Majority
Headnote
Defendant issued a policy of insurance, dated October 12, 1872, on the life of M., which contained a condition to the effect that if a note, other than the regular premium note, should be given for a portion of the premium, and if said note should not be paid “ strictly in accordance with the provisions thereof” the policy would immediately become void; also, that no agent of the company, except its president or secretary, could waive or alter “any condition of the policy or of any such note.” The insured, aside from the regular premium note, which was for §234, gave a note for §176, for a portion of the premium, payable six months from date, which stated for what it was given, and that the policy would immediately, become void if the note was not paid at maturity. The i^olicy was procured by M. through one R., who was agent for several insurance companies, other than defendant. "When he had a larger amount of proposed insurance than he could place in his own companies he had occasionally applied to defendant, through its general, agents in Hew York, delivering to them the application and receiving the policy and receipts for premiums. R. collected the annual premiums on such policies, and accounted to said general agents. The policy in question was obtained in this manner. R. wrote on the margin of the application his name, adding thereto “general agent.” It was not claimed that, he w«s general agent of the defendant, or that M. understood him to so be. .At the time the two notes were given by M., he delivered to R. another note for §640, payable to the order of R., with collaterals, which note R. procured to be discountedj he delivered to defendThis is an action upon a policy of insurance issued by the defendant to William N. Marcus upon his own
The annual premium was $586, and the first annual premium was paid as follows : $176 in cash; a premium note for $234, payable twelve months after date to the order of the defendant, which embodied the following : “ And it is an express condition of the acceptance óf this note by the said company, in part payment of the annual premium for policy No. 42,666, which condition is fully agreed to by the assured and the promissor herein, that such acceptance shall in no wise affect the condition in said policy that the nonpayment of any other portion of said annual premium, or the
At the date of the policy, and prior and subsequent thereto, the plaintiff was in the service of Marcus as his housekeeper, and on the 22d day of ¡November, 1872, in consideration of her services he assigned the policy to her, the defendant consenting thereto, “ subject to all the provisions and conditions of the policy.”
Marcus died October 26, 1873, and neither he nor the plaintiff paid either of the two notes or any interest on either of them, or any more premium. The referee held that the policy became forfeited and void by the non-payment of the cash note in April, 1873, when it fell due, and on that ground defeated the plaintiff. The General Term reversed the judgment entered upon the report of the referee, both upon the law and the facts. Hence upon this review we must consider both-questions of fact and law to the same extent that they were proper to be considered at the General Term.
We will first consider whether there could have been any recovéry upon this policy if it had not been assigned, and then whether the plaintiff occupied by virtue of the assignment and her acts subsequent thereto any better position than the personal representatives of Marcus would have occupied. This policy was obtained for Marcus of the defendant by James' A. Rhodes. The claim of the plaintiff is that Rhodes was in some sense the assent of the defendant, and that at the time the two notes (the premium note and the cash note) were given by Marcus, he made provision for
On the margin of the application Rhodes wrote his name, adding thereto “ general agent.” But there is no pretense that he was in fact general agent of the defendant, or that Marcus understood him to be. He styled himself a general insurance agent, as his business was a general life insurance agency, for several companies. As to the defendant, his relation was substantially that of an insurance broker. He was not in any proper sense its agent, and in procuring this policy he acted, mainly at least, as agent of Marcus. It is true that one witness, Stevens, testified that he was a sub-agent under Judd & Blauvelt; but four other witnesses equally cognizant of the facts, two of whom were Judd & Blauvelt, testified that he was not a sub-agent, but that in procuring policies from the defendant he acted as an insurance broker, and then1 evidence is entitled as matter of fact to the most weight. As broker he acted to some extent for both parties — for Marcus to obtain the policy, for the defendant to deliver it and to return to it the two notes and the balance of the premium in cash. He certainly had no other apparent or real authority from the defendant as to this policy. When the policy was delivered and the premium thus arranged, his authority as to the defendant was at an end, and he could do nothing more for it without fresh or further authority. He certainly had no authority to
Therefore, in any view that I can take of the facts of this case, this policy became void by the non-payment of the cash note, unless the plaintiff, by the assignment of the policy to her, and by what she did thereafter, is in some way relieved from the consequences of such non-payment.
