Majority
The question presented by this appeal is whether the Legislature by provisions of the Administrative Code of the City of New York (effective January 1, 1938) has authorized the Board of Estimate to grant the application for payment of a pension to a person who has been removed from his position as a member of the city service on charges involving fault and delinquency which he has not disproved.
The facts are not in dispute. The petitioner was in the city service for forty-three years and at the time of his
On April 17, 1939, while the charges were pending and the day before they were to be heard, the petitioner filed with the Board of Estimate his written application for retirement from the city service. Pursuant to his request at the hearing, petitioner on April 19, 1939, sent a letter to the Commission setting forth his defense to the charges. On April 20, 1939, the Commission found the petitioner guilty of the above charges. Petitioner thereupon was dismissed from the service and his name removed from the civil service rolls. The propriety of this dismissal by the Commission has never been attacked by the petitioner.
The Board of Estimate, on December 14, 1939, granted the petitioner’s application for retirement. It later reconsidered the resolution after the Mayor, who had not been personally present when it was passed, disapproved. On reconsideration by the Board of Estimate, the pension was denied by a vote of fourteen to two. The question of the right of the Board of Estimate to reconsider its original resolution is not presented here but rather the right of the Board to pass the resolution in the first instance.
This is a proceeding brought by the petitioner to compel the Board of Estimate as the Trustees of the Employees’ Retirement System to grant his application for retirement and to determine the amount of his retirement allowance. It is respondent’s position that he was a member in the city
Petitioner did not apply for retirement until after he had been suspended and charges involving fault and delinquency had been filed against him. Upon those charges he was removed from the city service and this removal took place before the earliest date on which the Board could or did act upon his application. Under the provisions of the Administrative Code formerly contained in the Charter of the City of New York (L. 1901, ch. 466, as amended) the members of the retirement system are entitled to certain rights, which rights have been characterized as being in the nature of contractual or quasi-contractual rights. (Roddy v. Valentine, 268 N. Y. 228 , 231.) Where the statutory conditions for retirement have been met those rights become vested and payment of the pension cannot be withheld in the absence of fault or delinquency at the mere whim of any administrative officer or body. (Rees v. Teachers’ Retirement Board, 247 N. Y. 372 ; People ex rel. Fitzpatrick v. Greene, 181 N. Y. 308 , 312.) In the case at bar the question presented is whether these rights include retirement allowance for a prior member of the system who has been suspended from the service upon charges before his application for retirement was made and where the charges have been sustained and the member dismissed from the service before the date set in the application for actual retirement. Under these circumstances have the statutory conditions been met?
Section B3-36.0 of the Administrative Code, upon which the petitioner relies, provides that “ any member in city-service may retire upon written application to the board setting forth at what time, not less than thirty days subsequent to the execution and filing thereof, he desires to be
Since the application for retirement in this case was not filed until April 17, 1939, it could not become effective or be acted upon by the Board of Estimate until at least thirty days after that date. Before May 17, 1939, the petitioner had been involuntarily removed from the city service. Under section B3-36.0, the petitioner, having been removed from the service before his application became final, has no right to a pension. The effect of the petitioner’s dismissal from the city service is the same as if he had died before the effective date of his application. In such case the right to a pension is lost. (Matter of O’Brien v. Tremaine, 285 N. Y. 233 ; Matter of Creveling v. Teachers’ Retirement Board, 255 N. Y. 364 .) Following this principle, we held in Matter of McMeekan v. Dept. of Health of the City of New York ( 157 Misc. Rep. 620 ; affd., 249 App. Div. 609 ; affd., 274 N. Y. 521 ) that voluntary retirement was not effective until the Board of. Health by resolution approved. In that case, petitioner, an employee of the city, having learned that charges were to be preferred against him filed his application for retirement. The next day he was suspended and thereafter dismissed upon charges. To the same effect, see Matter of Murnane v. LaGuardia ( 242 App. Div. 823 ).
The petitioner contends that the defect in his application is remedied by rule 58 of the Rules of the Board of Estimate which provides that “ the rights of an applicant to retirement shall not be forfeited by separation from service or other change in status subsequent to the filing of an applica
It is submitted that the above construction of section B3-36.0 would seem to follow from reading the retirement law as a whole. The petitioner having served upwards of forty years, the provision of the retirement law under which he normally would make application would be section B3-35.0 which applies to twenty years or more of service. But this petitioner is expressly excluded from section B3-35.0 because he was removed from bis position for fault and delinquency. Therefore he has applied for a pension under section B3-36.0 which he contends permits retirement in spite of removal for fault or delinquency. If we sustained that contention, the result which we would adopt would allow a member of the city service who had attained the minimum age to compel the payment of a pension to him after dismissal from the service no matter how serious the charges filed against him and even though his city service falls far short of twenty years, whereas a member of the service who had completed twenty years of service and had been removed therefrom upon charges would have no right to a pension. It would not seem that the Legislature intended to produce so inconsistent a result. It is unnecessary, however, to pass upon this question for the reason as already noted that the petitioner had been properly removed from the service before his application became final and hence has no right to a pension.
