Majority
Headnote
The condition in a policy of insurance, that the instrument shall not be binding until actual payment of the premium, may be waived by a general agent of the company, by delivering the policy without exacting prepayment.Boggs was a general agent of the company. If he had waived the condition of prepayment, the insurers would have been bound by his act, though it was in violation of their private instructions. The law would have implied such waiver if the policy had been delivered by the agent without requiring payment of the premium, and had been accepted by the plaintiff as a complete and executed contract. The company would have been held to its engagement, and the assured would have been hable for the premium, notwithstanding the acknowledgment of payment on the face of the paper.
But there was no such waiver, either by the agent or the company; and the policy never became operative as a binding and mutual contract. It is true that it was complete in form, and that it was found in the plaintiff’s possession; hut
It is probable from all the circumstances that his purpose was, in the end, to accept the policy and pay the premium, if the other matter was arranged by Boggs to his satisfaction; but it was at his own peril that he held the question open for advisement. The papers left at his store operated as mere proposals to insure. So long as they were unaccepted, they had no subsisting force. The company, as yet, had no right of action for the premium, and he had no claim to indemnity in case of loss. , The acknowledgment of payment in the policy, like the instrument itself, was provisional, and designed
The company waived nothing, even if the instrument be regarded as' operative; for it contained a stipulation that until the payment of the premium, the insurers should not be bound by their undertaking. There was no waiver by the agent of this proviso. On leaving the policy with the plaintiff’s clerk, he made it an express condition that the premium should be paid or the policy returned; and all that he after-wards did, was to insist on the performance of this condition.
It is claimed that the right of the plaintiff to recover is sustained by the judgment of this court, in the case of Sheldon v. The Atlantic Insurance Co. ( 26 N. Y., 460 ). We do not so understand the effect of that decision, and it evidently was not so understood by Judge Emott, who in that case delivered the opinion, and, in this, concurred in pronouncing the judgment. The policy there, was applied for by one Godfrey, at the office of Lewis, the general agent of the company at Home. He left the application with Snow, an agent in the same office who acted in the place of Lewis in his absence. Godfrey offered prepayment of the premium, but Snow declined to receive it, stating that they would send for it, or he might bring it in at some future time. Four days afterward, Lewis, the general agent, inclosed this with another policy in a letter to Godfrey, notifying him that the company had increased their rates of insurance, and concluding as follows: “ Should you decline the policies, please return them by return mail; if you retain them,' please send me the amount, $29.50.” There was no intimation in the letter, that the waiver of prepayment by Snow was revoked; and the court construed the requirement of an answer by return mail, as applicable only to the case, of his ■"efusing to accept the insurance for which he had formally pplied. The subsequent action of Lewis favored this contraction. In a letter written to Godfrey some three months afterwards, and subsequent to the burning of the property, he
The plaintiff, on the trial, offered to prove in various forms, that Boggs was in the habit of violating the instructions of his principals, and waiving the performance of conditions prescribed in their policies. This evidence was properly excluded. Ho offer was made to show that the company was aware of the practices imputed to the agent; and even if the custom had extended to them, it would be unavailing to control the express terms of the contract. (Hinton v. Looke, 5 Hill, 437 ; Vail v. Rice, 1 Selden, 155.) An omission or waiver in other cases could not be material in this, where „ the condition is embodied in the policy, and the evidence of waiver is wanting.
It is claimed that the judge erred in directing the exceptions to be heard in the first.instance at the General Term, and permitting the entry of. judgment to be suspended in the meantime. It is a sufficient answer, that there was no exception to the direction, and the error, if any, was in favor of the appellant. But there was no mistrial, and no irregularity-even in practice. The order was properly granted under the 265th section of the Code.
The judgment should be affirmed with costs.
On the first trial of this action the plaintiff recovered a judgment which was rendered by the Supreme Court on appeal, and a new trial ordered. On the new trial the plaintiff was nonsuited; and on his motion for a new trial on exceptions, the General Term gave judgment against him upon the nonsuit. The appellant seeks on this appeal to review the decision of the Supreme Court in reversing the first judgment, and ordering the new trial. This he has no
The exception to the nonsuit on the second trial presents the question whether there was any evidence proper for the consideration of the jury, tending to establish facts upon which the plaintiff was entitled to ask a verdict at their hands. The court held, that there was no such evidence; and in this, I think, under the decisions of this court, the learned justice erred.
