Majority
Headnote
Where, by the terms of the contract of insurance upon the body, tackle, apparel, &c., of a propeller, the insurers are “not to be liable for the bursting of the boilers,” the language is to be understood that they are not to be liable for damage resulting to the vessel or otherwise, “on account of” the bursting of the boilers.The complaint was apparently drawn with a view to present the question of construction arising upon the exception contained in the policy. As the solution of that question depends upon the particular language used, we must assume that the averments contain verbally accurate extracts from the contract. The position of the defendant", upon that language, is that the insurers were not to be liable for the consequences to the vessel and its equipment and furniture, resulting from the bursting of the boilers; while the
If, therefore, the defendant contracted to be exempt from liability for damages consequent upon the bursting of the boilers, the reasonable interpretation to be given to the contract is, that it contemplated the injury to the ship as well as to the boilers themselves. , That, we know, was a result quite likely to follow from such an accident, and it was one for which the insurers would be liable under the general terms of the policy. The intention of the clause under consideration, seems to have been to qualify the effect of the general provisions of the contract.
The connection in which this particular exception is found strengthens the defendant’s position. The whole clause is, that the insurers are “ not .to be liable for any derangement, or breakage of the machinery, or bursting of the boilers, unless occasioned by stranding.” How, the derangement of the machinery might be very fatal to the vessel, as it might leave her exposed to the winds and waves, without aid from any propelling power. Every one knows that in the absence of means to keep a ship on its course, it is - liable to broach to and founder, if there be at the time a gale of wind. The absolute injury to the machinery itself, from a derangement of its parts, would be greater or less, according to the circumstances; but of itself, and unconnected with its consequences to the ship, it would not ordinarily be of sufficient moment to form the subject of a distinct exception in a contract of insurance. The breaking of a piston-rod of a steam vessel having a single engine, during a storm, where there was no duplicate on board, would, under probable circumstances, be fatal to the ship; but, upon the plaintiffs’ construction, the insurers would be responsible for the loss except the expense of replacing the broken rod, though they' had contracted that they would not be liable for damages on. account of the breaking of machinery.
The whole sentence is qualified by the words, “ unless occasioned by stranding.” Stranding is understood to be the striking of a vessel upon a rock, .bank, reef or the like.
The plaintiffs’ "construction, as I have remarked, would confine the exemption from liability on account of the bursting of boilers to the injury to the boilers themselves; and so with the derangement or breaking of' machinery. Had this been the intention, it would have been more natural to declare that the boilers and machinery were not covered by the policy except as related to injuries not connected with their operation. But I am more impressed with the idea that the intention of the contract was to except from the indemnity contracted for, the injuries which should result from the peculiarly hazardous method of propelling the vessel. The use of steam introduces a class of risks which were unknown when the terms of the common policy of insurance was settled. It is not the question whether steam vessels are not, upon the whole, safer than those which are moved by the wind and regulated by sails. However that may be, the former are exposed to destruction from causes wholly unknown to the ancient mode of navigation, though they may be more secure against another class of hazards. It is of course-competent for parties to make a contract of insurance which shall exclude the peculiar hazards which beset steam vessels from the indemnity provided for. They may also so frame their contract as only to exempt from the promised indemnity the instruments provided for generating and applying the steam. My conclusion is, that the contract we are dealing with is of the former character, and that it embraces
The cases in this court and in the Superior Court of Hew York upon fire policies, though not precisely in point, sustain, to some extent, the conclusion to which I have arrived. (St. John v. The Am. Mut. Fire and Marine Co., 2 Kern., 516; Haywood v. The Sea and Land Fire and Life Ins. Co., 7 Bosw., 385 .) The general question in both, these cases was, whether an exception excluding liability from explosions of steam boilers embraced the effects of fires kindled by means of the explosion, and it was held that it did. The fires were not the immediate "effect of the explosion, nor were the necessary and'inevitable result of such accident, but as they were natural and probable consequences, they were held to be embraced within the exception. In both cases, the language-was more precise than in the case under consideration, for the words in the first case were, that the insurers should not be liable for any loss occasioned by the explosion of a steam boiler, and in the case in the Superior Court it was, that they would not be liable for any loss or damage which might happen by any explosion. If I am right in supposing that the word for, in the present policy, has the force which I have attached to it, the cases cited are substantially parallel.
