Majority
Headnote
1. Title Insurance — What Is Insured by Policy op. A policy of title insurance undertaking to insure the holder thereof against all loss and damage, not exceeding a specified sum, which the insured shall sustain by reason of any defect or defects of title, affecting the titl_e of the property insured thereby and the interest of the insured therein, or by reason of unmarketability of the title of the insured to or in the premises, or by reason of liens or incumbrances charging the same at the date of the policy, is a contract designed to save the insured harmless from any loss through defects, liens or incumbrances that may affect or burden his titleThis action is brought to recover upon a policy of title insurance, the amount of an assessment which became a lien upon the property of the plaintiff, after it had taken title thereto and gone into possession thereof, but • before the date of the policy. It appears that the plaintiff, a New Jersey corporation, was formed for the purpose of taking over the property and business of five pottery plants in Tren
On the 12tli of October, 1892, an assessment for a street opening became a lien on the “ Crescent ” property. This was three months after the plaintiff had taken title thereto, and seven months before the defendant issued its policy. The plaintiff, having paid the assessment, called upon the defendant for reimbursement, which was refused, and this action was brought.
There have been two trials. Upon the first trial it was held that the plaintiff could not/ recover because it was the owner of the property upon which the assessment was made at the time it became a lien. The judgment entered upon that decision was reversed at the Appellate Division upon the ground that it could not be held as matter of law that a policy dated subsequent to the assessment, and which in terms purported to insure against liens and incumbrances charging the-property at the date of the policy, was intended to cover only such liens and incumbrances as existed when the plaintiff took
The learned counsel for the appellant, realizing the limitations imposed upon him by the unanimous affirmance, takes the position that if the incompetent evidence received over his objections ivas expunged from the record it would be barren of proof tending to show inadvertence or mistake in the framing of the contract of insurance. This contention is amply justified so far as it relates to the evidence of so-called experts in title insurance who were permitted to give their opinions as to what they would have done or what ought to have been done in the issuance of such a policy under the conditions above described. There is so much of that kind of incompetent evidence received under the objections and exceptions of plaintiff’s counsel that we cannot attempt to reproduce it here, and we shall only give two or three specimen questions and answers to illustrate how far afield the defense was permitted to go in its attempt to secure a reformation of the contract on the ground of inadvertence and mistake.
One Yan Buskirlc, a lawyer and a director of the defendant, was asked : “ If you had issued a policy of insurance at or about that time on the closing of these titles, upon the four titles which were pronounced to be good, what would have been the date of that policy of insurance?” The witness answered: “ The date of the recording of the deeds.” Another witness for the defendant named Green, who was manager of a Hew York title insurance company, was asked: “In a case where several pieces of property were transferred, but on different dates, and the record date of the different deeds bore, of course, different dates, what, under such circum
This unique and summary disposition of the whole case would excite no less surprise than criticism were it not for the embarrassments by which the learned trial court and the counsel for the defendant were surrounded. A former trial court had held, in substance, that the mistake in the policy was obvious on its face, or that it should at least be so construed as to cover no liens or incumbrances accruing after the several titles had vested in the plaintiff. The appellate court had disagreed with this view and ordered a new trial on the ground that the policy as written covered the assessment, which became a lien upon the “ Orescent ” property prior to the date of the policy, although after defendant took title thereto, and that the policy would have to be reformed before the defendant could be relieved from liability. These embarrassments were accentuated by the fact that this was not the usual case of mistake caused by a misunderstanding of terms expressed in conversation and inaccurately or erroneously transcribed into the written instrument; on the contrary, the mistake was the result of inadvertence in the failure of the parties* to notice that the date of the policy, unquali
We hold that the opinions of the experts were not competent, and when that testimony is expunged from the case it becomes apparent that the unanimous affirmance in the Appellate Division will not support the judgment herein unless the nature and purpose of the contract, coupled with the facts and circumstances surrounding the transaction, are such as to justify or require a reformation of the policy. In determining that question it becomes necessary to scrutinize somewhat more closely the contract as written, its nature and purpose, the conditions under which it was made, and the legitimate oral evidence, if any, bearing upon the transaction.
