Majority
Headnote
In an action upon a policy of fire insurance, it appeared that plaintiff employed one S. to procure for him $5,500, of insurance. S. employed R. who procured five policies of $1,100 each, issued by different companies; these he delivered to plaintiff. They were issued at different dates, defendant’s being one of the last issued. Subsequently plaintiff paid sufficient to pay the premiums upon three of the policies, with which R. paid the premiums on the three policies first issued, leaving the premiums on defendant’s policy, and one other, unpaid. Neither plaintiff nor S. knew which of the policies had been paid when S. called upon plaintiff for the balance of the unpaid premiums. This he declined to pay, stating he had insurance enough, and did not want the policies, and handed back to S. two policies; he took them and ordered them cancelled. R. discovered that they were two of the policies the premiums of which had been paid; be reported to defendant plaintiff’s refusal to pay and that he had returned two of the said policies by mistake. These R. promised to exchange, and lie requested T, who was authorized by defendant to cancel policies, to mark off the one issued by it, which lie assented to. Plaintiff, on being asked for the two policies which had not been paid for, promised to get them and give them to R. and pay the premium for the time they had run, if R. would deliver back the two paid policies. The goods were destroyed by fire the next day. The trial court found that prior to the fire, the insurance existing by virtue of the policy in suit was duly terminated, and directed judgment dismissing the complaint on the merits. Held, no error; that it appeared to be plaintiff’s intention to surrender the policies on which the premium had not been paid, and to retain the others, and in handing over the two paid policies he made a mistake which the courts would rectify; and that S. and R. in doing what they did to have the policy in suit cancelled, merely carried out his directions.This action was brought upon a policy of insurance to recover the amount of loss sustained by reason of a fire.
The policy was issued September 28, 1883, by Lothrop & Scott, "who were the agents of both the defendant and the Lion Fire Insurance Company. The fire occurred on the 29th day of November, 1883. It appears that the plaintiff employed one Victor Spitzer to procure $5,500 of insurance upon his Stock of goods, and that Spitzer procured one John II. Rieger to procure such insurance; that thereupon Rieger procured five policies of insurance each in the sum of $1,100 to be issued by different companies, one of which is the policy in suit, and delivered them to Spitzer who delivered them to the plaintiff. These policies were issued at different dates, that of the defendant and of the Lion Fire Insurance Company being the last that were issued. The premium upon these policies was thirty-three dollars each, amounting in the aggregate to $165. Subsequently the plaintiff delivered to Spitzer $100 to pay upon the premiums and Spitzer delivered ninety-nine dollars thereof to Rieger who paid the premium upon three of the five policies which were first issued, leaving the premium on the policies issued by the defendant and the Lion Fire Insurance Company unpaid. It further appears that numerous demands were made upon the plaintiff to pay the remaining sixty-five dollars due and owing for premiums upon these policies, but that the amount had not been paid at the time of the fire.
The trial com’t found as facts that “ on or about November 26, 1883, the plaintiff, by his agent duly authorized thereto, informed the defendant that the plaintiff did not wish the said insurance. That on or about November 27, 1883, by agreement between Mr. Talbot, duly authorized on behalf of the defendant, and the said Rieger, duly authorized on behalf of the plaintiff, the said insurance existing by virtue of the policy mentioned in the complaint in this action was duly terminated and the said insurance ceased,” and, as a conclusion of law, that the defendant was entitled to a judgment dismissing the complaint upon the merits.
The duty, therefore, devolves upon us of determining whether or not this finding is sustained bj the evidence. Upon this branch of the case there was a sharp conflict in the testimony which involved the credibility of the witnesses. The trial court in its opinion calls attention to this and states that “ after a careful examination of the testimony of both ■ sides, and giving to each the weight which it seems to me to deserve, by reason of its greater or less probability in connection with all' the surrounding circumstances of the case, I have come to the ■conclusion that the facts are as testified to by the witnesses examined for the defense.” Inasmuch as the trial judge had the advantage of seeing and hearing the witnesses deliver their testimony, he could form a more accurate judgment than a court on review as to their reliability and truthfulness. We shall, therefore, only call attention to the testimony of defendant’s witnesses for the purpose of determining whether it is sufficient to authorize the finding of the trial, court to' which attention has been called. In the first place-there appears to be no controversy in reference to the other facts to which, we have called attention; that the premium had been paid upon three of tlie five policies issued and delivered to the plaintiff; and that it had not been paid upon the policy in suit or- that of the Lion Fife Insurance Company, and that the plaintiff-had been dunned for the balance of the premium that was due; It- further appears that neither Spitzer nor the plaintiff knew which of the three policies had been paid for when tlie. transaction to which we now call attention took place. Spitzer- testified on behalf of the defendant that he called'upon- tlie- plaintiff for the balance of the unpaid premium ; that he had delivered the five policies to the plaintiff the latter- pari of September, and the latter part of October had received $100 from him as part payment for the
The General Term appears to have reached the conclusion that this testimony did not authorize the cancellation of the policy in suit; that it was the two policies delivered by the plaintiff to Spitzer that he authorized to be cancelled and not the two policies on which the premium had not been paid But did the plaintiff intend to authorize Spitzer to have those two policies cancelled ? He had paid the premium upon three of the five policies; he did not know which, and being of foreign birth and evidently unfamiliar with the transaction of business of this character, doubtless supposed that it did not make any difference. He did not even keep or remember the names of the companies who had issued the two policies delivered up by him. He had been dunned time and again for the balance of the premium due. He knew that there was premium due upon two policies, and that it had been paid upon three. He
It consequently appears to us that the finding of the trial court is sustained by the evidence.
The order of the General Term should be reversed, and the judgment of the trial court affirmed, with costs.
All concur.
Order reversed" and judgment affirmed.
Cases cited
- Oberlander v. Spiess 45 N. Y. 175 p. 95
- Johnson v. Youngs 65 N. Y. 599 p. 95
- Stone v. Franklin Fire Insurance Co. of Boston 105 N. Y. 543 p. 95
- Grace v. American Central Insurance 109 U. S. 278 p. 95
- Hermann v. Niagara Fire Insururance 100 N. Y. 411 p. 95, p. 96
- Angell v. Hartford Fire Insurance 59 N. Y. 171 p. 96
- Burnap v. National Bank of Potsdam 96 N. Y. 125 at 126 p. 96
- Rowan v. Hyatt 45 N. Y. 138 p. 96
- Moran v. McLarty 75 N. Y. 25 p. 96
- Ward v. Craig 87 N. Y. 550 p. 96
- Mackay v. Lewis 73 N. Y. 382 p. 96
- Anderson v. Rome, Watertown & Ogdensburgh Railroad 54 N. Y. 334 at 340, 341 p. 96
- Luby v. Hudson River Railroad 17 N. Y. 131 p. 96