Majority
Frank C. Sparks Company and Liberty Mutual Insurance Company each instituted an action under 6108, Sec. 38 of the Delaware Workmen’s Compensation Law against third party tort-feasors allegedly responsible for injuries to certain employees of Sparks. I shall refer to these suits as the Sparks case and the Liberty case. Both defendants in the Liberty suit have filed motion for summary judgment and the Employees, the nominal plaintiffs[1] , a motion to strike the appearance of Liberty’s counsel. One of the defendants in the Sparks suit, Huber Baking Company, has filed a motion for summary judgment. Because
1 Suits instituted under Sec. 38 are frequently brought in the names of the injured employee.
The basic facts are these: Huber Baking Company, which I shall call Huber, contracted for a substantial addition to its plant. Frank C. Sparks Company, hereinafter called Sparks, McCormick Construction Company, hereinafter called McCormick, and West T. Lamborn and Robert W. Lamborn, hereinafter referred to as -the Lamborns, were engaged in the erection of the addition under contracts with Huber. During the course of building a steel beam fell and injured Distefano and others who were employees of Sparks. I shall designate the injured parties the employees. Liberty Mutual Insurance Company, which I shall call Liberty, was the insurance carrier, for both Sparks and Huber. The ° employees, having elected to take compensation under the Act, were paid by Liberty, which, thereafter, instituted an action in their names against McCormick and the Lamborns under Sec. 38 of the Delaware Workmen’s Compensation Act upon the theory that they were liable for the accident. Subsequent to the filing of the Liberty action, Sparks filed another action on behalf of the same employees upon the theory that it, not Liberty, was the employer entitled to maintain the suit under the Workmen’s Compensation Act. In this suit Sparks named as defendants the Lamborns, McCormick and also Huber. Huber has filed a motion for summary judgment in the Sparks action upon the theory that the latter is not the employer entitled to maintain such an action under Sec. 38 of the Act. McCormick and the Lamborns have filed a motion for summary judgment upon similar grounds in the Liberty action and the employees a motion to strike the appearance of Liberty’s counsel upon the theory that he is representing conflicting interests
Preliminarily, it may be asked why Sparks and the defend
The question here presented is one of first impression in this State. However, the decision of our Supreme Court in Silvia v. Scotten, 2 W. W. Harr. 295 , 122 A. 513 , 515, interpreting Sec.' 38 of the Workmen’s Compensation Act, though not directly in point, nevertheless strongly influences my reasoning in arriving at the ultimate answer. There, the court held that a widow and dependents, having accepted the benefits of the Workmen’s Compensation Act, could not maintain an action against a third party tort-feasor allegedly responsible for the injuries for the reason that the employer, having paid compensation, is the only party entitled to sue. Insofar as pertinent here, the court said: “It
2 In 81 A. 2d 675 and 83 A. 2d 300 , I held that Huber could not be joined as a third party defendant in the Liberty case under Rule 14 A of the Rules of the Superior Court (identical to the Federal Rule of Civil Procedure, 28 U. S. C. A.) and that the Uniform Contribution Among Joint-Tort-Feasors Act, Vol. 47, Del. Laws, Chapt. 151, was not applicable to an accident occurring prior to the date of the passage of that Act.
To the contention that such a result might operate unfairly to the employee in the event the employer did not choose to bring a suit under Sec. 38, the court used this significant language. “* * * The risk that he (employer) will not act to col
And, the Superior Court in Travelers Insurance Company v. E. I. DuPont De Nemours and Company, 1 Terry 285 , 9 A. 2d 88 , 91, had occasion to construe a somewhat related question raised under Sec. 38 of our Compensation Act. Again the court recognized the result arrived at in the Scotten case in this language. “Now the injured employee has a right of action against the third person causing the injury, or he has a claim against the employer for compensation, but under the words of the Statute (Sec. 6108) ‘he shall not proceed against both’. He has the election and if he chooses to take compensation then comes into play the statutory subrogation of the other right (employer’s right to sue). So, too, in the case of the death of the employee, a dependent widow has an election. Having a right to compensation as a dependent, she may elect that benefit or rely upon her right of action under the ‘Death Act.’ If. she takes compensation then her right of action (under the Death Act) is subrogated to the employer. Certain inequitable considerations may arise in the right of the employer to control the litigation and limit the recovery, by settlement or otherwise, to the exact amount of compensation paid by such employer, and thus defeat the claim of the injured employee or widow to the excess damages which might be collectible above the amount of compensation paid. We shall, however, not pause to discuss this question.”
