Majority
Headnote
The facts that a person is authorized hy a foreign life insurance company to solicit and take applications for insurance, to issue and deliver policies and to receive premiums, and deliver receipts for them, do not, as matters of law, constitute him a general agent of the company, authorized to waive conditions in a policy as to payment of premiums. (Church, Oh. J., Andrews and Miller, JJ., dissenting.)By the terms of the policy the liability of the insurers ceased upon the failure of the insured to pay the renewal premiums at the office of the company at Hartford, or to an agent of the company, on his producing a receipt signed by the president or secretary on or before the days at which they were payable. The premium which became due in August, 1871, was not paid at or before the day, nor has it been paid since. The policy was therefore of no force at the time of the death of the insured, and the insurers are not now liable upon it unless the condition was waived by the company or by an authorized agent. It is not claimed that the company has, by the action of its board of managers, or by its executive or any of its officers, varied the condition
[ A lax idea seems to prevail, and certainly is persistently urged upon this appeal, that an agent for an insurance company, representing it and transacting business for it at a distance from its principal place of business, is, and must necessarily be a general agent, with full authority to bind his principals in all matters within the territorial bounds of his agency, and it is sought to render void the most solemn and important stipulations of the contract upon this theory. There is no countenance for the doctrine in any well-considered ease. Agents of underwriters, at a distance from their principals, are either general or special agents, possessing plenary or limited powers, depending upon the terms of the grant of power or the powers exercised with the assent of the principals; and the extent of their authority is to be determined by the same rules that control in respect to other agencies.
The rule is well expressed in Insurance Company v. Wilkinson ( 13 Wall., 222 ) and Miller v. The Phoenix Insurance Company ( 27 Iowa, 203 ). Insurance companies doing business by agencies at a distance from their principal place of business, are responsible for the acts of the agent, within the general scope of the business intrusted to his care, and no limitations of his authority will be binding on parties with whom he deals which are not brought to their knowledge.
It is upon and within this general principle that insurance companies have been held bound by the acts of their agents in dispensing with or varying the terms and conditions of their policies of insurance. (Insurance Company v. Colt, 20 Wall., 560 ; Bodine v. Exchange Fire Ins. Co., 51 N. Y., 117 ; Owen v. Farmer's Joint Stock Ins. Co., 57 Barb,, 519 ; Carroll v. Charter Oak Ins. Co., 10 Abb. [N. S.], 166; Sheldon v. Atlantie Fire and Marine Ins. Co., 26 N. Y., 460 .)
The actual authority of W eller for the defendant corpora
Unless we are prepared to hold that insurance companies cannot restrict the authority pf their agents and that conditions imposing restrictions and limitations upon their powers, and communicated to those to whom policies are issued, are meaningless and but waste paper and may be utterly disregarded, there was no waiver of the condition in this case and the policy expired upon the failure of the insured to pay at the day. This conclusion renders it unnecessary to consider the very serious question whether, upon the most favorable construction of the evidence, there was any waiver or attempt at a waiver of the conditions.
The judgment must be reversed and a new trial granted.
This is an action on a policy of life insurance. It is resisted on the ground that there was a -failure to pay a premium which fell due before the death of the insured.
It is conceded that the premium was not paid, but it is claimed that payment on the day was waived. This waiver, it was contended, was made by one Weller, an agent of the company.
. I am not prepared to admit that the testimony showed
Dissent
For the error'in the charge, there should he a reversal ana new trial.
(dissenting). One of the conditions of the policy of insurance upon which this action is brought was, that if the premiums were not paid at the office of the company, or to an agent, on his producing a receipt signed by the president or secretary, on or before the date mentioned therein, the company should not be liable. On that policy a notice was indorsed that no agent had authority to receive any premium without first presenting a regular receipt from the president and secretary, or to alter any policy, or to receive any premium after it became due.
It is insisted by the appellant’s counsel that the policy having lapsed, by non-payment of the premium, there was no evidence of any legal waiver of such payment. The waiver depends upon the effect and validity of the arrangement made between the agent of the defendant and the deceased. The testimony shows that Weller was an agent of the company, that his duty was to solicit insurance, receive applications, forward them to the company, receive and deliver policies, collect premiums and all subsequent renewals; that, in connection with his partner, he issued printed circulars as to premiums becoming due, signed by them as general agents; and himself signed as general agent, and he testified that he held himself out as such—the general agent — to persons with whom he dealt for the company.
There was evidence to show that Weller had an interview, before the premium became due, with the deceased, who offered to settle up for the next premium becoming due, and
There has been a uniform current of authority in this State in favor of the rule that a general agent has a right to waive the written conditions of a policy of insurance. In The First Baptist Church v. The Brooklyn Fire Insurance Company ( 19 N. Y., 305 ) it is held that a condition that no insurance shall be binding until the actual payment of the premium and the written acknowledgment thereof, does not invalidate a subsequent contract, by paroi, to renew such insurance for a premium not paid at the time the risk attaches but postponed to a future day. This case sustains the general principle that a written condition may be waived by paroi.
