Majority
Headnote
Where a fire policy names the owner of the property as the person insured, and declares the damages in case of loss to be payable to another person therein named as mortgagee, the latter cannot recover in case of a breach of the conditions of the policy by the mojjjgagor.The contract of insurance is a contract of indemnity. To sustain an action upon such a contract, it must appear that the party insured has sustained a loss. This involves the necessity of an insurable interest at the time of the alleged loss. Without such interest, the party insured cannot be damnified.
But at the túne the insurance was effected, the plaintiff in this action, G-rosvenor, was the holder of a mortgage upon the premises insured. As such mortgagee, he, too, had an insurable interest. The extent of that interest was the amount of his debt. To that extent he might have contracted with the defendants to indemnify him against loss by fire. The payment of his debt would as completely terminate the contract to insure as would the alienation of the property, when the contract is made with the owner.
The important inquiry in this case is, to which of these classes does the contract in question belong ? The action is brought by the plaintiff as mortgagee. The contract was made with McCarty, the mortgagor. But the policy provides that in case of loss, such loss should be payable to the plaintiff. What is the legal effect of this provision ? Without it the plaintiff could have had no claim against the defendants for indemnity. Is this provision to be regarded as an appointment of the plaintiff to receive any money which might become due from the insurers by reason of any loss sustained by the mortgagor, or has it the effect to render the policy, which would otherwise be a contract to indemnify the mortgagor against a loss, a contract to indemnify the mortgagee? A determination of this question will also determine the rights of the parties to this action.
Were it not for one or two decisions in this state bearing upon the question, I should have little difficulty in pronouncing in favor of the former of these propositions. It seems to
Suppose that the plaintiff, although described in the policy as a mortgagee, had, in fact, held no mortgage, could it be pretended that the defendants might have avoided the policy on the ground that the plaintiff had no insurable interest ? Or, suppose again, that after the contract had been made, the mortgage had been paid, could it be claimed that the contract to insure had also ceased ? I presume none will deny that, in either case, the contract would have continued in force for the benefit of the owner of the property insured. If so, it must have been because the interest of the mortgagor, and not that of the mortgagee, was the thing insured. I agree with the court below that “there is nothing in the language of the policy on which the court can adjudge that in legal effect it is a contract insuring the interest of the mortgagee as such, except in the provision which declares that the loss, if any, which occurs under the contract insuring the mortgagor’s interest, shall be payable to the mortgagee. That provision merely designates a person to whom such loss is to be paid, and shows that he is a person who may have an interest in its being so paid.”
The undertaking to pay the plaintiff was an undertaking collateral to and dependent upon the principal undertaking
I agree with the learned judges who delivered opinions upon the decision of this case in the court below, that there is no just ground for discrimination between this case and that of an assignment of the policy to a mortgagee to be held by him as collateral security for his debt, with the consent of the insurer. In either case the insurance is upon the interest of the mortgagor. The terms and conditions upon which indemnity may be claimed are agreed upon, and then the original parties further agree that when, by the terms and conditions of the contract, the insurers shall become liable by reason of a loss sustained by the party insured, the money shall be paid, not to the party who has sustained the loss, but to his appointee or assignee for his benefit. Such an appointment or assignment ought not to be construed so as to vary, in any respect, the liabilities of the insurers upon their original contract. It is certainly true, as was said by Mr. Justice Woodruff, that “ when applied to other agreements for the payment of money, an assignment does no
|The case of The Traders’ Ins. Co. v. Robert (9 Wend,., 404), 1was, in my judgment, erroneously decided,' and unless by subsequent recognition or acquiescence, if has become so securely imbedded in the law of this state that it may not be disturbed, it ought not to be followed. It was a condition of the policy in that case, that it should cease if the assured should effect a further insurance upon the property, and should omit to give notice of such further insurance within a reasonable time. The policy in question was assigned to a mortgagee with the assent of the insurers. After this assignment, the party insured effected a further insurance with another company and neglected to give the requisite notice. It was held that the action being brought by the assignee of the policy, though in the name of his assignor, no act of the latter after the assignment, could be allowed to prejudice the rights of the former. The argument by which this result was reached, seems to me to have been singularly illogical and inconclusive. Indeed, it depends entirely upon the misapplication of a very familiar principle: “ Had the nominal plaintiff executed a release to the insurance company,” say the court, “ it would have no effect upon the rights of the assignee; and if he could not directly discharge the right of action which he had assigned, surely he cannot do it indirectly. The fact, therefore, of his having effected a subsequent insurance upon the same premises, can have no influence upon the rights of the real plaintiff in this suit.” It is quite obvious, I think, that the learned judge who deli- ¡ vered the opinion, entirely failed to discriminate between I acts done for the purpose of discharging the liability of the / insurers upon their contract, and acts which, by the terms of the contract, were necessary in order to continue such liability. All will agree in the soundness of the premises upon which the argument is founded. It is true that the assignor of a right in action cannot indirectly, any more