It has been urged by the petitioner that the deductions from his salary and the expected benefits of the retirement plan constituted a part of his compensation during his tenure of office and that to deprive him of such benefits now would deprive him of compensation which has already been earned. Since the petitioner was not in the service of the city at the time his application for retirement became final he is not entitled to a pension under section B3-36.0
Dissent
Petitioner also urges that he has an adequate defense to the charges made against him and upon which he was dismissed. Such question is not before us upon this appeal. The propriety of his dismissal is reviewable only upon a petition for reinstatement under article 78 of the Civil Practice Act. Nor does the fact that petitioner has made restitution of a part of the amount of the shortage found in his accounts alter the character of the charge. Restitution cannot be considered as a criterion for the purpose of the determination of whether the charge involves fault or delinquency. Until the petitioner’s dismissal has been set aside upon review by the courts, the finding of the Commission that petitioner was guilty of fault and delinquency is conclusive upon this court for the purposes of this appeal.
It follows that the orders should be reversed and the petition dismissed, without costs.
(dissenting). Respondent entered the service of the Municipal Civil Service Commission of the City of New York as junior clerk on March 4, 1896, at the age of eighteen years, as the result of being chosen from a civil service list for that position. After advancing through several grades of service, he was finally promoted to the position of chief clerk on July 1, 1910, which position he held until April 4, 1939, when he was handed a letter from the President of the Civil Service Commission stating that he was suspended without pay pending the filing of formal charges on certain counts involving alleged inefficient performance of the duties of his office and lack of co-operation with his superiors. Up to the last-mentioned date he had rendered continuous faithful service to the Municipal Civil Service Commission for a period of more than forty-three
The issue of the correctness of the dismissal of respondent from the city service is not here. Nevertheless, the entire record in that connection is a part of the record in these proceedings and is claimed to have some bearing upon matters to be here decided. The charges were, in substance, (1) that he had delayed payment of moneys due the city on behalf of the Commission, (2) that his accounts were in a confused and disordered state, (3) that substantial shortages existed in such accounts, (4) that he had failed to report to his superior the existence of such confused and disordered accounts and the existence of such shortages, and (5) that he had failed to include in the budget request for 1939-1940 a request for the filling of the vacancy of $3,300 left by John C. Lapham, clerk of the Commission, a transfer.
The New York City Employees’ Retirement System was established on an actuarial basis on October 1, 1920, and is subject to the supervision of the State Department of Insurance (L. 1920, ch. 427; Administrative Code, ch. 3, tit. B, §§ B3-1.0 to B3-53.0). The relative statutory provisions are, in detail, complete and all comprehensive. The system is a separate and distinct entity with all the powers and privileges of a corporation (§ B3-10.0). Various funds for various purposes are made up from compulsory contributions
Membership in the system of city employees covered by the system is compulsory. Members of the system are classified into groups. Eberle was grouped in class 3. He became a member of the system on October 1, 1920. Such a membership has been continuous and has not been suspended or terminated. Involuntary terminations from city service is one thing; termination of membership in the retirement system is quite a different proposition. By specific provisions of the statute, membership could terminate only on the happening of one or more of the events provided for in section B3-31.0 and, so far as Eberle is concerned, none of these events have occurred. His membership in the system could not be involuntarily terminated under the provisions of the act until he had received all the benefits to which he was entitled. However that may be, his membership in the system in no event could terminate or be involuntarily terminated by the express provisions of the act until he “ shall be retired on a pension ” (§, B3-31.0, subd. 6). He has not been retired on a pension and he cannot be retired for service on a pension until the Board of Estimate has, on his written application, in fact, retired him (§r§ B3-36.0; B3-42.0; B3-46.0). Hence he was still a member of the system when and after he was found guilty on the charges filed against him and dismissed from city service.
