Majority
Headnote
I. Eeformation of a contract is improper where mistake is unilateral and no fraud exists. To warrant reformation mistake must be mutual. (Christopher St. B. Co. v. Si. B. Co., 149 Y. 51 ; Salomon v. North British & M. Ins. Co., 215 N. Y. 214 ; Metsger v. 2Etna Ins. Co., 227 N. Y. 411 .) II. Evidence must be clear, positive and convincing before a contract can be rewritten by the court. Reformation is never granted upon a probability, nor even upon a mere preponderance evidence, but only upon a certainty of the error. (Salomon v. North British & M. Ins. Co., 215 N. Y. 214 ; Susquehanna S. S. Co. v. Andersen & Co., 239 N. Y. 285 ; Christopher St. R. Co. v. 23d St. R. Co., 149 N. Y. 51 ; Metropolitan Life Insurance Co. v. Tannen-baum, 156 Mise. 221; Pomeroy’s Equity Jurisprudence, 4th ed., § 859; People v. Rodaivald, 177 N. Y. 408 .)The plaintiff was employed in 1936 as a dining room attendant in the Wassaic State School. After her employment she became a member of the New York State Civil Employee’s Association, hereinafter referred to as “ Association ”. The defendant, Commercial Casualty Insurance Co., hereinafter referred to as “ Company”, made an agreement under which, upon application of a member, it issued a policy of accident and health insurance under what is described in the record as a group plan as distinguished from a group insurance policy. The group plan was not introduced into evidence. Two members of the insurance committee of the Association and two employees of the Company testified to the substance of the plan. Under it there were two classifications of policies issued by the Company. Class A policies were issued to employees in nonhazardous occupations and provided coverage for all illnesses and accidents both occupational and nonoccupational. Class B policies were issued to employees engaged in hazardous occupations and provided coverage for all illnesses and for nonoccupational accidents.
There was introduced in evidence the application by plaintiff for the original policy issued to her. That policy was a Class A policy. On the back of the application there appeared a short “ Explanation Class A and Class B ”. That explanation showed that indemnity was paid for sickness and accident under policies of Class A and Class B “ for twelve months for any accident.” No reference there is made to a policy issued under a Class B-2
There was no requirement in policy under which a change in occupation from a nonhazardous to a hazardous one required reclassification of plaintiff’s policy from an A to a B policy. On the contrary, however, there was a provision among the ‘4 Standard Provisions ’’ which read as follows: “If the Insured shall at any time change his occupation to one classified by the Company as less hazardous than that stated in the policy, the Company, upon written request of the Insured and surrender of the policy, will cancel the same and will return to the Insured the unearned premium. ’ ’
It was necessarily conceded in testimony offered by the Company on the trial that under that “ Standard Provision ” the plaintiff could have changed her occupation to cook and still continued under the policy; that if she had suffered the injury, which is the subject of this litigation, she could have recovered under it; that the only difference between the original A policy and the present so-called B-2 policy is that disability under the former would entail payments by the Company for only twelve months.
When plaintiff became a night cook, in January, 1939, she spoke to a Mrs. Murtagh who handled the business of the group plan policies for those employed in the Wassaic State School although she was employed by the State and not by the Company. Plaintiff asked “ for a rider to the policy ” because “ the danger was very much greater working with the steam cooking, and the compensation which you get under accident is only' two-thirds of your original salary.” There was no conversation between the plaintiff and Mrs. Murtagh about any change or extension in the period of disability. There was no conversation about any reduction in death, dismemberment and loss of sight benefit. At the request of Mrs. Murtagh, who-wrote to the Company for a B-2 rider, the Company prepared and returned a rider by which the policy classification was changed from A to B, the premium increased and the accidental death benefit (sic) reduced to $500. Up to that point the change was from an A policy to a conventional B policy except for the reduction in accidental death benefit. Over and beyond that, however, in order to supply insurance coverage against occupational accident the rider contained the following paragraph: “It is also understood and agreed that in consideration of the payment of an additional premium of Ninety Five Cents ($.95) quarterly, this policy is hereby extended to cover any period of incapacity caused by accident only for which the employee is entitled to indemnity or compensation under any Workmen’s Compensation Act.” (Emphasis supplied.)
Thus the new policy as written was a Class B policy with an increase of premium because of the change from nonhazardous to hazardous occupation but in addition there was a second and
When the rider was returned Mrs. Murtagh told plaintiff that “ she didn’t understand it very much herself but she guessed it was all right ” and for plaintiff to read it very carefully before she accepted it. The latter testified that she read it carefully, understood its provisions and accepted them in writing. The rider was thereafter countersigned by the Company and forwarded to her.
