Majority
Headnote
A policy of fire insurance upon a paper mill and machinery contained a clause prohibiting the storing or use on the premises of “ petroleum, rock or earth oil; ” another clause provided for cases where buildings used for purposes of trade were lighted by certain specified inflammable fluids (not including kerosene). In an action upon the policy, it appeared that kerosene was used for lighting the mill, and that at the time of the Are there were about forty gallons in the mill (which was a reasonable quantity) provided for that purpose. Held, that the term “rock and earth oil ” included kerosene,-but.that its use for lighting was not intended to be prohibited; that, there being a clause upon the subject of lighting, by the prohibition in the first clause other use was intended to be provided against; and that, therefore, the use of kerosene for lighting, and the keeping on hand of a reasonable quantity for that purpose, did not vitiate the policy.The insurance was on stock of material for manufacturing paper and on paper manufactured and in process of manufacture, and on machinery contained in a paper mill at West Milton, Saratoga county.
The policy contained a provision that petroleum, rock, and earth oils, benzine, benzole and naphtha, should not be stored or used on the premises without written permission indorsed on the policy, and that refined coal, carbon, and kerosene oils
The paper mill was lighted by kerosene, and at the time of the fire there were in the mill about forty gallons of kerosene, provided for lighting the mill. Thé quantity was reasonable for the use for which it was provided. This kerosene was not stored within the meaning of the policy, and hence there can be no claim that the provision against storing was violated. But it was used, and the question is whether its use for lighting violated and avoided the policy. I am inclined to think that the prohibition of the use of rock and earth oils upon the premises includes kerosene. Kerosene is not petroleum. It is made from the latter by a process of distillation and refinement. But it is a rock or earth oil. If it is not I am unable to classify it. But I do not think that its use for lighting was intended to be prohibited; other use was intended. Kerosene is considered reasonably safe for lighting, and is in ordinary and general use for lighting buildings in all parts of the country outside of cities where gas is used, and the policy must have been made in reference to this well known fact. There is another clause in the policy which covers the subject of lighting, which provides that “ camphene, spirit gas or burning fluid, phosgene or any other inflammable liquid, when used in stores, warehouses, shops or manufactories as a light, subject the goods therein to an additional charge, and permission for such use must be indorsed in writing on the policy, otherwise the insurance shall be void.” It will be seen that even the articles named are not prohibited for lighting in all cases. They could be used without violating the policy for lighting dwelling-houses. Kerosene is not named and if it had been intended to prohibit its use for lighting, as it is used for that purpose more than all the other substances mentioned, it would have been named. It was proved that kerosene is not properly classified as an “ inflammable liquid ” and hence it is not prohibited under that name. Construing, therefore, the two clauses of the policy together, I am of opinion that kerosene for lighting was not prohibited.
On the third day of March, the day before the fire, the plaintiff delivered the policy to his son, who, at his request, took the same to the office of the defendant, in the city of Hew York, and he there informed the secretary of defendant that his father was the owner of the property, delivered to him the policy, and asked him if the transfer and consent were all right, and he said they were. The young man who took the policy to Holmes did not inform him of the transfer of the property, neither did plaintiff’s son inform defendant’s secretary of the circumstances under which the consent had been obtained of Holmes. Holmes was, at one time, the agent of the defendant, and, I think, from the evidence, had, at that time, authority to effect insurances and consent to transfers of policies and property for it. But, on the 10th day of December, 1868, the defendant resolved to suspend all its agencies, including the Albany agency; and, on the 22d of December, 1868, defendant’s secretary, in obedience
The point that the policy was rendered void by the transfer before consent was given, and, hence that it could not be again vitalized by a mere consent to the transfer afterward given, was not specifically taken at the trial, and we might.
I think the judge erred in holding, that Holmes had authority to give the assent. His entire agency had clearly been revoked. He so understood it, and had surrendered up all his papers arid balanced his accounts. He informed the young man who obtained his assent that his agency had ceased, and that he had no authority to give it. This notice, at the very time he performed the act, to the young man who acted either for Weeks or the plaintiff (and it matters not which), was notice to his principal. (Story on Agency, § 140; Bank of the U. S v. Davis, 2 Hill, 457 ; Jeffrey v. Bigelow,
The form of the memorandum was sufficient to show consent to the assignment of the policy and transfer of the property. (Potter v. O. and L. Mut. Ins. Co., 5 Hill, 149 ; Hooper v. Hud. River F. Ins. Co., 17 N. Y., 424 ; Shearman v. Niagara Ins. Co., supra.)
It follows from these views that the plaintiff held a valid policy; and his recovery must be upheld unless the judge erred at the trial, in his holding as to what constituted machinery.' The insurance was in part upon the machinery in a paper mill. I think the word here was used in its most comprehensive sense, to include all the machinery and the tools and implements used therewith in the manufacture of paper.
The loss upon machinery, as claimed by the plaintiff in
I am therefore of opinion that no error was committed upon the trial, and that the judgment should be affirmed, with costs.
All concur; Reynolds, C., not voting.
Judgment affirmed.
Cases cited
- Hooper v. Hudson River Fire Insurance 17 N. Y. 424 p. 28