Majority
Headnote
A witness can not be allowed to testify, in an insurance case, what- is meant by s, permanent policy ; it not appearing to be a term of art, or pne employed in any particular business; and it not being shown that the witness has any qualifications for interpreting it, which are not equally possessed by the judge and jury.This action was brought to recover the sum of $5000, alleged to have been insured by the defendants upon the plaintiffs’ church edifice which was consumed by fire in September, 1848. There was no written contract of insurance existing at the time the church was .burned, but it had been insured one year .from J uly 21, 1855, by a policy issued by the defendants at that date, and tbe instrument contained the usual clause that the insurance might be continued for such further time as should be agreed on, by the payment of the premium and by having it indorsed thereon or a receipt given therefor. It had been continued by a renewal receipt for the following year; and before any further renewal the defendants had increased the premium from $25, the former amount, to $30, all but $5 of which had been paid for a renewal from J uly, 1847, to J uly, 1848. A short credit had been given by the company for the payment of this balance, but tbe plaintiffs’ treasurer had forgotten to pay it, and the renewal receipt for that year had not been delivered; and nothing had been done to procure a renewal for the following' year, during which the loss happened; unless the alleged parol arrangement, upon which the plaintiffs relied, effected such renewal. To establish such arrangement the plaintiffs examined their treasurer, A. N. Lewis, who testified to" a coversatipn -with Mr. Ellsworth the defendants’ president, who called upon the witness at his place of business in the city of New York, two or three days prior to the 21st of July, 1846, when the first year’s insurance would expire. The witness' account of the interview is as follows: “Mr. Ells-
The plaintiffs’ counsel inquired of the witness, Lewis, what was meant by a permanent policy; and he excepted to the ruling -by which the question was rejected. That phrase had not been used in any part of the testimony, and if it had been it would not have been competent for the witness to prove its meaning, as it does- not appear to have been a term of art, or one employed in any -particular business, or that the witness'had any qualifications for interpreting it which were not equally possessed by the judge and jury.
The testimony of A. Gr. Stevens, who was the defendants'
The defendants’ counsel was also allowed to' read a part of Mr. Stevens’ deposition, in which he statedethat the president had never reported to him the existence of such an arrangement as the plaintiffs attempted to prove, and that he had never heard of any renewal or agreement to renew the policy after July, 1848. The exception based upon this ruling does not specify any grounds. It falls, for the most part, within the same reason which has been given for disallowing the last exception. It may be added that the court will so far take notice of the usual course of business as to assume that the office of an insurance company would contain a minute of all actual contracts of insurance, whether made at the office or by its officers outside of the office. Besides,- the books and registers of the office, for the time to which the controversy relates, were afterwards given in evidence, without objection, and they confirmed what the secretary had sworn to.
A portion of Mr. Stevens’ former testimony was to this effect: that the company’s insurances were from year to year, and they were not permanent as to time, but he, the secretary, had individually made arrangements with several persons, whom he named, that he would make out their renewal receipts, when they were due, and would call upon them for the premium; and in such cases he took the receipts to them and got the money within a week or a month afterwards; that in some instances he had left receipts without receiving the premium; and that there were some such cases existing at the time of the fire in question. The plaintiffs’ counsel wished to give this portion of the testimony in evidence, but it was excluded on the defendants’ objection, and the plaintiffs excepted. If the objection depended upon the view of
The only answer that Mr. Beers, the defendants’ witness, gave to the question (which was allowed against the plaintiffs’ objection) as to how often the plaintiffs’ policy had been renewed, was that it had been renewed twice, in 1846 and 1847.- The plaintiffs had claimed that such renewals had been made; and so far as the matter was material, the answer was favorable to .the plaintiffs.
