Majority
The decedent in his application for insurance answered “ No ” to the question: “ Have you had any treatment within the last five years at any dispensary, hospital or sanitarium;” and in answer to the direction, “ Give name and address of each physician consulted by you during the past ten years, and cause for consultation,” the decedent stated: “ Dr. N. G. Darling, 31 North State Street, Chicago, IH., Nervousness.” The evidence shows that on October 4, 1928, the decedent visited Dr. Spire. Dr. Spire testified that according to notes made at that time, the decedent told him, “ Returned from a long trip five days ago, had some coughing, felt bad the following day, took a laxative, has just a little hacking cough, his work takes him to large cities, has been nervous for the past six months, last April had influenza in Chicago. Has gained in weight past summer following that * * * illness.” The physician examined the decedent at that time. He had a temperature of 102°. The physician treated him then but did not see him again till October 11th, one week later. Dr. Spire then sent him to the Syracuse General Hospital where he remained till October 26th. Dr. Spire diagnosed the decedent’s ailment as para-typhoid and treated him for that ailment at the hospital, and after discharge from the hospital until December 17th, 1928, though the X-ray examination and the tests made at the hospital were negative and failed to show that the plaintiff was suffering from that disease. The hospital record, under the heading “ Past History,” states in part: “Felt badly and coughed. About Sept. 30/28 gradually became worse with no outstanding symptoms except cough and tired feeling. Had influenza in April /28 from which he never fully recovered.” In 1932 the decedent again consulted Dr. Spire on two occa
Section 58 of the Insurance Law (Cons. Laws, ch. 28) provides that “ all statements purporting to be made by the insured [in an application attached to the policy of life insurance] shall in the absence of fraud be deemed representations and not warranties.” The effect of the statute is that a “ misstatement, even though stated in the form of a warranty, if made in good faith and without this element of fraud passed into the same class as an ordinary representation and became a defense to the policy only if it was material. On the other hand, the effect of a misrepresentation was left unchanged by the statute. If material it constituted a defense although made innocently and without any feature of fraud; it was sufficient that it was material as an inducement for the issue of the policy, and was untrue.” (Eastern District P. D. Works, Inc., v. Travelers Ins. Co., 234 N. Y. 441 , 449.) Here, though the evidence conclusively establishes that the decedent in his application failed to disclose that he had consulted Dr. Spire or had been treated at a hospital within five years of the date of the application, the court submitted to the jury the question whether the decedent had in his application made a material misrepresentation. The jury decided that no material misrepresentation was made. The question presented is whether, upon the evidence, it conclusively appears that there was a material misrepresentation.
A life insurance company is free to choose the risks which it will assume. An applicant for life insurance is required to answer certain questions which are prepared for the purpose of facilitating the examination and appraisal by the company of the insurability of the risk. In effect the company states to the applicant that the answers to those questions are intended to guide the company in deciding whether to accept or reject the application. By posing the question the insurer has
No method has been devised by which the processes of the human mind can be charted and the force of inducement mechanically measured. The materiality of a representation may then depend upon the idiosyncrasies or the individuality of the person who acts upon the representation, and often must be determined as a question of fact by the trier of the facts. Nevertheless at times, departure in a representation from an accurate statement of .the truth may be so slight that we may confidently say that the difference could not affect decision of any reasonable person. Then as a matter of law the misrepresentation is not material. On the other hand, where an applicant for insurance has notice that before the insurance company will act upon the application, it demands that specified information shall be furnished for the purpose of enabling it to determine whether the risk should be accepted, any untrue representation, however innocent, which either by affirmation of an untruth or suppression of the truth, substantially thwarts the purpose for which the information is demanded and induces action which the insurance company might otherwise not have taken, is material as matter of law. The question in such case is not whether the insurance company might perhaps have decided to issue the policy even if it had been apprised of the truth, the question is whether failure to state the truth where there was duty to speak prevented the insurance company from exercising its choice of whether to accept or reject.the application'upon a disclosure of all the facts which might reasonably affect its choice. (Jenkins v. John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. Co., 257 N. Y. 289 . Cf.
