 2016, appellants filed a complaint alleging causes of action against State Farm for breach of contract, breach of the covenant of good faith and fair dealing, intentional infliction of emotional distress, invasion of privacy and elder abuse. The fourth and fifth causes of action, for invasion of privacy and elder abuse, were also alleged against Douglas K. Wood, the attorney who represented State Farm, and Morris Polich & Purdy, LLP (MPP), the law firm in which Wood was a partner.
The first three causes of action, although alleged only against State Farm, set the stage for appellants' claims against respondents. The gist of these claims was that State Farm breached its contract with appellants and the covenant of good faith and fair dealing by seeking to avoid its obligations by conduct including insisting on receipt of information from appellants that was not relevant to the cause of the fire, encouraging a criminal prosecution of Dennis Strawn for arson, and denying coverage unreasonably and in bad faith.[1]
1 More specifically, appellants alleged that State Farm, throughout its investigation of the claim, "adopted a policy of delay and deny, insisting on the receipt of personal information from [appellants] that had no relevance to the cause and origin of the fire that was the loss, but was instead simply an excuse to avoid their obligations to their insureds." Among other specific breaches of obligation by State Farm, appellants alleged that the insurer "set out from the time of the fire to attempt in every way possible to avoid paying the benefits due to [appellants] under the terms of the policy," "went so far as to encourage and foment a criminal prosecution of Dennis Strawn," and, when the criminal case was dismissed, "continued on its crusade to deny [appellants] the insurance coverage they had paid for ... in spite of the fact that there was no evidence linking either plaintiff to any wrongdoing that had not been presented in the unsuccessful prosecution of Dennis Strawn." The second cause of action for breach of the covenant of good faith and fair dealing, alleged that State Farm "unreasonably and in bad faith withheld benefits due under the policies" by "unreasonably and in bad faith denying coverage." Appellants also alleged that State Farm, "for its own benefit and ignoring the damage to its insureds," delayed in satisfying its contractual obligation to pay off appellants' mortgage, which was not subject to the defenses against coverage State Farm asserted against appellants, despite knowledge that the criminal prosecution State Farm had "aided and promoted" left appellants "in a financial position that made it impossible for [appellants] to make the loan payments," and waited to make any payments until after the bank had foreclosed on the loan "because the foreclosure gave State Farm a credit against the amount owed the bank for the amount the bank recovered out of the foreclosure." The third cause of action for intentional infliction of emotional distress additionally alleged that State Farm "within a day of the accident hired an 'expert' whose job was to attempt to create a case that would result in a conviction of Dennis Strawn for arson, a felony, in spite of zero evidence to support that conclusion"; "aided and encouraged Cal Fire to seek an arson prosecution"; and withheld "exculpatory evidence that tended to show that any intentional wrong doing was done by others," which it learned of early in its investigation, "until right at the end of the prosecution."
