Majority
Headnote
Under the usual “suing and laboring ” clause in a policy of marine insurance, by which the assured agrees to sue, labor and travel in and about the defence, safeguard and recovery of the property, and the underwriter agrees to contribute to the charges thereof in proportion to the sum insured, the latter is not liable for expenses, beyond the amount insured, incurred for temporary repairs upon the vessel insured in order to make her seaworthy, she being at the time safe in port. That clause has reference to charges not covered by the insurance, and does not embrace expenditures to repair losses caused by the risks insured against.The plaintiffs recovered upwards of $3,000 beyond the amount insured by their policy of insurance, and the exceptions taken by the defendant at the trial present the question whether any portion of that excess was properly chargeable to and recoverable against it. It now concedes its liability on account thereof to the amount of four-fifths of $581.18, the vessel’s proportion of general average expenses shown to have been properly incurred and admitted to be chargeable to it under what is called the “ suing and laboring ” clause in the policy. The plaintiffs claim that the same clause makes it liable for the residue of such excess, which was allowed for repairs to the vessel after she returned to Balize. It therefore becomes material to refer to its terms. It provided that in case of any loss or misfortune it should be lawful and necessary to and for the insured, their factors, servants and assigns, to sue, labor and travel in and about the defence, safeguard and recovery of the said vessel or any part thereof, without prejudice to the insurance made by said policy; and that the said company would contribute to the charges thereof, according to the rate and quantity of the sum insured by said policy.
That provision has reference to charges not covered by the insurance, and does not embrace losses caused by damage to the property insured. Its object was to secure diligence in its preservation and protection, and thereby prevent a loss or reduce its amount, and to provide compensation for the labor done and expenses incurred in accomplishing that end.
The views above expressed lead me to the conclusion that "no portion of the cost of repairs above the sum insured was recoverable under the suing and laboring clause, and piso show that the claim, on behalf of the plaintiffs, that they could, independent of that clause, recover such excess of repairs, on the ground that the underwriter was liable upon the general principles of the contract of insurance to pay for expenditures incurred to prevent or diminish the extent of loss, is unfounded. No such expense was in fact incurred, or, at least, beyond that of a general average character, admitted by the defendant to be chargeable as before stated. It then remains- to be considered whether the recovery of such excess can be sustained on any other ground. It is claimed by the plaintiffs that the defendant is bound by a special agreement to pay it, and that was the ground on which the General Term placed them decision in ordering judgment on the verdict.
I cannot concur in that conclusion. When the vessel returned to Balize it was ascertained that she required extensive repairs, and the master thereupon wrote and sent a letter to the plaintiffs informing them of the nature and extent of the damages, the heavy expense that would be necessary to be incurred in making such repairs and the inefficiency with which the work would be performed; and after making the suggestion that she might, after making certain repairs, pro
On the receipt of this letter by the plaintiffs they took it to the defendant and consulted it as to what should be done, and it was determined that the vessel should be temporarily repaired at Balize and sent to Mew York for permanent repairs. The defendant requested the plaintiffs to write to the master and instruct him in the premises. They thereupon wrote him a letter on the fourth day of Movember, 1864, which (so far as it is material to ascertain the instructions given) contains the following directions :
“We have consulted with the underwriters and they leave the matter in our own hands. We, therefore, request you to consult with our friend Anto. Mathé in all matters concerning the brig. We wish to put only such repairs as will be considered perfectly safe to bring the brig to this port. * * * In a word, whatever you and Mr. Mathé decide about the brig is approved beforehand.”
This letter,-before being forwarded, was exhibited to the defendant, and it wrote at the foot thereof as follows:
“ Office Sue Mutual Ins. Co., November 4, 1864. j
“We, as the underwriters on the hull of brig Anto. Mathé, concur in the above.
“E. R. ANTHONY,
“ Vice-President. ”
This is a mere assent to such action as the assured might deem it advisable to take in reference to the matter. At that time the expense of the necessary temporary repairs at Balize had been estimated by a master shipwright at $1,500, and it was the opinion of another that $2,500 would be nearer the amount, and the general tenor of the master’s letter indicates his opinion that they would not much, if at all, exceed that sum, and that it would be for the interest of all parties to have those made and postpone the making of full repairs till the arrival of the vessel at Mew York; but he does not sug
hTothing was said by it to warrant the inference that it made or intended to make the master its agent in procuring the repairs to be made.
Its liability under the terms of its policy to contribute to the loss to the extent of the amount of its subscription or sum insured by it made it its interest to have the repairs made on as reasonable terms as possible, and it was important to the plaintiffs, who had to bear the residue of such loss, not only that the expenses incurred therefor should be reasonable, but that there should be no question made after they had been incurred in reference to the amount thereof. It was, therefore, well and provident that there should be a consultation and an agreement on the subject before any expenditures were made.