That does not mean that every failure to disclose each occasion upon which the applicant has visited or consulted a physician constitutes a misrepresentation, material or otherwise. A reasonable construction of a question in an application blank which calls for information about consultations with physicians or about medical treatments, may limit the scope of the question to consultations or treatments for ailments which are not trivial and exclude the applicant’s “ visits for medical advice for such minor ills as constipation or common cold in the head, which are readily relieved by simple remedies and do not impair his general health.” (Jenkins v. John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. Co., supra, p. 293. Cf. Travelers Ins. Co. v. Pomerantz, 246 N. Y. 63 .) In such case the decision that failure to disclose a visit for medical advice creates no fatal infirmity in the policy of insurance thereafter issued rests upon construction of the application and determination that failure to disclose such a visit constitutes no suppression of the truth and, thus, no false representation that there had not been such a visit rather than upon determination that, though a false representation was made it was not material. True, the test of whether the ailments, for which medical advice or treatment was sought, were trivial, may be decisive in either view of the question, and there may in most cases be no occasion to draw such distinctions. As Judge Finch points out, an applicant may hardly be expected to remember each occasion upon which he sought medical advice for a trivial ailment which passed away leaving no permanent effect; and a question in an application blank may not reasonably be construed as calling for information, which the person to whom the question is posed could not be expected to remember. That proposition is self-evident. Equally clear is the proposition that a failure by the applicant to disclose a visit which the applicant could not reasonably be expected to remember could not
In this case the situtation is quite different. We have an admission or statement made by the decedent to a physician whom he consulted in October, 1928, that the previous April he had an attack of influenza from which, it appears, he had not at that time recovered. We have conclusive proof that at that time the decedent was sent to a hospital where he remained for two weeks; that his physician diagnosed the decedent’s ailment as para-typhoid and continued to treat him for almost two months after his discharge from the hospital, and that shortly before he signed the application, the decedent twice consulted the same physician for a nervous condition. It is quite possible, as Judge Finch says, that none of the ailments for which the decedent consulted physicians and received hospital treatment permanently affected the decedent’s health or made him a less desirable insurance risk. Even so, it can certainly not be said that the applicant could not reasonably be expected to disclose information about such consultation or hospital treatment. By no possible construction of the questions in the application blank can it be said reasonably that the question did not call for such information. Hence failure to disclose information called for by the question constitutes a representation that there had been no such consultation or hospital treatment. (Anderson v. Æna Life Ins. Co., 266 N. Y. 376 , and cases there cited.) Thus in this case the only question is whether the representation, though false, was material to the risk as matter of law.
Any decision that a misrepresentation is not material must of course be based upon a holding, as question either of law or of fact, that the departure from the truth was not a factor which deprived a person of freedom of action and did not induce a choice which otherwise might not have been made. In no case which has been called to our attention has a court of this or other jurisdiction enforced a policy where information demanded by an insurance company “ in order to decide whether it would issue a policy ” and which might reasonably be considered a factor in arriving at a choice has been withheld. The question in such case is not whether the company might have issued the policy even if the information had been furnished; the question in each case is whether the company has been induced to accept an application which it might otherwise have refused. “ Any misrepresentation which defeats or seriously interferes with the exercise of such a right cannot truly be said to be an immaterial one.” (Travelers Ins. Co. v. Pomerantz, supra, p. 68 .) There we held that proof of the withholding of information concerning medical consultations, though called for by a question in an application blank, requires in the absence of denial or .explanation a finding of material misrepresentation.
That case has been followed in a number of later cases. Attempt is made to distinguish those cases on the ground that in all those cases the plaintiff, seeking recovery upon the policy, by claim of privilege arising from the relation
The salient features of the problem presented in this case are these: The insurance company did not agree that a jury might decide what risks the company should accept. It reserved that choice to itself, and in order to determine whether in a given case it should exercise that choice, it required certain information of each applicant. Here the applicant gave erroneous information, and the insurance company acted upon the information it received. If the truth had been disclosed it might prehaps have rejected the application or it might have accepted it. No person can say with any degree of certainty what action it would have taken, but it cannot be doubted that the erroneous statement deprived the company of its freedom of choice and that it acted upon a statement of facts which did not exist and if the truth had been disclosed, it might, reasonably, have acted differently. It follows then that the representation was material as matter of law.
There has never been any contention, dictum or decision in this court that if an insurance company evinces interest in the subject it thereby becomes material and no such contention is made in this opinion. The inquiry is “ made material to the risk. The insurer so determined, and it was not for the insured to pass it over as trifling ” (Jenkins v. John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. Co., 257 N. Y. 289 ); but innocent failure to give true answer to the “ material ” inquiry is itself material only where it “ defeats or seriously interferes with the exercise of such a right [i. e., to accept or reject the application].” Such a misrepresentation cannot defeat or seriously affect the insurance company’s right to reject the application where a disclosure of all the facts could not “ reasonably ” affect the choice of the insurer. Thus though the formulation of the test is somewhat different from that
Dissent
In Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Ontario Metal Products Co. (supra), which is said to be precisely in point, it appeared that the misrepresentation consisted in failure to disclose treatment for a temporary disorder which was not a disease, did not cause the applicant to lose a single day of work and was due only to overwork or lack of exercise. As said earlier in this opinion, the rule in this State is that where an applicant for insurance withholds information called for by questions in an application blank concerning medical advice for ailments which are not “ mere temporary disorders, having no bearing upon general health the inquiry was not to be passed over as trivial. It was made material to the risk.” (Anderson v. Ætna Life Ins. Co., supra.) In all the cases cited in the opinion of Finch, J., or in the brief of the respondents, the misrepresentation either did not refer to health or medical treatment, or referred to “ mere temporary disorders having no bearing upon general health.” None of them are inconsistent with what was said in the Anderson case or is said in this opinion.