Boggs was a general agent of the defendant. It is settled by this court that he had authority as such agent to waive the condition of the policy requiring prepayment of the premium; and his act, in so doing, would be binding on the company, whatever his secret instructions might have been. (Sheldon v. The Atlantic Fire Ins. Co., 26 N. Y., 460 .) In- the case just cited, it appeared that Godfrey, the assured party, resided in Oswego county; that he called at the office of an agent at Borne to take a policy on the property, but not finding the agent in, left an application. A few days after-wards, the agent sent a policy to him by mail, at an advanced rate of insurance from that contemplated by Godfrey at the time of his application, and accompanied it with a letter, stating the fact of the advance and the reason for it, and concluding thus, “should you decline the policies, please return them by return mail; or if you retain them, please send the amount, $29.50.” One of the conditions of the policy was this, “no insurance, whether original or continued, shall be considered as binding until the actual payment of the premium.” Godfrey retained the policy, but did not send the premium. The property was burned several weeks thereafter. Nothing else occurred between Godfrey and the agent before the fire; and the case turned upon the effect of the letter of the agent, and the subsequent conduct of Godfrey. The plaintiff was nonsuited. This court held, that there was a waiver of prepayment, and that the policy
It appeared that the agent sent his clerk three times after-wards for the premium; at one time the plaintiff was out, at another he was engaged and requested the clerk to call again, and at the last, which was the day previous to the fire, he directed his clerk to make a check for the premium, but as the clerk commenced to do so, countermanded the direction, and said (as he himself testified) that he wished to see Boggs about a loss on another policy, and he would come down himself and bring the check with him.
On none of these occasions, was the clerk of Boggs ^ent for the policies, nor did he call for them. It was the premium only that he sought to obtain. The plaintiff meantime retaining the policies, and putting off the payment of the premium as 'above stated.
How, is it not very obvious from this evidence that if the company were suing for the premium, the plaintiff could not evade its payment under the pretext that he had not accepted the policy ? He had retained it several days with knowledge of the change that had been made from his former policies. When asked for the premium, instead of declining to pay and refusing the policy, he had asked further time to pay, by requesting the clerk to call again for it, and finally when the clerk did call, had promised to come down himself to see Mr.. Boggs on other business and bring with him a. check for the amount. I think, upon this evidence, no court would hesitate-to order a verdict against him, on the question whether he had .accepted the policy so as to bind himself to pay the premium.
It is apparent that the anxiety of the agent was chisfly directed to have the change which he had made in the insurance, without the consent of the plaintiff, ratified, rather than to have the premium paid in advance, for he seems to have expressed no dissent to the requests of plaintiff to repeat the
I am unable to see why the evidence in this case to show an acceptance, on the part of the insured, of the policy, and a waiver of advance payment of the premium, was not stronger than in the case of Sheldon v. The Atlantic Fire Ins. Co., above cited, for in this case there was an actual acquiescence in the requests of the insured for delay in payment of the premium when called for, which is a feature wholly wanting in that case.
The court rejected all evidence tending to show the previous course of dealing between Boggs, the agent, and plaintiff, not only in respect to policies'from other companies, but of defendant also. I confess I am at loss to see why it was not competent for plaintiff to show that Boggs had constantly given him credit on the policies of this company, both as tending to establish his authority to make the waiver and shedding light on the conduct of the agent in this particular transaction. If he gave any credit for the premium, necessarily he waived advance payment; but he did acts in respect to it which it is said should be construed as manifesting an intent to give credit. In what better light can' these acts be read, with a view to ascertain the intent of the parties, than in that of their prior dealings, in respect to the same kind of business. Certainly it would have been a strong circumstance against the theory that credit was given, if the agent could testify that he had never given plaintiff credit in previous dealings, but at all times had demanded and received advance payments while acting for defendants. And so I think it would be forcible evidence to show that, in a course of several years’ dealings between plaintiff and defendants, the agent had uniformly waived advance payment of premium by giving brief credits, and qalling for the premiums on occasions subsequent to the delivery of the policy.
.The Chief Judge and Judges Davies, Weight and Beowh concurred in the foregoing opinion of Judge Poeteb. .
Davis, J., read an opinion for reversal, in which Judges Potteb and Campbell concurred.
Judgment affirmed with costs.