Majority
Headnote
In an action upon two policies of life insurance,the complaint alleged and the answer admitted the issuing of the policies, the death of the insured during the life of the policies, and that proofs of death were served upon defendant. By the policies the defendant was not liable for the amounts insured in case of the death of the insured by his own hands, “ whether sane or insane.” The proofs of loss were upon blanks furnished by the company, which, among other things, requested that in case of a coroner’s jury the company should be furnished with the verdict of the jury. In answer to this request there was attached to the proof what purported to be a copy of the testimony taken before a coroner and of the inquisition of the jury, to the effect that the insured came to his death hy suicide. The persons making the proof stated therein that they did not admit that there was any such inquest, verdict or evidence, and denied that the purported finding was true. An answer to or compliance with any such request was not required by either of the policies. The paper so attached to the proofs was offered in evidence hy defendant and received under objection and exception, and the court decided that thereby the burden was imposed upon plaintiffs of showing how the death was produced. Held error ; that the affirmative was by the pleadings upon defendant ; and that the proofs, taken as a whole, contained no concession which changed this burden.This was an action brought by the plaintiffs, as assignees of two policies of insurance — one for $3,500, the other $1,500 — issued by the defendant upon the life of one Oscar Edler. The defense was that he came to his death by suicide, and so the defendants incurred no liability, but the answer contained an offer of judgment for $231.96, being the
The policy of $3,500 was payable by its terms “in sixty days after due notice and proof of the death” of the life insured, unless, among other things not material here, “ he shall die by his own act or hand, whether sane or insane,” in which case “the policy shall be null and void,” and the company will return the premiums paid. The character or nature of the proof of death is not specified, nor other language used in reference to it than is above given. The other policy is different. It is payable “ within sixty days after notice and the proofs hereinafter required of the death of said Oscar Edler shall have been furnished to the company at its office,” and provides “that the proofs of the death by which this contract matures shall contain full and true answers, under oath, to the questions in the company’s blanks for proofs of death, relating to the life, health and death of the person in question ; and shall include (1) a statement of the extent and character . of each and every claimant’s interest in the policy; (2) the statement of the physician or physicians, if more than one, who attended the deceased during his last illness or within a year previous; (3) the statement of a responsible householder acquainted with the deceased; (4) the statement of the undertaker.”
But the policy declared “ that the self-destruction of the person, whether voluntary or involuntary, and whether he be sane or insane at the time, is not a risk assumed by the company in this contract, but, in every such case, the company will, upon demand made and the surrender of this policy, accompanied with satisfactory proofs of such death, within sixty days after its occurrence, pay the net reserve upon it held by the company at the beginning of the year in which death occurs.”
Upon the trial the plaintiffs put in evidence the policies and proved their title by assignment. They then called Daniel Goldschmidt, who testified that he was one of the plaintiffs, and he was about to state the consideration of the assignments and the extent of the plaintiffs’ claim under them, when the defendant’s counsel objected, and the proposed evidence was excluded. He then testified that he knew of Edler’s death on the 27th of August, 1876; that he attended the funeral and saw his dead body. The defendant’s counsel then placed in the hands of the witness certain papers, marked “ Exhibit Ho. 1, for identification,” containing proofs of death and other matters referred to in the second policy, and proved by him that the signature to the certificate was his own and also that of the firm, of which plaintiffs were the members. The exhibit contained various papers, entitled as follows: First, claimants’ certificate second, attending physician’s certificate; third, friends’ certificate ; fourth, undertaker’s certificate; all upon the defendant’s blanks, and given in answer to questions framed by them. Among those addressed to the claimants, in paper called “ claimants’ certificate,” are these questions and answers:
“Place and date of death? Ho. 324 West Fifty-second street, in the city of Hew York, as we are informed and believu; August 27, 1876.
“ a. Remote cause of death ? a. Disease of the bladder and urinary .organs.
“ b. When did the health of the deceased first begin to be affected ? b. Hot known to us, but we are informed and believe several months before his death.
“ o. Immediate cause of death ? o. Hot known to us, other than he was afflicted by the above-mentioned disease.
“ (I. Duration of last illness ? d. Hot known to us, except that he had been afflicted with the above-mentioned disease for several months before his death.
“e. Give every particular in relation thereto within your knowledge? e. Hot known to us, except that for several months he appeared to be suffering severe pain consequent, as we suppose, upon the above-mentioned disease.