Much reliance' is placed by the plaintiffs’ counsel upon the case of The Western Ins. Co. v. Cropper, reported in 32 Penn. (8 Casey, 351), where, upon an exception in a policy in many respects like the one under consideration, and the vessel was lost by a breakage of the steam apparatus, it was held that the insurers were liable for a total loss. The accident was the bursting of-the feed cock and the breaking of a bolt of the stuffing box, which caused the steamer to leak and obliged the master to run her ashore, when she was wrecked and became a total loss. The primary words of exception were substantially identical with those in the present case, but certain language was added which is not in the policy before us. As the court read it—correcting a sup
My conclusion is, that the judgment of the Superior Court of Buffalo was right, and that it ought to be affirmed.
The plaintiffs’ complaint against the defendants avers that a propeller, belonging to them, on Lake Michigan, was proceeding on her voyage when the boiler burst, and the body, tackle, apparel and furniture of the propeller and the boilers were blown to pieces and sunk and destroyed. The propeller was insured by the defendants under the usual policy, with a clause therein providing that the defendants were not to be liable for any derangement or breakage of the machinery, or bursting of the boilers, unless occasioned by stranding, but if the propeller took fire or the machinery or boilers should be damaged thereby, the said defendants were to be liable therefor.
The defendants demurred to the complaint, and the question which arose thereon depends upon the construction of the exception above' stated as to the bursting of the boiler. •It must be conceded that the damage to the vessel was occasioned by the bursting of the boiler, and that there is nothing to show that any other cause than a defective boiler led to the explosion. Mo cause whatever for the explosion is stated in the complaint, nor are any circumstances alleged to take the case out of the exception.
The ordinary use of language and the understanding of the words used, looking at them in the common ‘sense mode of interpretation, would both lead to the conclusion that the defendants intended by this provision in the policy to avoid the risk which might arise from the bursting of the boilers or the derangement or breakage of the machinery. They were not to be liable for either, except it was occasioned by stranding. In such a case- the loss was assumed by the defendants for the very obvious- reason that the bursting was not the cause of the loss, but a consequence of what would probably have caused it, whether the boiler burst or not.
The plaintiffs contend, that the defendants are liable for the loss in all respects except for the damage to the boiler itself.
It is not necessary to inquire, in this case, whether the defendants would have been liable for the losá if, after the bursting of the boiler, the vessel had attempted to get in port by tbe use of sails, or otherwise, and had been then lost. The loss then would have been consequential and not direct. In this case the bursting of the boiler is alleged to be the direct and immediate cause of the loss; the averment ■being that by such bursting the body, &c., of the propeller was blown to pieces and sunk. The cases cited by the appellants as favoring the liability of the defendants, were all cases in which the loss was not the direct result of the injury attempted to be guarded against by the exception, or where the wording of the exception was such as to reheve the question of any doubt, with the exception of The West-. ern Insurance Go. v. Oropper ( 32 Penn., 851 ). Even in this case the bursting of the boiler was not the immediate and direct cause of the loss. The court say they do not consider the exception such “as to exempt from the obligation to pay for a total loss, though the loss could be traced lack to the breakage of the machinery as its first cause.” Erom the statement of the case it is apparent the vessel was not destroyed by the bursting, but such destruction followed from causes originating perhaps in the destruction of the boiler, but not by the bursting itself. I cannot, however, adopt the conclusion that that case is controlling as applied •to the present one; on the contrary it seems, to me to be the very liability which the company intended to guard against, by excepting a liability for the bursting of the boiler.
I see no difficulty in construing the subsequent part of this clause in regard to fire so as not to conflict with the interpretation given to the exception by the court below. That pro
It seems to me to be clear that the exception in the policy was intended to guard against the bursting of the boiler, and all injury directly produced by such explosion.
The judgment of the court below should be affirmed.
All the judges concurring,
Judgment affirmed.