Majority
Headnote
By Ms applications for policies of life insurance D. warranted that he was then in good health and of sound body, that he usually enjoyed good health, and that he had not during seven years previous had any severe disease. D. died within three years after the last application was made. Upon the trial of an action upon the policies issued upon such application it appeared that the death of the insured was caused by nervous apoplexy. Defendant then offered to prove what causes produce that disease; also, that death thereby is the result of some disease or diseases of long standing; not from any sudden cause; this was objected to and rejected. Held, error; that the evidence rejected was competent as bearing upon the-warranties.This action is upon two policies of insurance issued by the defendant upon the life of Wilbur F. Diefcndorf and by him assigned to the plaintiffs. One policy is
In each application there is a question whether the assured had ever had the disease of rheumatism or of the urinary organs. In the first application the question is answered : “ Had attack of rheumatism years ago ; ” and in the second it is answered: “No.” Each application contains the following question : “ Has the party had inflammatory rheumatism ? If so, when and how often ? ” In the first application this is answered as follows r “ Once, years ago, bad.” In the second it is answered: “ No.” Each application contains this question : “Is the party subject to dyspepsia, dysentery or diarrhea ? ” and it is answered : “No.” Each application contains the following : “ Has the party had during the last seven years any severe sickness or disease ? If so, state the particulars and the name of the attending physician, or who
The action was defended upon the ground that some of the statements contained in the application were untrue and fraudulent. The defendant was, therefore, entitled to give any competent evidence it could showing or tending to show that any of such statements were either untrue or fraudulent: (Foot v. Ætna Life Ins. Co., 61 N. Y., 571 .)
During the progress of the trial several rulings upon questions of evidence were made which are now complained of as erroneous ; and these must first be noticed.
Dr. Picot was the physician who attended Diefendorf in his last illness in 1871, when ho died ; and he certified and testified that his death was caused by nervous apoplexy. He was then asked this question: “State what causes will produce that ? ” This was objected to on the part of the plaintiffs as immaterial, and the objection was sustained. Subsequently Dr. Swart, a physician of many years practice, was called by the defendant and testified that he was very familiar with the disease called nervous apoplexy, and that he knew what the authorities say about it. He was then asked this question: “ State to the jury what it (the disease) is ? ” The plaintiffs objected to this, and the objection was sustained. Defendant’s counsel then offered to show by the witness “ that death by nervous apoplexy is the result of some disease or diseases of long standing, and not from any sudden cause.” This evidence was also objected to and excluded. The evidence excluded by these rulings should have
Dr. Eastman was called as a witness for the defendant, and testified that his acquaintance with the assured commenced in the winter of 1862 and continued to the time of his death ; that he saw him almost daily during that winter ; and that he treated him professionally during the following spring and summer, prescribing for him frequently, and then ceased to attend him professionally or to be consulted by him. After that, to the time of his death, he continued to see him frequently as he met him in the street and other places. He testified that he did not appear like a well man; that he was sick, weak, had the appearance of debility ; that his step was slow and languid, and his voice was low and feeble; that he appeared like a feeble man, a man out of health; that at times he appeared better, and at other times worse, and that on the whole his progress was downward, to the time of his death; and that from time to time he discovered erruptions and pimples upon his face, which he described. He was asked this question: “ Was he cured when he left your hands?” This was objected to by the plaintiffs and excluded. The following-questions were also put, objected to and excluded : “ In the month of May, 1867, in your opinion was Wilbur F. Diefendorf a man in good health and of sound body, and one who usually enjoyed good health ? ” “ Excluding any knowledge or information that you obtained while treating Biefendorf, and judging from his appearance from that time until 1867, what is your opinion as to whether he was a man in good health, of sound body, and a man who usually enjoyed good health ? ” It cannot be doubted that these