It may also be added that although it is -said in the statement of facts read on the trial, and which had been previously agreed upon as correct by the counsel of both parties, that the repairs which on the survey of the vessel were found to be necessary, “could not be done where she lay at Balize,”
It follows that the defendant cannot be charged or held liable on the ground that it had entered into a special agreement to pay those expenditures, and the court below erred in holding that such a liability existed.
There must, therefore, be a reversal of the judgment appealed from, unless the plaintiffs consent within twenty days after notice of filing the remittitur in the Supreme Court to the reduction of their verdict and judgment to four-fifths of $581.18, the vessel’s proportion of the general average expenses, with interest thereon from 20th June, 1865.
If such consent is given, then the judgment is affirmed for that sum, with such interest thereon. If such consent is not given, then the judgment must be reversed and a new trial ordered. Ho costs in either case are given to either party on the appeal to this court.
The defendant has paid the sum of $8,000, the amount specified in the policy, and denies its further liability. The question is whether, by virtue of the policy simply, or in consequence of the clause authorizing the insured to sue and labor, or in consequence of the corre
The clause referred to made it “lawful and necessary for the assured, their factors, servants and assigns, to sue, labor and travel in and about the defence, safeguard and recovery of the said vessel, or any part thereof, without prejudice to the insurance made by said policy; and that the said company would contribute to the charge thereof according to the rate and quantity of the sum insured by the said policy.”
The object of this clause is said, by Arnould, ■ to be to permit the assured to take every measure for the recovery of the property without waiving his right of abandonment, and to bind the underwriters to- contribute to reimburse the expenses incurred. Although the language of the clause is permissive only, it is well settled that it is the clear duty of the assured so to labor for the recovery and restitution of the property. (1 Arnould on Ins., § 29.)
The objection is made in the outset that the policy is an instrument of indemnity to a certain amount, and that no liability for a single loss can exceed that amount, and such further expenses as may fall under the suing and laboring clause. Although it is generally true that the liability of the underwriter is limited to the amount of his subscription, there are many instances given in the books where a greater i liability is incurred. In Livie v. Janson, Lord Ellenboeough said: “There may be cases in which, though a prior damage be followed by a total loss, the assured may have rights or claims in respect of the prior loss which may not be extinguished by the subsequent total loss. Actual disbursements for repairs, in fact, made in consequence of injuries by perils of the seas, prior to the happening of the total loss, are of this description.” * * * (12 East R., 655.)
Phillips says: “ In England and the United States the underwriters are unquestionably liable for a subsequent total loss, in addition to the expense of previous repairs, which have been previously paid for by the assured, in distinction
In Jumel v. The Marine Ins. Co. (7 J. R., 412) it was held that the insured were entitled to recover as for a total loss, and also for all the subsequent expenses in endeavoring to save the property. . (See, also, McBride v. The Same, id., 430; Watson v. The Same, id., 57.)
Taking the policy, with the laboring clause included, and it is not denied by either party that certain sums beyond the amount underwritten may be recovered. The contention is as to the extent of such recovery. Can an expenditure intended for temporary repairs, increased by the difference of exchange and the high price of labor (as it is stated in the briefs) to the sum of $8,769.76, while the permanent repairs of the vessel when she reached Hew York were made at an expense of $4,547.21, be recovered against the underwriter ? I suppose the amount of the expense cannot determine the question. It is, perhaps, not an element in the case, but I state the fact as it exists in the present case. If a recovery can be had against the underwriters, the rule governing the amount is declared to be “ according to the rate and quantity of the sum insured by said policy.” The vessel being valued at $10,000 and the sum insured being $8,000, the rate and quantity of the sum insured is eight-tenths. This proportion,
By the clause quoted there are three purposes for which the assured is authorized and required to sue, labor and travel, viz.: 1, the defence; 2, the safeguard; and 3, the recovery of the vessel. In the cases against the marine insurance company, above cited from Johnson’s Reports, the vessels had been seized by hostile persons and condemned as prizes. The expenses for which the underwriters were held liable were those incurred in endeavoring to defend the rights of the owners in the courts of law. They were expenses incurred in the safeguard or in the recovery of the vessel. Either term would cover them.
