Majority
Headnote
The risk incident to the making of necessary repairs is assumed by insurers against fire, in the absence of any stipulation to the contrary in the contract.The plaintiffs, in their application for insurance, represented their works to be in good condition and their machinery in good repair. Upon the trial, evidence was given tending to show, and perhaps showing, that this was a misrepresentation. Upon this ground the judge was asked to nonsuit the plaintiffs. This he declined to do; but he charged the jury that if, at the time the representations were made, the plaintiffs knew that the works were not in good condition, or if they made the representations in ignorance of the fact that the works were not in good condition, yet, if the representations were material to the risk, and were, in fact, untrue, the plaintiffs were not entitled to recover. The charge was not excepted to, and was, in fact, unexceptionable. The question whether the representations, in relation to the condition of the works, were untrue,
It was made a condition in the contract of insurance that if after insurance effected the risk should be increased, by any means whatever within the control of the assured, it should render the insurance void. The plaintiffs had represented that there was a good forcing pump, designed expressly for protection against fires, and at all times in condition for use.
It appeared upon the trial that the bulk-head, at the pond which supplied the factory with water, which was of wood, being out of repair, was taken down, and a new bulk-head, constructed of stone masonry, was substituted in its place. While this was being done, the water was turned off and the pump rendered useless. It was insisted by the defendants’ counsel that, by making this change, the plaintiffs had materially increased the risk, and thus rendered the insurance void. Upon this ground, also, the court was asked to nonsuit the plaintiffs. The nonsuit was refused, and, upon this point, the court charged the jury that the defendants had assumed the risk of making ordinary and necessary repairs ; and if, in making such repairs, the supply of water had been necessarily interrupted, and there had been nc unreasonable delay in making the repairs, the interruption would not avoid the policy; but if, on the other hand, the supply of water had been unnecessarily interrupted, and the risk thus increased, the plaintiffs could not recover. To this part of the charge, and to this only, the defendants excepted. It was said upon the argument, and perhaps with truth, that “ the upshot of this charge was, that the plain
This doctrine I understand to have been distinctly asserted by this court in this very case, when before it upon á former occasion.
[The learned judge here quoted from the opinion then delivered by Johnson, (now) Ch. J., which is hereinafter given at large, and then continued:]
There can be no doubt, I think, that where there is no express provision in the contract involving a relinquishment of the right to perform the ordinary acts of ownership which are usually exercised by owners over their own property, or restricting the party insured as to what he may do upon his own property, he is authorized, without vacating his policy, to make any repairs which may be required to render the premises useful for the purposes to which they are devoted. It is not to be presumed, in the absence of any express agreement on the subject, that when he effects an insurance on his building the owner deprives himself of the right to use it in the common and ordinary mode, including the right to make all proper and reasonable repairs.
But it was insisted, on the trial, that the removal of the old bulk-head and the substitution of a stone structure in its place was an alteration and not a mere repair. The court was accordingly requested to charge the jury that, if an entirely new bulk-head was constructedin place of the old one torn down, of different materials and in different form, designed as an improvement upon the old one, then it was not a case of ordinary repairs. In the refusal so to charge there was no error. The substitution of a new bulk-head for one that had become useless by decay was certainly a repair, and not' the less so because, in making the repair," the owner thought fit to make use of a more durable material than had at first been employed.
The principal question in this cause arises upon the defendants’ exception to the charge of the judge in respect to the right of the plaintiffs to repair the buildings insured. It was ruled, and the juiy was instructed, that the plaintiffs had a right to make reasonable and necessary repairs, provided they made them within a reasonable time and in a reasonable manner; that if the making of these repairs necessarily interrupted the supply of water to the tank, and they made no unreasonable delay, then the policy was not thereby rendered void. This ruling was made irrespective of the question whether the interruption produced an increase of risk, and, of course, involves the position that such an increase of risk would not necessarily make void the policy.
In order to say whether the risk has been increased, it is necessary to inquire, in the first place, what risk was originally assumed. In other words, upon the insurance of a building, is not the risk incident to the process of necessary repairs a part of the general risk assumed by the insurers, in the absence, of course, of any stipulation in the contract importing the contrary?
When a building is insured, it is, of course, understood that it is to be used in the ordinary way of using similar buildings, and no one expects that it is to be set apart and wholly devoted to being kept safely. One of the ordinary incidents to this usual occupation is that of making repairs. The general right to make these has never been doubted, when the policy contained no special provision upon the subject. It has never been supposed that, to a claim for a loss happening in the course of or by means of necessary repairs, the insurer could say, the risk by which that loss
In my own opinion, the language of the condition is not such as to permit its application to the hazard occasioned by making ordinary repairs. The first clause of the condition is, “ after the expiration and before the renewal of a policy, if the risk of the building be increased by any means whatsoever.” The second clause relates to an increase of risk, .by any means whatever within the control of the assured, while the policy is in force. The first clause, applying to that period when the contract is in not force, and yet is capable of being renewed, declares that it shall be inoperative if the risk of the building shall be increased by any means whatever. In that state of facts, whether the increase of risk was within the control of the assured or not was immaterial. This latter element becomes important in the case provided for in the second clause, where the policy is sup
Selden, J., expressed, no opinion; all the other judges concurring.
Judgment affirm, id.