Majority
Headnote
1. Contract to Pay Commission on Pire Insurance—Rescission. Where a written contract required, among other things, a" insurance broker to furnish each year.for a period of ten years, a minimum amount of fire insurance at a specified rate per hundred per year, which amount the other party agreed to accept, and the first year’s insurance having been furnished and paid for several months before the expiration of the year and two of the policies having been canceled by the companies, the broker delivered two others to replace them, the mere fact that he insisted, although erroneously, upon additional compensation for such substituted policies at the stipulated rate, which was refused, does not constitute a rescission or repudiation by the broker of the contract, in the absence of evidence establishing a refusal on Ms part to perform it unless his unjustifiable demands were complied with; nor is the other party justified in rescinding it on account of his demand.Appellant brought this action for the purpose of recovering upwards of $4,500 as stipulated damages for the
At the close of the evidence each party asked for the direction of a verdict and the trial court granted the motion of the respondent, placing its decision upon the groundsy?rs¿, that the action was prematurely brought, respondent having committed no actionable breach at the time of its commencement, and secondly, that the appellant “ himself had broken the contract in question by his unconscionable demand ” for compensation or premiums upon certain policies of insurance furnished by him.
In the view which we take of the evidence this disposition was erroneous and the propositions upon which it was based will be considered in the inverse order from that in which they are above stated.
A short time after the contract above referred to took.effect between the parties, two of the original policies procured by the appellant for respondent and running for a year were canceled by the companies and thereupon the former procured and delivered to the latter new policies to take the place of the ones thus canceled. After these had been delivered, the appellant presented a bill at the stipulated rate of four dollars per hundred and amounting in the aggregate to $300 for procuring these policies. .The respondent disputed and rejected this bill upon the ground that the appellant had already received his full compensation for a year upon the original policies which had been canceled and was not entitled to a second compensation or premium upon the policies issued in the place thereof. This was the exact dispute between the parties, and appellant’s alleged wrongful and unconscionable conduct which is held to have effected a breach of the contract consisted solely in his insistence that under the terms of a written contract he was entitled to compensation at the
It is undisputed that respondent, as the result of the appellant’s demands and of the dispute thereby precipitated, forthwith by acts and notice assumed to repudiate and rescind the contract, and it is, perhaps, proper to test its standing upon this appeal as well by the question whether it liad the right to rescind as by the one whether appellant’s conduct amounted to a rescission. If either inquiry could be answered in its favor, such answer would lead to affirmance of the judgment. .But, as already intimated, we are unable to give such an answer.
Ho authority has been called to our attention or found which sustains the proposition that the conduct of the appellant in demanding more compensation than he was entitled to amounted to a repudiation of the contract or justified such repudiation by the respondent.
The appellant in no wise coupled with his demand a refusal to fulfill his contract to furnish insurance unless the same was complied with. He had already delivered the policies on account of which it was made, and he neither demanded the return of them nor stated that in the future he would refuse to furnish insurance in accordance with his contract if his bill was not paid. His demand involved no hidden fraud upon or deceit of the respondent. It was made openly and "was based upon a construction of a written instrument executed by and open to the consideration of both parties, and not induced in respect to this matter ' by any fraud or misrepresentation. There is no evidence that the claim was not made seriously and in good faith, however erroneously, and it is some evidence of its plausibility that respondent’s attorney admitted the correctness of some portion of the hill and that the trial court in the action subsequently brought to enforce its payment decided in favor of its correctness. But it is said that as now determined the claim was untenable; that if
The fact that the appellant’s construction of the contract W'ould have made the same an onerous one for the respondent and would have rendered its insurance much more expensive than it had expected cannot be a matter of controlling influence. If the parties had fairly and understandingly executed a contract which compelled such payment, its unexpected results would not have been a ground for relief, and' either party would have been entitled to insist upon performance.
