Majority
Headnote
In cases of insurance the law, in the absence of fraud, looks to the proximate cause only of the loss -in determining whether it was caused by a peril insured against.I find no difficulty in agreeing with the court below, in so much of its judgment as decides that insurers are liable where a loss of the subject insured has happened in consequence of any of the perils expressly insured against, though it should appear that the negligence of the master and mariners was the remote cause of the property being brought within that peril. Although the supreme court, at an early day, held a contrary doctrine in the case of Grim v. The Phenix Ins. Co. ( 13 John. 451 ,) it has not been followed by the federal courts, or even in the courts of this state; and in the English courts there is now a settled course of adjudication the other way, and in conformity with the principle contended for by the plaintiffs. The most prominent of the cases, aside from those in this state, are referred to by Jewett, J. in Gates v. The Madison County Insurance Co. (1 Seld. 478,) and need not be repeated. That case itself is a direct authority upon the point, and being the judgment of the highest appellate court in the state, is necessarily conclusive upon the question. It was an action upon an inland fire policy, and one of the grounds of defense relied upon was that the fire happened in consequence of the culpable negligence of the servants of the assured. It was held that this was not an answer to the action, and the decision was not placed upon the ground of any distinction between a marine and a fire'
But although in a case where the vessel is brought within the peril mentioned in the policy by means of the negligence of the master and mariners, the insurers are nevertheless liable, it is not one of the terms of the contract that the insurers shall indemnify the assured against the delinquency of the servants and agents of the latter, and such is not, in general, construed to be its effect. The rule of law that the misfeasance and nonfeasance of a servant are imputable to the party whose servant he is, and in whose business he was at the time acting, holds in insurance cases as well as in other legal controversies, and a number of cases have been decided in accordance with that rule. Thus, where a vessel is injured by a peril of the sea, and further damages arise from a neglect of the master to cause her to be repaired, when that was practicable; where a vessel had been stranded which rendered her liable to be injured by worms, and such injury occurred in consequence of a negleet of her master to repair; where in the case of an insurance upon cargo, the ship was lost and the goods saved, but the master neglected to tranship them as he might have done, and thus have prevented a portion of the loss; where a neutral vessel was condemned for resisting an attempt to search; where loss occurred in consequence of the master exhibiting a false bill of health, or leaving the ship’s register on shore; in all these cases the insurers were held to be discharged upon the principle which has been mentioned. (Copeland v. The N. E. Marine Ins. Co., 2 Metc. 432 ; Haxard v. The Same, 1 Law R. 218; Schieffelin v. N. Y. Ins. Co., 9 John. 21 ; Amer. Ins. Co. v.
In applying these principles to the case under review, the inquiry presents itself as to the cause of the loss which the plaintiffs have sustained. We find in the first place that the district court of the United States adjudged that a lien for a sum of money attached to the plaintiffs’ steamer, and ordered her to be sold unless it should be paid, and that the plaintiffs were obliged to pay it to redeem their vessel. This was in one sense the cause of the loss ; but the judgment of a court proceeding according to the law of the land cannot legally be considered a peril of any kind. Again, the judgment was for a cause of action which accrued on account of a collision with the propeller, which was insured by the defendants, and collisions are classed among sea risks; but the fact that the barque was injured by the collision was not of itself the ground of the judgment. If the crew of the barque had been alone in fault, or if it had been the result of accident without blame on either side, no judgment could have passed in the district court against the propeller. It would have been damnum sine injuria, out of which no cause of prosecution could have arisen against the insured vessel. It was the negligence of the master and crew which furnished the basis of the proceeding and the aliment for the judgment. Without that feature the collision, and the injury to the barque would have been harmless as it regards the propeller, whatever damage the barque might have suffered. It was that feature alone which shifted -the misfortune from the owners of the
I think, moreover, that the point has been settled upon
I am of opinion that the judgment of the supreme court should be reversed, and that judgment should be given for the defendants.
It cannot be successfully questioned that a loss arising from collision is a loss by peril of the lakes and within the terms of the policy. (Phil. on Ins. 636; Smith v. Scott, 4 Taunt. 126; Peters v. The Warren Ins. Co., 14 Peters, 99 ; Hale v. Wash. Ins. Co., 2 Story’s R. 176.)
The insurance was upon “ the body, tackle, apparel and other furniture ” of the Ontario. That property was not injured by the collision, but it was subjected to a lien to the extent of the injury done to the Utica, because it appeared that the collision was caused by the carelessness and negligence of the master and crew of the Ontario; and it is claimed that if is brought within the policy? because it was subjected to such lien.
The collision itself gave no lien on the Ontario to the owners of the Utica. But the fault being wholly on the part of the Ontario, the owners of the Utica had their election either to proceed in personam against the owners of the Ontario, or in rem against the property, and they chose the latter remedy.
It was held in this state, in Grim v. The Phœnix Insurance Co., ( 13 John. 451 ,) where the vessel, among other risks, was insured against fire, that the insurers were not liable for loss from fire which was occasioned by the carelessness of one of the crew, not amounting to barratry. And such were the earlier decisions in Massachusetts and Ohio. ( 8 Mass. R. 308 ; 5 Ohio R. 436; 7 id. 2.) But in those states, and in others, that doctrine has been expressly overruled. (Copeland v. New
If this were therefore a case of injury caused by the collision, I should feel bound to hold that the carelessness or negligence of the master and crew would form no defense.
