Majority
Headnote
Where an insurance contract is so drawn as to be manifestly ambiguous, so that reasonable and intelligent men would honestly differ as to its meaning, the doubt will be resolved against the insurer.The claim of the plaintiff is based upon a policy of insurance issued by the defendant to the firm of Moses Lobe & Go., dated November 18, 1885, whereby, as stated in the printed portion thereof, it made insurance and caused “ the several persons indorsed thereon to be insured upon all kinds of lawful goods, wares and merchandise laden on board the good vessel or vessels, boat or boats, railroad or carriage, lost or not lost, at and from ports and places to ports and places, on a regular and lawful route, for the several amounts and at the rates as hereon indorsed, subject to the conditions of this policy, "* * * according to their true intent and meaning; beginning the adventure upon the said property from and immediately following the loading thereof at the port or place named in this indorsement, and so shall continue and endure until the same shall arrive and be safely landed at the port of destination, and not to exceed forty-eight hours from the time of arrival.” The remainder of the policy, so far as it is deemed material, is as follows : “ Touching the
There was a written indorsement upon the policy substantially in these words : “ To the amount of one thousand dollars, to cover on clothing and merchandise, * "x" "x" including trunks valued at invoice cost "x" "x" * against any and all the risks and perils of fire and inland navigation and transportation while on vessels, steamboats or railroads, or in hotels, stores or depots in the "United States * * * and while in custody of the assured, or traveling salesman.” A paper called a “ rider,” signed by the agent who issued the policy, was attached thereto, containing many provisions not deemed important, but also the following: “Loss, if any, payable to assured or order.” “ $1,000 at two and one half per cent for twelve months from noon of the 18th day of November, 1885, to noon of the 18th day of November, 1886. To attach to policy 242 of Western Assurance Company.” There was also indorsed upon the policy, apparently upon the outside after it was folded: “No. 242, Lake Cargo Policy, Western Assurance Co., of the City of Toronto, Assured, Moses Lobe & Co., Amount insured $1,000, expires November 18, 1886, W. A. Carpenter, Agent, No.
It was further admitted that the assured had complied with all the conditions of the policy and that the plaintiff had acquired all the rights of Hoses Lobe & Co. to the claim in question.
The learned General Term ordered judgment for the defendant upon the ground that the indorsement must be treated as expressing the latest intention and agreement of the insurer and insured, and that as the word “ carriage ” was omitted therefrom, goods while laden in a carriage were not covered by the policy.
Where a contract contains two repugnant provisions, the one printed' and the other written, it is well settled that the latter must control the interpretation of the instrument, as it is presumed to express the latest intention of the parties. (Chadsey v. Guion, 97 N. Y. 333 ; Harper v. Albany Mut. Ins. Co., 17 id. 194.) Unless the conflict is irreconcilable, however, this rule does not apply, but the principle prevails that contracts should be so construed as to give effect to every word and expression contained therein. (Miller v. Hannibal & St. Joseph R. R. Co., 90 N. Y. 430 ; Barhydt
The discussion in this case should be confined to the method of transporting the insured property allowed by the policy, as this only is material under the circumstances attending-the loss. In considering the questions presented, regard should be had to the fact that the insurer, in writing the policy, used a form designed to cover risks upon lake cargoes, and adapted it to a risk upon the wares and samples of a-traveling salesman. The obvious nature of the risk suggests the kind of protection needed, and may aid in discovering the intention of the parties.
The main question arising for decision is whether, by the-terms of the contract, the permitted means of transportation are to be indorsed upon the policy. Mo indorsement is necessary, even upon an open or running policy, unless it is-required, and then only to the extent required, by the specific agreement of the parties. (1 Parsons on Marine Ins. 328.) It is claimed, on the one hand, that the words “as hereon, indorsed,” as they appear in the first sentence already quoted from the policy, refer simply to the amount and rate of insurance, while it is contended on the other that they refer to and qualify every part of the sentence which precedes them. If' the latter construction is correct, it is difficult to see why the word “ indorsed ”’ should be used twice in the same sentence, as it involves a useless repetition and is an awkward and unnatural expression. The natural, as well as the grammatical construction, as it appears to us, is that the words in question refer to the amount and rate of insurance, and require that these should be indorsed, as by the first part of the sentence the persons insured were required to be indorsed upon the policy. The intermediate portions of the sentence which relate to the point in dispute are not so connected with either part containing the word “ indorsed ” as to be controlled by
The provision that no shipment is to be considered as insured until approved and indorsed on the policy has reference only to the property insured. As that is not named in the body of the agreement it becomes a necessary part of the indorsement, for otherwise there would be no subject of insurance, and nothing for the contract to operate upon. As we construe the body of the policy, the indorsement is required to cover but five subjects, the amount of insurance, the rate charged, the goods shipped, the port or place of loading or departure, and the names of the assured. With these points, covered by the indorsement, the contract became complete, and each provision thereof effective. The indorsement, of course,while not required to extend farther, could be made to enlarge or limit any provision of the policy proper. It was clearly within the power of the parties to make the indorsement exclusive by the use of terms showing their intention to do so. Although, as already appears, the indorsement need not embrace the permitted means of transportation, the ques
We think that the loss in question came within the protection of the policy, and that the judgment appealed from should be reversed and judgment ordered for the plaintiff in accordance with the terms of the submission.
All concur.
Judgment reversed.
Cases cited
- Buffalo East Side Railroad v. Buffalo Street Railroad 111 N. Y. 132 p. 55
- Chadsey v. Guion 97 N. Y. 333 at 335 p. 55, p. 57
- Miller v. Hannibal & St. Joseph Railroad 90 N. Y. 430 p. 57
- Allen v. St. Louis Insurance 85 N. Y. 473 p. 59