Majority
Headnote
1. Insurance — Resolution op Doubt against Insurer. Doubt or ambiguity in the terms of a policy of insurance which have no accepted significance should be resolved against the insurer and in. favor of the assured.The contract of insurance is quite exceptional in its nature and the difficulty of the case arises in the construction, ivhich it should receive under the circumstances as disclosed by the evidence. The insurance is neither, specifically, upon the building, nor.upon the machinery, which it contains. It is “ on the vse and occupancy of the property and elevator building, with boiler and engine houses attached.” The condition, upon which the liability of the insurer accrues, is the
fhe policy is, in fact, a valued one; where the parties intended, and have agreed beforehand, to estimate the value of the subject of the insurance. In such a case, where the bona fides of the transaction is not assailed and neither fraud, nor mistake, is charged, the valuation is conclusive upon the parties, as the amount which the assured is entitled to receive upon the happening of the condition of the policy. That is the rule, wliicli is settled upon authority, and, to that extent, it qualifies the principle underlying the contract as one of indemnity. (Irving v. Manning, 1 H. L. Cases, 287; Marine Ins. Co. v. Hodgson, 6 Cranch [U. S.] 206 ; Sturm v. Atlantic Mut. Ins. Co., 63 N. Y. 77 ; Wood’s Fire Ins. sec. 41; May on Ins. sec. 31.) Such a policy does not conclude the insurer from showing that the assured had no interest in the subject of insurance, or that it "was a wagering policy : it simply
The parties differ as to what was the real subject of insurance. The appellant insists that insurance “ on the use and occupancy” of property is similar to insurance on the “ freight,” which a ship earns. “ Freight ” signifies the earnings, or profit, to be gained by the ship owner, or hirer, by the carriage of goods, (-1 Phill. Ins. sec. 327), and the argument is that the plaintiff’s insurance “ on use and occupancy ” indemnified it against the loss of the earnings, or profits, estimated as derivable from the use of the elevator plant, and that it did not relate to the mere “ act of user, or a state of possession.” The respondent contends, on the other hand, that the insurance “ on use and occupancy ” did not relate to the earnings of the elevator property and that the sum fixed in the contract as the loss to the assured, from the suspension of business, was in nowise dependent upon the profits of the business as conducted by it; nor was affected, as a liability, by the fact that the elevator plant was in operation, or was idle, or that the insured lost or gained, from the suspension of the business by the destruction of the elevator.
If the contract was intended as one of indemnity against
Was then the contract of insurance avoided by any act of the assured, which violated any of its express warranties, as pleaded ? If it was, it must have been by the act of entering into the so-called “pooling” arrangement, by agreements with the .other elevator companies. If the effect of that transaction was to change the interest of the assured, and that it ceased, in consecpience, to be the “ sole and unconditional owner of the subject of insurance,” the defense to the enforcement of the policy would be made out. There is no proof of any fraud and no defense is made upon that ground, and the charge of misrepresentation rests upon the failure of the assured to disclose its agreements with the other elevator proprietors. The agreements, which constituted the Buffalo Elevating Association, recited that they were in the interest of rendering “ better service to the public ” and provided that, during the navigation season, all moneys received for business done by the association of elevators should be collected by the treasurer of the association and, after paying its expenses, should be divided among the elevators in fixed percentages. All earnings of an elevator after the close of the season should belong to it and the destruction' by fire, or other accident, incapacitating the elevator, should not deprive its owner of the percentage of earnings allotted to it by the agreement. Each member of the association “ retained possession of its, or his, elevator and employed, paid and directed its employés, and paid its own operating expenses, taxes and insurance premiums.” The “ executive committee fixed the rates of elevating and storage; ” its authority in that respect, ceasing with the end of the season, on December 1st. “ The individual members of the Association made, each, its own con
