Majority
Headnote
Where a policy of insurance against loss by fire in express terms declares the survey, or description of the premises referred to therein, to be “ a part of the policy ” and “ warranties; ” such description is to be so construed, and not to be regarded as a representation merely.This case is distinguished from Le Roy v. The Park Insurance Company in this, that by one of the conditions of the policy in this case, the representations contained in the survey referred to in the policy, are made part of the policy, and are declared to be warranties. This must be deemed assented to by the plaintiff, when he accepted the policy, and it is therefore the contract between the parties. If these representations are warranties, it was error to submit to the jury the question, whether the particulars, in which, at the time when this policy was made, the premises did not correspond with the description, increased the risk or not. The rule of the charge to the jury, in this respect s true as to mere representations, but not so of warranties these the insurer may insist upon according to their tenor.
To assume, then, that the survey referred to in this policy was a mere representation, and submit to the jury the question of materiality, was error, for the policy of these defendants was issued after this survey was made.
Dissent
If the Market Insurance company—the defendants—made the insurance in good faith, in reliance upon the survey produced on the trial, while the plaintiff supposed another survey was referred to, it may be true that the minds of the parties did not meet in any contract of insurance.
A new trial may throw more light upon that question.
The judgment must be reversed, and a new trial ordered; costs to abide the event.
The plaintiffs in this action claim to recover upon a policy of insurance, issued on the fifth day of June, 1861. It appeared, upon the trial, that on the fourteenth day of October, 1860, the Park Fire Insurance company insured the same property for the plaintiffs, and that the survey introduced in evidence was made in reference to that insurance on the twenty-second of May, 1861, and filed in the office of the latter company. This survey is entitled “ State Fire Insurance Company of New Haven, Conn., and although originally dated on the twenty-second of May the date was subsequently altered to the fourteenth day oi October previous, when the policy was actually issued. It is referred to in the policy of insurance, upon which this action is founded, in connection with a description of the location of the building, as a survey filed in the office of the Park Fire Insurance company, and in no other manner.
The principal questions arising in the case relate to the effect of the survey. The defendant claims that it was incorporated in, and became a part of, the policy, and, being such, that its terms and conditions were violated; and, therefore, that there was no question for the jury in the case, and the
As we have already seen, the survey in question was made in reference to a policy in another company; and there is nothing in the body of the policy of the defendant which designates and states that such survey is a portion of it, or that it was adopted as such. The designation of it only relates to the description of the property, and does not, of itself, make ' it a part of the policy. It was in existence before the policy was issued; purported to be in anothér and-different company, in which no policy had been taken out by the plaintiffs; and was filed in reference to another policy of the plaintiffs in another company." Independent of the inference to be drawn from the language of the policy itself, it is by no means clear, from the testimony, that it was intended to adopt the survey as an application of the plaintiffs, upon which the policy was issued.
While the testimony of the agent of the company tends to establish that this survey was made out with the approbation of the plaintiffs, and in reference to the policy issued by the Park Fire Insurance company, it is expressly denied by one of the plaintiffs, and another witness, that such was the fact; and it is proved to be a mere private memorandum, made by the agent for his own benefit, and that another survey was actually made, and sent to the agent by the plaintiffs. The evidence, certainly, is strongly adverse to the claim of the defendant, that the survey introduced in evidence was in fact the survey given by the plaintiffs for the purpose of the insurance obtained in the Park Fire Insurance company. At least the testimony was conflicting, and, with such con
In Rowley v. The Empire Ins. Co. ( 36 N. Y. 550 ), it was held, that an agent, authorized to take applications for insurance, should be deemed to be acting within the scope of his authority when he fills up the blank application of insurance ; and if, by his fault or negligence, it contains a material misstatement, not authorized by the instructions of the party who signs it, the wrong should be imputed to the company and not to the assured. If we apply this rule to the case under consideration, it cannot, I think, be said justly, that the defendant is relieved from responsibility. The defendant’s agent made the survey; and, as there is evi dence to show that the plaintiffs regarded it as a mere memorandum of the agent, and that another survey was sent by the plaintiffs, it was at least a fair question for the jury to determine whether it was the act of the plaintiffs. If the views expressed are sound, then it necessarily follows, that the court, upon the trial, properly refused the motion for a nonsuit and to direct a verdict in favor of the defendant.
It also follows, as a consequence, that the several requests to charge the jury, predicated upon the theory that the sur vey was to be considered in connection with the policy, were properly refused.
There was no error in refusing to charge, that the fact that the building was open and accessible to intruders, and unwatched, made the risk greater and avoided the policy. There was testimony to show that the windows were nailed,
Nor was there any error in submitting to the jury to determine whether the presence of water in the flumes and the mill was material to the risk; and if, in their opinion, it was not, that the absence of such water did not avoid the policy. Clearly, this was a proper question for the consideration of the jury. In reference to this portion of the charge, it may be remarked, that it as founded, somewhat, if not entirely, upon the assumption that the survey was a part of the policy, and that the plaintiff was bound by its representations. This assumption, as I have already indicated, is not well founded; and for this reason, also, the charge made could work no injury to the defendant, even if erroneous.
It is now urged by the defendant’s counsel, that the' risks of the company had been increased by the withdrawal of the water from the flumes and pipes, and thus removing facilities for the extinguishment of fires, and adding to the exposures of the property to fires. It does not distinctly appear that any greater hazards were incurred since the policy was issued; and the fact that the mill was not running was known at the time. But, if we can regard the evidence as tending to establish that any new risks existed, I am inclined to think that the charge of the judge, that “ the risk to the defendant by the withdrawal of water from the flumes and pipes may or may not have been increased,” with the other directions given under the proof in the case, properly presented the subject to the consideration of the jury, and that there was
It is also urged by the defendant’s counsel, that the application of the agent, made him the agent of the insured, and that the conditions being broken, it avoids the policy. This point was not taken upon the trial, and I think is not sustained by the facts of the case. As already stated, it is exceedingly questionable whether any express authority was given to the agent by the plaintiffs, and there is no good ground to warrant the assumption, in my opinion, that the «gent of the defendant acted by authority and on behalf óf 1 lie assured. There was no error off the trial, and the judgment of the General Term should be affirmed.
Judgment reversed, and new trial ordered; costs to abide the event.
Cases cited
- Rowley v. Empire Insurance 36 N. Y. 550 p. 95