Majority
Headnote
Defendant issued a policy or certificate of membership to D., conditioned that it would pay the amount of a death assessment if he complied with its rules and regulations, but a failure to comply with its rules as to payment of assessments would render the certificate void. It was provided by the rules that notice of assessments should be sent to the last post-office address given to the defendant by each member, and if the assessment was not received within thirty days from the mailing of said notice “it shall be accepted and taken as sufficient evidence that the party has decided to terminate his connection with the association, which connection shall thereupon terminate and the party’s contract with the association shall lapse and be void; but for valid reasons to the officers of the association (such as a failure to receive notice of an assessment) he may be reinstated by paying .assessment arrearages.” On February fifteenth, defendant mailed to D. a notice of assessment which required him to.make payment on or before March fifteenth. On March eighth, D. was stricken with apoplexy and rendered unconscious, in which condition he remained until March nineteenth, when he died. On March twentieth, a second notice was received from defendant, like the first with these words stamped thereon: “Certificate forfeited for nonpayment. May be renewed by immediate payment if in good health.” In an action upon the certificate it appeared that the reason for non-payment was properly presented on behalf of plaintiff: to defendant, and the amount of the assessment tendered; that defendant refused to accept, and claimed the certificate forfeited; it also appeared that three prior assessments were not paid by D. until after they were due; that these were accepted, no other act aside from payment being required to keep the policy in force. The court refused to submit the case to the jury, and at. defendant’s request directed a verdict in its favor. Held] error; that defendant’s contract must be construed as an agreement on its part to accept a valid, i. a sufficient or satisfactory excuse for non-payment,If the certificate in question had provided without qualification that, for a. failure to pay an assessment
Judge Peckham, in Holly v. M. L. Ins. Co. ( 105 N. Y. 437 ), stated the rule which should govern courts in construing contracts involving a forfeiture as follows: “A strict construction, it is said, must be insisted upon, and the contract resulting in a forfeiture cannot be extended beyond the strict and literal meaning of the words used. This is undoubtedly true. In cases where the meaning is not entirely plain, and where it is capable of two constructions, one involving a forfeiture and the other being fair and reasonable and supporting the obligation of the policy against the insurer, that construction is preferred by the courts which does not involve the forfeiture, not . only because it is not so harsh, but also because, if the language is doubtful, it is that employed by. the insurer, and should be taken most strongly against him.”
By the seventh condition of the certificate, forfeiture is made to depend upon “ a failure to comply with the rules of said association as to payment of assessments.” The second and third rules have reference to assessments and their payments.
Buie second provides that “ upon the death of any member the said party to whom this certificate is issued shall at once pay
This rule need not be considered, because the defendant did not require Dennis to pay at once.
By the terms of the notice he was expressly given until March fifteenth following, within which to make payment.
And the notice was in accordance with' the provisions of rule third, which provided, among other things, that “ if the assessment is not received within thirty days from the mailing of said notice, it shall be accepted and taken as sufficient evidence that- the party has decided to terminate his connection with the association, which connection shall thereupon terminate, and the party’s contract with the association shall lapse and be void; * * * or for valid reasons to the officers of the association (such as a failure to receive notice of an assessment), he may be reinstated by paying assessment arrearages.”
The right of the defendant to insist upon a forfeiture could not be doubted were it not for the last clause of the sentence quoted. By it is suggested the inquiry, what was the intent of the defendant in adding this apparently qualifying clause ? How did it suppose the persons solicited to become members would interpret it? Certainly it did not expect them to understand it as giving added strength to' the provision declaring a forfeiture. It is equally clear that it was inteuded to be understood as softening somewhat the extreme rigor of the forfeiture clause, which, standing alone and unqualified, would deprive a member of the insurance for which he has contracted and paid, even when by an accident of mail carriage the notice of assessment has failed to reach him, or because of the act of God he has been prevented from making payment within the time prescribed.