It is plain, upon the facts, that this association was a method of co-operation, resorted to by elevator properties, to promote the common interest and to suppress a hostile and unprofitable competition for business. It was intended to bring about a harmonious participation in the benefits of the grain elevating business, at the port of Buffalo, by means of placing the earnings in a common pool and of sharing, pro rata, in them upon the basis of agreed percentages; established, presumably, with reference to relative productive capacities. The arrangement did not affect the ownership of the elevator, nor transfer any interest in it to the control of others. Tlie business of each elevator was, exclusively, conducted by its proprietor with shippers, or carriers, and all that was, practically, effected was to throw the earnings of each into a common fund, for subsequent distribution upon an agreed scale. The proprietor of each elevator, simply, agreed to a-use of the moneys, .which he, or it, might earn in the business, in a particular way. If the subject of insurance was the earnings and income of the elevator, then, it was affected by the agreement in question. There was, under that construction, a change effected in their ownership, or in the interest of the assured, and a consequent breach of warranty. If the subject of insurance was not the earnings, nor the income, as the endeavor has been to point out, but the mere continuance of the elevator plant in a state, or condition, of availability for use and occupation, then it mattered not what was
The appellant’s claim to be entitled, by application of the equitable doctrine of subrogation, to be credited with a proportionate share of the percentages, or moneys, received by the plaintiff from the association, in reduction of its liability upon the policy, is not a tenable one. This claim, obviously, again, assumes that the subject of insurance was the earnings and income of the elevator plant. It is not that and, therefore, the appellant is not concerned with the arrangement made by the assured with respect to their disposition. The Western Elevating Association might, conceivably, with better appearance of right, prefer the claim to be subrogated as as to the insurance moneys, in order to recoup itself for the moneys paid over to its disabled member; but how the appellant can be heard to claim the application of the doctrine of subrogation, it is difficult to perceive. It has, certainly, not paid the loss, and the loss was not one which was to be made good, as such, by the association. During the season of navi- : gation, percentages were earned in a general fund, created by “ pooling ” the common earnings, and they were to be paid over, under all conditions and notwithstanding that the eleva
For the reasons expressed, I advise the affirmance of the judgment, with costs.
Parker, Ch. J., Martin, Vann, Cullen and Werner, JJ., concur: O’Brien, J., absent.
Judgment affirmed.
Cases cited
- Mumford v. Hallett 1 Johns. 433 p. 29
- Voisin v. Providence Washington Insurance 51 App. Div. 553 p. 30
- Ripley v. Ætna Insurance 30 N. Y. 136 p. 30
- Allen v. German American Insurance 123 N. Y. 6 p. 30
- First National Bank v. President & Directors of Insurance Co. of North America 50 N. Y. 45 p. 30
- Rohrbach v. Germania Fire Insurance 62 N. Y. 47 p. 30
- Noyes v. Hartford Fire Insurance 54 N. Y. 668 p. 30
- Germania Fire Insurance v. Home Insurance 144 N. Y. 195 p. 30
- Dey v. Poughkeepsie Mutual Insurance 23 Barb. 623 p. 30
- Foley v. Manufacturers & Builders' Fire Insurance 152 N. Y. 131 p. 30, p. 32, p. 39
- Smith v. Glen's Falls Insurance 62 N. Y. 85 p. 30, p. 32
- Connecticut Fire Insurance v. Erie Railway Co. 73 N. Y. 399 p. 31
- McCormack v. North British Insurance 78 Cal. 468 p. 31
- Weed v. Schenectady Insurance 7 Lans. 452 p. 31
- Thompson v. Simpson 128 N. Y. 270 p. 31
- Smith v. Weston 159 N. Y. 194 p. 31
- Trimble v. New York Central & Hudson River Railroad 162 N. Y. 84 p. 31
- Walradt v. Phœnix Insurance Co. of Hartford 136 N. Y. 375 p. 31
- Janneck v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 162 N. Y. 574 p. 31, p. 32, p. 35
- Matthews v. American Central Insurance 154 N. Y. 449 p. 31
- Harris v. Eagle Fire Co. 5 Johns. 368 p. 31, p. 36
- Rickerson v. Hartford Fire Insurance 149 N. Y. 307 p. 32
- Allen v. St. Louis Insurance 85 N. Y. 473 p. 32
- Herrman v. Merchants' Insurance 81 N. Y. 184 p. 32
- Riggs v. Commercial Mutual Insurance 125 N. Y. 7 p. 32, p. 38
- Hitchcock v. North Western Insurance 26 N. Y. 68 p. 32
- Jackson ex rel. Stevens v. Silvernail 15 Johns. 278 p. 32
- Clover v. Greenwich Insurance 101 N. Y. 277 p. 32
- Kernochan v. New-York Bowery Fire Insurance 17 N. Y. 428 p. 32
- Sturm v. Atlantic Mutual Insurance 63 N. Y. 77 p. 33