Majority
Headnote
Where a policy ,of insurance was issued to the owner of the mortgaged premises, in which “ the loss, if any, is payable to the mortgagee,” which also contained a clause, that in case of any change of title in the property insured, the policy should be void (from which latter clause, however, the interest of the mortgagee is excepted), and also a provision that in case of payment to the mortgagee for a loss, for which the insurer would not have been liable to the mortgagor, the insurer should be subrogated and entitled to an assignment of the mortgage.—Held, the mortgaged premises having been sold prior to their injury by Are, that the amount of insurance money paid to the mortgagee by the insurers was not to be deemed a payment on the mortgage, and that the mortgage having been assigned to the insurers on payment to the mortgagee, was a valid security in then- hands.The parties to the policies of insurance have, by the terms of their contract, avoided some of the questions which have embarrassed the courts, and led, in some instances, to an apparent conflict of opinion, if not of decision. The rights of the mortgagees are protected against the effect of certain acts of the mortgagor in derogation of the policies, by an agreement that the policies, as to the interest of the mortgagee, shall not be invalidated by any act or neglect of the mortgagor, with the qualification, however, that if the mortgagee fail to notify the insurers of any change of ownership after the same shall have come to his knowledge, the
If, then, the mortgagor, who was the party primarily insured, could not, for any reason have enforced the policies, and recovered thereon for his own benefit, either as owner or as having an insurable interest as the mortgagor, personally liable for the payment of the mortgage debt, he is precluded, by the terms of the policies, from claiming the benefit of the insurance in satisfaction of the mortgage debt, and the insurers are entitled to be subrogated to the rights of the mortgagee. The mortgagee was equitable assignee of the policies, containing a provision which, upon the happening of certain events, should absolutely vacate and avoid the insurance as of the property generally and as a contract of indemnity to the mortgagor, and resolve it into an insurance of the interest of the mortgagee as such, and make it a personal contract with her, in which the mortgagor would have no interest. (Per Shaw, C. J., King v. State Mutual Fire
The policies were made and accepted by Allen, the insured, with full knowledge of and subject to all the terms and conditions expressed therein, and he had personal knowledge of every fact and circumstance affecting their validity existing at the time they were made, and was a party, and assenting to every act which has been alleged as breaches of the conditions of the policies, and as avoiding them as to him, and all (except the mortgagees) claiming under him. One of the conditions of each of the policies was, that in case of any change or transfer of title in the property insured, the policy should be void and cease. A contract of insurance, like every other contract, must be so construed as to give effect to the intent and understanding of the parties, and the language employed must be taken in its ordinary popular sense, unless it appears to have been used in a technical sense, or custom, or usage has impressed a different meaning upon it. (1 Phil. on Ins., § 122, and see Whiton v. Old Colony Ins. Co., 2 Met., 1 ; Mutual Safety Insurance Co. v. Hone, 2 Comst., 235.) Every part of a policy should be read and construed in obedience to this rule. There was a change and transfer of the title of the property, which was the subject ©f the insurance after the insurance was effected, and before the loss. If the words employed were used in their popular sense, this condition of the policy was violated, and the policy as an insurance of the property, generally, and for the benefit of the mortgagor and owner ceased. Had the parties intended only to provide for a change in, or transfer of the interest of the assured, which in one sense is “ the property assured,” it may be assumed that language more appropriate to express the idea would have been chosen. An insurable interest
The insurable interest would cease by a discharge of liability for the mortgage debt. “ Title ” has respect to that which is the subject of ownership, and is that which is the foundation of ownership, and with a change of title, the right of property, the ownership passes. “ Property ” is a thing, owned, that to which a person has, or may have a legal title. Both words are inappropriate to describe the insurable interest which exists solely by reason of the personal liability of the insured for the payment of a sum of money charged upon the building of goods insured. The word “property” may have different meanings depending xppon the connection in which and the purposes for which it is used, as indicating the intention of the parties. In Whiton v. Old Colony Ins. Co. ( 2 Met., 1 ), it was used as a part of the description of the subject matter of the insurance, and was held to include current bank bills, as within the intention of the parties as manifested by the contract and the circumstances under which it was made. Acting upon the same principle of interpretation, it was held that an insurance of property did not cover freight, except as it was to be paid by a specific portion of lumber which was on hoard the vessel, and which the assured, as carrier, was to receive for freight. It was held that the contract gave the insured an interest in that part of the cargo coming within the term property, but that the freight upon the other parts of the cargo was not within the term as used. ( Wiggin v. Mercantile Ins. Co., 7 Pick., 271 .) To the same effect in Holbrook v. Brown ( 2 Mass., 280 ). In the clause prohibiting double insurance, the prohibition is generally in terms so
The interest of Allen by reason of his personal liability for the mortgage debt, was properly insured by an insurance of the property, and it was not necessary that the particular interest should be specified. It was enough that he had a pecuniary interest in the preservation and protection of the property and might sustain a loss by its destruction. ¡Neither was it necessary that the nature of the interest should be disclosed to the insurers. (Tyler v. Ætna Ins. Co., 12 W. R., 507 .) When the word property is used in 'the clause forbidding alienation, it is used to designate the thing insured, and not the interest of the insured. Where a special interest, rather than the general property, is the subject of insurance, no such condition is necessary to the protection of the insurer, for the reason that with a loss of interest the insurance ceases
The policies before us are, in form, upon the property generally, and in favor of Allen as owner. In one of the policies the insurariee is in his favor “ as owner,” and in both it is “ upon his two four-story brick stores,” etc., and the insurers had, as found by the judge on the trial, no notice or knowledge of any conveyance of the property by Allen. The insurers only knew Allen as owner, and the policies must be interpreted as if they were upon the interest of Allen as owner, and upon the property generally, in fact as they were in form. They were, then, insurers of Allen as owmer and Miss Williams as mortgagee, to the extent of her mortgage debt, and both interests are represented and cared for in the policies.
The change or transfer of title in the property insured intended in the clause under consideration, was the title, the ownership of the thing insured, and upon such transfer or change the policy ceased and became void as to the principal party insured, and, but for the saving clause in favor of the mortgagee, would have been void as to her. (Grosvenor v. Atlantic Fire Insurance Company, 17 N. Y., 391 ; and see Jackson v. Massachusetts Mut. F. Ins. Co., 23 Pick.,
The change of title to the property by the conveyance to Ferris was a breach of the condition which avoided the policies as to Allen, the mortgagor. It is first provided that upon an assignment without consent of the whole policies, or of any interest in them, the liability of the insurer shall cease, and then follows the very general clause prohibiting “any sale, transfer or change of title in the property;” and by another clause in the policies, it is provided that if the mortgagee should neglect to notify the insurers of any change of ownership of the property insured, after the same should come to her knowledge, the policy should be void; all indicating clearly that the parties used the term property in its popular sense, and that the change of title referred to was of the thing insured, of which the mortgagee might have no knowledge, and not of the mortgage interest, of which she would necessarily have knowledge.
The mortgagor could not have recovered upon the policies, and it follows that he is not entitled to have the moneys paid under the policies to the mortgagee, applied to the satisfaction of the mortgage.
The judgment should be affirmed with costs.
Grover and Peckham, JJ., concurred in the result, on the ground that Allen was insured as owner when he was not such owner, and that the special interest should have been disclosed and stated in the policy.
Judgment affirmed.