But the vessel insured was not injured by the collision. The other colliding vessel sustained the injury. That vessel is not covered by the policy. To charge that loss upon the owners of the Ontario, it was necessary to do more than simply to prove the collision. It was indispensable to the recovery, to show that the collision was owing to the carelessness or negligence of the master and crew of the Ontario. It is no defense as to a loss upon the property insured, that it was caused by the carelessness of the master and crew. But does the policy extend to injuries to other vessels caused by such carelessness 1 That is the question presented for our determination.
There are but two reported cases in this country upon this question. In Hale v. The Wash. Ins. Co., (2 Story’s Rep. 176,) and Sherwood v. The General Mutual Ins. Co. (1 Blatch.
On this point, there has been no reported case in the state courts of this country. It is said that just before the late decision of the supreme court of the U. S., a case had been decided by the supreme court of Massachusetts in accordance with the views expressed in 2d Story; but it has not been reported and we have not been furnished with a copy of the opinion. We have no means therefore of knowing its extent or application. Whatever they may have been, as it was no doubt based upon the two decisions of the U. S. circuit court, which have been since overruled, it can no longer have any foundation whatever as authority.
The judgment of the supreme court of the U. S. in Sherwood v. The Mutual Ins. Co. is in accordance with the well settled English law; (De Vaux v. Salvador, 4 Ad. & El. 420 ; 31 Eng. Com. Law, 104 ;) and also with the French law. The rule is thus stated by Ledru Rollin, in his Repertoire Générale, Journal du Palais, 2 vol. 17, s. 270, Assurance. “Les assureurs ne répondent pas de’l abordage occasionné par la faute du capitaine, ou de l’equipage ni de la prise arrivée, parce que le capitaine n’ a pas su éviter l’ennemi, ou parce qu’il ne' s’est pas suffisamment défendu, ou parce qu’il s’est volontairement écarté de l’escorte avec laquelle il devait voyager,” (citing 3 Pardessus, No. 771 Boulay Paty, to. 4, p. 66.)
It is believed such is also the law in all the other maritime
“ Abordages, c’est a dire lorsque mon vaisseau, que j’ai fait as-surer a été endommagé par le heurt d’un antré vaisseau. L’assuerur est tenu de m’indemniser du dommage arrive a mon vais seau par cet abordage, lorsqu’il est arrivé par un cas fortuit, comme dans une tempeté ; ou méme lorsqu’il est arrive par la faute du maitre d’un autre vaisseau ; Auquel cas je dois ceder á l’assureur mes actions entre celui par la faute de qui est arrive l’abordage, et contre son commettant. Mais si c’est par la faute du maitre de mon vaisseau que l’abordage est arrive, l’assureur n’en este pas tenu, s’il n’y a une clause particuliére que l’assureur sera tenu de la barratiné du capitaine.” (Se also Emerigon, 329 ; Boucher, 1500, 2.)
Similar opinions have been expressed by writers on insurance, in our own tongue. (1 Phil, on Ins. 636 ; Marsh, on Ins. 493; Park. Mar. Ins. 131; Broom’s Leg. Max. 167.) Arnold (2 Arn. on Ins. 775,) says when the loss is not proximately caused by the perils of the sea, but is directly referable to the negligence or misconduct of the master or other agents of the assured, there seems little doubt that the underwriters would be thereby discharged.”
It is conceded on both sides of this question, that it is governed by the maxim, (Bac. Max. Reg. 1,) In jure, non remota causa, sed próxima, spectatur. The difference of opinion arises from its application. What is the proximate cause, in this case, of the injury ? If an injury to the vessel was the immediate result of the collision, the latter would then be the proximate cause, and being within the terms of the policy the defendants would be liable. But can it be said that the collision is the proximate cause, when, of itself, it inflicts no injury, and when it is necessary to prove something more, viz. the carelessness or negligence of the master and crew, to give even a right of action ? The plaintiff establishes no right, by simply proving a collision,
In De Vaux v. Salvador, above cited, Lord Denman, O. J. said, “ The ship is driven against another by stress of weather ; the injury she sustains is admitted to be direct, and the insurers are liable for it. But the collision causes the ship insured to do some damage to the other vessel. And whenever this effect is produced, both vessels being in fault, a positive rule of the court of admiralty requires the damage done to both ships to be added together, and the combined amount to be equally divided between the owners of the two. It turns out that the ship insured has done more damage than she has received, and is obliged to pay the owners of the other ship to some amount, under the rule of the court of admiralty. But this is neither a necessary nor a proximate effect of theperils of the sea; it grows out of an arbitrary provision in the law of nations from views of general expediency, not as dictated by natural justice, nor (possibly) quite consistent with it; and can no more be charged on the underwriters than a penalty incurred by contravention of the
The plaintiff’s claim seems to me to be as adverse to principle as it is unsupported by authority, If we sustain it, we shall commit, in my judgment, the great fault of establishing for our own state, a rule of law in conflict with the now settled doctrine of the highest federal court, and at variance with the often expressed judgment of the whole civilized world. Such a decision could not fail to be exceedingly embarrassing, for in no department of the law is uniformity more desirable, than in that which regulates the rights and obligations of those engaged in commercial pursuits. The law of the maritime world should be limited by no national boundaries, but should he as universal as the commerce which it protects and regulates,
I think the judgment of the supreme court should be reversed, and judgment should be given in favor of the defendant on the demurrer.
Judgment accordingly.
Cases cited
- Patapsco Insurance v. Coulter 3 Pet. 222 p. 4
- Brown v. Swann 10 Pet. 497 at 517 p. 4
- American Insurance v. Bryan 26 Wend. 563 at 581 p. 4, p. 5
- American Insurance v. Center 4 Wend. 45 p. 8
- General Mutual Insurance v. Sherwood 14 How. 351 p. 11
- Peters v. Warren Insurance 14 Pet. 99 p. 11