Majority
This action was brought by the committee of an incompetent person against the incompetent’s brother for a judgment declaring that disability benefits received and to be received by the brother, as the beneficiary named in a life and disability insurance policy issued to the incompetent, are for the use and benefit of the incompetent.
The policy in question was issued by the New York Life Insurance Company in 1923 for the face amount of five thousand dollars. The beneficiary designated at that time was Virginia K. Nagle, the wife of the insured, William Nagle. The policy provided that the insured might at any time and from time to time change the beneficiary and this he did on May 31, 1929, naming his brother, the defendant, -John Nagle, who is now the designated beneficiary. This change was the voluntary act of the insured.
The policy contained the following disability provisions: ‘ ‘ And the Company Agbees to Pay to the I'nsubbd One per cent of the face of this policy ($10 per $1,000) each month during the lifetime of the insured and also to waive the payment of premiums, if the insured becomes wholly and permanently disabled before age 60, subject to all the terms and conditions contained in Section 1 hereof. * * * 2. Income "Payments. The Company will pay the Insured, or if such disability results from insanity will pay the beneficiary in lieu of the insured, a monthly income of one per cent of the face of the Policy during the lifetime of the Insured and the continuance of such disability.”
After having designated his brother as the beneficiary, and before attaining the age of sixty, the insured became totally and permanently disabled by reason of insanity within the meaning of the policy, and in accordance with its terms the New York Life Insurance Company has paid to the defendant disability
Upon these allegations plaintiff demands judgment declaring that the disability benefits were received by the defendant for the use and benefit of the incompetent; that the defendant, by retaining benefits received by him in accordance Avith the terms of the policy of insurance, has become unjustly enriched, and that the defendant account .for and pay over to the plaintiff benefits heretofore received or hereafter to be received.
There is nothing in the policy, or in any circumstances alleged, to support the conclusory allegations quoted above that the disability benefits due under the terms of the policy are for the sole use and benefit of the insured and that the defendant has no interest therein. There is no suggestion in the policy, nor any possible implication from any circumstances alleged, that these payments were intended for the use and benefit of the incompetent or that the defendant should be under any legal obligation so to use them. The payments directed in the policy are absolute and unqualified by any suggestion of a fiduciary relationship. Not even precatory words are used and the policy simply provides that such benefits, when disability arises from insanity, are to be paid to the beneficiary. Nor is any fiduciary relationship between the parties alleged in derogation of which it might be said that these benefits have been used. Indeed, if we assume — as we must — that the insured read the policy, it cannot be doubted that it was his purpose that the beneficiary should receive payment of the disability benefits -without direction as to their use. Aside from the conclusory allegations
Dissent
We are constrained to conclude upon the bare allegations of this complaint that, although in some other setting circumstances might be imagined which could give rise to a trust affecting such payments, it is entirely clear that no such circumstances are here alleged and that the complaint was properly dismissed. The judgment should be affirmed, without costs.
(dissenting). In 1923, William Nagle, then of sound mind, procured a policy of life insurance, with disability benefits, from the New York Life Insurance Company. At that time, he designated his wife as beneficiary. In 1929, he made his brother the beneficiary instead. In 1937, he was judicially declared to be mentally incompetent by a probate court in Ohio and a guardian of his property appointed.
The policy contained the following two provisions respecting disability benefits payable thereunder:
“ And the Company Agrees to Pay to the Insured One per cent of the face of this policy ($10 per $1,000) each month during the lifetime of the insured and also to waive the payment of premiums, if the insured becomes wholly and permanently disabled before age 60, subject to all the terms and conditions contained in Section 1 hereof ’ ’
“ 2. Income Payments. The Company will pay the Insured, or if such disability results from insanity will pay the beneficiary- in lieu of the Insured, a monthly income of one per cent of the face of the Policy during the lifetime of the Insured and the continuance of such disability.”
The defendant brother of the incompetent has received, since May of 1938, the sum of $3,650 in monthly payments of $50 each from the insurance company, and will continue to receive those sums during the continuance of the existing disability of the insured. He has retained those sums for his own use and benefit, except for the sum of $270 expended for the incompetent, and purposes to continue to receive future monthly payments and to retain them for his own personal advantage. For that reason, upon the petition of the domiciliary guardian
We think it quite clear that under the allegations of the complaint, and they must be taken as true for the purpose of our decision, that a'court of equity may impose either a resulting or a constructive trust upon the disability benefits received by the defendant.
