Majority
On March 6, 1929, the defendant issued a policy of insurance in the industrial form upon the life of Edward L. Traynor, in which the plaintiff was named beneficiary. The policy was in the face amount of $430 and contained a provision for the payment of double indemnity in the event that the death of the insured should result from bodily injuries, sustained through external, violent and accidental means.
The insured died on December 26, 1930, as a result of injuries sustained in an automobile accident. The plaintiff sued to recover the sum of $860, representing the face amount, and double indemnity, under the policy. The defendant has resisted payment on the ground that at the death of the insured there was no insurance in existence, as the deceased had failed to comply with his contract. The policy reads: “ The John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance Company of Boston, Massachusetts in Consideration of the payment of the premium, stipulated herein on or before each Wednesday during the continuance of this policy until premium payments cease by the terms hereof, grants this Endowment insurance with the privileges and benefits and subject to the conditions and provisions on this and the three following pages which are hereby made a part of this contract and constitute the entire contract between the parties hereto.”
The age of Edward L. Traynor, the insured, was twenty-one years, the weekly premium fifty cents; the beneficiary was his mother, Anna R. Traynor. Upon the payment of the premiums for a period of twenty years the company agreed to pay the amount due as an endowment, which was $430, or to pay the same amount if the insured died before twenty years, and the premiums had been duly paid until death.
“ Period of Grace. This policy will be paid subject to its conditions if the Insured die while premiums are in arrears not more than four weeks, but neither this concession nor the acceptance of any overdue premium shall create an obligation on the part of the Company to receive premiums which are in arrears, nor shall it be a waiver of their payment on Wednesday of each week in advance.”
The insured died on December 26, 1930. The last premium paid was on October 29, 1930. The four weeks’ period of grace extended the insurance to November 26th when, according to the terms of the policy, the insurance expired and the policy terminated or was out of benefit. This is conceded. These facts are admitted by the plaintiff for she bases her right to recover upon a theory of waiver or estoppel. We, therefore, start the discussion of this case with the statement that the insured agreed to pay fifty cents a week every week for the benefit under the insurance policy. By its terms he had four weeks’ period of grace within which to pay his delayed premium, but after that period benefits ceased and there could be no recovery. The insured died on December 26, 1930, or thirty days after the expiration of the period of grace and the termination of the policy.
The claim of the plaintiff, which she has successfully pressed in the courts below, is that the company, by previously accepting payments of premiums beyond the days of grace, had waived the provisions of the policy
In this case, as we have stated, the period of grace for the payment of the due premiums had expired; four weeks had gone by. The insured died, and the beneficiary, after his death, tendered the amount of the premiums due, and insists that this reinstates or keeps alive the policy or, in other words, that the company was obliged by reason of its course of conduct to accept these past-due premiums after the death of the insured without the benefit of a physical examination or any assurance of continued health.
What is this course of conduct which nullifies the provisions of the policy in favor of the insurance company? It is that on January 29, 1930, the insurance company accepted the premiums due for the previous seven weeks; that on April 3, 1930, it accepted payment of premiums due for the previous eight weeks; that on June 6, 1930, it received payment of premiums due for the previous eight weeks, including an advance premium for June 11th; that the payment of June 24th took care of two weeks; and that the last payment, October 29th, was accepted in payment of premiums previously due for ten weeks; in other words, the company did not insist upon the premiums being paid every week on the day due. It did not terminate the policy with the non-payment of premium on the due date; it exercised its privilege which it had of continuing or restoring the policy when the back premiums were paid up. I cannot find, however, any evidence that the company by so doing agreed, or impliedly agreed, that it would thereafter let a policy ride or continue until the beneficiary felt inclined to pay the premiums. At any time it could refuse to take past-due premiums and insist that the four weeks’ grace period ended all benefits unless the premiums were paid within that time.
By the reinstatement clause, above quoted, the company might within one year after default reinstate the policy
This is the policy of insurance and its conditions which, as we have said in many cases, must be read like any other contract and agreement. The company received overdue payments, but such acts created no obligation to receive future overdue payments. This is a clear and concise part of the insured’s agreement. Therefore, when the payments due October 29, 1930, were not paid within the four weeks’ period of grace there was no obligation upon the part of the company to accept them after death.
A case somewhat like this is Thompson v. Insurance Co., ( 104 U. S. 252 , 259), wherein Mr. Justice Bradley said, regarding the receipt of default payments, the following: “ The last replication sets up and declares that it was the usage and custom of the defendants, practised
The weakness of the plaintiff’s contention is obvious when we inquire as to the nature of this new obligation to receive default payments. For how long a time could the insured delay his payments and yet keep alive his insurance? For how long a time could the beneficiary delay payment of past-due premiums after the insured’s death? In other words, what was the limit to the obligation? The past delays were not always of the same length of time. One was two weeks, another six, one
The judgment of the Appellate Division and that of the Trial Term should be reversed, and the complaint dismissed, with costs in all courts.
Lehman, O’Brien, Loughran, Finch and Rippey, JJ., concur; Htjbbs, J., taking no part.
Judgments reversed, etc.
Cases cited
- Conway v. Phœnix Mutual Life Insurance 140 N. Y. 79 p. 230
- Thompson v. Insurance Co. 104 U. S. 252 at 259 p. 231, p. 235
- Marvin v. Universal Life Insurance 85 N. Y. 278 p. 231
- Pechner v. Phœnix Insurance 65 N. Y. 195 p. 231
- Solomon v. Vallette 152 N. Y. 147 p. 231
- Beatty v. Guggenheim Exploration Co. 225 N. Y. 380 p. 231
- Whipple v. Prudential Insurance 222 N. Y. 39 p. 231
- Syracuse Lighting Co. v. Maryland Casualty Co. 226 N. Y. 25 p. 231
- Bible v. John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance 256 N. Y. 458 p. 231
- Cornell v. Travelers' Insurance Co. of Hartford 120 App. Div. 459 p. 231
- Insurance Co. v. Norton 96 U. S. 234 p. 231
- Metropolitan Life Insurance v. Childs Co. 230 N. Y. 285 p. 231
- Rothschild v. Title Guarantee & Trust Co. 204 N. Y. 458 p. 231
- De Frece v. National Life Insurance 136 N. Y. 144 p. 231, p. 237
- Kenyon v. Knights Templar & Masonic Mutual Aid Ass'n 122 N. Y. 247 p. 231
- Kadelburg v. Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co. 248 N. Y. 654 p. 231, p. 237