Majority
Headnote
1. Life Insurance — Assignment of Policy to One Haying no Insurable Interest. It is the doctrine of this state, that a policy. of life insurance taken out by the insured himself or by another having an insurable interest in his life, in good faith and not for the mere purpose of assignment, may be lawfully assigned to one having no insurable interest in the life of the insured; and that the assignee, when the assignment is absolute and general, will be entitled to the entire proceeds of the policy.The counsel for the appellant in his argument insisted with great earnestness and force that the position several times asserted by this court in support of the legality of the assignment of a policy of insurance to a person having no insurable interest in the life of the insured, is a mistaken one and in conflict with the decisions of the United States Supreme Court and the court of last resort in many of the states.
Warnock v. Davis ( 104 U. S. 775 ); Franklin v. Hazzard ( 41 Ind. 116 ); Missouri Co. v. Sturges ( 18 Kan. 116 ); Schoenfield v. Turner (75 Texas, 334); Bayse v. Adams ( 81 Ky. 368 ) and Helmetig v. Miller ( 81 Ala. 183 ) furnish support for his assertion as to the rule in the United States Supreme Court and in some of the other states. Supported by these authorities, the counsel challenged the correctness of the rule that concededly has been long acquiesced in in this state by the courts and the profession. Indeed, Mr. Justice Field in his opinion in Warnock v. Davis (supra), stated the rule in this state to be that a valid assignment of a policy of
In St. John v. Am. M. L. Ins. Co. ( 13 N. Y. 31 ) a recovery in favor of the plaintiff against an insurance company was sustained where it appeared that one Eloyes had effected policies of insurance upon his own life and shortly afterwards assigned them to the plaintiff for a valuable consideration. In the answer the defendant alleged, by way of defense, that the plaintiff was entitled to recover only the amount of money that he had advanced as a consideration of the transfer of the policy to him, and that if defendant was liable beyond such amount upon the policy, the personal representatives were interested in the excess, and, therefore, necessary parties to the suit. And upon the close of the evidence the counsel for the defendant pressed the point that the plaintiff had no insurable interest in the life of the insured, and, therefore, was not entitled to judgment. The court regarded the question as one necessary to be passed upon in the final disposition of the case, and after considering it, held that the policies in question were valid in their inception and that the assignment of them to the plaintiff did not affect the liability of the company, and that to entitle the assignee to a recovery it was not necessary for him to have had an insurable interest in the life of the insured.
The -next case was Valton v. N. F. L. Assur. Co. ( 20 N. Y. 32 ) where Schumacher obtained a policy on his life for $10,000, and by his articles of copartnership agreed that the plaintiff and another partner should become the owners of the
It will be observed that in the cases cited the contest was between the assignee and the company issuing the policy, and the question was not squarely presented whether, as between the assignor and the assignee, the assignee would be entitled to retain more than the sum actually invested by him, which is the rule in some jurisdictions. But it necessarily was decided that the policy was not rendered invalid by the assignment, and further that the assignee acquired thereby the right to enforce collection of the full amount of the policy from the company.
In Olmsted v. Keyes ( 85 N. Y. 593 ) the plaintiff, having obtained the proceeds of a policy .if life insurance, brought an action for the purpose of ascertaining and determining the con fiicting claims of • various defendants to the moneys paid on the policy. It appeared that Keyes procured a policy of insurance on his life, payable to the plaintiff as trustee for his wife Huldah; Huldah died intestate a few years later; afterwards Keyes married again and thereupon the plaintiff for value assigned the policy to Keyes’ second wife at his request. Keyes subsequently died intestate, leaving him surviving his widow and one child by her and several children by his first wife. It was held that during the life of the first wife the policy was her property; upon her death, the title vested in her husband as survivor, and he having caused it to be assigned to his second wife, the assignment vested the title in her and she alone was entitled to the money due thereon. There was a difference of view in the court as to the disposition of - the case, and the argument that led to the decision considered with care the assignability of a policy of life insurance like any other contract; in the course of the argument the court referred to and considered many authorities in England and in this country and
The result of our further examination persuades us that what has been understood to be the rule in this state is not only in line with the authorities in most jurisdictions upon that subject, but is sound as a matter of public policy. It was formerly the rule in England that while a policy of insurance could not be assigned at law it could in equity. By the act of 1867 (30, 31 Vict; c. 144) a policy of life insurance was made assignable at law, and in some of the decisions it was said by the court that the object of the statute was to enable the assignee to sue in liis own name ; but it did not in any other way improve the position of the assignee, who could before that secure the money in equity. (B. E. Ins. Co. v. G. W. R. Co., 38 L. J. Ch. 132; In re Turcan, L. R. [40 Ch. D.] 5.)