As the trial court explained, appellants' cause of action for invasion of privacy was based on Wood's alleged transmittal of appellants' tax returns to State Farm. The court found the litigation privilege applicable because at the time the returns were transmitted, respondents were representing State Farm "in anticipation of a possible lawsuit concerning the claim made by [appellants] for the fire damage to their residence and vehicle." Appellants challenge this determination by arguing that their claim is based on Wood's
We do not question the assumption that, in the context of an insurance claim being investigated following the dismissal of criminal charges of arson against the insured, it may have appeared "likely" that denial of the insurance claim would lead to a civil action against the insurer. But "[r]espondents cannot gain the protection of the privilege to protect their own communications merely by establishing that they anticipated a potential for litigation," as " 'the privilege only arises at the point in time when litigation is no longer a mere possibility, but has instead ripened into a proposed proceeding that is actually contemplated in good faith and under serious consideration as a means of obtaining access to the courts for the purpose of resolving the dispute.' " ( Eisenberg, supra , 74 Cal.App.4th at p. 1381, 88 Cal.Rptr.2d 802 , quoting Edwards, supra , 53 Cal.App.4th at p. 39, 61 Cal.Rptr.2d 518 .) That State Farm had a basis for suspicion of Dennis Strawn did not necessarily preordain the denial of appellants' insurance claim, nor did appellants' retention of counsel necessarily reflect serious contemplation of litigation as opposed to a desire for assistance in a complicated insurance claim process.[3]
Moreover, it is not clear that at the point Wood allegedly wrongfully transmitted the tax returns to State Farm and its accountants, State Farm was contemplating litigation "in good faith as a means of resolving the dispute" ( Eisenberg, supra, 74 Cal.App.4th at p. 1381, 88 Cal.Rptr.2d 802 ). " 'In order for [respondents] to be able to take advantage of the [litigation] privilege by applying it to their own communications, they must establish that at the time they made the subject communications, they themselves actually contemplated prospective
3 The cases respondent cites involve significantly stronger connection to actual or impending litigation than what appellants allege here. ( Rubin v. Green (1993) 4 Cal.4th 1187 , 1194-1195, 17 Cal.Rptr.2d 828 , 847 P.2d 1044 [discussion of merits of proposed lawsuit with prospective plaintiffs]; Rosenthal v. Irell & Manella (1982) 135 Cal.App.3d 121 , 126, 185 Cal.Rptr. 92 [reference in dicta to "potential court actions" but case itself involved pending appeal]; Dove Audio, Inc. v. Rosenfeld, Meyer & Susman (1996) 47 Cal.App.4th 777 , 781-782, 54 Cal.Rptr.2d 830 [attorney's letter stating intention to file complaint with state attorney general]; Lebbos v. State Bar of California (1985) 165 Cal.App.3d 656 , 668-669, 211 Cal.Rptr. 847 [communications with client-complainants in investigation for state bar disciplinary proceedings]; Lerette v. Dean Witter Organization, Inc. (1976) 60 Cal.App.3d 573 , 577-578, 131 Cal.Rptr. 592 [attorney's demand letter stating intention to sue if settlement could not be reached].)
Nor can the demurrer be upheld, as respondents urge, on the basis that appellants failed to state a claim for invasion of privacy.
"[A] plaintiff alleging an invasion of privacy in violation of the state constitutional right to privacy must establish each of the following: (1) a legally protected privacy interest; (2) a reasonable expectation of privacy in the circumstances; and (3) conduct by defendant constituting a serious invasion of privacy." ( Hill v. National Collegiate Athletic Assn. (1994) 7 Cal.4th 1 , 39-40, 26 Cal.Rptr.2d 834 , 865 P.2d 633 ( Hill ).) The last of these elements " 'is intended simply to screen out intrusions on privacy that are de minimis or insignificant.' " ( American Academy of Pediatrics v. Lungren (1997) 16 Cal.4th 307 , 339, 66 Cal.Rptr.2d 210 , 940 P.2d 797 , quoting Loder v. City of Glendale (1997) 14 Cal.4th 846 , 891, 59 Cal.Rptr.2d 696 , 927 P.2d 1200 .) "Actionable invasions of privacy must be sufficiently serious in their nature, scope, and actual or potential impact to constitute an egregious breach of the social norms underlying the privacy right." ( Hill, at p. 37, 26 Cal.Rptr.2d 834 , 865 P.2d 633 .)
