Majority
Headnote
A policy of fire insurance contained a condition, that “if a building is insured that is on leased land, the same must be specifically represented to the company and expressed in this policy in writing; otherwise the insurance shall be void.” A building insured was on leased land, and this fact was not expressed in the policy; it was known, however, to defendant’s agent, to whom application for the policy was made. In an action upon the policy, held (Allen, Bapallo and Earl, JJ., dissenting), that, as the knowledge of the agent was the knowledge of the defendant, his principal, when it accepted the risk, it had information that the building stood upon leased ground; that it was to be presumed that defendant had overlooked the condition, and so had forgotten to express the fact in the policy, or that it waived the condition or held itself estopped from setting it up; as to presume otherwise, would be to impute to defendant a fraudulent intent in issuing a policy known by it to be invalid.This was an' action upon a policy of fire insurance. It contained this condition: “ Any interest in property insured not absolute, or that is less than a perfect title, or if a building is insured that is on leased ground, the
We must first inquire, whether the plaintiff is right as to the fact of the prior knowledge of the defendant that the building was upon leased ground. It is shown that at a time previous to the issuing of this policy, the facts in relation to the title of the property, just as they were (that the land was owned by one person, and the building by another, and the contract between them), were told to one Lewis, an insurance agent. This Lewis, when the policy in suit was issued, having this information, and with a view to this insurance, asked if there was any change in the property, and was told that there was not. So that at the time of the issuing of this policy, Lewis was informed of the fact, that this building was within the scope of this condition. It is now to learn, if Lewis was the agent or substantially so of the defendant. It is shown that one Doolittle was the commissioned and ostensible agent of the defendant, but that Leyris and he were in partnership in the business of soliciting and procuring insurance; that Lewis did with assent of Doolittle so act as to this defendant; that such action was known to defendant and not disapproved of by it; that a joint commission had for some time been promised by the defendant to those two as its agents, which was delayed, but finally issued before the delivery of this policy; (Bodine v. Exchange F. Ins. Co., 51 N. Y., 117 .) We think that the facts bring the case within
And so again comes up, the oft-recurring and still vexed question, between insurance companies and their policyholders ; whether a fact, thoroughly well known and comprehended by both sides to the contract before it is delivered, may, by force of some condition, crouched unseen in the jungle of printed matter with which a modern policy is overgrown, make a defence for the company, after the catastrophe and damage has happened against which it professes to guard. It is to be confessed, that the decisions in this State, do not, upon a cursory perusal at least, seem strictly in harmony, in regard to it. There are cases which hold that where an application is made a part of the policy by the terms of it, and some false assertion has been inserted in the application by the agent, when the truth has been at the same time well known to him, that the insured shall not be prejudiced thereby; (Rowley v. The Empire Ins. Co., 3 Keyes, 557; Plumb v. Catt. Ins. Co., 18 N. Y., 392 ; Ames v. N. Y. Ins. Co., 14 N. Y., 253 .) There are others, where the fact fell within the condemnation of some condition of the policy; yet as the fact as it existed, was known to the company, it was held to be estopped from setting up the condition against a recovery; (14 N. Y., supra; Bidwell v. N. W. Ins. Co., 24 id., 302 ; Bodine v. Exchange Ins. Co., 51 id., 117.) There are others, in which there was a suit in equity, seeking a reformation of the contract, and it was held that the facts showed unmistakably, that the parties never meant to enter into a contract with
There is no doubt but that, ordinarily considered, this condition in the policy, was a warranty that the building did not stand upon leased land; and that the truth of that warranty became a condition precedent to any liability on the part of the defendant. Yet, there is no doubt, too, that a condition in a policy may be waived by the insurer, or, as some cases put it, he be estopped from setting it up, and that such result may be worked by parol, or by act without words. It has been held over and over, that the customary clause in a policy, that it will not be binding upon the insurer until the premium is paid in fact, may be waived by parol, or by act, and the policy may be delivered and become a binding contract upon the insurer, without payment in hand of the premium; (Trustees, etc., v. Br. Ins. Company, 19 N. Y., 305 ; Sheldon v. Atlantic F. Ins. Co., 26 id., 460; Wood v. Po. Ins. Co., 32 id., 619; Boehen v. Wms. B. City Ins. Co., 35 id., 131; Bodine v. Ins. Co., 51 id., 117.) As to other waivers, see Ludwig v. Jersey City Insurance Company ( 48 N. Y., 384 ), and cases there
There are other conditions precedent which may be waived. Thus, in Myers v. Life Insurance Company ( 27 Penn. St., 268 ), it is said that the countersigning by the agents is under some circumstances not essential, though required by condition. The ground there stated is, that on an equitable interpretation of the whole contract, it may become the duty of the court to dispense with a portion of the forms of the contract, if it can find any reliable substitute for them; on the principle that cures defective execution of powers, where
This case is to be distinguished from that of Pindar ( 47 N. Y., 114 ). There, Pindar asked a policy in a certain form of words. The insurer issued it to him in a different form,, and in such form as would not cover certain classes of goods, and as, by the presence of those classes in the store, rendered the whole policy void. It was not proposed to show, that the insurer knew that the very class of goods on which insurance was sought, was in the store, and that the policy was delivered with the purpose to insure that class, and with the mutual understanding, that by the policy it was insured. Hence that case differs from this, and it was properly held that Pindar was bound by his contract. In Rohrbach’s Case (supra), the decision went upon the effect of a peculiar clause in the policy, and in that fact is quite different from this. Chase v. Hamilton Insurance Company ( 20 N. Y., 52 ) is put upon a ground, very like that in RohrbaeKs Case ; that it was printed in the application, that the company would not be bound by knowledge of the agent, and that the company could not be held thereby, unless there was fraud, or prevention of the application from making a true
It is difficult to make all the cases upon this subject harmonize ; but by the force of authority, we are constrained to hold, that such a condition as this may be waived by the insurer, by express words to that effect, or by acts done under such circumstances, as would otherwise impute a fraudulent purpose, and as will estop him from setting up the condition against the insured.
There is another defence relied upon by the defendant. It arises in this wise: When the defendant decided upon taking the risk, it was with this condition, that the plaintiff would agree to keep a certain quantity of water in the building and under conditions to keep it from freezing, and that this was made known to the plaintiff at or before the issuing of the policy.
The facts of the case do not sustain this ground of defence. Though the defendants put upon their agents the duty of affixing to the contract, the requirement that water should be kept standing in the building; there is no proof that it
We, therefore, conclude that the judgment appealed from should be affirmed.
Church, Ch. J., Andrews and Miller, JJ., concur; Allen, Rapallo and Earl, JJ., dissent.
Judgment affirmed.
Cases cited
- Ripley v. Ætna Insurance 30 N. Y. 136 p. 439