The plaintiffs’ counsel proposed to prove by Mr. Beers that it was the usage of the company to send notices of the expiration of policies, even where there were agreements for permanent insurance, and the evidence was excluded. It had been proved without contradiction that a notice was sent to the plaiptiffs’ treasurer, in anticipation of the eipiration of the renewal for the year terminating July, 1848. This did not prove or tend to prove that it was or was not a permanent -policy -in the sense in which that term was used in the question, and I do not perceive that the usage suggested would have' had any just influence upon the question. It was established that so far as the office of the company from which the notices were issued was concerned, the insu
The fire occurred on a Sunday morning. The following Monday morning Mr. Sandford, a trustee of the church, and Mr. Lewis, the treasurer, went to the company’s office and had a' conversation with Mr. Stevens, the secretary. The plaintiffs’ counsel wished to prove that he had admitted on that occasion that the church was under insurance by the defendants at the time it was burned. Mr. Sandford had been examined on a former trial and had given testimony as to what took place at that interview, and had since died. According to this testimony, which the plaintiffs wished to read, Lewis said to Stevens, “I understand that you reject the policy on our house.” Stevens answered, “We do not reject our policies.” Something more was said which the witness stated he paid little attention to. The plaintiffs’ counsel proposed to give this former testimony in evidence, but it was excluded on the defendants’ objection. It would be a sufficient answer to the exception to this ruling, that the evidence did not amount to an admission of an insurance. It was rather a denial that any policy existed. It was excluded, however, apparently on the ground of irrelevancy. But the plaintiffs thereupon recalled Lewis, and- broadly offered to prove by him- that “Mr. Stevens, the secretary of the company, acknowledged [on that occasion] to him and Mr. Sandford, at the office of the company, that the church was insured at the time of the fire.” It appeared that Stevens’ attention had been called to that interview on the former trial, and he had sworn, in effect, that so far from admitting an insurance, he had stated that the church had not been insured since July
"The remaining exceptions relate to the instructions to the jury. The plaintiffs desired them to be charged positively that the church was insured for the year "ending in July, 1848, which was the year prioi to the fire. The fact was
The judge stated to the jury in a general way what was essensential to constitute a valid contract of insurance, namely, that the minds of the parties should meet as to the premises insured and the risk; as to the amount insured; as to the time the risk should continue; and as to the premium. The plaintiffs excepted generally, without indicating what part they found fault with, or that they desired any qualification to be stated. I think the definition given a very accurate one, and that there was no error in laying it down.
The judge charged, in effect, that the verbal arrangement relied on must be understood as a contract to reinsure the church from year to year, at the premium charged in the policy which was running at the time the arrangement was made; and that if a different premium was subsequently exacted, and assented to, it put an end to the prior arrangement, and required a new bargain to effect a continuing arrangement. The plaintiffs do not contend that the effect of the arrangement was that the defendants should perpetually insure them, or that they would through all time be insured by the defendants. As they construe it, and as the reasonable interpretation would be, if the arrangement claimed was made, it was an understanding that until one of the parties dissented, the contract should be continuous, and the president should call for the premium when he thought proper, after it was due. In 1847 the president offered to the plaintiffs’ treasurer, at the place of business of the latter
The issues between these parties were succinctly stated by Judge Comstock, in the opinion delivered when the cause was here upon a former appeal. ( 19 N. Y. Rep. 305 .) The theory of the suit, as extracted from pleadings consisting in great part, on both sides, of allegations and denials of the various facts which the pleaders expected to prove at the trial, is that the defendants had made an agreement to renew a policy of insurance from year to year, in consideration of a premium to be annually paid, either party being at liberty to give notice at any time that the arrangement was not to be continued. I quote the language of Judge Comstock. The policy of insurance to which he re fers was a previously existing policy of the ordinary description, by "which the defendants agreed to insure the plaintiffs for one year against loss by the injury or destruction of certain premises, ,to a certain amount, and in consideration of a certain price or premium paid to the insurers. This court has decided, and from its decision we are not to depart, that an agreement by parol.to renew this policy from year to year, in consideration of the premiums to be annually paid,"until one of the parties should signify their dissent to a further continuance of the arrangement, was not void by the statute of frauds, nor by principles of general law, nor invalidated by the express provision of a different character for the renewal of the policy contained in that instrument itself, and was within the power of the company to make. The issue sent back for trial in the court below, was the question of fact whether such an agreement was in existence between the parties at the time of the destruction of the property alleged to have been insured, and the questions now before us are questions of the admissibility of evidence, and the proper rules of law applicable to the' decision of this issue. The policy of insurance, whose indefinite renewal was claimed by the