Appellants certainly alleged a legally protected privacy interest. Tax returns are privileged from disclosure. ( Webb v. Standard Oil Co. (1957) 49 Cal.2d 509 , 512-513, 319 P.2d 621 .) "The purpose of the privilege is to encourage voluntary filing of tax returns and truthful reporting of income, and thus to facilitate tax collection." ( Weingarten v. Superior Court (2002) 102 Cal.App.4th 268 , 274, 125 Cal.Rptr.2d 371 ; Webb, at p. 513, 319 P.2d 621 .) The tax return privilege "is not absolute" and "will not be upheld when (1) the circumstances indicate an intentional waiver of the privilege; (2) the gravamen of the lawsuit is inconsistent with the privilege; or (3) a public policy greater than that of the confidentiality of tax returns is involved." ( Weingarten, at p. 274, 125 Cal.Rptr.2d 371
Here, for example, whether the public policy of preventing insurance fraud outweighs the confidentiality of tax returns would depend, in part, on the extent to which the financial information appellants did disclose was sufficient to allow State Farm to determine appellants' financial condition, and the extent to which the returns revealed confidential information not relevant to State Farm's investigation (e.g., medical deductions). Similarly, the seriousness of the privacy invasion worked by disclosure of the tax returns would
II
As relevant here, section 15610.30, subdivision (a), provides that " '[f]inancial abuse' of an elder or dependent adult occurs when a person or entity ... [¶] ... [t]akes, secretes, appropriates,
Nothing in this history suggests that section 15610.30 was intended to impose liability upon the attorney acting solely on behalf of an insurer for the insurer's bad faith denial of coverage in circumstances where the Gruenberg rule would apply. We conclude that appellants failed to state a claim against respondents for financial elder abuse. Appellants have not suggested any way in which amendment could cure the defect.
6 As noted in Mahan, courts are divided over whether provisions of the Elder Abuse Act " 'create independent causes of action or merely enhance the remedies available under preexisting causes of action.' " ( Mahan, supra, 14 Cal.App.5th at p. 858, fn. 11, 222 Cal.Rptr.3d 360 , quoting Das v. Bank of America, N.A. (2010) 186 Cal.App.4th 727 , 743-744, 112 Cal.Rptr.3d 439 .)
In the fifth cause of action, for elder abuse, appellants alleged that Wood and MPP "assisted" State Farm in "retaining funds belonging rightfully to [appellants] for "its wrongful use or with the intent to defraud [appellants] or both" in violation of Welfare and Institutions Code section 15610, subdivision (a)(2).[2]
2 This statute is part of the Elder Abuse and Dependent Adult Civil Protection Act (Elder Abuse Act). (Welf. & Inst. Code, § 15610 et seq. ) Further statutory references will be to the Welfare and Institutions Code except as otherwise specified.
DISCUSSION
On appeal from a judgment of dismissal entered after a general demurrer is sustained, "we examine the complaint de novo to determine whether it alleges facts sufficient to state a cause of action under any legal theory" ( McCall v. PacifiCare of Cal. Inc. (2001) 25 Cal.4th 412 , 415, 106 Cal.Rptr.2d 271 , 21 P.3d 1189 ), assuming the truth of properly pleaded facts but not " ' "contentions, deductions or conclusions of fact or law." ' " ( Zelig v. County of Los Angeles (2002) 27 Cal.4th 1112 , 1126, 119 Cal.Rptr.2d 709 , 45 P.3d 1171 .) When the demurrer is sustained without leave to amend, the burden of proving there is a reasonable possibility the defect can be cured by amendment " 'is squarely on the plaintiff.' " ( Ibid. )
The trial court sustained the demurrer to the invasion of privacy claim on the ground that it was barred by the litigation privilege. ( Civ. Code, § 47, subd. (b)(2).) With the "principal purpose" of affording litigants and witnesses "the utmost freedom of access to the courts without fear of being harassed subsequently by derivative tort actions," the privilege "applies to any communication (1) made in judicial or quasi-judicial proceedings; (2) by litigants or other participants authorized by law; (3) to achieve the objects of the litigation; and (4) that have some connection or logical relation to the action." (
Appellants' first point is not persuasive. " 'The distinction between communicative and noncommunicative conduct hinges on the gravamen of the action . [Citations.] That is, the key in determining whether the privilege applies is whether the injury allegedly resulted from an act that was communicative in its essential nature . [Citations.] The following acts have been deemed communicative and thus protected by the litigation privilege: attorney prelitigation solicitations of potential clients and subsequent filing of pleadings in the litigation [citation], and testimonial use of the contents of illegally overheard conversation [citation]. The following acts have been deemed noncommunicative and thus unprivileged: prelitigation illegal recording of confidential telephone conversations [citation]; eavesdropping on a telephone conversation [citation]; and physician's negligent examination of patient causing physical injury [citation].' " ( Action Apartment Assn., supra, 41 Cal.4th at p. 1248, 63 Cal.Rptr.3d 398 , 163 P.3d 89 , quoting Rusheen v. Cohen, supra, 37 Cal.4th at p. 1058, 39 Cal.Rptr.3d 516 , 128 P.3d 713 .)
