Majority
Headnote
A policy of marine insurance upon the cargo of a canal boat contained a clause that if the boat was “ prevented or detained by ice, or the closing of navigation, from terminating the trip,” the policy should cease. The boat, with others in a tow, was proceeding down the D. river, when, in consequence of a gale, the towing tugs were separated from the boats, which were driven ashore and stranded, ice formed around them during the night, so that the tugs could not reach them, although the channel of the river remained open. The boat remained frozen in until a thaw, when the wind and ice forced her upon another, she broke in two, sank, and the cargo was injured. In an action upon the policy, held, that the words “ prevented or detained by ice ” meant detention in the ordinary course of navigation; that the predominating efficient causeThe sole question in this case concerns the proper construction of a clause in a marine insurance policy, commonly termed an “ice clause.” The policy attached to
It will he observed that this is not the ordinai-y case of a warranty operating as a condition precedent to the attaching of the policy. It rather assumes that the policy has attached and provides for its cessation. It is rather in the nature of a condition subsequent. It recognizes the validity of the policy, and the liability of the insurers up to the time when their responsibility terminates, on the happening of the prescribed events — prevention or detention by ice, or the closing of navigation, from terminating the voyage. Until these events happen, the insurers are clearly liable for all losses occurring from the ordinary perils of the sea. When they transpire, the policy ceases to have binding effect.
The only point to be considered is, whether the boat, in the present case was prevented or detained by ice from terminating the voyage. Was the true cause of detention, etc., the ice, or the stress of weather ? If the latter, the insurers are still liable, as the main clauses of the policy are applicable; if the former, the insurers are discharged.
The true construction of these words is to be sought in the ordinary rules which control the interpretation of written instruments. They are not ambiguous, and need no aid from the testimony of experts. Their signification is purely a question of law. (St. Luke's Home v. Ass'n for Ind. Females, 52 N. Y., 191 .)
It will be observed that there are two general modes in which it is anticipated the boat may be precluded from accomplishing its voyage — ice, or the closing of navigation. These causes may operate either temporarily or permanently.
The facts of the present case showed that there was no closing of navigation, and no detention of boats by ice along the usual channels of navigation. A heavy gale drove the boat, on which the cargo in question was carried, on to the shore, so that she was stranded. The detention caused by her being driven out of her course was due, beyond all question, to the gale. Her detention on the shore until the ice formed around her was due to a consequence of the gale, stranding. Did that cause cease to operate because ice formed in front of the boat and between her and the channel ? Is it not, rather, the true view, that the presence of the ice prevented the removal of the cause which created detention, and was slowly working the destruction of the cargo ?
What is the proximate cause of the loss ? This is always a difficult question to determine in the case of a conjunction of causes. The policy must have, in settling this question, a reasonable interpretation, with a view to effectuate the intention of the parties. The words “ detained; or prevented by ice,” must mean detention in the ordinary course of navigation.' The contract contemplated that the canal boat should be moved by a tug. This motive-power was carried away by a storm, and ice subsequently formed so as to prevent it from returning. The efficient cause of the detention was the loss of the motive-power through the stress of the storm, and the ice acted only as an obstacle to its restoration. Suppose that the tug, after separation, had been captured by an enemy ? Would the loss of the canal boat have been due to the capture of the tug? Would not the true cause of its loss have been the storm- which drove the two vessels asunder, and left the canal boat at the mercy of the elements ?
A well known writer on the law of marine insurance
Suppose that in the present case a general of an army had laid down a bridge between the canal boat, as she lay on shore, and the tug in the channel, would the detention have been due to the bridge or the stranding ? If a man’s house were besieged by burglars, and his friends were prevented from relieving him by the sudden closing of a gate, by some distinct act of persons unconnected with the burglary, would his detention in his house be due to the closing of the gate, or rather to the act-of the burglars, as “the predominating efficient cause?” Such an inquiry was, to some extent, involved in Ionides v. Universal Marine Ins. Co. (14 C. B. [N. S.], 259). The ship insured against the perils of the sea went ashore. The light at Cape Hatteras, North Carolina, existing there for many years, and visible for twenty-five miles at sea, had been extinguished by the Confederate authorities to harass
Another view of the case may be suggested. The voyage terminated with the stranding. There was never a moment after that occurence, in which it was resumed. Accordingly the formation of the ice could not properly be said to detain
It is not claimed that stranding is ipso faeto a total loss. It may and often does prove the destruction of the voyage, by the ship afterward becoming a wreck before she shall be put afloat. ( Wood v. Lin. and Ken. Ins Co., 6 Mass., 479 ; Manning v. Newnham, 3 Douglas, 130; 2
It is now proper to consider the authorities cited on behalf of the defendant.
The case of Hadkinson v. Robinson (3 B. & P., 388 [a. d. 1803]), was an insurance against capture on a cargo from an English port to Naples,- with leave to join a convoy. In the course of the voyage, information was received by the master that the port of Naples was closed against English ships. The ship accordingly proceeded to another port where the cargo was sold for a small sum, whereupon the assured abandoned as for a total loss. The court held that the fear or prospect of capture in a hostile port was not equivalent to capture itself, or in its own language, that the peril must act directly and not collaterally upon the thing insured. If the principle of this case be sound, of which there is great doubt (3 Kent’s Com., 293, 294), it has no application to the case at bar, where a sea peril did act directly upon the boat, and occasioned its stranding. Forster v. Christie (11 East, 205), is to the same general effect, Lord Ellenbobotjgh remarking, that the risks insured against must be the effective cause of the loss. Speyer v. New York Insurance Company (3 J. R., 88), simply holds, that if the event happens on which the insurers are warranted free from liability, it is equivalent to an actual termination of the risk by the landing of the goods. This, of course, is not disputed.
Livie v. Janson (12 East, 647) is much relied on by the
It should be added, that there is great reason to doubt the
The only other case necessary to be noticed is Patrick v. Com. Ins. Co. (11 J. R., 14). In this case a cargo was insured from New York to Cadiz; and there was a clause in the policy that the insurers took no risks in port but sea risk. The ship was forced from her moorings in a violent gale and driven on shore, where she lay above high-water mark. After the gale abated, she was forcibly taken possession of by French troops, then holding the port, and burnt with the cargo. The cargo was not injured by the stranding. The court held that the cargo was not lost through the stranding but through the forcible act of the French.
The decision is rested solely on these doubtful cases of Livie v. Janson and Green v. Elmslie, already considered, and can of course be of no higher authority. It is also quite difficult to reconcile with the decision immediately preceding it in the same volume; where the court held that on the same state of facts the ship was lost by means of the stranding. It seems impossible to deny that the cargo, under the circumstances, was identified with the ship, and, that within the principle in Hahn v. Corbett (supra), the goods were as completely lost at the moment of stranding as if they had been east on an inaccessible rock.
The judgment of'the court below must be affirmed.
All concur.
Judgment affirmed.