It is of interest also to observe that though no dispute existed in this case between the employer and its insurance carrier as to which had the right to sue, yet the court assumed throughout its opinion that the carrier, having paid compensa
Three fundamental propositions emerge from a consideration of the two opinions just cited. (1) An employer, once having paid compensation to an injured employee electing to take under the Act, is the sole party having a right to maintain an action against a third party tort-feasor under Sec. 38. That is to say, upon payment by the employer to the employee “ ‘ipso facto et eo instanti’ ” the employer “ ‘becomes the owner of the right against the wrongdoer’ ”. (2) The employee, having.elected to take compensation under the Act, has no further legal right in the matter for, in so doing, his claim by operation of law is assigned to the employer. And even though Sec. 38 provides that he is entitled to any recovery in excess of the amount of compensation paid which may be obtained in a suit by the employer, yet this fact gives him no legal standing for he has no “way of collecting it except as the interest or grace of the employer may prompt him to act”. (3) An insurance carrier, having once paid compensation, is an employer within the meaning of Sec. 42 entitled to maintain the action provided for by Sec. 38, at least, where the employer does not challenge the right of the former to sue.
I now proceed to a consideration of the three basic arguments advanced in support of the contention that Sparks is the employer entitled to sue under Sec. 38. First, Bell Co. v. Rogers, 3 W. W. Harr. 445 , 138 A. 903 is cited as bearing very strongly on the issue here. In that case, the employer appeared as plaintiff on behalf of the injured employee before the Workmen’s Compensation Board. The decision of the Board not being satisfactory to the employer’s insurance carrier, the latter attempted to appeal. The Superior Court decided that the carrier, not being a party to the proceeding, could not take an appeal. While it may be admitted that this decision has some bearing upon the present question by way of analogy, I am not persuaded that it is at all decisive. The opinion of the court was extremely short and, obviously, did not have in mind the broad implications
Next it is said that the right to sue in this case is governed by the provisions of Sec. K of the policy of insurance in force between Sparks and Liberty. This section reads as follows: “Subrogation — The Company (Liberty) shall be subrogated in case of any payment under this policy, to the extent of such payment, to all rights of recovery therefor vested by law either in this Employer, or in any employee or his dependents claiming hereunder * *
It is urged from the foregoing that Liberty, having by contract restricted its interest in a Sec. 38 proceeding to the comparatively small amount of compensation paid by it to the injured employees cannot now be heard to say that it is entitled to control the whole cause of action which, in this case, amounts to many thousands of dollars over and above the compensation paid.[3] But Sec. 33 of the Act, in effect, renders void any provision of a policy of Workmen’s Compensation Insurance inconsistent with the Act itself and, furthermore, there is an endorsement on this very - policy to the same effect. For these reasons, I do not regard this argument as acceptable.
Finally, it is urged that the employer (Sparks) being the
3 Liberty had paid about $3000 in compensation. The amount sued for in the Sparks complaint is $48,000.
Sec. 42 states in effect that an employer shall include an insurance carrier “as far as practicable”. It is urged that it is not “practicable” here for the carrier to sue because it would not prosecute the case with the same zeal as the employer. Again, I cannot agree. What is or is not “practicable” is a matter of statutory construction and must be premised upon something more than the interests of the employee who, I repeat, has no recognizable legal interest.
I find nothing in this case so far making it impracticable for the carrier to sue. Thus, it follows that the carrier should be included or regarded as an employer insofar as concerns Sec. 42. We have, then, two parties, the employer and the carrier, who come within the definition of the word “employer”. Now, which has the superior right to maintain the action? Sec. 38 states in plain terms that the right to maintain such an action shall be in that employer “having paid the compensation or having become liable therefor”. Here, the “employer”, Liberty, not the employer, Sparks, has paid the compensation. It follows, then, that Liberty has the right to maintain the action. Moreover, I believe that such a result is the more' practical solution for, in the final analysis, who among the three has an actual stake in proceeding against a wrongdoer under Sec. 38? The employee has elected to play safe and take compensation and in so doing, ceases to have a legal interest. Silvia v. Scotten, supra. The employer has parted with nothing. There remains, then, only the carrier who is out of pocket and not only does sound reason dictate that it should be entitled to maintain the action, but Sec. 38, in my judgment, plainly indicates that it has the right so to do.
Obviously, the conclusion here reached does not pretend to dispose of all imaginable situations involving disputes between the employer and its carrier over the right to sue under Sec. 38. These must be decided as they arise. What I am faced with and what I decide is that an insurance carrier, having paid compensation to an injured employee under the Act, has the right to maintain the action against the wrongdoer under Sec. 38.
Finally, there is the motion to strike the appearance of Liberty’s counsel in the Liberty suit based upon the reasoning that he is representing the conflicting interests of the employees and of Huber in the same litigation. This motion is premised upon the principle that the high position of trust and confidence existing between a client and his attorney precludes any conflict
The motion to strike is overruled.