Here, the gravamen of appellants' claim is that Wood improperly provided their tax returns to State Farm and its accountants despite appellants' assertion of their privilege to not disclose the returns. The cause of action for invasion of privacy alleged that Wood "passed the wrongfully obtained tax returns along to" and "publish[ed]" appellants' "private tax returns to third parties." The very language of the complaint demonstrates that it was based on Woods' communication of information to State Farm and its accountants. Appellants alleged no "independent, noncommunicative, wrongful act" ( Jacob B. v. County of Shasta (2007) 40 Cal.4th 948 , 957, 56 Cal.Rptr.3d 477 , 154 P.3d 1003 ) as the basis of their claim.
Appellants' second argument, however, has merit. "A prelitigation communication is privileged only when it relates to litigation that is contemplated in good faith and under serious consideration." ( Action Apartment Assn., supra, 41 Cal.4th at p. 1251, 63 Cal.Rptr.3d 398 , 163 P.3d 89 .) "Whether a prelitigation communication relates to litigation that is contemplated in good faith and under serious consideration is an issue of fact." ( Ibid. ) The Supreme Court noted the example of Eisenberg v. Alameda Newspapers, Inc. (1999) 74 Cal.App.4th 1359 , 88 Cal.Rptr.2d 802 ( Eisenberg ), which held that the trial court erred in granting summary judgment on the basis of the litigation privilege
Here, the complaint alleges that Wood received the tax returns and transmitted them to State Farm and the accountants, who used the returns in the analysis they provided to State Farm. The communication and subsequent use of the information by the accountants occurred during State Farm's investigation and processing of appellants' insurance claim. No litigation was pending at the time: The criminal prosecution had concluded, and the present litigation was not instituted until August 8, 2016, almost a full year after State Farm denied the claim. This timing alone raises at least a question as to whether litigation was "imminent" at the time Wood passed the tax returns along as alleged.
Respondents argue that the alleged wrongful forwarding of appellants' tax returns comes within the litigation privilege because it was "in anticipation of the civil action" appellants "would surely (and did in fact)" file if State Farm denied their claim despite Dennis Strawn not having been convicted of arson. Respondents maintain that Wood was acting to protect his client in anticipated litigation and that appellants demonstrated they also anticipated litigation by retaining legal counsel before the present case was actually filed. Respondents also argue that the alleged wrongful forwarding of the tax returns had "some connection or logical relation" ( Silberg v. Anderson, supra, 50 Cal.3d at p. 212, 266 Cal.Rptr. 638 , 786 P.2d 365 ) to both the present suit and the criminal prosecution because the fact Dennis Strawn was prosecuted shows there was at least probable cause to believe he had intentionally caused the fire ( Lee v. Crusader Ins. Company (1996) 49 Cal.App.4th 1750 , 1759, 57 Cal.Rptr.2d 550 ); the
Respondents argue that appellants did not allege a sufficiently serious invasion of privacy to make their claim actionable. They emphasize the relevance of appellants' financial condition to State Farm's investigation of the claim. As indicated above, "[w]here the insurer has reason to suspect arson, it is relevant and material to inquire into the financial condition of the insured because an insurer is entitled to develop circumstantial evidence of the insured's involvement in the suspected arson." ( Abdelhamid v. Fire Ins. Exchange, supra, 182 Cal.App.4th at p. 1001, 106 Cal.Rptr.3d 26 .)