In Sheldon v. The Atlantic and Marine Fire Insurance Company ( 26 N. Y., 460 ) the insured called upon an agent at Home, hTew York, and applied for insurance; the agent being absent he left his application with a clerk in the office, and offered to pay the premium; this was declined by the clerk, who stated that the insured might bring it at some future time, or they would send for it. The policy was sent by mail to the applicant, with a statement that the premium charged was higher than usual, and requesting him to return the policy if he declined, or if he retained it, to send the premium by mail. ■ The property was burned; and, after this occurrence, letters were written by the agent threatening to cancel the policy unless the premium was paid. One of the conditions of the policy was that no insurance should be binding until the actual payment of the premium. It was held that there was a waiver of the prepayment, and that the policy became effec-.tual upon the assured retaining and accepting it, or, at all .events, that the question should have been submitted to the
In Carroll v. Charter Oak Insurance Company (10 Abb. [N. S.], 166) the policy contained a provision that in ease of other insurance, not notified to defendant and indorsed upon the policy, the policy should be void; also, that the company would not be bound by an instrument, record or statement not referred to or contained in the policy, and that no condition of the policy should be waived except in wilting, signed by the secretary. It was held: First. That the receipt, through their general agent, of renewal premiums, taken by him with knowledge of other insurance on the same property, was a waiver of the requirement. Second. That a waiver of a stipulation in a written contract may be shown by paroi, notwithstanding the contract requires a writing.
The general doctrine is laid down that forfeitures of all kinds may be waived, and some of the cases are reviewed. Among others is Goit v. National Protection Insurance Company ( 25 Barb., 189 ), where it was held that a general agent of the company, empowered to make contracts of insurance in a given form, may bind the principals by waiving payment of the premium where it is a condition precedent. Allee, J., who wrote the opinion, says that a waiver may be by the managers of the company or its duly authorized agent. He adds: “ The agent was the general agent of the company to make contracts of insurance in a given form, and so long as
In Shearman v. The Niagara Fire Insurance Company ( 46 N. Y., 526 ) the policy contained a clause that if the property was sold or transferred, or any change took place in the title or possession, without the consent of the company, it would be void. The property was transferred on the fourth of March; the policy renewed on the twenty-first of March, and transferred to plaintiff April fifteenth; on the same day, defendant’s agent consented to a transfer of the policy. It was held that a condition of forfeiture may be waived, and the policy revived by any act from which the consent of the underwriters may be inferred.
In Bodine v. The Exchange Fire Insurance Company ( 51 N. Y., 117 ) it was held that a condition in a policy of insurance that no insurance, whether original or continued, shall be considered as binding until the actual payment of the premium, may be waived by the company or its authorized agent, and his waiver may be shown by direct proof that credit was given, or may be inferred from circumstances. The waiver here was made by the clerk of a local insurance agent. After citing the cases already referred to, and others, Earl, 0., says: “We must infer that John Whelp had all the power of ordinary insurance agents. He had acted for this company for nine or ten years in procuring risks for it, and in delivering policies and renewal certificates. His name was indorsed on the original policy as the company’s agent. It was, therefore, according to the decisions above cited, just as éompetent for him to waive the condition of prepayment as for any other officer or agent of the company. * * * If the agent or his clerk waive the prepayment of premiums, without authority from the company, it can lose nothing, as the agent becomes responsible for the amount of the premiums, as if the same had been paid to him in cash.”
The agent in the case last cited had not performed any greater duties than the agent in the case at bar. He
It is no answer to say that his own representation of power would not enlarge it when he was apparently acting within the scope of his authority, and the proof shows that, in fact, he was a general agent. ¡Nor is there any ground for claiming that his powers were limited, without evidence to show the limitation, after the proof was given that he was a general agent. The notice in the policy that an agent had no right to alter any policy, or receive any premium after it became due, does not change the aspect of the case if the agent had a right to waive the condition referred to, as the notice was indorsed in pursuance of that condition. If the condition was waived, the notice was of no effect.
The principle laid down in the cases cited is also supported by numerous cases in the Supreme Court. (Dohn v. The Farmers’ Joint Stock Ins. Co., 5 Lans., 275 ; Dean v. The Ætna Life Ins. Co., 4 N. Y. S. C., 497; Whitwell v. Put. Fire Ins. Co., 6 Bans., 166; Cone v. Niag. Fire Ins. Co.,
The case of Bush v. Westchester Insurance Company, recently decided in this court, has no application to the question whether an agent can waive a condition of the character of that presented in this case; nor can the decisions of other States affect the question so well settled by authority in our own courts. The claim that the agreement made was a one-sided promise, without consideration, is not well founded. There was as much consideration for the agreement to waive as in any of the cases cited supra. There was the element of estoppel in the case, for the insured was ready and willing to pay, and, by the agreement of the agent, he was induced to forego his rights and omit the performance, on his part, of the conditions of the policy. The waiver was based on the conduct of the defendant’s agent at a time when the insured could have complied with the condition. (Und erwood v. Farmers' Joint Stock Ins. Co., 57 N. Y., 500 , and authorities cited.) In this respect the case differs from that last cited.
The notice sent to the insured by mail was intended to advise parties when the payments became due. It was, at most, a circular issued by the agent’s clerk, without the knowledge of the agent, and was not, by its terms, a waiver or a revocation of the agreement; nor was the agreement of the agent purely personal and in his own behalf alone. It was the act of Weller as agent, within the scope of his agency, on behalf of the company. It was the policy of the company which was the subject-matter of the contract, and in ref-,, erence to that which Weller, as its general agent, undertook to waive the payment of the premium.
The exception to a portion of the charge of the judge was not well taken. The exception, as stated in the case, was to that portion of the‘charge in which the judge says, substantially,' that if the jury believe the facts as testified by the plaintiff’s witnesses, those facts constitute a waiver of payment on the part of, the defendant by an authorized agent. The portion
There was no error, and the judgment should be affirmed, with costs.
For reversal: Allen, Batallo, Folger and Earl, JJ., all concurring with Folgee, J. Batallo and Earl, JJ., concurring with Allen, J.
For affirmance: Church, Oh. J., Andrews and Miller, JJ,-
Judgment reversed.