Again, it is said by the court, in The Traders’ Ins. Co. v. Robert, that “ after the assignment of the policy to Bolton, the mortgagee, Robert, in whose name it was originally taken, had no interest in it, and that the rights of the parties were the same as if the policy had been given to Bolton.” , This, too, is an obvious error. Robert was as much interested in the policy after he had assigned it to his creditor! as before. The money for which the insurers might become ! liable was to be applied to his use. The only effect of the assignment was to make a specific appropriation of the money beforehand to the payment of a specific debt. The insurance was for the benefit of the owner of the property by whom it was obtained, but it was convenient for him, as in the case now in hand, to appoint the particular creditor
From the judgment of the Supreme Court in The Traders’ Ins. Co. v. Robert, there was no appeal. The decision was suffered to become the law of the case. There stood upon the records of the court an absolute, unimpeachable and irreversible judgment in favor of Robert against the insurance company. The legal title to the judgment was in Robert. A contingent, equitable interest was vested in Bolton, the assignee of the policy. That interest was extinguished by the payment of the debt, to secure which it had been assigned. Thus the entire equitable as well as legal right to the judgment became united in Robert the plaintiff. Under these circumstances, the Supreme Court, as though aware of the injustice which its decision was likely to work out, made an order, upon motion of the defendant in the judgment, staying all further proceedings thereon, thus, practically, reversing their own judgment in the case. This order was reversed by the Court for the Correction of Errors, and, in my judgment, very properly. The decision was put upon the ground that, as a valid judgment had been obtained upon the policy, the payment by Robert of the debt to Bolton, for the security of which the policy had been assigned, “ had no other effect than to bring back to him that interest in the policy which he had assigned, and, of course, the interest also in the judgment which had been obtained upon the policy. (Robert v. The Traders’ Ins. Co., 17 Wend., 631 .)
Were the question left here, I should have little hesitation in saying that the judgment of this court ought not to be controlled by the decision in The Traders’ Ins. Co. v. Robert. But the same question was before this court in Tillou v. The Kingston Mutual Ins. Co. (1 Seld., 405), and was disposed of in a similar way. In that case the insurance had been effected by three partners and the policy had been assigned to a mortgagee of the premises to secure his debt. After-
The question now before the court was decided entirely upon the authority of Robert v. The Traders’ Ins. Co., and I think I may be allowed to add, without much consideration. The learned judge who pronounced the opinion of the court, though he had been the successful counsel in the case of Robert v. The Traders’ Ins. Co., evidently misapprehended the value of that case as an authority, for he says, after stating the point decided by the Supreme Court, that “ the case afterwards came in a different form before the court for the correction of errors, and that court recognized, approved and substantially affirmed the judgment.” In this I think he was mistaken. I have already noticed the circumstances under which the case came before the court of errors, and shown that the question now under consideration had already passed beyond the reach of that court; Had it not been so, the report of the case furnishes strong ground for the belief that the result would have been different.
The learned judge, further to sustain the authority of Robert v. The Traders’ Ins. Co., and to show that the question ought to be regarded as closed against further consideration, proceeded to say, that the case had already been twice
Thus the question stands upon authority. Tillou v. The Kingston Mutual Ins. Co., contains the only adjudication upon the point in this court. Of that case, it is not too much to say, that it was decided without much examination, the court relying chiefly upon the authority of Robert v. The Traders’ Ins. Co. The value of that case as a precedent, was, as I have attempted to show, entirely over-estimated. Believing as I do, that it was decided upon mistaken views of the law applicable to the question involved, and that the decision of the Supreme Court never had the sanction of the Court for the Correction of Errors, and that the case in this court was determined upon a misapprehension of what had before been adjudged, I regard the question as yet open for the consideration of this court.
''Upon the merits of the question, I have already sufficiently expressed the convictions of my own judgment. The ; defendants contracted with McCarty, and not the plaintiff. : They agreed, upon the performance of certain conditions, ; to pay for him to the plaintiff certain money. Some o f
The judgment should be reversed and a new trial granted, with costs to abide the event.
'-. Roosevelt, J., dissented; Sellen and Steong, Js., concurred in the reversal, distinguishing this from the case where a policy is assigned with the assent of the insurers to a mortgagee; they were of opinion that in such case a privity of contract exists between the mortgagee and insurers, and the doctrine of The Traders' Insurance Company v. Robert should be maintained.
Judgment reversed, and new trial ordered.