Neither do we think that appellant’s demand was a violation of any confidential relation between him and the respondent. The contract which they executed undoubtedly did make the appellant the agent of the respondent for the purpose of procuring insurance and in respect to that duty the former may be assumed to have been bound to act with honesty and fidelity in the interest of his principal. But there was no confidential relation between the parties in respect to the compensation to be paid by the'company to the broker for his services. In relation to this they were parties with opposing interests, each standing upon his contract, and entitled to enforce his full rights thereunder. Respondent’s position, therefore, ultimately rests upon the proposition that if a party to a contract for the sale of goods or the rendition of services demands upon his construction of the contract a greater price or compensation than he is entitled to, this amounts to a rescission of the contract by him or affords justification to the other party for such rescission. The law of rescission of contracts has not yet advanced to that point.
Neither does it seem to us that there is any force whatever in the suggestion that when appellant presented his bill the respondent was compelled to rescind the contract lest otherwise it might be deemed to have assented to his demand and to have placed a practical construction upon the contract. Of
The clause in the contract under which especially this action was brought reads as follows:
“ It is further specifically understood and agreed that if said party of the second part shall at any time during the period of this contract, sell or dispose of its business or discontinue business, or for any other reason shall not require or take insurance under this agreement as hereinbefore provided, the parties of the first part shall forthwith be entitled to recover from said party of the second part, the sum of five hundred (500) dollars for each year or portion of a year of the then unexpired term of said contract.”
The argument that the action was prematurely commenced proceeds upon these lines: The respondent, it is said, was obligated by its contract to receive and pay for a certain amount of insurance each year; at the time when the dispute arose between the parties and it announced its repudiation of the contract insurance had been written for a year which then lacked several months of expiration; announcement by respondent thus in advance that it would not he .hound by the contract was not a sufficient breach to sustain an action, but it was the duty of the plaintiff to await the expiration of the year and then tender insurance and upon default commence his action. And in this argument this action is likened to one wherein the maker of a promissory note has declared in advance of its maturity that he will not pay the same, and which declaration has been held insufficient to sustain an action before the note matured.
If the assumption of facts made in this argument was complete and correct the conclusion adopted might be proper.
We think there is another answer to this argument that the action was prematurely brought. FTo such defense as that was pleaded, hut on the contrary respondent by its answer reiterated and unequivocally stood upon the claim that this contract was the product of fraud on the part of appellant and that it had rescinded the same.
These views on the various points involved lead us to the conclusion that the direction of a verdict in behalf of respondent was error, and that a new trial must he liad, with costs to abide event.
Cullen, Ch. J., "Werner and Willard Bartlett, JJ., concur; Cray, Edward T. Bartlett and Haight, JJ., dissent.
Judgment reversed, etc.
Cases cited
- Bogardus v. New York Life Insurance 101 N. Y. 328 p. 76
- Lyon v. Hersey 103 N. Y. 264 p. 76
- Nichols v. Scranton Steel Co. 137 N. Y. 471 p. 77, p. 82
- Roehm v. Horst 178 U. S. 1 p. 77, p. 82
- Howard v. Daly 61 N. Y. 362 p. 77
- Windmuller v. Pope 107 N. Y. 674 p. 77
- Claflin v. Farmers' & Citizens' Bank 25 N. Y. 293 p. 77
- Roome v. Robinson 99 App. Div. 143 p. 77
- Duryea v. Vosburgh 138 N. Y. 621 p. 77
- McDonald v. Metropolitan Street Railway Co. 167 N. Y. 66 p. 77
- Kelly v. Security Mutual Life Insurance 186 N. Y. 16 p. 77
- Burtis v. Thompson 42 N. Y. 246 p. 77
- Nicoll v. Sands 131 N. Y. 19 p. 77
- Woolsey v. Funke 121 N. Y. 87 p. 77
- Insurance Co. v. Dutcher 95 U. S. 269 p. 77
- Hill v. Priestly 52 N. Y. 635 p. 77
- Dolan v. Rodgers 149 N. Y. 489 p. 77
- Farmers' Loan & Trust Co. v. New York & Northern Railway Co. 150 N. Y. 410 p. 77