Majority
Headnote
The dissolution of a corporation terminates an action then pending against it, and all subsequent proceedings therein are void unless the action he continued hy order of the court as provided by the act of 1832, to prevent the abatement of suits by or against corporations (chap. 295, Laws of 1832), which order must require the representative or successor in interest of the defunct corporation to be substituted, and the action continued in his name, or that the defence be placed under his control.We feel constrained to differ from the learned court' below, on the question of the validity of the judgment rendered in the Ohio court, against the corporation of which the defendant is receiver, on the 14th of May, 1872. At that time the corporation was not in existence, it having been dissolved by a judgment, duly rendered by the Supreme Court of this State, on the 24th of October, 1871. And the defendant having been appointed receiver of its property and effects, the corporation had no longer any legal existence or capacity to be sued, or any property which could be subjected to a judgment. to be rendered against it. All authority to appear in the case had been withdrawn from the attorneys who had formerly represented the dissolved corporation. These facts were announced in open court when the cause was called for trial on the 14th of May, 1872, but the court, nevertheless, allowed the plaintiff to proceed and take judg
At common law it is very clear that such a judgment would be of no force. (See Angell & Ames on Corporations, § 779.) But it is claimed that, under section 121 of the Code and chapter 295 of Laws of 1832, the action was not abated by the dissolution of the corporation, and was properly allowed to proceed to judgment.
It seems to me to be conceded, on the part of the appel-' lant, that there being no proof of the law of Ohio on the subject, it is to be presumed that the law of Ohio is the same as our own. That such a presumption exists in respect to statute law is a proposition by no means so clear as appears to be supposed. Expressions are contained in some of the opinions which have been cited favoring the position that the presumption exists with reference to purely statutory regulations, but there is no authoritative decision to that effect. It is difficult to find any reason upon which such a rule can rest, and when the question is distinctly presented we regard it as still open to examination.
Taking the concession, however, for the purposes of the present case, the question presented is the same as if the judgment now sought to be enforced against the receiver had been rendered in one of our own courts.
The elementary principle that no valid judgment can be rendered against a party who is not actually or constructively before the court has not been changed by any of the statutes cited. The provision that the action, etc., shall not abate by the death, etc., of a party do not permit it to proceed against the dead party, but require that his representative or successor in interest be regularly brought into court. Section 121 of the Code does not specifically refer to actions against corporations, hut provides generally that: “ Ho action shall abate by the death, marriage or other disability of a party, or the transfer of any interest therein, if the cause of action survive or continue. In ease of death, marriage or disability of a
-This section, it is very clear, if applicable, by analogy, to an action against a corporation does not sanction the idea that the action can be continued against the corporation after its death, but requires that before the action can proceed the representative or successor in interest should be brought in. He then has an opportunity to appear and defend by counsel of his own selection; and the judgment, if adverse, is rendered against him, and not against his predecessor.
The other statute referred to (Laws of 1832, chap. 295) affords no sanction to the course of proceeding adopted in this case. The first section relates exclusively to actions brought T)y a corporation and pending at the time of its dissolution. In that single case the receiver is permitted to continue the action, using the name of the corporation or procuring his own to be substituted, by order of the court, subject to such order as the court may deem expedient in relation to the payment or security of costs. The second and third sections relate to actions brought by receivers of corporations appointed before their dissolution, but expressly prohibit the use of the name of the corporation if it has been dissolved before the bringing of the action. The fourth is the only section which relates to actions against corporations, and provides that if the corporation shall be dissolved during the pendency of the action the court shall have power, on the application of either party, to make an order for the continuance of the action, and the same may thereafter be continued until final judgment. Unless such an order be made there is nothing in our statutes interfering with the common-law rule that the dissolution of the corporation puts an end to the action, and that all subsequent proceedings
It is argued on behalf of the respondent, that it does not affirmatively appear that a proper order for the continuance of the action was not made. This is a voluntary submission of a controversy without action. The parties have agreed upon their facts, and we cannot suppose that so important a fact, if it- existed, would have been omitted from the statement. From a full examination of the case we are satisfied that the question intended to be submitted to us is, whether the judgment was valid without such an order. That no substitution of the receiver as a party defendant was made is apparent, from the rendition of the judgment against the defendant corporation and not against the receiver.
Having come to the conclusion that the judgment is not valid against the receiver, we must consider the second question submitted, viz.: “ Was there such a breach o.f warranty as to his interest in the property insured, on the part of the plaintiff, as to render said policy void ? ” It is stipulated in the submission that if the question be answered in the negative, judgment is to be rendered against the receiver for the sum of $3,000, with interest from the 5th of November, 1866.
The facts upon which this question arises are very concisely stated in the submission. The plaintiff effected a policy of insurance with the insurance company, of which the appellant is receiver for $3,000, apportioned as follows: “$2,000 on his stone building, $800 on his steam engine and apparatus therein, and $200 on his household furniture, clothing and books stored therein.”
Prior to issuing the policy the company required the plaintiff to answer, in writing, certain questions concerning said property and risk, which questions and answers were made a
“ Question 1. - — ■ Is it (meaning the property aforesaid)".owned and operated by the applicant %
“ Answer. — Tes.
“ Question. — Is any other person interested in the property % If so, state the interest.
“ Answer. — No.
“Question 31. — Incumbrance: Is there any on the property ?
“ Answer. — Held by contract.”
At this time, and at the date of the fire, the plaintiff was in the full possession and absolute enjoyment of the property in question. He held the real estate, including the buildings, which he used for a manufactory, under contract of sale from the owners in fee, which provided for the delivery to him of a deed thereto on payment of $2,000, of which sum, $500, the amount due at that time, had been paid. Of the personal property he was absolute owner. The loss was total.
The receiver now contends that there was a breach of warranty, as to the interest of the plaintiff in the property insured, which rendered the policy void.
Taking the three answers together, although they are loose and not strictly accurate, we think they disclose that the insured held the property by contract, and that his ownership was of the character which results from such a holding, one familiar to insurance companies as well as to lawyers; and that if the company desired a more distinct specification of his title it was incumbent upon it to demand an explanation. By insuring on this statement they assumed to have knowledge of its meaning. The statement that the insured operated the property was true. The statement that lie owned it, if unqualified by the subsequent statement that it was held by contract, would have been a warranty of absolute ownership. But the statement that it was held by contract did, we think, so far qualify the representation of ownership, as to preclude the insurer from asserting a warranty of absolute own
This leads to a modification of the judgment of the Superior Court, so as to make it a judgment against the receiver for $3,000, with interest from the 5th of November, 1866, as stipulated in the submission, without costs in this court to either party.
All concur.
Judgment accordingly.