The rule excluding such evidence depends entirely upon this statute. It did not exist at common law : (1 Phillips on Ev., 164; Duchess of Kingston’s Case, 20 How. St. Tr„, 613.) It should not, therefore, be made broader by construction than the language of the statute plainly requires ; and in applying the statute, the purpose of its enactment should be kept in view ; and that was tersely expressed by the revisers, in a note to the section, as follows: “The ground on which communications to counsel are privileged, is the supposed necessity of a full knowledge of the facts, to advise correctly, and to prepare for the próper defense or prosecution of a suit. But surely the necessity of consulting a medical adviser, when life itself may be in jeopardy, is still stronger. And unless such consultations are privileged, men will be incidentally punished-by being obliged to suffer the consequences of injuries without relief from the medical art, and without conviction of any offence. - Besides, in such cases, during the struggle between legal duty on the one hand, and professional honor on the other, the latter, aided by a strong sense of the injustice and inhumanity of the rule, will, in most cases, furnish a temptation to the perversion or concealment of truth, too strong for human resistance.” Before information can be excluded under this statute, it must appear that it was such as the physician acquired in some way while professionally attending a patient; and it must also be such as was necessary to enable him to prescribe as a physician, or to do some act as a surgeon. It is not sufficient to authorize the exclusion that the physician
Now as to the first of the three questions above stated, it is necessarily inferable from the evidence that the witness attended the assured for some disease. But it does not appear that he discovered that disease or learned its nature while attending him professionally. He saw him frequently before he attended him, and saw him after he ceased to attend him ; and the court could not say that he could not answer without disclosing the necessary information which he had obtained while in professional attendance upon him. So far as appears in the evidence, he was competent to tell whether he was cured of any disease with which he had been affected.
As to the second of the questions, the same observations are appropriate. How could the court know, without a particle of evidence, that it could not be answered without violating the statute ? The witness, during several years when not in attendance upon the assured professionally, had seen him daily or weekly, and was well acquainted with his physical appearance; and the trial court could not say, and we cannot say that he could not answer the question from information thus acquired. But even if in answering the question he would have to use or disclose information he acquired ■ while attending him, how can we upon the evidence say that such information was necessary to enable him to make his prescriptions ?
There is still less reason for upholding the ruling as to the third question; because that in terms excluded all knowledge or information obtained while the witness was engaged in professionally treating the assured.
■ It will not do to extend the rule of exclusion so far as to embarrass the administration of justice. It is not even all information which comes within the letter of the statute which is to be excluded. The exclusion is aimed at confidential communications of a patient to his physician, and also such information as a physician may acquire of secret ailments by an examination of the person of his patient-The policy of the statute is to enable a patient, without danger of exposure, to disclose to his physician all information necessary for his treatment. Its purpose is to invite confidence and to prevent a breach thereof. Suppose a patient has a fever, or a fractured leg or skull, or is a raving maniac, and these ailments are obvious to all about him, may not the physician who is called to attend him testify to these matters ? In doing so, there would be no breach of confidence, and the policy of the statute would not be invaded. These and other cases Avhich might be supposed, while perhaps Avithin the letter of the statute, would not be within the reason thereof. Oesscmte ratione legis, eessat et ipsa lex. Therefore before information sought to be obtained from physicians as Avitnesses can be excluded, the court must lmoAV somewhat of the circumstances under Avkich it Avas acquired, and must be able to see that it is Avithin both the language and the policy of the law.
Another error of still more vital importance Avas committed. In 1863, one Windsor was the agent at Geneva of the Mutual Benefit Insurance Company of Newark, New Jersey. Diefendorf applied to him as such agent for a policy upon his life in such company. The agent told him that he-did not think the company would take him. In a feAV days he applied to the agent again, Avken he was furnished by him
We think the nonsuit should have been granted. This evidence shows beyond question that application for insurance in the Hew Jersey, company had been made, and that it had not been successful. Windsor was agent of that company to receive such applications. When the application ivas delivered to him it was delivered to the company, and Diefendorf had done all he could do or Avas required to do to place himself in the attitude of an applicant for insurance. In forAvarding the application to the office of the company, Windsor Avould act not as his agent, but as agent for the company. The medical examination Avas no part of the application. That was something to be done after the appli
The judgment must therefore be reversed and new trial granted, costs to abide event.
Church, Ch. J., Rapadlo and Miller, JJ., concur in result oil ground that rulings on questions of evidence referred to in opinion were erroneous ; Folger, J., took no part; Danforth, J., having been counsel took no part; Andrews, J., absent.
Judgment reversed.