The most important question in the case arises upon the instructions,of the court to the jury at the trial, as to the effect of this change of the rate of insurance upon such an agreement as that alleged by the plaintiffs to have been made in 1846. After stating, that to make a valid contract of insurance, the minds of the parties must meet upon the subjects of such a contract, including the risk, the amount of insurance, the term of time, and the premium, the judge proceeded to charge that if such a' contract as the plaintiffs claimed could be established, it must be a contract to insure from year to year at the same premium, as there was no provision for a change. That is, as explained by the next proposition stated to the jury, that if the premium was
It seems to me that no such fault can be found with the rule thus laid down as applicable to the issue presented by the pleadings and the evidence. The counsel for the plain-" . tiffs' urges that he should have been, allowed to explain and to recover npon what is styled “a permanent policy;” and again that there might be an agreement to renew a policy of insurance indefinitely at “ the current rate of premiums.” The ideas which these terms and propositions represent, have little to do with the real issue in this case. The phrase “permanent policy” was introduced at the trial by a witness for the plaintiffs,"who was not an officer of the defendants or of any other insurance company, and not. familiar with their contracts or usages. But the action was not brought upon an original parol agreement for the insurance of these premises, such as would seem to be intended by this expression. The original agreement between them was an ordinary policy of insurance, for a definite time, and at a specified rate. The plaintiffs allege, not that the defendants made a new parol contract of insurance, indefinite as to time and price, or to last indefinitely, notwithstanding any variation in any of its terms, but that they made an agreement to renew this previously existing contract, from year to year, until one or
There were various offers made at the trial to prove the practice.of the defendants in their insurances of other parties. The answer to these'propositions is that the question in this case is not of the powers of the defendants, nor of their usages, but of the actual agreement made by the officers of the company with' the' plaintiffs in particular. Evidence of what took place with other parties could not prove a contract with the plaintiffs, and we are asked here to establish and not to interpret such a contract.
The questions and offer to prove what was the meaning of the words “permanent policy,” were inadmissible or immaterial for reasons which have already been in part suggested. The witness of 'whomitwas proposed to ask the question was not shown to be in any way competent to answer it, the inquiry was not material to the real issue in the case, and the
The plaintiffs offered to show that it was the usage of the company in cases of agreement for permanent insurances, similar to the one in the present case, to serve notices of the expiration of thé policies. The defendants had proved without objection, that notice had been given by them in 1846 and 1847 to the plaintiffs, that the policy held by the latter would expire on a certain day when the year for which it was originally made, or during which it had been renewed, would terminate. If it had been intended to show that such notices were usually given by the company to parties who had an understanding or arrangement that their policies should be renewed from year to year, the offer should have been more explicit, and it should not have contained the assumption that the plaintiffs had effected with the defendants an agreement for a permanent insurance. In truth, however, the whole question was one not to be determined or affected by the dealings of the company with other parties. There could not be a custom as to such a matter. Known and recognized usages and customs may be proved to explain or qualify what is doubtful or equivocal in a contract, but not to explain an act such as giving notice of its termination. If it had appeared that there were contracts with other persons for renewal of their policies from year to year until forbidden, which was not proved, and as we have seen was not evidence in itself, and if it had then appeared that such persons were notified that their insurance would terminate at the close of every successive year, this would not have affected the question of the existence of such an arrangement with the plaintiffs. What the defendants chose to do with other parties was immaterial to the plaintiffs, and as I have said, this was the whole scope of the offer. It was not a case of a custom or usage, in any proper sense, but simply an offer to prove how the defendants dealt with other persons than the plaintiffs.
There are many other questions of evidence in the case
Judgment affirmed