“ Hame and residence of every physician who attended and prescribed for deceased during the last year prior to death, or since he became out of health ? Dr. F. Zinsser, of Ho. 47 West Twenty-eighth street, in the city of Hew York, as we are informed, prescribed for deceased during this period; we know of no other.
“ Did deceased violate any condition of the above-mentioned policy in respect to residence, travel, occupation, use of spirituous liquors, dueling, suicide, violation of law, or had he been convicted of felony ? Ho, not to our knowledge.”
Then follows this direction and answer: “ In case of coroner’s inquest, furnish the company with verdict of the jury and all the evidence on which such verdict was based ? (Ans.) We are informed that what purported to be a coroner’s inquest was held; we annex a copy of what is represented to us to be the verdict of the jury and of the evidence on which said verdict was based. But we do not hereby admit that there was any such inquest, verdict or evidence, and we deny that the purported finding of such alleged jury was true or well founded, and we deny the fact alleged to have been found by such jury, . and we deny the truthfulness of the alleged evidence on which said verdict is said to be based.”
Attached to the papers referred to is a copy of the testimony purporting to have been taken before the coroner, and a copy of the inquisition; in effect that a jury of seven, whose names are given, “ upon their oaths and affirmations, say that the said Oscar Edler came to his death by suicide by cyanide of potassium, on the 27th day of August, 1876, at Ho. 324 West Fifty-second street.” :
The plaintiffs’ counsel objected, “ except so far as they are evidence of the death as required by the rules of the company, and of the plaintiffs’ presentation of proof to the company under their rules,” and separately objected to the proceedings before the coroner being introduced in evidence as an admission of the plaintiffs, or asevidenceof the statements contained therein.
Both objections were overruled and to each decision the plaintiffs’ counsel excepted. The trial judge then ruled “ that the complaint should be dismissed unless the plaintiffs showed how the' death of Edler was produced; that as to it they had the affirmative.” To this the plaintiffs excepted, and they giving no further evidence, the defendant’s motion was granted and the complaint dismissed, but on application of defendant’s counsel, and against the objection of the plaintiffs, the court subsequently ordered a verdict for the plaintiff's for the sum admitted by defendants to be due.
In these rulings we think the trial- court erred. In the first place, the complaint alleges and the answer admits -the issuing of the policies, the death of Edler during the life of the policies, that proof of his death was served upon the defendant, and demand of payment made, as set forth in the complaint. So far there was a complete case conceded, and if the plaintiffs’ title to recover had not depended upon their character as assignees, which was denied by the answer, no evidence could have been required on their part.
Under the first policy the obligation of the defendant became perfect in sixty days after the death of Edler and notice and proof of his death. Ho particular form of proof was specified in the policy and the only reference to it is the clause which thus fixes the time when the money is to become payable. Ho doubt the company were entitled to such proof as
It is argued that the court below was controlled by authority, and the case then cited is relied upon by the defendant to uphold the ruling, viz.: Insurance Company v. Newton ( 22 Wall. 32 ). Under what circumstances the proofs in that case were
In the case before us it is quite otherwise. The insurer raised no issue as to the preliminary proofs of death, and they were in all respects complete without the statement as to the coroner’s inquest. Its contents formed no part of the representations of the claimants; the statements were not sworn to by them, nor presented as worthy of belief., They were in no respect bound by them. Nor were they necessary, as in the case cited, to qualify the defendant’s admission, on which the plaintiffs then relied.
I have spoken more particularly of the first policy. The second policy, as we have seen, contains other provisions concerning proofs of loss. They have been complied with literally. They do not require, the facts and circumstances attending the death to be set forth in the proofs, nor do they call for any information concerning an inquest or other examination. Under this policy, as under the other, the question was unwarranted, and although the circumstances stated were calculated to gratify curiosity and perhaps serve a useful end, formed no part of the proofs called for, nor were they given as matter credited by the claimants. The insurer could, so far as it thought proper, regulate its conduct by any suspicions thereby excited, but it could not make use of the statement, as one binding upon the plaintiffs. If the policy was void by reason of any act of Edler, or if his death was from a cause against which they had not in
The judgment appealed from should, therefore, be reversed and a new trial granted, with costs to abide the event.
All concur.
Judgment reversed.
Cases cited
- Insurance Co. v. Newton 22 Wall. 32 p. 486, p. 487, p. 492
- Insurance Co. v. Higginbotham 95 U. S. 380 at 390 p. 487
- Marine Bank v. Clements 31 N. Y. 33 at 43 p. 487