Majority
Headnote
1. Insurance — Standard Policy—Duty op Insured to Initiate Appraisal. It is not the duty of a person whose property is insured hy a standard policy of fire insurance to initiate an appraisal, since the, contract makes an appraisal a condition precedent to recovery only when one “ has been required” by the insurer.The policy in question was issued and countersigned by the firm of M. Beir & Co., the duly authorized agents of the defendant in the city of Rochester. On the morning of August 16, 1899, the day of the fire, these agents notified the defendant by mail that a loss had occurred; that six other companies were interested therein; that the probable amount of the entire loss was $2,500'and that the proportion of the defendant was $25. They closed their letter witli these words: “ Shall we have Mr. Yorden represent and adjust for you ? ” The defendant answered by telegram, instructing said agents “ to look after the loss in the usual way, or wait for the adjuster.” M. Beir & Co. thereupon turned the matter over to Mr. Yorden, an insurance adjuster of wide experi
On the 19tli Mr. Rorden, in company with a special agent of the defendant, looked over the property with the president of the plaintiff, and directed him to make an inventory, giving the valuation of the goods and the amount of the damage and in the meantime to clean and oil the iron and nickel parts and appliances. They also informed him that as soon as this was done they would make an adjustment of the loss, and named the 24th for that purpose. On that day Rorden went to the factory alone, and was presented with a statement of the loss, amounting to upwards of $21,000. He expressed some surprise because it was so large, and said he would like time to correspond with his companies. The plaintiff requested him to telegraph, “ as it was not right to keep the insured tied up there indefinitely,” and suggested that they should “ enter into an appraisal then and there.” Mr. Rorden said that he was not prepared to go into an appraisal, but would like to consult his companies, and that he would “ set a time for a meeting when we could either appraise or settle the loss.” After notifying the plaintiff that he would call a meeting of the adjusters of the companies, to be held in a few days, he telegraphed the defendant that the claim of the plaintiff was exorbitant, and added, “ authorize appraisal or send special next Tuesday. Answer.” It does not appear that the defendant answered the telegram, but on the following Tuesday, August 29th, the adjusters for all the companies, including the special agent of the defendant, met at the factory and looked over the property. A statement was presented to them embracing all the items of loss, as subsequently inserted in the proofs, but as the plaintiff had no copy it was' returned to its president, and he was notified to prepare and serve proofs of loss. The adjusters appointed a committee, consisting of Mr. Rorden and two others, to take charge of the matter, but neither the adjusters nor the committee either met or appointed a meeting, and Rorden, assuming to act as chairman, took charge of the loss.
In the meantime the president of the plaintiff met Borden on the 5th, and in its name demanded an appraisal. Mr, Borden asked for the name of the man selected as its appraiser, and, upon being told, said that he did not want an appraisal, but wanted to settle. Bégotiations followed, occupying several hours, which resulted in an adjustment of the loss for all the companies at the sum of $11,000. An agreement was drawn up and Mr. Borden signed it for four of the companies, stating that he would sign for the others, including the defendant, when “ the papers ” arrived. The next day, pursuant to its notice to the defendant, the plaintiff sold a substantial part of the damaged property, which, in addition to tools and bicycles, complete and incomplete, consisted of more' than one hundred thousand axles, chains, sprockets, handle-bars and
No other demand for an appraisal was ever made by the defendant or in its behalf. The plaintiff disregarded said notice, and on the 2d of November commenced this action.
It is not the duty of a person whose property is insured by a standard policy, such as the one before us, to initiate an appraisal, for the contract makes an appraisal a condition precedent to recovery, only when one “has been required” by the insurer. Either party, however,, has the right to require an appraisal when there is a disagreement as to the amount of loss. (Silver v. Western Assurance Co., 164 N. Y. 381 .) That right is not indefinite as to time, but must be exercised within' a reasonable period, depending upon the facts of the particular case. Neither party can so use the right as to take undue advantage of the other, but both must act in good faith. (Uhrig v. Williamsburgh City F. Ins. Co., 101 N. Y. 362 ; Bishop v. Agricultural Ins. Co., 130 N. Y. 488 .) It is not a weapon of attack, but of defense, and a-party who intends to use it must give reasonable notice of such intention, for its omission to do so will be evidence of waiver, more or less conclusive according to the circumstances. .'The insurer, for instance, knowing that the insured. desires a prompt appraisal or an adjustment, so that the property may .not suffer further injury before it is sold, cannot postpone its ■demand for an appraisal until after the insured, misled by its •acts, has been placed in a position where one is impossible.
The defendant was notified of the fire August 16th, the day it occurred. On the 19th its representative examined the property, required an inventory and fixed a date for adjustment. On the 24th a statement of the loss was presented and the plaintiff suggested an appraisal, but the agent of the defendant said he did not want one, and that he would consult his company and set a time to appraise or settle. On the 29th the adjusters met and appointed a committee, but neither they nor their committee ever did anything. The proofs of loss were mailed on the 30th, with notice that unless the company adjusted or agreed to an appraisal by September 5th, it would be deemed to have waived its right in that regard," and that the plaintiff would sell the property. The proofs reached the defendant on the 1st of September, but it gave no notice to the plaintiff and made no request. It neither demanded an appraisal nor asked for a postponement of the sale. It made no protest as was done in Hamilton v. Liverpool, London & Globe Insurance Co. ( 136 U. S. 242 ). It did not even telegraph the plaintiff that the sale would be at its own risk, but remained silent, although it knew that because the property was wasting through rust, the plaintiff intended to sell on the 6th. On the 4th it sent the proofs of loss to its representative, stating that it relied upon him and his' committee to do what was necessary. He met the president of the plaintiff on the 5th, the day before the time fixed for the sale, when the plaintiff demanded an appraisal, but he said he did not want one as he wanted to settle, negotiations followed and a
One ruling relating to evidence merits brief notice. Mr. Folger, of the firm of M. Beir & Co., the agents of the defendant, was subpoenaed by the plaintiff to produce certain letters
The record presents no reversible error, and the judgment should, therefore, be affirmed, with costs.
Bartlett, Martin, Landon and Cullen, JJ., concur; Parker, Ch. J., and O’Brien, J., dissent.
Judgment affirmed.
Cases cited
- Silver v. Western Assurance Co. 164 N. Y. 381 p. 306, p. 307, p. 310
- Hamilton v. Liverpool, London & Globe Insurance 136 U. S. 242 p. 306, p. 311
- Uhrig v. Williamsburgh City Fire Insurance 101 N. Y. 362 p. 307, p. 310
- Bishop v. Agricultural Insurance 130 N. Y. 488 p. 307, p. 310
- Bradshaw v. Agricultural Insurance of Watertown 137 N. Y. 137 p. 307
- Kiernan v. Dutchess County Mutual Insurance 150 N. Y. 190 p. 307
- Crandall v. Clark 7 Barb. 169 p. 307
- Weeks v. O'Brien 141 N. Y. 199 p. 307
- La Chicotte v. Richmond Railway & Electric Co. 15 App. Div. 380 p. 307
- Alexander v. O'Hare 48 App. Div. 401 p. 307
- Ostrom v. Greene 161 N. Y. 353 p. 307, p. 311
- Cox v. Stokes 156 N. Y. 491 p. 307
- Paltrovitch v. Phœnix Insurance Co. of Hartford 143 N. Y. 73 p. 307