Majority
Headnote
Insurance Is a contract of indemnity, and, unless the insured has an interest in the subject of insurance at the time of the loss, he is not damnified, and cannot maintain an action upon the policy.It has long been settled that upon a policy against loss by fire, no recovery can be had unless the insured has an interest in the subject insured at the time of the loss ; the contract is regarded as one for an indemnity to the amount insured, and unless the insured has an interest at the time of the loss, he is not damnified and cannot be entitled to recover. (2 Philips on Insurance, 601; 3 Kent's Com. 371; 2 Atkyns, 534.) When Garratt sold all his interest' in the property insured he most certainly avoided the policy as to himself: he no longer had any interest in the property which could be damaged by fire; he could lose nothing, and could not therefore claim damages.[2]
As a general rule, whenever a contract is made to two jointly, each can release or destroy the contract so that no action can be sustained on it. If there be two obligees in a bond, either can discharge the whole on any terms he pleases, so that no action can be had on it. If he wrongfully releases, his coobligee will be entitled to'a remedy against him, but the obligor is discharged as to both. So it is a rule in pleading, that the plaintiff or plaintiffs must aver every fact necessary to show a right to recover, and every such necessary averment must be proved. In conformity with that rule, the plaintiffs in this case, in the second count of their declaration, aver “ that from the time of making the said last mentioned policy until and at the time of the loss thereinafter mentioned, and during the time said policy was in force, the said plaintiffs owned and were interested in the property in said policy of insurance mentioned, to a large amount, to wit, to the amount of $4000.” This averment cannot be struck out as surplusage. The plaintiffs were bound to prove it in some way ; or at all events, if it was disproved the plaintiffs could have no right to recover. It was in evidence that one of the plaintiffs on the 3d of October, 1840, conveyed one half of the insured property to the other defendant in error. Thus it was proved, that after the making of the policy and before the loss, one of the insured had
In general, the action on a contract must be brought in the name of the party in whom the legal interest in such contract is vested. (1 Chit, on Pl. 3.) The moment that Garratt sold all his interest in the property insured, he ceased to have any interest in the contract -of insurance. And I have not been able to discover a single" case in which a person having no legal interest, has been allowed to maintain an action at law alone or with others. There are many cases where a person having no equitable interest may be a plaintiff in an action at law. For example, an obligee in a bond assigns the bond, yet an action at law can be brought in his name, because the bond, not being assignable at law, he is regarded at law as the tiwner of the bund so far that a suit may be maintained in his name So if there be two obligees and one assigns all his interest in the bond to. the other, yet he is regarded at law as the joint owner of the bond, and must be a plaintiff in an action on the bond, although in equity, he has parted with all his interest in the bond. But in this case, when" Garratt sold his estate in the mill, his whole legal and equitable interest in the mill passed to his vendee ; he retained no interest in the mill or policy, either
If one of two owners of a mill who are jointly insured, sell his part to a stranger, it may appear like a hardship, that such sale should destroy the policy, but it is no more than happens in all cases in which there are joint promisees, covenantees or obligees, and one of them discharges the promise, covenant or bond. If one.be injured by the act of the other, he has a remedy against the wrongdoer. In this case, however, both the promisees concurred in the act which destroyed the joint remedy on the contract, and neither has any just ground of complaint. The purchaser in this case might, by complying with the 7th section of the charter of the defendants, have secured to himself the full benefit of the policy, and sued in his own name.
In the case of Jessel v. The Williamsburgh Ins. Co., ( 3 Hill, 88 ,) the insured had assigned the policy with the consent of the insurer, and then a loss happened, and the court held that the assignee could not sue in his.own name, the legal title being in the assignor. In the case of the Jefferson Ins. Co. v. H. & D. Cotheal ( 7 Wend. 72 ,) the policy was made to H. & D. Cotheal, or whom it might concern, and if any loss happened it should be paid to them. A loss did happen, and they were allowed to recover for the whole loss, although they owned but half of the property insured. They had the legal title to the policy, and a recovery in their names might be, in part or in whole, for the benefit of others.
The case of the Traders’ Ins. Co. v. Robert, in error from the superior court in the city of New-York, ( 9 Wend. 404 ,) shows how solicitous the courts of law are to protect the equitable rights of assignees ; and it may well be doubted, whether the court in that case did not go too far in order to protect the assignee. In that case, Thomas Robert, on the 1st of June, 1827, mortgaged certain houses to Francis Bolton to secure the payment of $5500. On the 5th of June, in the same year, he effected three policies against fire, and on the same day, with the consent of the insurers, assigned the policies to Francis Bolton. One of the policies covered two houses. After these
There is another ground on which a new trial ought to b< granted. The conditions annexed to the policy formed a pari of it. This was so held in the case of Roberts v. Chenango Mutual Insurance Company, ( 3 Hill, 501 .) The conditions in that case, as in this, were on the same sheet with the policy, but there was no express reference in the policy to the conditions annexed. ( 5 Hill, 193 .) In the case of Snyder v. The Farmers’ Insurance & Loan Co. ( 13 Wend. 94 ,) it is said, “the proposals and conditions attached to the polic)r form a part of the contract.” In this case the conditions of insurance were annexed to the policy, and one condition is, that if after the insurance is effected “ the risk of the property shall be increased by any means whatever within the control of the assured, &c. then the insurance shall be void.” In this case, after the insurance the insured built a barn and shed near the mill, which the insurers insisted increased the risk; and one witness testified that he should think the hazard was increased. The judge, however, ruled that although the risk was increased, the erection of the barn was no defence,” as the plaintiffs had a right to build on their own premises.” In this we think the judge erred. The jury should have been instructed that if in their opinion the risk was increased by the erection of the barn, that the policy was thereby avoided. The question whether the risk be increased belongs to the jury. ( 5 Hill, 10 .) A new trial, therefore, ought to be granted, costs to abide the event of the suit.
