Majority
Headnote
Insubance—Money Payable to Wife upon Matubed Policy Issued by ObdinabV Life Insubanoe Company upon Husband’s Life Hot Exempt fbom Attachment. Money due upon a matured insurance policy, written by an ordinary life insurance company upon the life of a husband, payable to his wife, is subject to levy under a warrant of attachment issued against the property of the wife in an action brought to recover a debt owing by her.The question presented by this appeal is whether the money due upon a matured insurance policy, written by an ordinary life insurance company upon the life of a husband, payable to his wife, is subject to levy under a warrant of attachment issued against the property of the wife in an action brought to recover a debt owing by her.
This question has never been passed upon by the Court of Appeals. While we have held that spell a policy cannot be seized by the creditors either of the husband or the wife before it has become due and payable, we have not held that it is exempt from the claims of her creditors after the contingent
Courts have no power to declare property exempt from the
“ It shall be lawful for any married woman, by herself, and in her name, or in the name of any third person, with his assent, as her trustee, to cause to be insured, for her sole use, the life of her husband for any definite period, or for the term of his natural life; and in case of her surviving her husband, the sum or net amount of the insurance''becoming due and payable, by the terms of the insurance, shall be payable to her, to and for her own use, free from claims of the representatives of her husband, or any of his creditors; but such exemption shall' not apply where the amount of premium annually paid shall exceed three hundred dollars.” (L. 1840, ch. 80, § 1.)
When this statute was enacted married women were still under the common-law disability to enter into contracts, but by subsequent legislation that disability has gradually been removed, until at last a wife is enabled to contract with the freedom of a feme sole. (L. 1896, ch. 272, § 21.)
The act of 1840 was amended several times in particulars not now important, for all the amendments left the section above quoted substantially unchanged. (L. 1858, ch. 187; L. 1866, ch. 656 ; L. 1870, ch. 277; L. 1873, ch. 821; L. 1879, ch. 248.) All of these statutes, including the original act, were repealed by the Domestic Eelations Law, which made the following provision upon the subject:
“ A married woman may, in her own name, or in the name of a third person, with his consent, as her trustee, cause the life of her husband to be insured for a definite period, or for the. term of his natural life. Where a married woman survives such period or term she is entitled to receive the i/nsu/r
anee money, payable by the terms of the policy, as her separate property, and free from any claim of a creditor or representative of her husband, except, that where the premium actually paid annually out of the husband’s property exceeds five hundred dollars, that portion of the insurance money which is purchased by excess of premium above five hundred dollars, is primarily liable for the husband’s debts. * * * A policy of insurance on the life of any person for the benefit of a married woman, is also assignable and may be surrendered to the company issuing the same, by her, or her legal representative, with the written consent of the assured.” (L. 1896, ch. 272, § 22.)
While the earlier statute jirovided that the policy should be for the “sole use” of the wife and that the insurance money should “be payable to” her, “to and for her own use” free from claim by her husband’s creditors, the language of the later act is that “ she is entitled to receive the insurance money * * * as her separate property.” This is the only act which now, even by implication, can be claimed to exempt a policy or its proceeds from the claims of the wife’s creditors. If the words “. payable to her, to and for her own use,” as used in the act of 1810, authorized an exemption by implication, the language of the act now in force lends no support to such a construction, for they simply entitle the wife to receive the money as her separate property. This means that she owns it, as she owns any other property belonging to her separate estate. The Insurance Law provides that “ all money or other benefit, charity, relief or aid, to be paid'1' by co-operative societies “shall be exempt from execution,” both as to members and beneficiaries, but this language does not exempt the money after it has been paid over. (Bull v. Case, 165 N. Y. 578 .) The words of the Insurance Law imjiress us as much stronger than those used in the Domestic Delations Law.
