Majority
On February 6, 1930, defendant delivered to Frank C. Hart a policy of life insurance, dated that day and numbered 6820987, in which Hart was named as the insured and plaintiff was named as the beneficiary. In consideration of the payment of an additional premium, a rider was attached to and made a part of the policy providing for “ Accidental Death Benefit,” which, so far as material, read as follows: “ In Addition to the Insurance Under the Policy to which this rider is attached, and subject to the provisions of said Policy, the Company will pay, as an Accidental Death Benefit, Fifty Thousand Dollars, to the Beneficiary or Beneficiaries under said Policy, or, if no Beneficiary be living when said Policy becomes a claim by death, to the executors, administrators or assigns of the Insured, immediately upon receipt of due proof that such death occurred during the continuance of said Policy while there was no default in the payment of premium, as a result, directly and independently of all other causes, of bodily injuries, effected solely through external, violent and accidental means, of which, except in case of drowning or of internal injuries revealed by an autopsy, there is a visible contusion or wound on the exterior of the body, and that such death occurred within ninety days of the accident, provided, however, that no Accidental Death Benefit shall be payable if such death resulted from suicide — whether sane or insane; from having been engaged in military or naval service in time of war; or in submarine operations or in aviation or aeronautics, as a passenger or otherwise; or from a state of war, riot or insurrection; or directly or indirectly from bodily or mental infirmity or disease in any form.” Between February 6, 1930, and August 9, 1935, changes and amendments were made in and to the policy necessitating rewriting but not affecting in any respect any question here involved. The rider as originally issued and the policy proper with such changes and amendments under its original date of issuance and number were in full force and effect at the time of the death of the assured.
The accidental death of Frank 0. Hart occurred on January 14, 1936, near Goodwin, Arkansas, in a crash of a passenger plane of United States registry in which he was riding as a fare-paying passenger en route from Newark, N. J., to Los Angeles, California, on a regularly scheduled flight over an
It is unquestionably the rule that “ Contracts of insurance, like other contracts, are to be construed according to the sense and meaning of the terms which the parties have used, and if they arc clear and unambiguous the terms are to be taken and understood in their plain, ordinary and proper sense ” (Johnson v. Travelers Ins. Co., 269 N. Y. 401 , 408). Any literal interpretation of the exclusion clause in this case in so far as it affects the right of plaintiff to recover, with the setup, arrangement and punctuation of words and expressions, seems to be concededly impossible. If the words “ or in aviation or aeronautics, as a passenger or otherwise ” are considered as set off by themselves, as they are by their arrangement in the clause, without other connection, they are meaningless. Quite obviously, as seems to be conceded by respondent, so far as material here, the clause in fact must be arranged to read: “ no Accidental Death Benefit shall be payable if such death resulted * * * from having been engaged * * * in aviation or aeronautics, as a passenger or otherwise.” As appellant urges, the word “ engaged ” so used has an occupational connotation and does not'refer to an ordinary fare-paying passenger on an isolated flight when not occupationally engaged in aviation or aeronautics. Persuasively, respondent has itself placed such a construction on the language used (1 Couch on Insurance, pp.
It is well-settled that if a policy of insurance is written in such language as tó be doubtful or uncertain in its meaning, all ambiguity must be resolved in favor of the policy holder and against the company (Griffey v. New York Central Ins. Co., 100 N. Y. 417 ; Darrow v. Family Fund Society, 116 N. Y. 537 , 544; Matthews v. American Central Ins. Co., 154 N. Y. 449 , 456; Janneck v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 162 N. Y. 574 ; Silverstein v. Commercial Casualty Ins. Co., 237 N. Y. 391 ). To sustain the construction which the lower courts have placed upon the clause, the burden was on the defendant to establish that the words and expressions used not only are susceptible of that construction but that it is the only construction that can fairly be placed thereon. The argument cannot successfully be made that the words used are free from ambiguity. If we are to give effect to all of the words used in the application and in the policy as a whole as well as in the particular clause being considered in their commonly accepted meaning, we must construe the provision as excluding liability for death resulting to a policy holder engaged in the occupation of aviation or aeronautics, whether death resulted while he was a passenger or whether it resulted while he was so engaged in any capacity. It is not sufficient to warrant exclusion that he was merely a passenger. He must further be engaged in aviation or aeronautics. The word “ engaged ” means something more than occasional participation as a pas- ■ senger (Cf. Peters v. Prudential Ins. Co., 133 Misc. 780 , 782). The obvious ambiguity is emphasized by the ease with which the defendant could have excluded fare-paying passengers upon an isolated flight when not engaged in the occupation or calling of aviation or aeronautics (Gits v. New York Life Ins. Co., 32 F. 2d 7 ). In the Janneck case (supra), in justification of the rule that any doubtful construction must be resolved in favor of the insured, this court said: “ * * * we do not deny the right of an insurance company to make just such a contract as
A somewhat similar question was presented to this court in Gibbs v. Equitable Life Assur. Society ( 256 N. Y. 208 , 209), a case principally relied on by defendant in support of its construction of the clause in question. The policy in that case, written in 1924, provided for double indemnity for accidental death unless it should result from “ engaging as a passenger or otherwise in submarine or aeronautic expeditions.” It was there held that a trip in an airplane was at the time the policy ivas issued so novel a thing as to be thought of by the average individual as an expedition, and the court pointed out that since the technical meaning of the word “ expedition ’ ’ is inconsistent with the presence of passengers,.that the parties must have had some different meaning in mind when the words “ passenger ” and “ expeditions ” were used together. That case is of little help
At the close of the entire case both sides moved for judgment. By the provisions of section 584 of the Civil Practice Act, this court is required to render such judgment as the findings warrant (Wechsler v. Bowman, 285 N. Y. 284 , 296).
The judgments should be reversed and judgment directed for the plaintiff in the sum of $50,000, with interest thereon from January 14, 1936, together with costs to the appellant in all courts.
Loughran, Pinch, Lewis and Conway, JJ., concur; Lehman, Ch. J., and Desmond, J., dissent on the ground that by the clear and unambiguous language of the policy the accident was excluded from the. coverage of the “ accidental death benefit provisions. ’ ’
Judgment accordingly. (See 290 N. Y. 744 .)
Cases cited
- Johnson v. Travelers Insurance 269 N. Y. 401 at 408 p. 47
- Griffey v. New York Central Insurance 100 N. Y. 417 p. 49
- Darrow v. Family Fund Society 116 N. Y. 537 at 544 p. 49
- Matthews v. American Central Insurance 154 N. Y. 449 at 456 p. 49
- Janneck v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 162 N. Y. 574 p. 49
- Silverstein v. Commercial Casualty Insurance 237 N. Y. 391 p. 49
- Peters v. Prudential Insurance Co. of America 133 Misc. 780 at 782 p. 49
- Lewis v. Ocean Accident & Guarantee Corp. 224 N. Y. 18 at 21 p. 50
- Gibbs v. Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States 256 N. Y. 208 at 209 p. 50
- Wechsler v. Bowman 285 N. Y. 284 at 296 p. 51
- Hartol Products Corp. v. Prudential Insurance Co. of America 290 N. Y. 744 p. 51