But the relevance of the tax returns does not necessarily overcome the privilege-as Insurance Code section 2071 demonstrates. As indicated by the language of the statute quoted above, Insurance Code 2071 recognizes the potential
Respondents additionally argue that because Wood did nothing "illegal or illicit" to obtain appellants' tax returns, the onus for any violation of appellants' privacy rights should be on appellants' accountants, who mistakenly produced the returns. This argument misses the point: Appellants' invasion of privacy claim is based on Wood's sending the tax returns to State Farm despite his knowledge that appellants had a right to refuse such disclosure and had not waived this right. That Wood sent the tax returns only to his client and its forensic accountants-the entities involved in investigating and processing appellants' insurance claim, both of which were prohibited from further disclosing the information except as specified by statute ( Ins. Code, § 791.13 )-also misses the point. Appellants allege they
4 The same is true of respondents' contention that appellants waived their taxpayer privilege by pursuing an insurance claim to which the tax returns were relevant. (See Wilson v. Superior Court (1976) 63 Cal.App.3d 825 , 828-831, 134 Cal.Rptr. 130 [taxpayer privilege waived by filing suit raising issues as to contents of tax returns]; Fremont Indemnity Co. v. Superior Court (1982) 137 Cal.App.3d 554 , 559, 187 Cal.Rptr. 137 [privilege against self-incrimination as to factual issues, especially application of arson exclusion, waived by filing suit over rights under fire insurance policy].) The reasoning of cases such as these is that " '[t]he gravamen of [the] lawsuit is so inconsistent with the continued assertion of [a] privilege as to compel the conclusion that the privilege has in fact been waived.' " ( Fremont, at p. 559, 187 Cal.Rptr. 137 , quoting Wilson, at p. 830, 134 Cal.Rptr. 130 .) Whether that reasoning applies in the present circumstances would depend, again, on what information was revealed in the tax returns beyond that contained in the material appellants agreed to disclose.
Appellants' cause of action under this statute alleged that State Farm "was assisted in retaining funds belonging rightfully to [appellants] for its wrongful use or with the intent to defraud [appellants] or both" by Wood and MPP. The conduct alleged as the basis of the claimed elder abuse is thus the insurer's denial of access to funds appellants believed were due under the insurance policy. The allegations of this cause of action do not describe the manner in which respondents "assisted" in the alleged taking/retention of funds; the only allegations in the complaint regarding conduct by respondents are those described above regarding appellants' tax returns. The gravamen of appellant's claim against respondents is thus that Wood helped State Farm wrongfully deny appellants' insurance claim by supplying State Farm with tax returns as to which Wood knew appellants had not waived taxpayer privilege.
Respondent argues that this claim should be rejected as an improper attempt to avoid the rule that an insurer's agents cannot be found liable for bad faith denial of coverage. ( Gruenberg v. Aetna Ins. Co. (1973) 9 Cal.3d 566 , 108 Cal.Rptr. 480 , 510 P.2d 1032 ( Gruenberg ).)[5] Gruenberg held
5 The trial court found the claim of elder abuse was not cognizable against attorneys representing an insurer sued for denial of benefits absent allegations that the attorney personally received funds withheld from the plaintiffs. At the hearing, the court additionally stated that the cause of action was not cognizable because "the only way that a party, such as the lawyer here, could defend himself would be to require him to disclose attorney-client privilege information, and there is clear case law in this state that says, when the only way to defend yourself is to disclose attorney-client information, a claim is not available."