If material to a discussion here, we have already pointed out the arbitrary manner in which Eberle’s dismissal from city service was conducted and accomplished and that the notion that there was any personal fault or delinquency on his part could not be sustained. Nevertheless, the fact that he was involuntarily separated from city service, whether or not on the basis of fault or delinquency, has no bearing upon the decision in this case. Section B3-35.0 of the Code (p. 32) provides that “ a member who is removed or otherwise involuntarily separated from city-service for any cause other than fault or delinquency on his part after having completed twenty years of allowable service, * * * shall receive in lieu of the benefit provided in section B3-29.0 of the code, as he may elect: 1. The amount of his accumulated deductions; or, in lieu thereof, 2. An annuity of equivalent actuarial value to his accumulated deductions, and, in addition, a pension beginning immediately,” etc. Section B3-29.0, referred to in the above section, excludes termination of membership through discontinuance of city service by death or retirement. The retirement age for the group of which Eberle was a member was sixty years and he had arrived at that age more than a year previous to the date on which he filed his application. Section B3-36.0 (p. 33) provides: “ Retirement of a member for service shall be made by the board as follows: 1. Any member in city-service may retire upon written application to the board setting forth at what time, not less than thirty days subsequent to the execution and filing thereof, he desires to be retired, provided that such member at the time so specified for his retirement shall have attained the mini
It is obvious that sections B3-29.0 and B3-35.0 have to do, as expressly provided, only with a particular class of city employees who are involuntarily separated from the city service without fault or delinquency after twenty years of allowable service in distinction to that class of employees who may voluntarily retire for service after reaching the minimum retirement age for their group under sections B3-4.0 and B3-36.0 of the Administrative Code. The two classes do not overlap. Between the two classes there is clear statutory distinction. The right to allowances of an employee involuntarily separated from the city service becomes fixed only after the city has acted to terminate this service, when there is left open to the Board of Estimate a certain field of discretion. An employee reaching the minimum service age for retirement may retire and his rights to benefits become fixed at his own option a,t the time he elects to be retired. If that were not so, the right to be retired under section B3-36.0 would be discretionary with the Board of Estimate. Sections B3-29.0 and B3-35.0 have no reference to voluntary retirement for service, while voluntary retirement for service is solely and specifically provided for in section B3-36.0. The latter section makes no reference to removal by the Board for or without fault or delinquency on the part of the member. The Board has no. power to remove a member from service against his will under section B3-36.0, while under sections B3-29.0 and B3-35.0 the wishes of the member to leave the service need not be considered.
It is asserted, however, that there must be read into section B3-36.0 a limitation on the right to relief when the employee is removed or is involuntarily separated from the
Sections B3-36.0 and B3-42.0 are largely self-executory and are mandatory since the former provides that retirement shall be made by the Board upon application by the employee who may make application for retirement if he attains the minimum age for retirement provided for the group of which he is a member and the latter provides that upon the member retiring for service the Board shall make him the allowance therein fixed. This court so construed provisions relating to retirement for service contained in the Teachers’ Retirement System, parallel in scope and purpose to those in the Employees’ Retirement System and, in applicable provisions, in identical words (Greater New York Charter, § 1092, L. 1901, ch. 466, as amd.; Administrative Code, §§ B20-41.0, B20-44.0, B20-46.0; Rees v. Teachers’ Retirement Board, 247 N. Y. 372 ; Matter of Creveling v. Teachers’ Retirement Board, 255 N. Y. 364 ; Matter of Murray v. Teachers’ Retirement Board, 258 N. Y. 389 ). Refusal to follow well-considered judicial precedent is not ordinarily passed by without explanation. When Eberle went into the Retirement System, a compact was made whereby he might voluntarily retire for service and, at his option,
The right of Eberle to be retired for service and to the designated retirement allowances and pension could not be defeated by the order of the Municipal Civil Service Commission terminating his city service on charges. If anything more were necessary to demonstrate that the conclusion which I have reached is correct, it is found in the construction which the Board of Estimate itself has placed upon the section relating to voluntary retirement for service. By rule 58 of the Board it is provided that “ the rights of an applicant to retirement shall not be forfeited by separation from service or other change in status subsequent to the filing of an application for retirement, but he shall not be credited with any subsequent time to his separation from service.”
Appellants’ claim that the petitioner’s proper remedy was by a proceeding for reinstatement cannot be sustained in view of the above. The petitioner is asking for retirement and a pension and if he obtained restoration to the service and remained in the service he could not have the retirement allowances to which he is entitled after reaching the retirement age, after forty-three years of continuous city service.
The orders should be affirmed, with costs.
Lehman, Ch. J., Lotjghran, Lewis and Desmond, JJ., concur with Finch, J.; Rippey, J., dissents in opinion; Conway, J., taking no part.
Orders reversed, etc.
Cases cited
- Roddy v. Valentine 268 N. Y. 228 at 231 p. 251, p. 262
- Rees v. Teachers' Retirement Board 247 N. Y. 372 p. 251, p. 261
- People ex rel. Fitzpatrick v. Greene 181 N. Y. 308 at 312 p. 251
- O'Brien v. Tremaine 285 N. Y. 233 p. 252
- Creveling v. Teachers' Retirement Board 255 N. Y. 364 p. 252, p. 261
- McMeekan v. Department of Health 274 N. Y. 521 p. 252
- Sexauer & Lemke v. Luke A. Burke & Sons Co. 228 N. Y. 341 at 345 p. 261
- Murray v. Teachers' Retirement Board 258 N. Y. 389 p. 261