Majority
Headnote
Where the complaint in an action upon a policy of fire insurance, seta forth facts showing that the parties were mistaken as to the effect of the language used, the averments are sufficient to authorize a reformation of the contract, although there is no direct allegation of a mistake of fact.The case was given to the jury without exception to the charge, in any matter which is presented to this court on the points made here. The legal positions laid down to the jury must be taken as the law of the case. They found for the plaintiff upon the questions of fact submitted tv them, and the defendant is bound by the verdict and the judgment thereon, unless during the trial there was some error made by the court, and which is brought up by the exceptions taken.
It is not to be denied that this phrase in a policy of fire insurance, viz., “ occupied as a dwelling,” is ordinarily a warranty by the insured that the building so described, and on which the risk is taken, is in fact, at the time of issuing the policy, a building occupied only as a dwelling-house. (Alexander v. Germania Fire Ins. Co., Ms., Ct. of Appeals,[2] citing Wall v. East River Ins. Co., 7 N. Y., 370 ; Parmalee v. Hoffman Fire Ins. Co., 54 id., 193.) If the plaintiff is to be held to the policy in this case as it is written, he has warranted that the building insured, was at the time of insurance occupied as a dwelling-house; and in that case, the facts undisputed, show that there has been a breach of the warranty.
It is claimed by the plaintiff that there is evidence in the case,. which relieves him from the pressure of this phrase in the contract, and from the consequences. It was shown upon the trial, to the satisfaction of the jury, that the plaintiff and the local agent of the defendants, when the latter filled out and issued the policy, knew that the building in question was, in fact, occupied otherwise than only as a dwelling house; that they both meant to insure the building in that other state
The defendants contend that this evidence was not admissible, and should have been stricken out on the motion'made by them to that end. If this action is to be tested as one purely at common law, it may be that this evidence could not be admitted to vary the contract. If the language used was ambiguous, or if it was used in some particular sense where susceptible of different meanings, paroi evidence might have been proper to show what was the meaning of the parties in its use; but where the terms employed have a settled legal construction, they may not be contradicted therein by paroi evidence. (Pindar v. Resolute Fire Ins. Co., 47 N. Y., 114 .) The plaintiff having taken the contract in the form of words in which it now appeal's, cannot, in an action at law vary its purport by paroi evidence and prove that it does not mean what it says.
But it was not necessarily in this view alone that the evidence was offered and might have been received. In the case of Pindar v. Resolute Fire Insurance Company (supra), it was said : If the insured was not content to submit to those conditions he should have rejected the policy. In effect this is saying that the insured must make himself master of the form and contents of his policy when he receives it; and if it is not to his liking, he must effect a change, either in that policy, or by getting one from another underwriter. IsTow if the insured is disposed, and makes effort to do this, and is prevented, or thrown off his guard and dissuaded therefrom, by the act or
Hor was it erroneous to receive the evidence, if it tended to make a case in equity, for a reformation of the policy. It was objected on the trial, that there was no allegation in the pleadings, that there was a mistake of fact, and that hence and because the plaintiff knew what the policy said when he received it, there was no case made for a reformation of the contract. The pleading of the plaintiff is inartificial in its statements, but it avers the existence of facts substantially as they afterwards appeared in evidence. There is no specific allegation of a mistake of fact; but it avers that which shows that the parties were mistaken as to the effect of the- language which they used; and this is an averment of matter upon which a reformation of a contract may be based. (Pitcher v. Hennessy, 48 N. Y., 415 .)
It is enough to authorize the reformation of a contract, if it appears that, through the mistake of both parties to it, the intentions of neither have been expressed in it. How if a
* 66 N. Y., 505 .
An action may be brought for a reformation of a contract, and for a recovery at the same time upon the contract when reformed (see New York Ice Co. v. N. W. Ins. Co., 23 N. Y., 357 ), and it is not irregular to try such action before a judge and jury. (Pitcher v. Hennessey, supra.)
When the plaintiff furnished to the defendant the preliminary proofs of loss, he asserted therein that the building was occupied as a dwelling-house and for no other purpose whatever. He made oath thereto. The ninth condition attached to the policy, is, among other things, that if there appear any “fraud or false swearing,” the insured shall forfeit all claims under it. It is plain from the testimony, that the matter thus asserted was not correct in fact. But was the making this statement, and the verification of it by oath, “false swecurvng,” within the meaning of that phrase, as used in the policy \ It is used there in association with the word “fraud" and must have a similar interpretation. The latter is any trick or artifice by one, to induce another to fall into, or remain in an error, to his harm. The former is a verified false assertion, which does deceive, or is fitted and likely to deceive, the one to whom it is made. But one may not be deceived by an assertion which, to his own knowledge, is false. The defendants, when the preliminary proofs were served upon them, had knowledge of the character and situation of the building. Their agents and their secretary knew; and that was knowledge in the defendants. They knew, too, that by the faim of words used in the policy, the insurer and the insured meant, not a building occupied exclusively as a dwelling-house, but one for the most or main part so used, and at the same time used in part as a grocery and saloon. It is not to be seen how the insurer was deceived or likely to be deceived, by the use of a form of words in the proofs of loss, applied to a building described by that same form of words in the policy. The words in the policy, when charged with the meaning given to them by the parties using
Another point is made by the defendant, viz.: That if the policy is taken as reformed, and made by a change of its terms, to express the. real contract between the parties, then there have been no proofs of loss furnished by the plaintiff This is not tenable. It is rather plausible than real. The plaintiff did furnish to the defendant a paper which, it must be conceded, was in some sort a proof of loss. It was furnished under the contract for insurance, which was really entered into between the parties. A reformation of the form of the contract would not change the contract. It would only make it in written shape what it was in fact, and what each party knew it to be in fact. When the plaintiff gave to the defendant his proofs of loss, he gave, and it received, under that contract, which was the contract as they knew it always to have been. The subsequent change of the written form of the contract, as it did not make another contract in fact, so it did not make another contract requiring new or further proofs of loss. Knowing what the contract really was, the defendant received the proof of loss under it, and, if it was defective in form or matter, should have returned it, pointing out the defect. Hot having done so the defendant may not now object to it.
This disposes of all the points raised by the defendants in this court, and of all the exceptions taken upon the trial and here relied upon. The case was not given to the jury, in precisely the view of it which we have taken. But there was no exception by the defendants to the charge. If there was error in it, it is not brought to our attention.
The defendants having failed to show any error by the points made here upon the exceptions taken on the trial, the judgment appealed from should be affirmed.
Judgment affirmed.
Footnotes
- * 66 N. Y., 464 .