Respondents' argument is well-taken. An insurer's bad faith denial of a claim can support a cause of action for financial elder abuse. ( Johnston v. Allstate Ins. Co. (S.D. Cal. May 23, 2013) 2013 WL 2285361 , *4 ; Crawford v. Continental Casualty Insurance Co. (C.D. Cal. July 24, 2014) 2014 WL 10988334 , *2 ; Rosove v. Continental Cas. Co. (C.D. Cal. June 2, 2014) 2014 WL 2766161 , *4-5.) But to say that an attorney who assists the insurer in investigating the claim, acting solely as representative of the insurer, can be liable for financial elder abuse would impose liability where Gruenberg held there could be none. Appellants do not allege that respondents acted in any way " 'as individuals for their individual advantage' and not solely on behalf of the principal ( Wise v. Southern Pacific Co. , supra , 223 Cal.App.2d at p. 72, 35 Cal.Rptr. 652 )," or that respondents themselves owed any obligation to appellants. ( Doctors' Co. v. Superior Court (1989) 49 Cal.3d 39 , 47-48, 260 Cal.Rptr. 183 , 775 P.2d 508 .)
Appellants' assertion that Gruenberg is irrelevant because respondents were not sued "for bad faith or conspiracy to commit bad faith" misses the point. Because the claim that respondents assisted State Farm in committing financial elder abuse is based on State Farm's alleged bad faith denial, appellant's claim against respondents is, in effect, an attempt to avoid the effect of Gruenberg.
In sustaining the demurrer to this cause of action, the trial court commented that interpreting section 15610.30 as imposing liability on an attorney in the circumstances of this case would "open up what has been a very confined door in the instances when a ... non client can sue a lawyer for conduct that a lawyer undertook in connection with the representation of somebody else outside of malicious prosecution and abuse of process." With respect to this comment as well as Gruenberg , appellants argue that it is incorrect to view imposing liability upon attorneys who assist their clients in committing financial elder abuse as "too much of a departure from the common law" because "the elder abuse statute is itself a major departure from the common law" in that it provides "enhanced penalties to encourage private, civil lawsuits to vindicate the purpose behind the legislation-the protection of elders."
The judgment of dismissal is reversed. The order sustaining the demurrer to the cause of action for financial elder abuse is affirmed. The order sustaining the demurrer to the cause of action for invasion of privacy is reversed. The matter is remanded for proceedings consistent with the views expressed herein.
The parties shall bear their own costs.
We concur:
Stewart, J.
Miller, J.
Cases cited
- Silberg v. Anderson 50 Cal.3d 205 p. 223
- Rusheen v. Cohen 37 Cal.4th 1048 p. 223
- Action Apartment Ass'n v. City of Santa Monica 41 Cal.4th 1232 p. 223
- Abdelhamid v. Fire Insurance Exchange 182 Cal.App.4th 990 p. 225
- Hill v. National Collegiate Athletic Ass'n 7 Cal.4th 1 p. 226
- American Academy of Pediatrics v. Lungren 16 Cal.4th 307 p. 226
- Loder v. City of Glendale 14 Cal.4th 846 p. 226
- Webb v. Standard Oil Co. of California 49 Cal.2d 509 p. 226
- Weingarten v. Superior Court 102 Cal.App.4th 268 p. 226
- Schnabel v. Superior Court 5 Cal.4th 704 p. 227
- Wise v. Southern Pacific Co. 223 Cal.App.2d 50 at 72 p. 229
- Mahan v. Charles W. Chan Ins. Agency, Inc. 14 Cal.App.5th 841 p. 230
- Delaney v. Baker 20 Cal.4th 23 p. 230
- McCall v. PacifiCare of California, Inc. 25 Cal.4th 412 p. 1094
- Zelig v. County of Los Angeles 27 Cal.4th 1112 p. 1094
- Jacob B. v. County of Shasta 40 Cal.4th 948 p. 1095
- Eisenberg v. Alameda Newspapers, Inc. 74 Cal.App.4th 1359 p. 1095
- Lee v. Crusader Insurance 49 Cal.App.4th 1750 p. 1096
- Cornell v. Berkeley Tennis Club 18 Cal.App.5th 908 p. 1098
- Gruenberg v. Aetna Insurance 9 Cal.3d 566 p. 1101
- Doctors' Co. v. Superior Court 49 Cal.3d 39 p. 1102