The rule asserted by this court has also been held to be the law in many of our sister states in a number of cases where the question has been raised either in actions brought by personal representatives of the assignor to recover the money received by the assignee on a policy, or in suits brought by the company issuing the policy for the purpose of determining whether the personal representatives or- the assignee were
On the other hand, it is said that if the payee of a policy be allowed to assign it, a safe and convenient method is provided by which a wagering contract can be safely made. The insured, instead of taking out a policy payable to a person having no insurable interest in his life, can take it out to himself and at once assign it to such person. But such an attempt would not prove successful, for a policy issued and assigned, under such circumstances, would be none the less a wagering policy because of the form of it. The intention of the parties procuring the policy would determine its character, which the courts would unhesitatingly declare in accordance with the facts, reading the policy and the assignment together, as forming part of one transaction.
Cammack v. Lewis ( 15 Wall. 643 ) and Warnock v. Davis ( 104 U. S. 775 )were cases where the policies were taken out in order that they might be assigned to the assignees, through their procurement, under circumstances that might well be held to be in evasion of the law prohibiting gaming policies.
In War nocid s case the agreement touching the procurement of the policy and the use to be made of it, including the promise to assign it, was in writing, and executed the very day the policy was applied for, and the day following the assured executed an assignment of the policy, which had in the meantime been issued in pursuance of such an agreement. The insurance company paid over the money to the assignee, and tbe court held that the personal representatives of the assured
In December, 1887, Alois Diepenbrock took out a policy of insurance on his life in the Equitable Life Assurance Society. He paid the premiums regularly down to December, 1892, a period of about five years, at which time the surrender value of the policy was about $485. He was pressed for money and finally sold the policy to the defendant Erdtmann for $600, or something like $115 more than he would have received by the surrender of the policy to the company. He had paid a much larger sum in premiums, something over $2,000, and there seems to be no good reason why a person owning such a policy and obliged to sell it, should not be permitted to get back as much as possible of the money that he has paid out for insurance. His condition of health may have changed very materially, of which fact the company can take no advantage; for in its contract it made allowance for that possibility. There is no good reason for saying that an insured person should not have the right, whenever his necessities press him because of a failing condition of health that assures a speedy death, to realize on his policy and obtain for it something like a fair price, which may, perhaps, be almost equal to its face value.
The personal representatives of the assured contested the assignment also on the ground that it was intended as collateral, although in form a valid assignment, but the Special Term found otherwise, and the Appellate Division approved that finding, so that question is no longer open for consideration.
Other questions are presented by the appellant, but after a careful examination of them we conclude that no error was committed below that will support a reversal of the judgment.
The judgment should be affirmed, with costs.
All concur, except Martin, J., absent.
Judgment affirmed.
Cases cited
- Steinback v. Diepenbrock 1 App. Div. 417 p. 24
- In re the Probate of the Will of Smith 95 N. Y. 516 p. 25
- Cowee v. Cornell 75 N. Y. 91 p. 25
- Nesbit v. Lockman 34 N. Y. 167 p. 25
- Green v. Roworth 113 N. Y. 462 p. 25
- Barnard v. Gantz 140 N. Y. 249 p. 25
- Empire State Insurance v. American Central Insurance 138 N. Y. 446 p. 25
- Sears v. Shafer 6 N. Y. 268 p. 25
- Gardner v. Ogden 22 N. Y. 327 p. 25
- Conkey v. Bond 36 N. Y. 427 p. 25
- Bain v. Brown 56 N. Y. 285 p. 25
- Bush v. Lathrop 22 N. Y. 535 p. 25
- Grant v. Walsh 145 N. Y. 502 p. 25
- Ballard v. Burgett 40 N. Y. 314 p. 25
- Simpson v. Del Hoyo 94 N. Y. 189 p. 25
- Fairbanks v. Sargent 117 N. Y. 320 p. 25
- Fairbanks v. Sargent 104 N. Y. 108 p. 25
- Austin v. Dye 46 N. Y. 500 p. 25
- Seymour v. McKinstry 106 N. Y. 230 p. 25
- Barry v. Equitable Life Assurance Society 59 N. Y. 587 p. 25
- Loomis v. Ruck 56 N. Y. 462 p. 25
- Schafer v. Reilly 50 N. Y. 61 p. 25
- Greene v. Warnick 64 N. Y. 220 p. 25
- Westbrook v. Gleason 79 N. Y. 23 p. 25
- Owen v. Evans 134 N. Y. 514 p. 25
- Sparling v. Wells 24 App. Div. 584 p. 25
- Briggs v. Langford 107 N. Y. 680 p. 25
- Warnock v. Davis 104 U. S. 775 p. 25, p. 26, p. 31
- Cammack v. Lewis 15 Wall. 643 p. 25, p. 31
- Holmes v. Gilman 138 N. Y. 369 p. 25
- Connecticut Mutual Life Insurance v. Schaefer 94 U. S. 457 p. 26, p. 30
- St. John v. American Mutual Life Insurance 13 N. Y. 31 p. 26, p. 27
- Olmsted v. Keyes 85 N. Y. 593 p. 26, p. 28
- Valton v. National Fund Life Assurance Co. 20 N. Y. 32 p. 26, p. 27
- Wright v. Mutual Benefit Life Ass'n 118 N. Y. 237 p. 26, p. 29
- Walsh v. Mutual Life Insurance 133 N. Y. 408 p. 26