Majority
Headnote
Insurance — accident—• pleading and proof—clauses of policy-construed.On the 5th day of July, 1905,. the defendant, in consideration of a premium of sixty dollars paid by the plaintiff, issued to him a disability policy in which the company undertook to insure the plaintiff against loss of life, limb, sight or time, in the principal sum of five thousand dollars and for a weekly indemnity of twenty-five dollars under the terms of the agreement specifically set forth, for a period of twelve months. The policy contained, among other provisions, the following:
" G. Blindness and paralysis indemnity. In case the assured shall, during the term of this insurance, contract any disease, that shall not result in death, but shall result independently of all other causes, within one year from the date of this insurance, in the irrecoverable loss of the sight of both eyes or in permanent paralysis, whereby the assured shall entirely lose the use of both hands or of both feet or of one hand and one foot, and is thereby rendered permanently unable to engage in any occupation for wages or profit, the Company will pay to him, upon the filing at the Company’s home office of satisfactory proofs of the continuance of such blindness
or paralysis for fifty-two consecutive weeks, one-half the principal sum.” And it is also further provided:
“H. Sickness indemnity. If bodily disease or illness shall wholly prevent the assured from performing the duties pertaining to his occupation for not less .than one week, the Company will pay him the weekly indemnity for the period of disability during which he shall be necessarily confined to the house, but for not more than twenty-six consecutive weeks.”
On the 12th day of November, 1905, the plaintiff was stricken with paralysis and was totally disabled for more than fifty-two consecutive weeks thereafter. Notice of such illness was given to the defendant two days after the stroke. Shortly' afterward the defendant canceled the policy issued to the plaintiff, as of the date of its issue and returned the premium paid to him and wrote him that the policy had no force and that the plaintiff had no claim against the defendant and that the incident was closed so far as the company was concerned, and later on refused to issue blanks for the filing of proof of loss, upon the ground that it would do no good to file any proofs and that the company would have nothing whatever to do with it. Subsequently, however, proofs of loss were made and filed with the company, in which the plaintiff claimed the right to recover six hundred and fifty dollars for twenty-six weeks of disability under clause “H ” of the policy. On the 4th day of September, 1906, this action was begun by the service of the summons upon the defendant but the complaint was not served until the 21st day of April, 1908, and it set forth a cause of action under clause “G-” of the policy which we have already quoted. The defendant answered admitting the issuing to the plaintiff of the policy, but denied that it had knowledge or information sufficient to form a belief as to the disability, and denied generally the other allegations of the complaint, and alleged false representations, breach of warranty and full payment.
In reviewing the exceptions, to which allusion has been made, it becomes necessary to construe clause “G-” of the policy. It will be observed that in permanent paralysis the assured must lose the use of at least one hand and one foot, and be thereby rendered permanently unable to engage in any occupation for wages or profit, and in such case the company will pay to him, upon his filing at the company’s home office satisfactory proof of the continuance of such paralysis for fifty-two consecutive weeks, one-half the principal sum. It is apparent, therefore, that the paralysis resulting in the loss of the usé of a hand and foot must exist for fifty-two consecutive weeks, otherwise there could be no recovery for any amount whatever, and no claim would accrue or exist until the expiration of the fifty-two weeks. The stroke of paralysis, as we have seen, occurred on the 12th day
We think the court erred in refusing the defendant’s motion to confine the trial of the case to the plaintiff’s claim for weekly allowance under clause “ H ” of the policy.. It is true that the complaint demands judgment for the two thousand five hundred dollars, but the fact that the plaintiff demands more than he is entitled to does not impair the complaint. After setting forth in the third paragraph of the complaint the claim under clause “ G,” for which he demands two thousand five hundred dollars, he proceeds in paragraph fourth to further allege sickness and bodily diseases and total paralysis, by which he was disabled from engaging in any occupation for wages or profit, and was confined to his bed for a period of twenty weeks and to the house for an additional period of twenty-eight weeks, making forty-eight weeks in all.
The judgment should be reversed and a new trial ordered, with costs to abide the event, unless the plaintiff, within twenty days, stipulates to reduce the judgment to the sum of five hundred and ninety dollars with interest thereon from the time that it became due and payable, to wit, twenty-six weeks after the date of the stroke of plaralysis occurring on the 12th day of November, 1905; if the stipulation is given, the judgment should be modified accordingly, and as so modified affirmed, without costs of this appeal to either party.
Cullen, Ch. J., Werner, Willard Bartlett, Hiscock, Chase and Collin, JJ., concur.
Judgment accordingly.
Cases cited
- In re Griswold 13 Barb. 412 p. 454
- Milner v. Milner 2 Edw. Ch. 114 p. 454
- Wisner v. Ocumpaugh 71 N. Y. 113 p. 454, p. 458
- Butler v. Frontier Telephone Co. 186 N. Y. 486 p. 454
- Eno v. Diefendorf 102 N. Y. 720 p. 455
- Barnard v. Brower 110 N. Y. 77 p. 455
- McKyring v. Bull 16 N. Y. 297 p. 455
- Prouty v. Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railroad 85 N. Y. 272 at 276 p. 458
- Dean v. Metropolitan Elevated Railway Co. 119 N. Y. 540 at 545 p. 458