Majority
Headnote
S. & Co., plaintiff’s assignors, obtained, through a broker, a policy of fire insurance from defendant; they paid the premium to the broker, who retained it. The policy contained this clause: "If any broker or other person than the assured have procured this policy * * he shall be deemed to be the agent of the assured and not of this company in any transaction relating to the insurance.” Defendant notified the assured of the non-payment, and that by reason thereof, the insurance would be terminated at a day specified, and upon being advised by S. & Co. that the premium had been paid to the broker, called their attention to said clause, and stated that the broker was not its agent and that the delivery of money to him was not payment. Defendant noted on its books a cancellation of the policy and thereafter the property insured was destroyed by fire. In an action upon the policy, the question as to whether the broker was defendant’s agent, was submitted to the jury. Held, error; also that the question was not affected by the fact that the policy was delivered before the payment of premium; and that to show that'the broker was not the agent of the assured when he received the money was not sufficient, it was necessary to show that he was defendant's agent.The plaintiffs assignors, Leslie & Co., through
Sands & Flynn, brokers, obtained a policy of insurance from the defendant against loss by fire, dated September 12, 1885. Subsequently, and in two instalments they gave to the brokers the amount of the premium, who retained it. The defendant, not having received it on December 19tli following, sent to the insured a registered letter, which, after describing the policy and asserting the omission to pay the jiremium, con■cluded as follows: “ And by reason of such non-payment the ¡said company hereby gives you notice that from and after
The defendant upon its books noted a cancellation of the policy, and no further steps were taken in that matter until after March T, 1886, on which date the property described in the policy was destroyed by fire. Then Leslie & Co. demanded payment for the loss sustained to the extent stipulated in the policy, which was refused by the defendant upon the ground that the policy had been cancelled prior to the loss; hence this action which resulted in favor of the plaintiff, the trial court holding that if the broker was the agent of the defendant then payment to him was, in legal effect, a payment to the defendant and it could not thereafter, under the terms of the policy, cancel it without returning the unearned premium to the assured. Whether he was an agent of the defendant was held to be a question of fact, for the jury, and defendant’s motion to direct a verdict was denied.. This, we think, was error. It was stipulated m the contract of insurance that. “If any broker or other person than the assured have procured this policy or any renewal thereof, or any endorsement thereon he shall be. deemed to be the agent of the assured
It was entirely competent for the parties to agree that a-, third person participating in the negotiations, should, for the. purpose of procm’ing the policy be deemed an agent of the assured. (Rohrbach v. Germania F. Ins. Co., 62 N. Y. 47 ; Alexander v. Germania F. Ins. Co., 66 id. 464.)
In construing a clause which in its essential features is like that before us, this court in the Hermann case ( 100 N. Y. 411 ),, held that in effect it declared a person other than the assured should not at any stage of the transactions- growing out of the application for insurance or flowing from the policy subsequently issued, be deemed to be the agent of the company,, but should be deemed the agent of the assured until after the inception of the contract. Whether- he thereafter represent the assured, is dependent upon actual authority conferred otherwise than by the- contract of insurance.
Plaintiff urges that inasmuch as the contract was delivered before the premium was paid, that the. Hermann case supports his position, in that it declares that the contract does not constitute the broker- an agent of the assured beyond the inception of the contract. Without intending to intimate an agreement with plaintiff’s contention- in such respect, it is sufficient to suggest that if it should he so held it could not avail him. To show that the man to whom his assignors- paid the amount of the premium was not their agent at the moment of payment is not sufficient. His position can only be supported by proof that the brokers were the agents of the defendant for that purpose. How, while the defendant could have waived the benefit of this provision in the policy, or might have adopted a course of action which would have estopped it from claiming the benefit of it, it did neither. There is no suggestion of waiver. On the contrary, the correspondence shows, that the defendant insisted upon its rights under the agency clause. Heither is there any intimation that the doctrine off estoppel is applicable. Indeed, instead of misleading Leslie-. & Co. to their injury, the defendant pointed out .to them
It appears that the defendant never had any dealings or transactions with the brokers except in connection with the application for insurance for Leslie & Co. One of them (Sands) personally applied for the insurance; the application was granted and policy made out; the names and address of Sands & Flynn indorsed thereon, and either sent to the brokers or handed to them. In no other way does the evidence connect the brokers with the defendant.
ÍTeither of the brokers was sworn, and while what took place between the brokers and Leslie & Co., considered by itself, would have but little, if any, bearing upon the question, it certainly does not tend to show that Sands & Flynn were defendant’s agents. Sands, who had to do with this transaction, had some years previous been in the employ of Leslie’s father. Leslie was at that time in the same employment, and knew Sands. Sands called upon Leslie & Co. and asked to be permitted to place some insurance for them-, which wns .-assented to. FTothing was said about this or any particular ■company. The whole matter of the selection of the company was entrusted to Sands. The policy was procured and delivered to Leslie & Co., and nothing further occurred between
The judgment should be reversed.
All concur.
Judgment reversed.
Cases cited
- Brink v. Hanover Fire Insurance 70 N. Y. 593 p. 440
- Rohrbach v. Germania Fire Insurance 62 N. Y. 47 p. 440, p. 443
- Devens v. Mechanics & Traders' Insurance 83 N. Y. 168 p. 440
- Griffey v. New York Central Insurance 100 N. Y. 417 p. 440
- Wright v. Brown 67 N. Y. 1 p. 440
- In re the Application for the Probate of the Last Will of Ross 87 N. Y. 514 p. 440
- Grattan v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 80 N. Y. 281 at 289 p. 440
- Shaw v. Republic Life Insurance 69 N. Y. 286 at 292 p. 440
- Francis v. Ocean Insurance Co. 6 Cow. 404 p. 441
- Van Valkenburgh v. Lenox Fire Insurance 51 N. Y. 465 p. 441
- McMichael v. Kilmer 76 N. Y. 36 p. 441
- Utter v. Stuart 30 Barb. 20 p. 441
- California Steam Navigation Co. v. Wright 8 Cal. 585 p. 441
- Hermann v. Niagara Fire Insururance 100 N. Y. 411 p. 443