Majority
Headnote
1. Assessment Life Insurance — Non-payment of Assessment. The placing of the amount of a life insurance assessment in the hands of the company’s local examining physician, not representing the company in the matter of receiving assessments, on his undertaking to forward the amount to the company as a matter of accommodation to the insured, is not a payment to the company.April 4th, 1887, William W. Teeter, of Ithaca, made application to the defendant for a policy of life insurance, and was on that day examined by the defendant’s local examining physician ; the day following, the policy was issued and delivered to Teeter, his wife, this plaintiff, being named therein as beneficiary ; the provisions thereof that are involved in this review are as follows :
“ Conditions.
“ 5th. A failure to comply with the rules of said Association as to payment of assessments shall also render this policy void.
“ Rules.
“ 2nd. Upon the death of any member, the member above insured shall pay, if required, to the Secretary of the Association an assessment of $4.90.
“ 3rd. * * * A notice shall be sent announcing each assessment, and the number thereof, to the last post office address given to the Association by each member, and if the assessment is not received within thirty days from the mailing
“And the said Association does hereby further promise and agree that after two years from the date hereof, the only considerations that shall be binding upon the holder of this policy are that he shall y the annual- dues and assessments at the times and places and in the manner hereinafter stipulated, and that the regulations of the Association as to occupation and employment shall be observed, and that in all other respects, if this policy matures after the expiration of said two years, this policy shall he indisputable.”
Teeter continued to pay his assessments promptly until the assessment of July 15th, 1889, which was, by the terms of the policy, payable at the company’s office on or before the 14th day of August following. On August 11th Teeter turned over the amount of his assessment to Dr. Baker, the defendant’s local examining physician, to be sent with Dr. Baker’s assessment; by some oversight Dr. Baker omitted to send the assessment until the 15th day of August, when he mailed a check to the company and advised it that such check was for his own and Teeter’s assessments. The company received Dr. Baker’s check on the 16tli, and instead of promptly returning the money retained it, and on the same day addressed to Teeter a letter acknowledging the receipt of the moneys to pay the assessments, but asserted that Teeter was a delinquent in that the remittance had come two days after it was due, and advised him that before it could give him credit for the assessment, he should sign and return what it termed a health certificate, which it inclosed, on receipt of which it woidd forward the proper voucher for his remittance. Teeter was away from home at the time this letter reached Ithaca, but upon his
It is urged, in support of the position taken by the trial court, that the premium of July, 1889, was timely paid, but that if it were not the premium was in fact accepted and retained by the defendant, and, hence, the policy never did lapse, and that in any event the policy became incontestable two years after its reinstatement, which took place on August 29th, 1889. The claim that the premium was timely paid is founded upon the fact that Teeter did pay over the amount of the assessment to the examining physician of the defendant on the lltli day of August, 1889, to be forwarded to the company; and as this was three days before the expiration of the assessment period, it is insisted that the payment to this officer of the defendant was payment to the company. This position is not well taken, for the reason, among others, that the examining physician to whom the money was paid did not represent the company in the matter of receiving assessments, nor is it pretended that Teeter or Dr. Baker thought so; on
We are thus brought to a consideration of the claim of the plaintiff that the two years’ limitation provided for by the contract commenced to run upon the reinstatement of the policy, and, hence, that for a period of more than two years prior to the death of Teeter it constituted a bar to any defense based on the ground that the statements in the reinstatement certificate signed by Teeter were false. Had the original application contained any false statements the defendant would have been prevented by the terms of its contract from setting up their falsity as a defense to this action. (Wright v.
The contract of insurance consisted of the policy issued to Teeter and his application for insurance, which was by the terms of the policy made a part of the contract. It provided, as we have seen, in effect that after two years it should be indisputable.' It also provided that for a failure to pay assessments the policy “ shall lapse and be void, but for valid reasons the officers of the association may reinstate such party after medical examination and approval upon payment of arrearages.” In effect the contract is that the policy lapses at once upon the failure of the assured to pay the assessments, but at the option of the company, and upon compliance by the assured with the conditions that it may impose, life may be again given to it. Turning to the facts of this case we find that Teeter, in accordance with a notice received from the defendant, duly made out the reinstatement certificate and forwarded it, and the defendant upon its receipt and on or about the 29th day of August, 1889, reinstated him. Thereupon the policy of insurance was restored in full vigor as of that date, and by its very terms it was to become incontestable after two years. Hot only for two years, but for more than four years thereafter Teeter paid and the defendant received assessments aggregating in amount $225.00, and the defendant is now barred by the terms of the contract from contesting the policy on the ground that the statements contained in the reinstatement certificate of Teeter touching the state of his health were untrue. The trial court was, therefore, right in holding that the facts proved by the defendant did not constitute a defense.
The judgment should be affirmed, with costs.
All concur.
Judgment affirmed.
Cases cited
- Kley v. Healy 127 N. Y. 555 p. 412
- Hutcheon v. Johnson 33 Barb. 392 p. 412
- Rosevelt v. Dale 2 Cow. 129 p. 412
- Kountze v. Kennedy 147 N. Y. 124 p. 412
- Forster v. Wilshusen 14 Misc. Rep. 520 p. 412
- Winterson v. Hitchings 9 Misc. Rep. 322 p. 412
- Wright v. Mutual Benefit Life Ass'n 118 N. Y. 237 p. 413, p. 417
- Strong v. Strong 102 N. Y. 69 p. 413
- Gould v. Cayuga County National Bank 86 N. Y. 75 p. 413
- Spencer v. Citizens' Mutual Life Insurance 3 Misc. Rep. 458 p. 413