The statutes relating to the exemption of policies issued by co-operative insurance companies on the life of a husband for the benefit of his wife were quite different in form and sub
no principle of public policy can justify unlimited exemptions of such moneys, and nothing but the explicit and unqualified fiat of the legislature would warrant the courts in going to that extent.” Judge Cullen did not sit in this court upon the argument of that case, because he sat below, but his vigorous opinion when he wrote for the Appellate Division shows that his views are the same as ■ those expressed by us. The language quoted applies with greater force to policies issued by regular insurance companies, for there has never been any statute which expressly exempted their policies or the proceeds thereof from the payment of debts contracted by the wife. Therefore, if the money due upon the policy now under consideration had actually been paid over to the beneficiary, it would not have been exempt. Was it exempt when it was in the possession of the insurance company ready to be paid over to her ? Although not exempt if it reached her hands, was it exempt five minutes before when it was in the hands of the company and about to be paid to her to discharge a debt which the company owed her? Upon this question I cannot express my views more clearly than to repeat, in substance,
In the absence of a statute expressly exempting a policy after it has become due and payable, it would be narrow and unreasonable to hold it exempt, unless its proceeds are also exempt, and so continue as long as they can be identified. The respondent, both at the trial and upon the argument before us, made the broad claim that the proceeds of the policy, after payment thereof to the wife, are exempt from all legal process issued against her property. What would be the practical effect of such a rule ? Policies upon the lives of husbands for the benefit of their wives, the premiums being paid by the husband, are almost universal. Hence, a vast accumulation of property would not only be placed beyond the reach of creditors for the collection of their just claims, but it would also be withdrawn from taxation, as the same rule applies to both subjects. “ All property exempt by law from execution,” with two exceptions not now important, is also “ exempt from taxation ” by the express command of the Tax Lax. (L. 1896, ch. 908, § 4; L. 1897, ch. 347, § 1.) A man, however heavily indebted he might he, could expend five hundred dollars every year in the purchase of insurance upon his life, either endowment or. ordinary, "and after it was paid over to his wife, she could hold it not only in defiance of his creditors, hut also of her own and of the State itself. The exemption would be purely arbitrary and wholly independent of her necessities, for if she is entitled to it at all, she is enti
If .the legislature intended to exempt insurance pioney, the presumption is that it would have said so expressly, and possibly would have so hedged in the exemption as to limit it to the needy and deserving. It apparently regarded it as a sufficient protection to exempt policies from the claims of the husband’s creditors, without extending the exemption to the creditors of the wife. At one time it exempted insurance moneys paid by co-operative societies, but it has reversed its policy in that regard and they are no longer exempt. (Bull v. Case, supra.) It has never declared that insurance moneys paid by regular insurance corporations should he exempt, and the courts cannot declare them exempt without judicial legislation. As the money is not exempt after it has been paid to the beneficiary, we do not think it is exempt after it has become due, and we, therefore, reverse the order of the Appellate Division and affirm the judgment rendered by the trial court, with costs.
Parker, Ch. J., Gray, Bartlett and Martin, JJ., concur; O’Brien and Haight, JJ., not voting.
Ordered accordingly.
Cases cited
- O'Brien v. Glenville Woolen Co. 50 N. Y. 128 p. 316
- Baron v. Brummer 100 N. Y. 372 p. 316, p. 317
- Brummer v. Cohn 86 N. Y. 11 p. 316, p. 317
- Brick v. Campbell 122 N. Y. 337 p. 316, p. 317
- Frank v. Mutual Life Insurance 102 N. Y. 266 p. 316, p. 317
- Smillie v. Quinn 90 N. Y. 492 p. 316, p. 317
- Romaine v. Chauncey 129 N. Y. 566 p. 316
- Eadie v. Slimmon 26 N. Y. 9 p. 316, p. 317
- Barry v. Equitable Life Assurance Society 59 N. Y. 587 p. 317
- Bull v. Case 165 N. Y. 578 p. 319, p. 320
- Bolt v. Keyhoe 96 N. Y. 646 p. 322
- Kratzenstein v. Lehman 18 Misc. Rep. 590 p. 322