Majority
Headnote
Defendant issued a policy of insurance upon plaintiff’s canal boat for one year. Among other excepted perils was damages from ice. At the close of navigation the boat was moored in the canal basin at O. and frozen in; in the spring, when the ice broke loose in the river O., it jammed, forming a partial dam, which set back the water so that it flowed over a sea-wall separating the river from the basin; the stern of the boat became loosened while the how remained fast in the ice, and in consequence the boat was twisted and injured. In an action upon the policy, held, that exemption from liability for damages occasioned by ice was not limited to the season of navigation; also (Earl and Johnson, CO., dissenting), that the ice was the proximate cause of the injury and that defendant was not liable.As the order of reversal does not state that the reversal proceeded from any error of fact by the referee, we can consider only questions of law resulting from the facts found.
The court below evidently considered the case one not free from difficulty, and so far, at least, we concur in their opinion. If it had not been for the ice the injury would not have happened, nor would it have occurred but for the presence of a large quantity of water in the Oswego river at the critical moment. The absence of either element, therefore, would probably have avoided the injury. We must, if it be possible, determine which, in the eye of the law, was the immediate and which the remote cause of the disaster. It is quite impossible to conceive of any disaster, marine or otherwise, which is not produced by the agency of several causes operating in a greater or less degree. Shipwrecks on the sea and conflagrations upon the land, do not, ordinarily, result from a single cause, but generally from the combined influence of many unfriendly elements. An insurance against damage by fire, subjects the underwriter to liability if the insured property receives injury consequent upon fire, from water, breakage and various other incidents of such a misfortune. But for the fire the other incidents would have been inconsequential, and hence the fire, however occasioned, is the proximate cause, and if a high wind spreads the conflagration beyond'all calculation, it is still the fire, and not the wind, in the judgment of the law, that produces the calamity and makes the insurer responsible, and yet, but for the unforeseen wind, the fire itself would have been comparatively harmless. We must, if we can, give full effect to the contract of insurance made between the parties, and, in the effort to do that, we must at once discard the suggestion that the excepted
In a marine policy against the “ perils of the sea,” the underwriter assumes only extraordinary risks, and if a vessel goes down by the ordinary action of the wind and the waves, the insurer is not responsible, for the vessel is assumed to have been unseaworthy. In making the insurance, therefore, the fitness of the vessel for the intended voyage is to be considered. “ A coasting schooner needs one kind of fitness — a freighting ship to Europe another — a whaling ship another, and a ship insured only while in port another ” (Parson’s Here. Law, 427, and cases cited); and it may be added, a canal boat intended for internal navigation, quite another, and it is, therefore, well settled that in construing such a contract, regard is to be had to the navigation intended and to the fitness of the vessel for the perils likely to be encountered.
Under an insurance against the perils of the sea, it has been held that if a vessel reach a harbor in the course of its voyage, and is detained therein by stress of weather, or by being frozen in, or by any such cause, the damage does not fall upon the insurer. (Evertts v. Smith, 2 M. & Selw., 278.) But the insurer may specially contract for greater or less risk,
The injury in this ease was obviously occasioned by the combination of two causes operating at the same time: one an undue quantity of water at the stern, and the other the tenacity of the ice at the bow of the vessel insured. It may be added that the excess of water, at the time of the injury, resulted largely, if not entirely, from an ice-dam in the river. If the ice-dam had not obstructed the flow of the water, the water would not have disturbed the stern of the boat, and even then, if the ice' had not imprisoned the bow, the excess of water would not have twisted the vessel to its injury. Giving, therefore, full effect to the maxim causa próxima non remota spectatur, as paraphrased by Lord Bacon (Bac. Max. Beg. 1; Broom Leg. Max., 215; Babcock v. Montgomery Co. Mutual Ins. Co., 4 N. Y., 326 ): “ It were infinite for the law to consider the cause of causes and their impulsion one on another, therefore, it contenteth itself with the immediate cause and judgeth of acts by that, without looking to any further degree,” we must, conclude that the
Dissent
This conclusion renders the consideration of any other questions in the case unimportant. The referee found that the boat had not been safely moored by the insured as required" by the policy, and some questions of evidence relating exclusively to that proposition, were raised upon the trial, but their determination either way would not alter our judgment.
The order of the Genera] Term should be reversed, and judgment absolute ordered in favor of the defendant, with costs.
(dissenting). At the time the canal boat was injured, she-was safely moored in the canal basin adjoining the Oswego river. She was fastened in the ice frozen about her, and, without the concurrence of some other cause, was in no peril from the ice. A freshet then occurred in the river, and the water rose rapidly and flowed over the sea-wall separating the basin from the river, and raised the stern of the boat, while her bow was held fast by the ice, and thus the injury was done. The ice would not” have occasioned the injury without the freshet, and ' the freshet would probably have done no injury if the boat had not been held fast by the ice at her bow. If "the injury can be said to have been caused by the ice, then, by the terms of the policy, the defendant is exempted from liability, but if it was caused by the freshet, then it is unquestioned that the loss is covered by the policy. It is frequently difficult to determine whether a loss arises from a peril insured against, and this difficulty is increased when different causes concur at the same time in producing the loss. The courts always look at the proximate cause, and if that be a peril insured against,
The boat was quietly and safely lying in the canal basin, and the water, largely increased in volume by the freshet, came there in large quantities and raised the stern of the boat, and twisted and wrenched her, thus greatly injuring her. This injury would not have been occasioned, if the boat had not been held fast by the ice, and. yet, the ice was the remote cause, and _ the freshet the active, efficient and direct cause. The ice can no more be said to have been the direct cause of the injury than a dock could be said to have been if the boat had been tied to one, and thus held fast while she was dashed to pieces by a freshet. We must, therefore, hold that the loss • was occasioned by a peril insured against.
The policy provided that the boat should not be navigated between noon of the fifteenth day of December and noon of the first day of April following,- and that between those dates she should be tied up tight and safely moored, satisfactorily to the
I am, therefore, of opinion that the order of the General Term should be affirmed, and judgment, absolute, ordered against the defendant, with costs.
For reversal, Lott, Ch. C., Reynolds and Geay, CC.
For affirmance, Earl and Johnson, CC.
Order reversed, and judgment on the report of the referee affirmed.