In May, 1940, plaintiff suffered bodily injuries from an occupational accident. She has been disabled since. Concededly, within the terms of the policy as written, the Company is obligated to pay the sum sought in the complaint which includes payments for a period beyond the first year of disability. The Company concedes that the injury suffered was the result of an occupational accident and that plaintiff is “ entitled to indemnity or compensation ” under Compensation Law. When this action was brought, however, the Company counterclaimed for reformation upon the ground that there had been a mutual mistake of fact in that neither party to the insurance contract intended to increase the period for which the Company had contracted to make disability payments under the Class A policy originally issued. There is no question here of fraud. The Trial Justice and the Appellate Division rejected such a contention. must therefore depend upon clear and convincing proof that both parties to the contract sued upon entered into it through mistake. The burden of proving a mutual mistake was upon the Company and, since this was a written instrument, it was necessary for it to establish that the plaintiff was mistaken by evidence of the clearest and most satisfactory character. (Southard v. Curley, 134
It was sought by the Company to probe the recesses of plaintiff’s mind so as to establish that she must have known that the Company, despite its preparation of written words to the
That is important because we have here a written agreement prepared by one party to it and accepted by the other. It was prepared by the one seelcing its reformation. The Company assented to that agreement only after plaintiff had accepted in writing its offered phrasing and terms. That was the written statement of the Company’s intent. What is in the mind of parties to a contract is evidenced by word or deed and must be We find in the Tear Books: “ It is a trite learning that the thought of man is not triable, for the devil himself knows not the thought of man.” (Brian, in YB 17 Edw. IV, 2.) We quoted with approval in Sokoloff v. National City Bank (Cardozo, J.), 239 N. Y. 158 , 170, the following from Holmes, J., in O’Donnell v. Clinton ( 145 Mass. 461 ) : “ Assent, in the sense of the law, is a matter of overt acts, not of inward unanimity in motives, design, or the interpretation of words.” (See to the same effect Williston on Contracts, Yol. 1, §§ 22, 94; Yol. V, § 1535-7.) In 1 Williston, section 22, it is said: “ It is customarily said that mutual assent is essential to the formation of informal contracts, but it should further be stated that the mutual assent must be manifested by one party to the other,
So here the plaintiff carefully read, as she was told to do, the language used by defendant in preparing its contract.- She knew what was in the mind and what was the intention of the Company because that was evidenced in words used by the Company in preparing the contract. The Company told her the content of its mind and the limits of its intention. The plaintiff could determine the Company’s intent in no other manner. She was making no mistake. She knew what was offered and she accepted. She accepted the additional benefit, she undertook to pay an increased and an additional premium and' consented to the halving of her accidental death benefit.
The judgment of the Appellate Division should be reversed and that of thev.Special Term affirmed, with costs in this court and in the Appellate Division. (See 292 N. Y. 717 .)
Lehman, Ch. J.,' Loughran, Bippey, Lewis, Desmond and Thacher, JJ., concur.
Judgment accordingly.
Cases cited
- Salomon v. North British & Mercantile Insurance 215 N. Y. 214 at 217 p. 177, p. 182
- Metzger v. Ætna Insurance 227 N. Y. 411 p. 177, p. 182
- Susquehanna Steamship Co. v. A. O. Andersen & Co. 239 N. Y. 285 at 296, 297 p. 177, p. 182
- Christopher & Tenth Street Railroad v. Twenty-third Street Railway Co. 149 N. Y. 51 at 58 p. 177, p. 182
- MacDonald v. Crissey 215 N. Y. 609 p. 177
- Born v. Schrenkrisen 110 N. Y. 55 p. 177
- Pitcher v. Hennessey 48 N. Y. 415 p. 178
- Bacot v. Fessenden 139 App. Div. 647 p. 178
- Haviland v. Willets 141 N. Y. 35 p. 178
- Kilmer v. Smith 77 N. Y. 226 p. 178
- L. Lewitt & Co. v. Jewelers' Safety Fund Society 249 N. Y. 217 p. 178
- Fleischman v. Furgueson 223 N. Y. 235 p. 178
- Evansville National Bank v. Kaufmann 93 N. Y. 273 p. 178
- Woolsey v. Funke 121 N. Y. 87 p. 178
- Manson v. Curtis 223 N. Y. 313 p. 178
- Sokoloff v. National City Bank 239 N. Y. 158 at 170 p. 183
- People ex rel. Smith v. Morhous 292 N. Y. 717 p. 184