Majority
Headnote
By the provisions of an accident policy of insurance the insured was indemnified in a certain sum per week if disabled from prosecuting business “ by reason of bodily injuries * * * through external, violent and accidental means; ” in case of death, resulting from the accident, the insurer to pay a specified sum. ■ It was then provided that this insurance should not extend “to any bodily injury, of which there shall be no external and visible sign upon the body, * * * nor to any death or disability which may have been caused * * * by the taking of poison, contact with poisonous substances, or inhaling of gas or by any surgical operation or medical treatment." In an action upon the policy, it appeared that the insured was found dead in bed in his room at a hotel. The gas had in some way been turned on, the atmos" phere of the room filled with it, and the death was .caused by breathing this atmosphere. The court found, as a fact, that the death was caused “by accidental means.” There was no external or visible sign of injury upon the body. Held, that the provision requiring such a sign did not applyin case of death, but only to injuries entitling the insured to a weekly indemnity during their continuance; also, that the death was not caused by “ the inhaling of gas ” within the meaning of the policy; that those words applied only to a voluntary and intelligent action on the part of the insured; also, that the death was caused by external and violent means within the meaning of the policy.This record contains no other evidence or proofs than are embodied in a paper, entitled “ statement of facts and stipulation of attorneys,” which was submitted by the counsel to the trial judge. Upon this stipulation the trial judge found, among others, the following as facts : “ That on December 3, 1884, and during the continuance of the said certificate or policy of insurance, the said Matthew L. Paul died; that at the time A his death he was stopping as a guest at the Sturtevant • House in Eew York city; that he went to his room in said hotel between ten and eleven o’clock p. or. of December .2,1884; that at some time, after he went to his room, the gas therein became turned on; that at about two o’clock of December 3, 1884, the said Paxil was found dead in his bed; that the room was tightly closed and the atmosphere therein was filled with illuminating gas; that the said Paul lay on his bed like a man asleep, without any outward indications that he was dead and without any external or -visible signs of injury upon his body; that the death of said Paul was caused by his breathing the atmosphere of said room, full, as aforesaid, of illuminating gas.” And the judge also found as a fact, “ that the death of said Paul was occasioned by accidental means.” The defendant resists a recovery upon the policy of insurance, on the ground that the deceased came to his death by the inhaling of gas, within the meaning of the policy, and from such a cause of death no right of action arises.
The sole question presented, therefore, is as to the proper
A careful consideration of this instrument and of the scope and design of its provisions, leads us to the conclusion that the appellant must fail in its contention. At the foundation lie the facts, conceded and found, that there was a death caused by accidental means, and that the accidental means were the decedent’s “breathing the atmosphere of the room full of illuminating gas.” The absence of any external and visible sign upon the body of the insured presents no embarrassment, We do not understand the conditions of this agreement to require
In the present policy the proviso that the insurance shall not extend to any bodily injury, of which there shall be no external and visible sign upon the body of the insured, clearly has reference to a claim made under it for the weekly indemnity. Such a provision, obviously, was designed as a proper precaution to guard the company against a liability upon a fraudulent claim by the insured for indemnity for bodily injuries, of which the only evidence might be the word of the person. This policy, like any other contract between parties, is to be construed, not merely by the letter, but by the spirit. We must read it in connection with the whole subject-matter to which it relates, and give to language its ordinary and natural meaning. If, then, the intention of the parties becomes manifest, such intention must prevail. How what was the case here of these parties? The deceased desired to secure a pecuniary indemnity against accidents, which would disable him from the prosecution of his business, or which would result in his death ; and, in consideration of what he pays, the company agrees to so indemnify him, but limits its liability to cases of pure accident, happening through external and violent agencies,
I agree with the counsel of the respondent in his suggestion, that if the exception is to cover all cases where death is ‘ caused by the presence of gas, there would be no reason for using the word “ inhale.” If the policy had said that it was not to extend to any death caused wholly or in part by gas, it
As to the point raised by the appellant that the death was not caused by external and violent means, within the meaning of the policy, we think it a sufficient answer that the gas in the atmosphere, as an external cause, was a violent agency, in the sense that it worked upon the intestate so as to cause his death. That a death is the result of accident, or is unnatural, imports an external and violent agency as the cause. The cases collated on the respondent’s brief sufficiently establish that as a proposition. (Trew v. Railway, etc., Co., 7 Jurist [N. S.] 878; Reynolds v. Accident, etc., Co., 22 Law Jour. Rep. [H. S.] 820; Mc Glinchey v. F, and C. Co., 80 Maine, 251.) The case of Hill v. Hartford, etc., Company ( 22 Hun, 187 ) cited by appellant, was that of a physician’s death from drinking by mistake water from a goblet in which was some poison. It was held, by a divided
In McGlinchey v. Fidelity and Casualty Company ( 80 Me. 251 ), the Supreme Court of Maine held similar views of construction of an accident policy, and rest, among other authorities, upon the General Term opinion in this case.
The order of the General Term should be affirmed, and judgment absolute should be ordered in favor of the plaintiff under the defendant’s stipulation.
All concur except Huger, Ch. J., and Andrews, J., not voting.
Judgment accordingly.
Cases cited
- Jackson ex dem. Boyd v. Lewis 17 Johns. 475 p. 472
- People v. New-York Central Railroad 13 N. Y. 78 p. 472
- Appleby v. Astor Fire Insurance 54 N. Y. 253 p. 473
- National Filtering Oil Co. v. Citizens' Insurance 106 N. Y. 535 p. 473
- Sherwood v. Agricultural Insurance of Watertown 73 N. Y. 447 p. 473
- Travellers' Insurance v. McConkey 127 U. S. 661 p. 473
- Herrman v. Merchants' Insurance 81 N. Y. 184 p. 474
- Mallory v. Travelers' Insurance 47 N. Y. 52 at 76 p. 474, p. 475, p. 477
- Hoffman v. Ætna Fire Insurance 32 N. Y. 405 p. 475, p. 479
- White v. Hudson River Insurance 15 How. Pr. 288 p. 479