Majority
Headnote
Before different policies of fire insurance can be held to contribute to the same loss, the insurance must have been upon the same interest in the same property or some part thereof.At the time of the transactions out of which this litigation grew, George C. Bichardson & Co. were commission merchants carrying on a large business in the city of Mew York, having no merchandise of their own in their warehouse. Among their largest consignors were the Everitt mills, the Boot mills, the Lewiston mills, the Granite State mills and the Lowell Manufacturing Company, the plaintiff, all Mew England companies. The value of goods consigned for these companies respectively were, at the time in question, as follows:
For the Everitt mills........ $15,399 92
“ “ Boot mills.............. 13,122 39
“ “ Lewiston mills......... 21,683 17
“ “ Granite State mills.................... 10,715 44
“ “ Lowell Manufacturing Co., the plaintiff.. 113,287 13
$174,208 05
They procured insurance as follows: (1) By three general policies in the aggregate to the amount of $30,000 in their name “ on merchandise, their own, or held by them in trust or on commission, or sold but not delivered,” contained in their warehouse; (2) by three policies in the aggregate amount of $30,000 in their name “on merchandise contained in their warehouse, attaching first to property belonging to the Everitt mills, then attaching to their own property or property held by them in trust or on commission, but to the two latter only to the amount for which they, as agents, may be liable to their principals and to cover advances on the same, both or either and to attach to goods sold but not removed from store; ” (3) insurance to the amount of $12,500 in one policy in their name, in form precisely like those last stated, except that it was made to attach first to property belonging to the Boot mills; (4) insurance to the amount of $65,000 by five policies, all in their name, and in form entirely like the last stated, except that the policies were severally made to .attach first to property belonging to the Lowell Manufacturing Company, the plaintiff; and (5) insurance to the amount of $25,000 by four policies, all in the name of the plaintiff, “on carpets, their own, or held by them in trust or on commission, or sold but not delivered,” contained in the warehouse of George C. Richardson & Go. One of these four policies was for $5,000, issued by the defendant, and that is the policy sued on in this action. All the policies contained the following provision: “ In case of any other insurance upon the property hereby insured, whether valid or not, or made prior or subsequent to the date of this policy, the assured shall be entitled to recover of this company no greater proportion of the loss sus
On the 28th day of January, 1878, while all the sixteen policies of insurance were in force, a fire occurred in the warehouse of the consignees by which losses were sustained on the con-
signed property as follows:
On that of the Everitt mills..'.................. $1,971 71
“ “ Boot mills ............................ 1,718 77
“ “ Granite State mills and Lewiston mills together .............................. 9,091 26
“ “ Lowell Manufacturing Company, the plaintiff ................................. 83,677 38
$96,454 12
There is no controversy as to the amount of plaintiff’s loss and no dispute that it is entitled to be indemnified by the insurances actually made for its benefit; but the sole controversy between the parties has reference to the question of contribution between the insurance companies. The plaintiff claims that contribution to its loss should be made only by the nine companies last above mentioned in the policies of which it is particularly named. The defendant claims that contribution should be made by all the sixteen companies.
It is well to consider first how this controversy will stand upon the face of these policies and the facts already alluded to which, it is conceded by both parties, may be considered in the
It only remains to be determined whether the three general policies mentioned in the first class were contributing policies; and clearly upon their face and upon the facts already alluded to they were. They were general policies covering all merchandise held by the consignees in trust or on commission, and that language was sufficient to cover plaintiff’s merchandise
If the facts thus- stated were properly proved and are to be considered in the construction of the policies, then I do not understand that it is disputed that the three general policies did not attach to plaintiff’s property, and hence that they cannot be held to be contributing policies.
But the contention on the part of the defendant is, that paroi evidence could not be received to vary or affect the con
But these general policies were not contracts between the parties to this action, and the wholesome rule above referred to applies only in -suits between the parties to the written instruments. In Lee v. Adsit, 37 N. Y. 78 , it is said that “ the rule that paroi extrinsic evidence shall not be received to contradict or vary a contract which is in writing, applies only in contro•versies between the parties, promisor and promisee, in such contract,” and that “ the writing is not conclusive as between one of the contracting parties and a third person; ” and in McMaster v. The Insurance Co. of N. A. ( 55 N. Y. 222 ), it was held that “ the rule that paroi testimony may not be given to contradict a written contract, applies only in suits between the parties to it or their privies. In a contention between a party to an instrument and a stranger, either can give paroi testimony differing from the contents of the instrument.”
Here, neither of these parties was a party to these general policies, and it was competent to show by the extrinsic facts that they were not taken out for the benefit of the plaintiff, and that they did not, in fact, attach to or cover its property.
We are also inclined to think that the proof of these extrinsic facts, to apply the general policies to the property actually intended to be covered by them, could be justified upon other grounds, but. we have said enough to show that, upon the proofs properly received by the referee, the general policies cannot be held as contributing policies, and that the referee did not err in holding that the nine policies only were bound to contribute to plaintiff’s loss.
The judgment should be affirmed, with costs.
.All concur.
Judgment aifirmed. •
Cases cited
- Stillwell v. Staples 19 N. Y. 401 at 405, 406 p. 594
- Harvey v. Cherry 76 N. Y. 436 p. 594
- Clinton v. Hope Insurance 45 N. Y. 454 at 460 p. 594
- Home Insurance v. Baltimore Warehouse Co. 93 U. S. 527 p. 597
- McMaster v. President of Insurance Co. of North America 55 N. Y. 222 p. 599