The policy acknowledges the receipt of the payment of the first premium, and the plaintiff claims that she relied upon this, and thus omitted to prosecute inquiries and to make payments, as she otherwise would, and hence that the defendant should be estopped from denying the payment, and she cites, to uphold this claim, The Continental Nat. Bank v. The Nat. Bank of Commonwealth ( 50 N. Y., 575 ); Voorhis v. Olmstead ( 66 N. Y., 113 ), and other cases. But she had no right to rely upon this acknowledgment. It was not acknowledged that the payment had been made in cash, and the policy itself, as is seen by one of the conditions above set out, shows that payment of premiums might, in part .at least, be made in notes and were expected so to be made, and that when so made, the policy would become void, unless the notes were paid at maturity. Hence she had no right to rest in'the belief that the first premium had been paid in cash. By the assignment she simply took the place of Marcus as the owner of the policy, and she took it subject to all the conditions which he was required to keep and perform, one of which was to pay this note. When the defendant consented to the assignment in November, 1872,
I have also looked into the case to see if the forfeiture was waived by the defendant, and I can find .nothing from which it can justly be inferred that it was waived. It does not appear that such waiver was claimed at the trial, or that the case was in any respect tried upon the theory of a waiver of that forfeiture. There was no finding or request to find in reference to it by the referee, I infer that such a claim was not made at the General Term, as it was not 0 noticed in the only opinion there written, and it was not noticed nor presented upon the argument here. Upon the assumption that the note was not paid, the only answer wMch the plaintiff has thus far attempted to make to the forfeiture is that the defendant is estopped by consenting to the assignment of the policy with the acknowledgment of payment written therein. But I will give brief attention to the facts bearing upon this point. The cash note was left in the hands of defendant's agents in Hew York. The chief office of the company was at Boston. The note fell due in April, and from that time until the ninth day of October thereafter there was no communication whatever between Uie plaintiff and defendant, and no transactions whatever between them in reference to the note or the policy. Although the plaintiff and her brother testified that it was before that day, I am convinced by the circumstances and the evidence that it was on that day that she took her policy to Reynolds, the local agent of the defendant at Philadelphia, and requested him to have it changed, so that she could pay the annual premiums quarterly instead of annually, as provided in the policy; and she desired an arrangement by which she could make the payments in Philadelphia instead
Nor can a waiver be inferred from the mere retention of the note by the defendant. It was not bound to do anything to make the forfeiture complete. It was not bound to seek out the plaintiff and surrender the note to her after the nonpayment thereof. Even if it was bound upon demand to deliver up the note, it certainly was not bound to do so until demanded: (Riehner v. The Knickerbocker Life Ins. Co., 63 N. Y., 160 .)
Upon the point last discussed, the case of Prentice v. The Knickerbocker Life Ins. Co.[1] is not an authority. There the policy contained a condition that full proof of the death should be presented within twelve months after the death, or the claim under the policy would be forfeited. In that case the proof was not made until after the twelve months, and forfeiture was claimed by the company. The policy was dated August, 1867, and was upon the life of one Mitchell. On the 9th day of December, 1867, with the assent of the company, the policy was assigned to Prentice, and thereafter he paid the annual premiums. About the 1st day of July, 1872, Prentice, being about to go to Europe, paid to the general agent of the company in advance the premium to fall due August tenth thereafter. At the interview then had with the agent, Prentice raised the question as to the position of the parties in case the insured should die before the premium became due. The agent replied that the company had agents who would know of the death before he could, and that in any case, if he advanced the money, it would be returned, “ and that there was no trouble at all in regard to that whole thing.” Prentice returned from
* 77 N. Y., 483 .
After the witness Stevens, who was, in October, 1872, a clerk in the office of Ehodes, had testified that he had no personal knowledge that Eliodcs had procured the discomit of the note for $640, that he did not know when it was discounted, and that all he knew about the discount was what Ehodes told him, he was asked the following question by plaintiff’s counsel: “Do you know what disposition Mr. Ehodes made of the proceeds of note and collaterals left with him by Marcus ? ” Defendant’s counsel objected to this as irrelevant and immaterial, and the objection was sustained. This ruling is now complained of as error. There was no pretense that these proceeds in any way reached the defendant, or that they were applied upon these notes, and the purpose of this question is not apparent. It is
After the same witness had stated that Marcus made provision with Ehodes for the payment of the two notes, he was asked this question : “ State what it Avas, and Avhat was done ? ” He ausAveved : “ Mr. Marcus gave' a note for 640 odd dollars.” Defendant’s counsel then -moved to strike out the words “ 640 odd dollars,” on the ground that it called for the contents of a written instrument, and the motion Avas granted. No harm was done by this ruling in any aspect of the case, as the same Avitness was subsequently permitted to describe the note as one for $640. Besides, if we are right in holding that Ehodes did not act for or bind the defendant in taking the note, the evidence as to its amount, and what Ehodes did with it or its proceeds, was Avholly immaterial.
We are satisfied, therefore, that no error was committed by the referee. This is a case where the defendant is justified in standing upon the strict letter of its contract, and demanding that the plaintiff shall make out her case Avith reasonable clearness. There are not here the features of hardship and injustice which frequently attend forfeitures of insurance policies. For a payment of only $176, the ' defendant is sought to be made liable for $10,000 to a person Avho has really parted Avith nothing for the policy. There certainly should be no strained construction of the contract or of the facts, to enforce the liability.
The order of the General Term should be reversed, and judgment upon the report of the referee affirmed, with costs.
All concur, except Danforth, J., dissenting.
Order reversed and judgment affirmed.