Majority
Headnote
Written application for .fire insurance was made by a broker on behalf of plaintiff to defendant’s agents. The agents orally agreed to insure from the date of the application provided the company was not already “ on the risk.” The premium was not paid, but in an action upon the alleged contract of insurance it appeared that it was the custom to extend credit to the broker for the premium to the end of the month. Held, that there was a complete and valid contract binding from the date of the conversation.The court properly submitted to the consideration of the jury the' question whether there was a binding
The testimony of the witness Barker was positive that the agreement was full and complete. Written application for the insurance, specific in all its details, had been filed with Sedgwick & Hammond, and the premium upon the risk "was agreed upon, and there was evidence that the usage of the business was to Extend a credit to the broker for the premium until the end of the month. As to the oral agreement, the evidence .of this witness was that, after Hammond had shown to him the letter from the company appointing his firm agents, and "had stated that* he “ would bind the risk provided the company was not on,” he said to Hammond: “ It is understood that the policy is binding jirovided the company is not on the risk,” and Hammond replied, “Yes.” Asked: “ When it was binding from,” he answered, “ From the sixteenth ; from that time; from that conversation.”
If this evidence was to be credited, it justified the inference of a complete binding agreement from the date of the .conversation. It was for the jury to draw the inference, and such a contract, if made, was a valid agreement for insurance upon which a recovery could be had. (Ellis v. Albany Ins. Co., 50 N. Y. 402 .) A more serious question is presented :as to whether the agreement thus made was binding upon ■.the company.
At the close of the testimony the counsel for the defendant ■asked the court to dismiss the complaint upon the ground that it appeared that the letter appointing Sedgwick & Hammond agents for the defendant limited them against insuring special risks, and risks within what was called “ the shore line,” wdiich motion was denied, and to such denial defendant excepted. „
The court was also asked to -charge the jury that the plaintiff’s premises were within the shore line; and, also, if -the jury should find that the risk was a special risk, that •the agents had no authority to bind the defendant, and it was -not liable.
Both requests were refused and defendant excepted to each
“ We deem it unnecessary to enter into any detailed instructions as to the conduct of our business at your agency, as our Mr. Yan Yalkenburgh has written you upon that subject,” etc. Whatever authority the agents had, they derived from these letters. The risk was a special one, and so admitted by the plaintiff upon the trial.
Was authority to insure such a risk withheld from the .agents ? We do not so interpret the letters. It is true that Yan Yalkenburgh wrote that the agents should not write any large risks until they knew that the company was not on through their Hew York office, and should not undertake to write any specials for the company, but this limited authority is not confirmed in the letter from the company. In that letter the authority is broadly stated to be “ Agents of the company in the city of Brooklyn.” There was no exception in the territory named, nor limitation as to the character of the risks to be insured. The other expression in the latter that “ we deem it unnecessary to enter into any detailed instructions as to the conduct of our business at your agency, as our Mr. Yan Yalkenburgh has written you upon that subject,” does not in any way limit the agents’ power. Its plain reference is to the manner of conducting the business, and not to the authority to be exercised by the agent. That this view is the one entertained by the agent is plain from Hammond’s letter to the plaintiff, under date of October twenty-first, in which he places his denial of the existence of an agreement to insure on the fact that they-had not at "the 'date of the alleged agreement received their
We think, therefore, that the letter of October thirteenth, fairly interpreted, constituted Sedgwick & Hammond general agents of the company; and that the utmost that could be claimed from the direction contained in Van Valkenhurgh’s letter, which I have quoted, was that they were instructions for the guidance of the agent, which would in no way affect contracts with third parties having no notice or knowledge of such instructions.
A general agent may bind his principals by an act within the scope of his authority, although it may be contrary to his special instructions. (Story’s Agency, § 733; Walsh v. Hartford F. Ins. Co., 73 N. Y. 5 ; Lightbody v. North Am. Ins. Co., 23 Wend. 18 ; Angell v. Hartford F. Ins. Co., 59 N. Y. 171 .) In Walsh v. Hartford Fire Insurance Company the rule is stated as follows: “A restriction upon the power of an agent not known to persons dealing with him, limiting the usual powers possessed by agents of the same character, would not exempt the principal from responsibility for his acts and contracts which were within the ordinary scope of the business intrusted to him, although he acted in violation of special instruction.” Lightbody v. North American Insurance Company was a case very similar to the case under consideration. The plaintiff owned property in Utica, upon which he procured insurance in the defendant company by paroi agreement with an agent in Troy, whose authority was- limited to “ Troy and vicinity,” and who was denied the power to insure special risks. The plaintiff’s property was a special risk. The Supreme Court held the agreement to be binding on the defendant. Bbonson, J., saying: “ Although he ” (the agent) “ must answer to his principals for departing from their private instructions, he clearly bound them so far as third persons dealing with him in good faith are concerned.”
The manner of conducting the business of insurance is so well known that a person may reasonably assume that one having the apparent power of a general agent is not limited
There was nothing in the transaction between Barker and Hammond, as shown by the evidence, from which the court could assume that "Barker had any notice of any limitation on the agents’ power. At the time of making the agreement, Hammond showed him a letter from the company, and it having been proven by Sedgwick that prior to the fire but one letter from the' company was received, it must be assumed that the letter shown was that of October thirteenth. As I have already shown, this letter constituted Sedgwick & Hammond the general agents for the city of Brooklyn, and no one in reading it could have supposed that, by the reference to the Yan Yalkenburgh letter, the company intended to place any limitation upon the agents’ power but that the direction contained therein related to the manner of conducting the company’s business at the agency. We think the contract made with Hammond was, therefore, binding upon the company.
There being no other question in the case requiring discussion, the judgment should be affirmed, with costs.
All concur.
Judgment affirmed.
Cases cited
- Walsh v. Hartford Fire Insurance 73 N. Y. 5 at 9, 10 p. 417, p. 421
- Sandford v. Handy 23 Wend. 260 at 266 p. 417
- Ellis v. Albany City Fire Insurance 4 Lans. 433 p. 417
- Ellis v. Albany City Fire Insurance 50 N. Y. 402 p. 417, p. 418
- Munn v. President & Directors of Commission Co. 15 Johns. 44 p. 417
- Angell v. Hartford Fire Insurance 59 N. Y. 171 at 174 p. 417, p. 421
- Insurance Co. v. McCain 96 U. S. 84 p. 417
- Lightbody v. North American Insurance 23 Wend. 18 p. 417, p. 421