The judgments should be reversed and the complaints dismissed, with costs in all courts.
(dissenting). The decedent, George H. Geer, applied for and obtained from the defendant two life insurance policies in 1932. His application contained the following questions and answers, photostatic copies of which were attached to the policies:
“ B. Cough or Hoarseness (Chronic or Persistent), Asthma, Spitting of Blood, Pleurisy, Pneumonia, or any Disease of the Respiratory Organs?
“ B. No.
*******
“ D. Diarrhoea, Dysentery, Dyspepsia (chronic), Jaundice, Liver Disease, Colic (severe), Gallstones, Fistula, Peritonitis, Ulcer of stomach or bowel, or any disease of the Abdominal Organs?
“ D. No.
“ M. Have you had any treatment within the last five years at any dispensary, hospital or sanatorium? If yes, give dates, duration, name of ailment and name of institution.
“ M. No. Right mastiodictomy — 9 yr. ago — Syr. Memorial Hospital — complete recovery few weeks.
Dr. T. H. Halstead, Syracuse, N. Y.
* * * * * * *
“ Give name and address of each physician consulted by you during the past ten years, and cause for consultation. Dr. N. G. Darling, 31 North State St. Chicago, 111. Nervousness.”
The policies contained a two-year incontestable clause but before the expiration of the period the insured died as the result of inhaling carbon monoxide gas. The plaintiff, the beneficiary under the policies, brought actions upon them. The insurance company set up as a defense that the insured had had consultations with physicians which were not revealed in the application. The plaintiff waived her right to claim the physician-patient privilege and permitted the introduction of evidence of such consultations with physicians and on her own behalf introduced evidence to show that in 1932 the insured had twice consulted a Dr. Spire at his home
The trial court submitted to the jury the question whether the omissions from the answers in the application were material to the risk. The jury returned a verdict in favor of the plaintiff. The County Court and the Appellate Division have affirmed the judgment entered thereon and the Appellate Division has granted leave to appeal to this court.
The appellant maintains that the omissions in the answer are material as a matter of law and that, therefore, the complaint should have been dismissed.
Section 58 of the Insurance Law (Cons. Laws, ch. 28) provides that unless a copy of the application is attached to the policy it shall not be incorporated therein by reference and that all statements purporting to be made by the insured although attached to the policy shall in the absence of fraud be deemed representations and not warranties. A false warranty ipso facto vitiates the policy whether or not it is material. (See Eastern District P. D. Works, Inc., v. Travelers Ins. Co., 234 N. Y. 441 , 449; 63 A. L. R. 846 .) It is argued, however, that any omission in an answer to a question concerning consultation with physicians is material as a matter of law. Such a rule would lead to manifest injustice. Under it a policy could be vitiated because the insured had forgotten a visit to the doctor many years earlier for the treatment of a slight cold, or failed to disclose a consultation with a physician which had revealed that the insured was in good health. Unless the insured kept a detailed diary or journal he
It is argued that where an insurance company by specific questions requests information, any untrue representation or concealment in the answer, however innocent, is
To restate the contention, as I understand it, it is this: An insurance company is entitled to exercise its will freely in determining whether to issue an insurance policy, that for this reason it may ask questions in its application blank; that by asking these questions, it signifies that it will consider the answers in determining whether to issue the policy; and that, therefore, any misrepresentation in the answer, however innocently made, is material as a matter of law. Just how far does this go? Suppose the application should ask the insured whether he had ever suffered from a common cold. By asking the question, has it made the answer material as a matter of law? Or suppose the question concerning consultation with physicians concludes with the phrase “ whether concerning a cold or any ailment no matter how slight.” Surely it could not be argued that such a question was not intended to elicit answers concerning common colds, constipation or other minor ailments. • The answer, therefore, would be material as a matter of law.
