Majority
Headnote
Evidence — when letter written by physician of insured, in reply to questions asked by the insurance company, not binding upon insured as an admission by him — when such letter may be used to impeach testimony of such physician.In this case we are all agreed that the judgment must be reversed, but we differ as to the reasons for that result. The action is upon an accident policy, under which the plaintiff claims to be entitled to a specified weekly indemnity for injuries which caused appendicitis. The question is whether a certain letter, written to the defendant by the plaintiff’s attending physician, is binding upon the plaintiff as though it had been written by himself. We think the proper determination of that question obviously depends upon the law of agency, for we can think of no principle upon which the plaintiff can be charged with responsibility for the representations concerning his physical condition and treatment made by his attending physician, unless it be that he constituted the physician his agent by authorizing him to make the representations. The theory upon which the opinion of our brother Haight seems to be based is that the plaintiff is bound by the admissions of his physician simply because the latter wrote a letter at the request of the former, and that is precisely the point upon which we differ. There can be no doubt that “if one party refers another, on a disputed fact, to a third person as authorized to answer for him, he is bound by what his referee answers upon the occasion, as much as if the answer had been given by himself.” Our position is that this rule is not applicable to the case at bar, first, because the par
After the plaintiff had presented to the defendant the usual proofs of loss, the defendant’s manager wrote to the plaintiff, stating that “ under the circumstances surrounding the case it will he necessary for us to have further statistics or a statement from the attending physician. We wish him to ad,vise us, over his own signature, on what dates he treated you for Appendicitis previous to this accident which is claimed to have been sustained on May Kith, 1908.” This written request made by the defendant’s manager was taken by the plaintiff to Dr. McMorrow, his attending physician, whom he asked to write to the d.efendant in reply to the letter received from its manager. That is all the plaintiff ever had to do with the letter written by the doctor. The plaintiff did not see it or know its contents. It was not a letter dictated by the plaintiff, but one which he asked his physician to write in compliance with the demand made by the defendant. This request by the defendant was not for a more comprehensive or specific statement of fact from the plaintiff, but “ for further statistics ” from the attending physician “over his own signature.” The request was for information peculiarly within the knowledge of the attending physician, and for which he alone was to he held responsible. In these circumstances we think the doctor cannot be regarded as the agent of the plaintiff, and that he is rather an independent outsider for whose mistakes or misstatements the plaintiff cannot he held responsible.
Under the head of “ admissions ” Mr. Greenleaf states the rule, which we are discussing, to he that “ admissions of a third person are * * * receivable in evidence, against the party who has expressly referred
A similar disposition of the same question was made in Prostor v. Old Colony R. R. Co. ( 154 Mass. 251 ) where the plaintiff sued for damages for the unlawful setting back of water which overflowed his land. The plaintiff offered to prove that he went to the president of the defendant about the matter and was referred by him to the attorney for the railroad, with the statement that “they wanted to leave it to our attorney Judge.Harriman. ” That thereupon the plaintiff submitted the matter to Judge Harriman, who made an examination of the premises and stated that a certain amount of money was due the plaintiff. This offer was excluded. Upon appeal the ruling was sustained, the Supreme Judicial Court saying: “It would not follow from the plaintiff’s offer of proof that Judge Harriman was referred to in such a way as to constitute him an agent for the defendant, with authority to make admissions of promises to the plaintiff.” It seems to us that the case at bar affords a much stronger illustration of the principle for which we contend than either of the cases we have cited. Here the insurance company requested the plaintiff to get a further statement from the doctor over his own signature. In this letter there was nothing to indicate that anything which the doctor might say would be regarded as binding upon the plaintiff. The latter in asking the doctor to write to the defendant merely followed instructions; he himself gave none. The defendant did not ask
Although the letter of Dr. McMorrow, which was excluded, was not admissible upon the theory that it was binding upon the plaintiff, it was competent for the purpose of impeaching the testimony of the doctor himself. The very fact that the doctor undertook, upon his oral cross-examination, to explain certain matters referred to in the letter, was of itself sufficient reason why it should have been received in evidence. If it contained anything in the nature of an admission, it was competent against, him even though it was not binding on the plaintiff. Its exclusion was clearly error, and for that reason we concur in the result reached by our brother Haight.
This action was brought to recover the weekly indemnity provided for under an accident insurance policy issued by the defendant to the plaintiff, in consequence of an injury received from a fall by the plaintiff from a veranda, which is alleged to have caused acute appendicitis, necessitating an operation which caused total disability and several weeks loss of time.
Upon the presentation by the plaintiff to the defendant of the proofs of loss the manager of the defendant wrote plaintiff a letter acknowledging its receipt, and then stating, “ under the circumstances surrounding the case it will be necessary for us to have further statistics or a statement from the attending physician. We wish him to advise us, ovei his own signature, on what dates he treated you for appendicitis previous to this accident, which is claimed to have been sustained on May 16th, 1908.” Upon the receipt of this letter it appears that the plaintiff called upon Dr. McMorrow, who was his family physician, and thereupon the doctor wrote the company the following letter at the request of plaintiff;
“Syracuse, July 7, 1908.