The clause in the written application made by the respondents that “ there will, however, be a stone chimney built, and the pipe will pass into it at the side,” contains either a simple representation, or a promise. A representation applies to the present, a promise to the future. There is not, in my opinion, any such thing as a promissory representation. The
But I think that the clause in question went further than a mere representation. It says in express terms that the change will be made, not simply that the respondents intended to make it. This, taken in connection with the attending circumstances, constituted it a positive engagement, and by the express terms of the policy it formed a part of and qualified the contract of insurance. In the last particular it differs from the case of Alston v. The Mechanics’ Mutual Insurance Company of Troy, ( 4 Hill, 329 ,) where the promise was verbal, and not at all referred to in the policy. There it was properly held that evidence could not be received of a parol promise to qualify a written contract, but Senator Bokee said that if the stipulation in that case (providing for the substitution of a stove for a fire place) had been contained in the policy, the case would present such a violation of contract on the part of the assured as would probably bar him from a recovery. The promise in the case under consideration had direct reference to the extent of the risk; it would be less if the change was made than it was at the time of the application. Taking the two papers together the insurers assumed the existing risk until a reasonable time
It was supposed by the counsel for the respondents that the performance of the promise was waived, or rather that the company accepted of a change of location of the stove as a substitute. It is true that the secretary of the appellants, within three months after the insurance was effected, signed a consent that the policy should remain good, notwithstanding the stove had been removed. Nothing was said about dispensing with the stipulation to construct a stove chimney and carry the pipe into it, nor could the secretary have designed to refer to that, as he added to the consent the remark that it was considered more safe than before—evidently referring to the change of location. That the secretary did not actually intend to waive the performance of the promise made by the assured is evident from the fact, to which he testifies, that when Murdock informed him of the fire, he asked if the chimney had been built.
I think that the policy became inoperative by reason of the non-performance of the promise made by the assured after a reasonable time to make the proposed change had elapsed. There can be no question but that the respondents had abundant time to perform the work long before the fire, which occurred nearly three years after the date of the policy.
The objection that this action cannot be maintained in the names of both the assured when one of them had previously to the loss conveyed all his interest in the property covered by the policy, is, I think, well taken. The plaintiffs aver in their declaration that they had sustained a loss by fire, but the assertion was untrue as to the party who had previously parted with his interest. The averment was material, and the failure to prove it, or rather the proof to the contrary, was therefore fatal to a recovery. (Howard & Ryckman v. The Albany Insurance Company, 3 Denio, 301 .) In the case cited Chief Justice Bronson says, “ I agree that in fire policies the assured must have
I am also clear that the learned judge who tried this cause erred in deciding, that if by the erection of the bam near the mill the risk was increased, that was no defence to this suit, notwithstanding the condition to the contrary on the back of the policy, and which I concur with my brethren in thinking, was under the circumstances binding upon the parties; and more especially in assigning as a reason for such decision that the plaintiffs had a right to build on their own premises. Undoubtedly the proprietor of an insured building on his own premises has. so long as he is free from any actual intent to destroy it, a
also delivered an opinion in favor of a new trial, on the ground that the joinder of Garratt as plaintiff was fatal to the action. He also concurred in opinion that the clause in the application relating to the stove pipe amounted to a warranty ; but whether the warranty was broken or not depended on the question whether a reasonable time had elapsed to perform the undertaking. That he thought was a question for the jury, and therefore a nonsuit on that ground was properly refused. He also concurred in opinion that the circuit judge was wrong in holding that the erection of another building on the premises of the insured would not avoid the policy, if the hazard was thereby increased; but whether the hazard was increased, was also a question for the jury, and inasmuch as no request was made to submit that question to them, he saw no reason for granting a new trial on that ground.
New trial granted.[2]
1 An increase of the risk, with or without the knowledge of the assured, not made known at the time of a renewal, avoids the policy, under the usual clause. Brueck v. Phoenix Ins. Co., 21 Hun 542 . And a provision that the insurer, in case the premises should be so occupied as to increase the risk, may cancel the insurance, on notice, does not affect the clause providing agaiust an increase of risk by the act of the assured. Williams v. People’s Fire Ins. Co., 57 N. Y. 274 .
Footnotes
- 1 Tillou v. Kingston Mut. Ins. Co., 5 N. Y. 405 ; s. c. 7 Barb. 570 .
Cases cited
- Granger v. Howard Insurance 5 Wend. 200 at 203 p. 213, p. 214, p. 215
- Patterson v. Westervelt 17 Wend. 543 p. 214
- Jefferson Insurance v. H. & D. Cotheal. 7 Wend. 72 at 77 p. 214, p. 215, p. 218
- Ætna Fire Insurance v. Tyler 16 Wend. 385 p. 215
- Traders' Insurance v. Robert 9 Wend. 404 p. 218