The distinction between constructive and resulting trusts is well expressed in the Restatement of Restitution, section 160 b, as follows: “ b. Constructive trust and resulting trust. A constructive trust is also to be distinguished from a resulting trust. A resulting trust arises where a transfer of property is made under circumstances which raise an inference that the person making the transfer or causing it to be made did not intend the transferee to have the beneficial interest in the property transferred. A constructive trust is imposed not because of the intention of the parties but because the person holding the title to property would profit by a wrong or would be unjustly enriched if he were permitted to keep the property. ’ ’ (Emphasis supplied.) (For similar definitions see Pomeroy, Equity Jurisprudence, Vol. 1, § 155; Bogert, Trusts and Trustees, § 451.)
It would seem clear from the facts surrounding the transaction here that the incompetent intended at the time he took out the insurance that the disability payments should be used for his own benefit, even if by reason of insanity he were unable .to accept payments directly from the insurance company. The fact that there is no allegation of such intent in the complaint is not of moment. It may be presumed from the circumstances. The incompetent is now unable to tell what his intent was when he accepted the policy. The insurance company prepared the contract, and it seems fair to assume from the language of the policy, as we shall indicate presently, that it was to facilitate payment for the benefit of the one suffering the disability
Even if it be thought that the inference discussed be not a permissible one, certainly equity may impose a constructive trust upon the moneys received by the defendant. The disabled incompetent and the benfieciary defendant are brothers. That without more, and there is no answer interposed, under the circumstances presented here, is sufficient to “ set a court of equity in motion ”. The general principle was well delineated in the dissenting opinion in Fraw Realty Co. v. Natanson ( 261 N. Y. 396 , 412): “ Ordinarily men do not trust their property to strangers without at least requiring some evidence that the stranger is holding for them. Where there is blind trust there is usually a prior existing relationship which explains the confidence; but wherever under cover of á relationship of confidence, however created, there has been enrichment of one party, a court of equity should interpose its powers to remedy the wrong. Myriad are the circumstances which may give rise to such relationship. The parties may be united by blood, family affection, close friendship or business relations. Reputation and standing in the community may provide the element of confidence which might otherwise not be found in previous personal relations. However the relationship may have arisen, where a party accepts property knowing that it is intrusted to him because of the confidence which another places in him, there is a relationship of confidence, abuse of which should not be tolerated hy a court of equity.”
The judgment should be reversed, with costs and the motion to dismiss the complaint denied,
Lehman, Ch. J., Loughran, Lewis and Desmond, JJ., concur with Thacher, J.; Conway, J., dissents in opinion in which Dye, J., concurs.
Judgment affirmed.
Cases cited
- Donahue v. New York Life Insurance 259 N. Y. 98 p. 152
- Thompson v. Prudential Insurance Co. of America 119 App. Div. 666 p. 152
- Ruoff v. John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. 86 App. Div. 447 p. 152
- Sinclair v. Purdy 235 N. Y. 245 p. 152
- Wood v. Duff-Gordon 222 N. Y. 88 p. 152
- In re the Estate of Littman 165 Misc. 285 p. 152
- In re of Connolly 71 Misc. 388 p. 152
- McGrail v. Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States 292 N. Y. 419 p. 152
- Hewit Pharmacies, Inc. v. Ætna Life Insurance 148 Misc. 663 p. 153
- Hewit Pharmacies, Inc. v. Ætna Life Insurance 267 N. Y. 31 p. 153
- Houlihan v. Preferred Accident Insurance 196 N. Y. 337 p. 153
- Tarasowski v. Prudential Insurance 113 Misc. 248 p. 153
- Howell v. John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance Co. of Boston 286 N. Y. 179 p. 153
- Fraw Realty Co. v. Natanson 261 N. Y. 396 at 412 p. 158
- Beatty v. Guggenheim Exploration Co. 225 N. Y. 380 at 386 p. 159