In Kidstone v. The Empire Mar. Ins. Co. (Law Rep., 1 Com. Pleas, 535) the plaintiff had effected a policy on the charter freight of guano, from Chincha island to Great Britain. The vessel encountered a storm and put into Rio, so damaged by the perils of the seas as not to be worth repairing, and was sold. The guano was landed and stored at Rio, and the master procured another vessel to carry it to Bristol at an agreed freight of £2,400, which the plaintiffs paid, and received the freight from the consignee. An expense of £100 was also incurred at Rio in landing, storing and reloading the guano. It was held that the plaintiffs are entitled to recover, under the suing and laboring clause, the expenses so incurred and the freight of £2,400, notwitstanding there had been no abandonment. Two principal considerations controlled the decision of this case. First, the freight insured would have been totally lost, unless the expenses had been incurred. It was not due until and upon the delivery of the cargo in Great Britain. Stopping at Rio, no part of it was due pro rata itineris. When the loss occurred, the master was authorized to procure another vessel and forward the cargo, and when thus forwarded he would be entitled to the freight. While the cargo remained in Rio, the subject of the insurance was entirely lost. The additional expense was incurred in the safeguard and recovery of the subject insured, and heüce it was held to be
Phillips lays down the general rule that “ An aggregate of losses exceeding the amount of the insurable interest of the subject on the policy is most frequent in cases of general average and total loss.” (Phil., § 1268.) For this he cites the cases in Johnson which I have above referred to, and the present case when decided in the court below.
The Great Indian Peninsula Railway Co. v. Saunders is frequently referred to. (1 Best & Smith, 101 Eng. C. L. Rep., 41; affirmed [2 B. & S.], 110 id., 266.) In that case the policy was with the warranty “ free from particular average, unless the sloop be stranded, sunk or burntand it was upon the effect of this warranty that the chief discussion arose. The plaintiff procured an insurance upon 1,995 bars of railway iron to Bombay by a policy, with this condition underwritten. It was held that this was a stipulation against total loss and general average only. The ship experienced such heavy gales that she was obliged to put into Plymouth, and was unable to proceed. The plaintiff shipped his rails by another vessel at an advanced price, and this he sought to recover from the defendants. The ship was neither stranded, gunk or burnt, and it was held that he could not recover,
The authority of this case is against the plaintiffs, as far as it is authority, but it is so different in its facts that it can scarcely be called an authority.
Upon an examination of all the cases to which attention has been called, I have not been able to find any that would authorize this recovery; nor do I think it comes within the spirit of the contract. Had full repairs béen made at Balize the defendant would have been liable for them only to the amount of its insurance. The repairs were made for the improvement of the vessel, and these, it has been held, are not within the suing and laboring clause. The expenses were not incurred for the defence, safeguard or recovery of the property. There was no impending disaster against which they formed a protection. In my opinion, neither upon this clause nor upon the general terms of the policy, can the claim of the plaintiffs be sustained.
The question remains, whether the defendant altered its position by what took place on the fourth of November, 1864. About the 30th of August, the vessel had been got off from the rocks and taken into Balize. It was found upon examin
By this agreement, did the parties to it understand that the defendant consented to contingent increase of its liabilities, that it consented to assume responsibilities not then resting upon it, or was it a waiver of objections that might be made as to the time, place or circumstances in which its liability, as it then existed, might be reduced to form and shape % Both parties are assumed to have known the general principles governing the defendant’s liability. Such no doubt was the case in fact. Those principles are as follows:
1. That the underwriter was liable for the proportion of the general average expenses in getting the vessel off from the rocks into the Balize.
2. That if she proved to be damaged to more than half her
3. That if damaged to less than that extent, and repairs were put upon her where she lay, the underwriters would be liable for eight-tenths of such repairs, provided it came within the limit of $8,000.
This was the precise condition, and these are the precise obligations of the parties. With these views in their minds, the plaintiffs authorize the master to make such repairs as would bring the brig in safety to Hew York. The master was in perplexity ; should he have the vessel repaired at Balize, or should he take her to Havana ? If the expenses are enormously large at Balize, and they were there incurred, would the underwriters be responsible ? Should he risk a trip to Hew York on slight repairs, what would be for the interest of the owners ? To relieve him the plaintiffs direct him to make the repairs at Balize, and the defendant concurs in the direction. They authorize him, in conjunction with Mr. Mathé, to act as his judgment shall determine.
Under this authority the master might have abandoned, if the facts were such as to justify it. He chose to make repairs. I cannot think that, in adopting either course, the legal relation of the parties was or could be altered thereby. The plaintiffs were still the party assured, the defendant was still the underwriter. The obligations connected with this relation remained as before. The details of the evidence by which to fix the liability are in some respects altered. The defendant would not be at liberty to say that repairs should not have been made in a port so expensive or to so great an extent; it could not challenge items. It could not insist that there should or should not have been an abandonment. It had authorized the master and Mr. Mathé to decide those questions, and must submit to their judgment. But it did not authorize any alteration of its relations with the plaintiffs; nor did it give the slightest intimation that it was willing to assume any new obligations. It was a liberal, ■courteous waiver of all technical objections that
Upon the whole case, I think, judgment must be reversed, and a new trial ordered.
All concur.
Judgment in accordance with opinion of Lott, Ch. C.