First. As to the written contract. In the body of the policy the defendant undertakes to insure the plaintiff “against all loss or damage, not exceeding Four hundred thousand dollars, which the insured shall sustain by reason of any defect or defects of title affecting the premises described in schedule £ A ’ hereto annexed, affecting the interest of the insured therein as described in said schedule, or by reason of unmarketability of the title of the insured to or in said premises, or-by reason of liens or incumbrances charging the same at the date of this policy.” The policy is dated April 24th, 1893. The premises described in schedule “ A” are the five pottery plants above referred to. The assessment which occasions this suit became a lien in October, 1892; or seven months prior to the date of the policy. Upon these facts, considered alone, there could hardly be any controversy as to the meaning of the contract. But schedule “ A” enumerates the several deeds by which the five pottery plants were conveyed to the plaintiff, and shows that four of them, including
Second. As to the nature and purpose of the contract. The contract is one of insurance against defects in title, unmarketability, liens and incumbrances. The risks of title insurance end where the risks of other kinds begin. Title insurance, instead of protecting the insured against matters that may arise during a stated period after the issuance of the policy, is designed to save him harmless from any loss through defects, liens or incumbrances that may affect or burden his title when he takes it. It must follow, as a general rule, therefore, that when the insured gets a good title, the covenant of the insurer has been fulfilled and there is no liability. It is also apparent from the Arery nature of the contract that it usually bears the same date as the deed of the title which it purports to insure; and that if, in a given case, there is a discrepancy between these dates, it must be due to some exceptional circumstance which should be noted in the contract. In the eontractdief ore us the absence of any special note as to the date negatives any intention to take this case out of the general rule.
Third. As to the facts and circumstances under which the contract was made. The plaintiff, as a part of its plan of organization, was to take over the title 'to the five potteries above named. Four of these titles were perfected July 8tli, 1892. Had the fifth title been ready at the same time, the policy of insurance upon the five titles would, of course, have been issued at that time. The fifth title being imperfect, the question arose whether the defendant should then issue separate policies upon each of the four perfected titles and issue a fifth one when the outstanding title was made good; or whether the plaintiff desired to cover the four perfected titles with one policy then to be issued, and the other title,
In the foregoing combination of elements, which may properly be considered in determining what the contract between the parties was intended to be, we have, as it seems to us, the clearest indication that there was no purpose on the part of either party to have any of the titles insured beyond the moment when they became the property of the plaintiff. This is attested by the nature and purpose of the contract, the absence of any special condition therein taking the case out of the ordinary rule, and by the conversations between
Counsel for the plaintiff and appellant in the course of his very able argument, suggested that defendant had been negligent in searching these titles, and for that reason it should not be permitted to escape its liability as an insurer. Whatever the fact may be in regard to defendant’s alleged negligence, it is enough to say that this action is not based upon that
For these reasons the judgment herein should be affirmed, but in view of the apparent justification of this appeal by reason of the incompetent evidence received at the instance cf the respondent, the affirmance should be without costs.
O’Bbien, Babtlett, Haight, Vann and Cuelen, JJ., concur; Mabtin, J., not voting.
Judgment affirmed.
Cases cited
- Turner v. City of Newburgh 109 N. Y. 301 p. 67
- Ives v. Ellis 169 N. Y. 85 p. 67
- Bank of State v. Southern National Bank 170 N. Y. 1 p. 67
- Jefferson v. New York Elevated Railroad 132 N. Y. 483 p. 67
- Foote v. Beecher 78 N. Y. 155 p. 67
- Kincaid v. Archibald 73 N. Y. 189 p. 67
- Barlow v. Saint Nicholas National Bank 63 N. Y. 399 at 402 p. 67
- Seventy-Third St. Bldg. Co. v. Jencks 19 App. Div. 314 p. 67
- Smith v. Wetmore 24 Misc. Rep. 225 p. 67
- Born v. Schrenkrisen 110 N. Y. 55 p. 74
- Ehmer v. Guarantee & Trust Co. 156 N. Y. 10 p. 75