Majority
Headnote
Fire insurance. — Warranty.The questions in this case arise q-79 i -* upon a bill of exceptions. The only point which it seems to me material to notice, is the ruling of the judge, that the description in the policy, of the premises containing the property insured, was not a warranty that the building was occupied as a storehouse only. The insurance was “ $2000 on plaintiffs’ stock as rope-manufacturers, their own or held by them in trust or on commission, contained in the brick building, with tin roof, occupied as a storehouse, situated on the northerly side of, and about forty-two feet distant from, their ropewalk, at Bushwick, L. I.”
I know of no principle of construction applicable to
As to what constitutes a warranty in a contract of insurance, the rule is well stated by Sherman, J., in Wood v. Hartford Fire Insurance Co. ( 13 Conn. 544 ): "Any statement or description, on the face of the policy, which relates to the risk, is a warranty.” In the case before us, the identity of the building which contained the property insured was distinctly ascertained by other facts of the description, and the terms “occupied as a storehouse” are not only in themselves fitly chosen to express a fact relating to the risk, but cannot be regarded as employed for any other purpose. The warranty is, in terms, that the building was occupied as a storehouse. According to O’Neil v. Buffalo Insurance Co. ( 3 N. Y. 122 ), this relates to the date of the policy, and does not impose any obligation that such occupation should be continued during the continuance of the risk.
1 On a second trial, the plaintiff was nonsuited. 3 Duer 264 . The supreme court of Pennsylvania, however, has decided that the description of a building as a “ storehouse,” is not a warranty. Franklin Fire Insurance Co. v. Brock, 57 Penn. St. 74 .
In Shaw v. Roberts (6 Ad. & E. 75), the description in the policy was, “ on a granary and a kiln for drying corn for use;” on one occasion, the owner allowed oak bark, accidentally wetted, to be dried in the kiln, gratuitously; the fire was caused by drying the bark. Lord Denman in pronouncing judgment, after mentioning Dobson v. Sotheby (1 Moo. & M. 90), to the same point, says — “ No clause in this policy amounts to *an ^ ^ express warranty that nothing but corn should *- ever be dried in the kiln.” In Dobson v. Sotheby, the premises required tarring, and a fire was lighted inside, and a tar-barrel brought into the building for that purpose ; by a servant’s negligence, the tar boiled over and fired the building. It was contended, that lighting a fire within the building, was a contravention of the terms of the policy, which required that no fire should be kept in
Catlin v. Springfield Insurance Co. ( 1 Sumn. 434 ) holds, that the words “ at present occupied as a dwelling-house, but to be occupied hereafter as a tavern,” do not constitute a warranty that the house should, during the continuance of the risk, be constantly occupied as a tavern, and the insurers were held liable, though the house, at the time of the fire, had ceased to be occupied at all. In Billings v. Toland Insurance Co. ( 20 Conn. 139 ), the policy stated that “ all the above barns are used for hay, straw, grain unthrashed, stabling and shelter, including one used in part as a barn, and in part as a cider and threshing-mill.” On the day before the night of the fire, the plaintiff had put about two bushels of lime and six or eight pails of water in a tub, in one of the barns, for the purpose of preparing the lime to roll seed wheat in it. He had also been having.his house painted, and the painter had mixed his paints in the same room, and at the time of the fire, there were in it an oil-barrel, containing about a gallon of oil, a keg of white lead, and a pot with about a pint of mixed paint. It was claimed, that upon these facts, the warranty in the policy was broken, but the court charged the jury, that if the bam and cider-mill were only put to the common uses of such buildings, the policy remained in force; that a single act or so, which did not belong to the ordinary, common and appropriate use of the buildings, would not change their nature nor prevent a recovery, unless such acts * Q7fi i were fraudulent *or grossly careless, and if the ‘ -I latter were also the cause of the loss. The court hold that, at most, the expressions in the policy are a
Dissent
I have thus examined all the cases to which we have been referred as decisive that the expressions in this policy do not amount to a warranty that the building burned was occupied as a storehouse, and not otherwise, when the policy was effected, and not one of them even favors that view of the question. We entertain no doubt, that this is the true interpretation of the contract, and as the court below refused so to instruct the. jury, the judgment must be reversed, and a new trial ordered.
(Dissenting.) — The insurance was on the plaintiffs’ “stock as rope-manufacturers, &c., contained in the brick building, with tin roof, occupied as a storehouse, situated on the northerly side of, and about forty-two feet from, the ropewalk at Bushwick, L. I.” It is contended, that this amounted, to a warranty on the part of the plaintiffs, that the building in which the property insured was situated, was a storehouse strictly and simply, and that it was used, and was and should be occupied as such, and for no other ^purpose. But it r ^ seems to me quite clear, that the clause referred *- to did not constitute a warranty to the extent contended for. In a subsequent portion of the policy, it is pro
Under the head of “ specially hazardous” is mentioned the business of “ ropemakers,” and the defendants contend, that the evidence shows the condition in that respect to have been violated by the plaintiffs. The building contained four stories; the basement and story next above were used for storing hemp and nothing else. The third story was used for a jenny-house, where hemp was spun into yarn for the purpose of being manufactured into ropes, and the fourth story or attic was used for hackling the hemp and preparing it for the jennies. Did that constitute ropemaking or carrying on the trade of ropemakers ? It seems to me, it did not. The yarn might be spun there, and sent anywhere else to be manufactured into ropes. It was never in fact made into ropes in that building, but was uniformly sent to the plaintiffs’ ropewalks near by, to be thus manufactured. This was a distinct business, as really so as was the raising and gathering of the hemp; or as manufacturing shoes and boots *would be a dis- r ^ tinct business from tanning and manufacturing *- ' leather. Evidence of usage was given on this question, which was fairly submitted to the jury, and the propriety of their verdict upon the evidence cannot be reviewed by this court. I think, the judgment should be affirmed.
Judgment reversed, and new trial awarded.[1]
Cases cited
- Wall v. Howard Insurance 14 Barb. 383 p. 370
- Fowler v. Ætna Fire Insurance Co. 6 Cow. 673 p. 372
- Fowler v. Ætna Fire Insurance 7 Wend. 270 p. 372
- O'Niel v. Buffalo Fire Insurance 3 N. Y. 122 p. 372
- Gates v. Madison County Mutual Insurance 3 Barb. 73 p. 374