“Mr. B. E. Watson,
“.¿Etna Life Insurance Co., Syracuse, N. Y.:
“Dear Sir.—I have before me your letter to A. E. Aldridge, in which you request him to have me send you further statistics in regard to my treatment of Aldridge for appendicitis previous to this accident.
“I first attended Aldridge for appendicular involvement April 10, 11, 12 and 13, 1903. ' He had at this time localized tenderness over appendix. Tempt. 100 F. and vomiting. I next attended him for a recurrent attack from May 2, 1905, to May 11, 1905; attack was similar to above. The next attack commenced June 1, 1906, and lasted until June 11, 1906. The chief symptoms were pain, localized tenderness, vomiting and constipation, with slight fever. He was next confined to his bed from October, 1906, to November 1, 1901, with about the same symptoms. This last attack following accident all the symptoms were intensified. His temperature reached 101 F., there was severe pain and abdominal tenderness and. rigidity, nausea and vomiting and a white blood count of 32000. During the intervals I frequently attended Mr. Aldridge at my office for digestive disturbances and a mild degree of discomfort in the appendicular region. Sometimes he would have a moderate amount of pain and slight fever, but not acute enough to cause him to take to his bed.
“Yours very truly,
“F. M. McMOBBOW, M. D.”
The defendant produced this letter upon the trial on the cross-examination of Dr. McMorrow, who identified it. Subsequently it was offered in evidence, but under Objection it was excluded and an exception was taken by the defendant, it then appearing that the plaintiff had not seen the letter after it was written. The insurance policy in question was ‘ issued in January, 1905. The
Referring to the statement contained in the letter of the doctor, we find that he stated that he attended the plaintiff for appendicular involvement in April, 1903, which would be within two years of the time that the application was made by the plaintiff for insurance. The question is thus presented as to whether the defendant had the right to rely upon this statement and as to whether it was competent evidence to be considered by the jury upon the trial. The rule, as stated by Greenleaf (Vol. 1, § 182), is as follows: “The admissions of a third person are also receivable in evidence against the party who has expressly referred another to him for information in regard to an uncertain or disputed matter. In such cases, the party is bound by the declarations of the person referred to, in the same manner and to the same extent as if they were made by himself.”
In the case of Rosenbury v. Angell ( 6 Mich. 508 ) Christiaroy, J., in delivering the opinion of the court, criticised the rule stated by Greenleaf as being too broad and then, after considering the English cases upon the subject, reached the conclusion that the rule is based upon the principle of agency, in which a party has given another person authority to speak for him. He, consequently, held that, where a party, claiming property alleged to have been transferred to him for the purpose of defrauding creditors, was inquired of by a creditor as to his responsibility and referred the creditor to the business men of the place where he had formerly resided, to ascertain in regard to such responsibility, this reference
In Lambert v. People ( 76 N. Y. 220 ) the defendant was indicted for perjury and a witness for the prosecution testified that, upon applying to the prisoner for information, he was referred to the bookkeeper, who, he said, would furnish ‘ ‘ whatever information was contained in the books. ” The witness was then permitted, under objection and exception, to state that the bookkeeper had stated in the absence of the prisoner that certain entries in the books of the company as to policies issued were false and that the prisoner knew they were false. This was held error, upon the ground that it exceeded the authority given by the prisoner to the bookkeeper. (Allen v. Killinger, 8 Wall. (U. S.) 480; Duval v. Covenhoven, 4 Wend. 561 .)
But with these and other similar limitations the rule, as stated by G-reenleaf, appears to have been followed in many reported cases. Assuming, therefore, that the rule is based upon the principle of agency, the question arises as to whether the doctor was authorized by the plaintiff to write the letter which he did. As we have seen, the insurance company had called upon the plaintiff -to furnish a further statement as to the dates upon which he had been treated for appendicitis by his doctor and that they wished a statement from the doctor over his own signature as to such dates. The plaintiff takes such letter to his doctor and requests the doctor to answer it and the doctor did so answer by the letter which was offered in evidence. It appears to us that this was brought within the rule to which attention has been called, and, consequently, the letter was evidence which the defendant had the right to have presented to the jury.
It is now contended on behalf of the plaintiff that, even if the letter was competent evidence, the substance of its contents has been made t® appear ■ in the defendant’s
For the error above referred to the judgment should be reversed and a new trial granted, with costs to abide the event.
Culler, CÍl. J., Willard Bartlett and Chase, JJ., concur with Werrer, J.; G-ray and Yarr, JJ., concur with Haight, J.
Judgment reversed, etc.
Cases cited
- Mook v. Parke 9 Misc. Rep. 90 p. 84
- Baldinger v. Levine 83 App. Div. 130 at 133 p. 84
- Capron v. Thompson 86 N. Y. 418 p. 84
- Redmond v. Industrial Benefit Ass'n 150 N. Y. 167 p. 84
- Lambert v. People 76 N. Y. 220 p. 91
- Duval v. Covenhoven 4 Wend. 561 p. 91