Majority
Headnote
Negligence — warehousemen — carriers — railroads — liability for loss arising from wrong information negligently given — erroneous information as to place of storage given by carrier which had agreed to receive goods from steamer and store them pending shipping orders — insurance placed by owner on such information — destruction of goods by fire and loss of insurance for misdescription — carrier may be held liable for loss on theory of negligence — immaterial that information was not given by carrier to serve its own purposes — contributory negligence a question of fact.Ear y in August, 1921, the plaintiff was expecting a valuable shipment consigned to it to arrive in New York on the steamer Plutarch. It was an importer selling the goods received to other customers. Consequently it was necessary that such goods should be stored until resold, either in ordinary warehouses or in one maintained by some carrier, who might in turn send them over its lines to the ultimate consumer.
The plaintiff had adopted the first method, but now it seems to have thought that the second might be preferable. Therefore it inquired of the defendant what its prices would be and arranged, while no definite contract was executed, that the goods when they arrived should be stored at the railroad company’s warehouse docks.
The Plutarch was to dock in Brooklyn. There the Erie would receive the goods on its own lighters, transfer them to New Jersey and then ship them on upon the order of the plaintiff. Both parties must have understood that at some period a bill of lading was to be issued, but certainly there would be some delay. It could hardly be issued simultaneously with the receipt of the goods on the lighters, and the custom seems to have been
Here then were the parties both understanding that when the goods arrived in Brooklyn they were to be taken by the defendant to its docks and there stored for a certain price and that thereafter the ordinary bill of lading would be executed.
The Plutarch reached Brooklyn between August 10th and August 15th and was unloaded in three or four days. The goods in question were covered by insurance until they reached the warehouse. Naturally the plaintiff was desirous of protecting itself from that time forward and to protect itself it was essential that the particular warehouse in which they were stored should be made known to the insurer. Therefore on August 17th, giving this reason for its question, it inquired of the defendant where the goods would be stored. The latter, taking time to obtain the required information, replied they were docked at dock F, Weekawken. From this reply the plaintiff had the right to infer that the goods were already received and stored. It immediately thereafter obtained its insurance, giving the same information to the insurer.
The answer was erroneous. In fact the goods were not received from the steamer by the defendant until August 27th and August 31st. The plaintiff's officer, however, having charge of the transaction did not know but what the representation was true, nor did the plaintiff itself know that it was not, unless it is a fact that under no circumstances might the defendant have obtained possession of the goods from the Plutarch without a so-called “ delivery order ” signed by the plaintiff. The latter did know that such an order was not given until August 26th, but in the hurry of business, dealing with
One-half of the goods were in fact stored when they arrived not on dock F but on dock D, both docks belonging to the defendant. When the formal bill of lading prepared by the defendant some time later was returned to it early in September a close examination of certain stamps impressed upon it would have revealed the truth. It was not discovered, however. In November dock D with the goods stored thereon was destroyed by fire. The plaintiff could obtain no insurance because of the misdescription in the policy. It, therefore, seeks to recover the insurance it would have been entitled to had it not given the misdescription in reliance on the statement of the defendant. The defendant denies liability on any theory, either of tort or of contract.
In view of the Bush Terminal Case ( 182 App. Div. 748 ; affd., 228 N. Y. 575 ), it concedes its liability had the goods been in its possession on August 17th. As, however, the facts show conclusively they were not, the plaintiff it says may not recover. We hold, however, that the plaintiff shows a cause of action on the theory of negligence, interpreting the conversation of August 17th as we have done.