It cannot be doubted that it suggests, at least to the average reader, that the company has agreed to accept a valid excuse for non-payment of an assessment within the thirty days, and thereafter continue the policy in force. It is wholly meaningless and a snare if that be not the intent, That it was intended
Although the greater number of assessments were paid by Dennis promptly, still three assessments were not paid until after the due date. Mo other act was required or thing done to continue the policy in force, except to pay the overdue assessments. And after he was in default on account of the assessment in question, and on March nineteenth, the defend
By this act the defendant indicated that it understood the policy to have conditional life remaining, because no new contract was required or suggested, the mere payment of the overdue assessment, said the defendant in effect, will support its vitality until another assessment shall be due and payable.
Such notice cannot be treated as a waiver, because it must be considered in its entirety, and thus regarded; waiver was conditioned on the good health of Dennis — a condition that the defendant could not impose, if reinstatement, under the circumstances, was a matter of right, because it was not so written in the contract.
Was it a matter of right? Had Dennis, instead of dying, regained consciousness on the nineteenth day of March, could he have compelled the defendant to accept the excuse he had to offer, and continue his policy in force on payment of the back assessment ?
We have said that the contract must be construed as an agreement that a member may be relieved from the effect of forfeiture for valid reasons to the officers. Had he then established by evidence: First, that he had fully intended to pay; second, that he was prevented by sudden illness depriving him of consciousness ; third, that he had tendered payment, what valid objection could have been interposed to the granting of a decree declaring the policy in full force and virtue?
It could not be urged that an act of God which instantly prostrates a man both physically and mentally does not constitute a legal excuse for the omission to do an act, when the making and acceptance of a valid excuse therefor is distinctly contracted for.
This assertion finds support in Howell v. Knickerbocker Life Ins. Co. ( 44 N. Y. 216 .)
But it is said that the agreement vests the right to determine whether the excuse be valid in the officers of the defendant. That the manner in which they exercise their power is not open to review in the courts. In. other words, that the officers
Ye are of the opinion, therefore, that, had Dennis established the three propositions which we have stated, he would have been entitled to a judgment declaring the certificate in full force.
The death of the assured did not alter the contract obligations of the defendant. Dennis’ legal right to reinstatement or to have the certificate declared to be in force did not die with him, but passed to the beneficiary under the policy. In Wheeler v. C. M. L. Ins. Co. ( 82 N. Y. 543 , 554) this court held that “ although the insured was dead, the right to a paid-up policy or its value remained to his assignees. If the insured had lived, he was entitled to it, and his assignees succeeded to his right.”
The complaint in this action is appropriate to the relief sought to be obtained.
We think the evidence as to the intention of Dennis to pay the assessment properly presented a -question for the jury. But it cannot avail the defendant, as it waived its right in that regard by requesting the trial court to direct a verdict in its favor:
The order appealed from should be affirmed and judgment absolute on defendant’s stipulation ordered with costs.
All concur except Bbowh, J., not sitting.
Order affirmed, and judgment accordingly.
Cases cited
- Roehner v. Knickerbocker Life Insurance 63 N. Y. 160 p. 498, p. 501
- New York Life Insurance v. Statham 93 U. S. 24 p. 499, p. 500
- Klein v. Insurance Co. 104 U. S. 88 p. 499
- Harmony v. Bingham 12 N. Y. 99 p. 499
- Howell v. Knickerbocker Life Insurance 44 N. Y. 276 p. 499
- Baley v. Homestead Fire Insurance 80 N. Y. 21 at 23 p. 500
- Wheeler v. Connecticut Mutual Life Insurance 82 N. Y. 543 at 554 p. 501, p. 505
- Holly v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 105 N. Y. 437 p. 501
- Duplex Safety Boiler Co. v. Garden 101 N. Y. 387 p. 505
- Miesell v. Globe Mutual Life Insurance 76 N. Y. 115 p. 505
- Folliard v. Wallace 2 Johns. 395 p. 505