Section 58 of the Insurance Law bars such a ruling. It was enacted for the benefit of the insured, and expressly provides that statements in an insurance policy “ shall in the absence of fraud be deemed representations and not warranties.” A misrepresentation, as noted above, does not invalidate a policy unless it is. material. It is argued that merely by asking a specific question, the
The contention that answers to questions in the application concerning health are material as a matter of law, is based upon the theory that if an insurance company evinces interest in the subject it thereby becomes material. That is not the true test. To use the words of Judge, later Chief Justice, Taft, “A fair test of the materiality of a fact is found, therefore, in the answer to the question whether reasonably careful and intelligent men would have regarded the fact, communicated at the time of effecting the insurance, as substantially increasing the chances of the loss insured against.” (Penn Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Mechanics Sav. Bank & Trust Co., 72 Fed. Rep. 413 , at p. 429.) Cases there are which have applied other tests, but the test quoted is supported, it is submitted, by the better reasoned authorities. (Ward v. Standard Acc. Ins. Co., 30 Fed. Rep. [2d] 328; Miller v. Maryland Casualty Co., 193 Fed. Rep. 343 ; Coff v. Mutual Life Ins. Co., 131 La. 98 ; McCaffrey v. Knights & Ladies of Columbia, 213 Penn. St. 609 ; Howell v. American Nat. Ins. Co., 189 N. C. 212 ; Lee v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 158 Ga. 517 ; Etter v. National Life & Acc. Ins. Co., 228 Ky. 399 ; Standard Acc. Ins. Co. v. Walker, 127 Va. 140 . See Eastern District P. D. Works, Inc., v. Travelers Ins. Co., 234 N. Y. 441 , 453; Columbia Ins. Co. v. Lawrence, 35 U. S. [10 Pet.] 507, 516, per Story, J.; McLanahan v. Universal Ins. Co., 26 U. S. [1 Pet.] 170; Hancock v. Knights of Security, 303 Ill. 66 , 71; Mutual Benefit Life Ins. Co. v. Miller, 39 Ind. 475 , 486; 3 Joyce on The Law of Insurance [2d ed.], § 1892;4 Couch, Cyclopedia of Insurance Law, § 829. See, also, N. Y. Firemen Ins. Co. v. Walden, 12 Johns. 513 , per Chancellor Kent.)
The defendant relies upon several cases containing language which, when taken out of its context, seems to support the argument that all misrepresentations or omissions concerning health and consultations with physicians are material as a matter of law. An examination of these cases reveals that they involve special circumstances which readily distinguish them, and that the language contained in them is not intended to cover all cases of misrepresentation or omission.
In Minsker v. John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. Co. ( 254 N. Y. 333 ) the insured answered in the negative questions asking whether he had been treated in a hospital or other institution. The insurance company showed that actually he did receive medical advice on three different occasions
In the case at bar the plaintiff waived the privilege and permitted the admission of all evidence concerning the consultations of the insured with the physician. The
Are the ailments revealed in the case at bar of such a serious nature that it must be held as a matter of law that they are material? It does not seem to me that they are. There was no direct proof that the insured had ever had influenza. There was merely the statement by the doctor that the insured had told him that he had suffered from the disease. In addition, the record contains evidence that except during an epidemic period, influenza is merely a severe cold and there is no showing upon this record that it amounted to more than the latter. Nor is it material as a matter of law that the insured mistakenly thought he was ill and consulted a doctor and it turned out to be merely nervousness. As to the para-typhoid, Dr. Spire stated that he thought the insured had paratyphoid. The tests taken, however, returned a negative result and the symptoms shown by the hospital charts do not reveal para-typhoid. A jury might very well find that the insured never suffered from that disease. More
The judgments in favor of the plaintiff should be affirmed, with costs.
Crane, Ch. J., O’Brien, Hubbs and Loughran, JJ., concur with Lehman, J.; Finch, J., dissents in opinion in which Rippey, J., concurs.
Judgments reversed, etc.
Cases cited
- Anderson v. Ætna Life Insurance 265 N. Y. 376 at 380 p. 263, p. 270, p. 280
- Jenkins v. John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance 257 N. Y. 289 p. 263, p. 264, p. 266, p. 271, p. 275
- Minsker v. John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance 254 N. Y. 333 p. 263, p. 279
- Travelers Insurance v. Pomerantz 246 N. Y. 63 at 68 p. 263, p. 264, p. 266, p. 267, p. 275, p. 280
- People v. Martin 235 N. Y. 550 p. 263
- Eastern District Piece Dye Works, Inc. v. Travelers Insurance 234 N. Y. 441 at 449, at 453, 454, at 453 p. 263, p. 265, p. 274, p. 275, p. 277
- Nowak v. Brotherhood of American Yeomen 249 N. Y. 78 p. 263, p. 275
- Krauza v. Golden Seal Assurance Society 247 N. Y. 536 p. 263
- Cushman v. United States Life Insurance 70 N. Y. 72 p. 263
- Higbie v. Guardian Mutual Life Insurance 53 N. Y. 603 p. 275
- Murphy v. Union Central Life Insurance 255 N. Y. 617 p. 275
- New-York Firemen Insurance v. Walden 12 Johns. 513 p. 277
- Nowak v. Brotherhood of American Yeomen 252 N. Y. 465 p. 280
- Sebring v. Fidelity-Phenix Fire Insurance 255 N. Y. 382 p. 281