Confining ourselves to the issues before us we eliminate any theory of fraud or deceit. Had they been present other questions would arise. (Taylor v. Commercial Bank, 174 N. Y. 181 .) We come to the vexed question of liability for negligent language. In England the rule is fixed. “ Generally speaking there is no such thing as liability for
These cases have not been without criticism. The denial, under all circumstances, of relief because of the negligently spoken or written word, is, it is said, a refusal to enforce what conscience, fair dealing and the usages of business require. The tendency of the American courts has been towards a more liberal conclusion. The searcher of a title employed by one, who delivers his abstract to another to induce action on the faith of it, must exercise care. (Dickle v. Abstract Co., 89 Tenn. 431 .) So must a physician who assures a wife that she may safely treat the infected wound of her husband (Edwards v. Lamb, 69 N. H. 599 ), or hired by another, examines a patient and states the result of his diagnosis. (Harriott v. Plimpton, 166 Mass. 585 .) So of a telegraph company, stating that a telegram was delivered when in
In New York we are already committed to the American as distinguished from the English rule. In some cases a negligent statement may be the basis for a recovery of damages. A reference is made to the question in Carpenter v. Blake ( 75 N. Y. 12 ). We intimated that a physician would be liable for negligent advice given to a patient after his discharge, but this suggestion was not decisive of the point we now consider. In Bush Terminal Co. v. Insurance Co. (cited above), however, we come to the parting of the way. A bailee, negligently misstating to the bailor where his goods are stored, knowing the inquiry is made for insurance purposes, is hable for the resulting loss. Then came Glanzer v. Shepard ( 233 N. Y. 236 ). A pubhc weigher, hired by the seller to weigh goods, reahzing that the buyer would rely on his certificate in paying therefor, was held hable for erroneous statements contained therein.
It is true that in both cases the decisive principle was somewhat obscured by other facts that appeared in the record before us. In the first a theory of contract was also referred to in the court below. In the second a like theory was mentioned, but the recovery was placed on the ground of neghgence. The weigher was to weigh and certify. There was so far as appeared no neghgence in the act of weighing. The neghgence was inferred from the issuance of a false certificate. That was the wrong for which a recovery was allowed. “ Diligence was owing, not only to him who ordered, but to him also who relied.”
Obviously, however, the rule we have adopted has its limits. Not every casual response, not every idle word, however damaging the result, gives rise to a cause of
When such a relationship as we have referred to exists may not be precisely defined. All that may be stated is the general rule. In view of the complexity of modern business each case must be decided on the peculiar facts presented. The same thing is true, however, in the usual action for personal injuries. There whether negligence exists depends upon the relations of the parties, the thing done or neglected, its natural consequences, and many other considerations. No hard and fast line may be drawn.
Here, as we view the facts, the duty to speak with care if ■ it spoke at all, rested on the defendant. We
If there was negligence justifying a recovery we cannot hold the plaintiff guilty of contributory negligence as' a matter of law. Whether or not it should have discovered the error by an inspection of the bill of lading when it received it was a question of fact.
We have confined our decision to the precise issues before us. We do not consider what might be the result under other conditions or whether a recovery might not be had upon other grounds. If the testimony is to be interpreted as the defendant claims it should be; if the statement as to the dock was a mere expression of present intention, still it might be claimed that under the circumstances due care required notice if such intention was subsequently changed. Or under either interpretation it might be said some principle of estoppel might be applied. Or if we are to take the wider view of contracts sometimes proposed, then that a recovery o» this theory is permissible. All this we pass by. Such questions we will consider when they are .required by the decision we must reach. Until then we express no opinion.
The judgment appealed from should be affirmed, with costs.
Cardozo, Ch. J., Pound, Crane and Lehman, JJ., concur; Kellogg, J., absent.
Judgment affirmed.
Cases cited
- People v. Frazier 228 N. Y. 575 p. 332, p. 333, p. 335
- Glanzer v. Shepard 233 N. Y. 236 p. 332, p. 337
- Railroad Co. v. Stout 17 Wall. 657 p. 332
- New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad v. Fruchter 260 U. S. 141 p. 332
- Walsh v. Fitchburg Railroad 145 N. Y. 301 p. 332
- Hall v. International Railway Co. 227 N. Y. 619 p. 332
- Chrystal v. Troy & Boston Railroad 105 N. Y. 164 p. 332
- Albrecht v. Rochester, Syracuse & Eastern Railroad 205 N. Y. 230 p. 332
- MacPherson v. Buick Motor Co. 217 N. Y. 382 p. 332
- Lawrence v. Congregational Church of Greenfield, L. I. 164 N. Y. 115 p. 332
- Second National Bank v. Weston 172 N. Y. 250 p. 333
- Mortimer v. Otto 206 N. Y. 89 p. 333
- Morris v. Brown 111 N. Y. 318 p. 333
- Kettle v. Turl 162 N. Y. 255 p. 333
- Taylor v. Commercial Bank 174 N. Y. 181 p. 335
- Carpenter v. Blake 75 N. Y. 12 p. 337