Majority
Headnote
Under the provisions of the “ act to regulate the forfeiture of life insurance policies ” (§ 1, chap. 341, Laws of 1876, as amended hy chap. 321, Laws of 1877), which provides that no life insurance company shall have power to declare a policy thereafter issued or renewed by it, forfeited by reason of non-payment of premium, except upon service of a notice uponThe plaintiff is the assignee of a piolicy of insurance upon the life of one Joel J. Mattison issued by the defendant dated May 24, 1884, whereby in consideration of a quarter-annual premium of §20.97 to be paid upon delivery of the policy, and thereafter on the twenty-fourth day of August, Hovember, February and May in each year, the defendant insured Mattison’s life in the sum of §3,000, payable to his wife, at the office of the company in the city of Hew York, within sixty days after receipt of satisfactory proof of death during the Ufe of the policy. The policy was made. subject to numerous conditions, none of which are important for the purpose of this appeal except. the condition that it should be void upon failure to pay the premium when due. The complaint alleged the delivery of this contract to the insured, his death on the 7th day of September, 1884, the presentation to the defendant of satisfactory proofs of death, according to the terms of the policy, the refusal of the defendant to pay, and that the insured had made the payments of premium according to his agreement with the defendant. Ho issue was made by the defendant upon any of the allegations of the complaint except the averment that the insured had paid the premiums according to the terms of the policy, which it denied, and specially alleged that the premium which became due on the 24th day of August, 1884, had not been paid. On the trial the plaintiff put in evidence the policy and a written assignment, by the wife
The promise of the defendant was to pay to the beneficiary named the sum of $3,000 upon the death of the insured, in case that event occurred during the continuance of the contract. It, therefore, becomes important to inquire whether the policy in question was in force at the time of the death of the insured on the 7th day of September, 1884. If, upon that day, it was a valid, subsisting contract, notwithstanding the failure to pay the premium due on the preceding 24th day of August, then the very contingency upon which the defendant agreed to pay the amount of the insurance has happened. The statute above referred to (Laws 1877, chap. 321) declares that no life insurance company doing business in this
It must, therefore, be assumed, in the absence of such notice, that the policy in question was in full force at the death of the insured, and even if the payment of the last premium was omitted the obligation and promise of the defendant to pay upon death, during the life of the policy, was unimpaired. The purpose of the statute referred to was to establish a rule which would preserve to the assured the benefits of premiums paid, and to prevent the lapse of policies of life insurance without ample notice, and an opportunity to save them from forfeiture by payment of premiums due within the specified time, and at the same time secure to the company, in case it is obliged to pay, the full amount of the premium wliich the policy calls for. When the provisions of this statute are adopted in a contract of insurance, for the purpose of modifying the forfeiture clause and the other strict conditions contained therein, then the clause and these conditions should be so construed as to give to the assured the full benefit contemplated without altering any other provision of the policy, if this can be done without violating any rule of law. When the scope and purpose of the law as deduced from the decisions of this court and the courts of other states involving a construction of the same or similar statutes is considered, no good reason is perceived for interfering with
Dissent
It was not necessary, in order to enable the plaintiff to recover the sum insured, to pay or tender before action brought the premium that was payable on the twenty-fourth of August prior to the death of the insured. If the policy was in full force when the assured died, as _we think it was, that event fixed the liability and obligation of the defendant, notwithstanding the omission to make that payment. ¡Nothing remained to be done by the widow of the assured or her assignee, except to present to the defendant the proofs of death required by the policy. The death of the assured terminated the contract. The defendant’s promise to pay, if it was not discharged, had matured, and the persons entitled to the benefits of the policy had only to establish the fact of death within the time and in the manner prescribed therein. The contract was kept in life by force of the statute, until the contingency upon which payment depended occurred. The death of the assured created the relation of debtor and creditor between the defendant and his widow, and the unpaid premium, with interest from the date when payable, was a claim to be deducted by the defendant from the sum due upon the policy. This puts the defendant in precisely the same position in which it would have been if the premium had been duly paid. (Carter v. John Hancock M. Life Ins. Co., supra.)
It was conceded upon the argument in this case that the unpaid premium, and interest thereon, was deducted from the verdict, and thus no injustice has been done.
The judgment should be affirmed.
(dissenting). I dissent from the prevailing opinion in this case. The sole purpose of the statute of 1877, a purpose indicated as well by the title as the body of the act, was to abrogate the rule that the failure to pay the pre
But it is a condition precedent to the maintenance of such action that the plaintiff must before suit brought have paid or tendered the premium unpaid. The plaintiff under the statute of 1877, is not required as before to show that it was paid or tendered on the day fixed in the policy, but he must aver and prove that payment was made at some time before the action was commenced, or else no light of action has accrued. This is in accordance with the well-settled rule that in mutual promises the plaintiff seeking to charge the defendant, must aver and prove performance on his part of that which was the consideration of the defendant’s promise, and this as well where the promise of the plaintiff was to be performed before the day fixed for performance by the defendant, as where the performance of respective promises were concurrent and dependent. The construction I have given to the statute of 1877 fully accomplishes its purpose, while relieving it of the anomaly that a contract to pay an insurance on condition of the pay
The cases in Massachusetts and other states have, I think, no bearing upon the present one. They were well decided, and involved no such question as is presented hi tliis case under the statute of 1877.
The judgment should be reversed.
All concur with O’Brien, J., except Andrews, Earl and Gray, JJ., dissenting.
Judgment affirmed.
Cases cited
- Howell v. Knickerbocker Life Insurance 44 N. Y. 276 p. 451
- Baldwin v. Munn 2 Wend. 399 p. 451
- Crandall v. Clark 7 Barb. 169 p. 451
- People's Bank v. Mitchell 73 N. Y. 406 p. 451
- Southwick v. First National Bank of Memphis 84 N. Y. 420 p. 451
- Bailey v. Ryder 10 N. Y. 363 p. 452
- Austin v. Goodrich 49 N. Y. 266 p. 452
- Brown v. Harmon 21 Barb. 508 p. 452
- Duffy v. O'Donovan 46 N. Y. 223 p. 452
- Day v. Town of New Lots 107 N. Y. 148 p. 452
- Rodermund v. Clark 46 N. Y. 354 p. 452
- Continental National Bank v. National Bank of the Commonwealth 50 N. Y. 575 p. 452
- Blair v. Wait 69 N. Y. 113 p. 452
- L'Amoreux v. Vischer 2 N. Y. 278 p. 452
- Van Valkenburgh v. American Popular Life Insurance 70 N. Y. 605 p. 453
- Carter v. Brooklyn Life Insurance 110 N. Y. 15 p. 453
- Phelan v. Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance 113 N. Y. 147 p. 457