Majority
Headnote
Defendant issued a policy of fire insurance, which limited the time for bringing an action upon it to a “ term of twelve months next after the loss or damage shall occur.” A loss was not payable under it until sixty days after the proofs required by it “ shall have been received at the office of the company in New York, and the loss shall have been satisfactorily ascertained and proved.” In an action upon the policy, held, that the period of limitation prescribed did not commence to run until a loss became due and payable, and the right to bring an action had accrued; and so, that an action brought within twelve months after the expiration of sixty days from the time of the loss was not barred by the limitation.On the 25th of October, 1873, the defendant by its policy in writing undertook to insure James F. Atkins, for the period of three years thereafter, against loss or damage by fire, to the amount of $1,000 on his dwelling-house, described as “ occupied by a tenant for farm dwelling,” but, immediately following these words, there was, on the 7th of January, 1875, written into the policy by the agents, who had by countersign
First. The contract limits the time for bringing an action under or by virtue of the policy, to a “ term of twelve months next after the loss or damage shall occur,” and declares that “ in case any such suit or action shall be commenced, * * * after the expiration of twelve months next after such loss or damage shall have occurred, the lapse of time shall be taken and deemed conclusive evidence against the validity of. the claim thereby so attempted to be enforced, any statute of limitation to the contrary notwithstanding.” The validity of such a stipulation is well settled (Wilkinson v. First National Fire Ins. Co., 72 N. Y. 499 ; 28 Am. Rep. 166 ; May on Insurance, § 478), and in this case the question is one of construction. What was the intention or understanding of the parties as to the time when the limitation should begin to run ? The facts are undisputed, and the defendant’s contention is that the words I have quoted are to be taken literally, and that they import a contract that no action shall be commenced after the expiration of twelve months from the happening of the fire by which the property insured was damaged or destroyed. On the other
These events are made conditions and are certainly precedent to the maintenance of an action, and we are of the opinion that they cannot be disregarded in getting at the true understanding of the parties of the meaning of the clause in question. Indeed they seem to be the governing words of the contract. They are the words of the underwriters, intended for their protection, and qualify the general obligation to make good any loss not exceeding the sum insured or the interest of the assured in the property, by requiring preliminary proof, and a lapse even then of a fixed period before any cause of action can accrue. Except for these provisions, a suit would have lain upon the instant of the happening of the fire, or within a reasonable time thereafter.
Mow if we look at the clause relied upon, we find the insurers prescribing a time after which no claim shall be brought, and a declaration that it shall not be sustainable unless commenced within “ the term of twelve months,” and a greater lapse of time is made “ conclusive evidence against the validity of the claim then attempted to be enforced.” It is plain that a “ term, ” or period, is indicated after which the insurers shall not be liable, and the implied meaning of the same words must be, that within that period they are or will be liable to an action. The law in case of breach of contract limits the time of bringing an action to six years. The contract substitutes twelve months. If we take the appellant’s construction, the term of twelve months is at once narrowed to ten months, for sixty days at least must elapse after “ a loss by fire,” before any suit could be brought, and the term is subjected to such additional abatement as may be made necessary by alleged in
Here, we think, the intention of the defendant was to give the insured a full period of twelve months, within any part of which he might commence his action, and having by postponement of the time of payment, secured itself from suit, it did not intend to embrace that period within the term after the expiration of which it could not be sued. In other words, the parties cannot be presumed to have suspended the remedy and provided for the running of the period of limitation during the same time. Indeed the actual case is stronger; not only was the remedy -postponed, but the liability even did not exist at the time of the fire, nor until it was fixed and ascertained according to the provision of the policy. Having thus made the doing of certain things, and a fixed, lapse of time, thereafter, conditions precedent to the bringing of an action, the parties must be deemed to have contracted in reference to a time when the insured, except for that contract, might be in condition to bring an action. Hnder any other construction, the two conditions are inconsistent with each other.
The cases cited by the learned counsel for the parties before
Second. The policy provided that, “ if the premises are, at the time of insuring or during the life of the policy, vacant, unoccupied, or not in use, whether by removal of the owner or occupant, or for any cause, without the company’s consent is indorsed thereon, the insurance shall be void and of no effect.” The court found that the house in question was occupied by a tenant up to about the 7th day of January, 1875, at which time it became unoccupied, and that fact being communicated by the party insured to the defendant’s agents, the latter inserted the clause above referred to in the body of the policy, so as to make it a part of the contract, and also found that “the dwelling-house remained unoccupied until the latter part of January, 1875, when it was again occupied. During the non-occupancy, it was in charge of a trusty person living near by, who inspected and attended to it daily.” It also appears that more than one vacancy occurred after this time, and the house was vacant and unoccupied at the time of the fire, but it continued in charge of a trusty man living near by, taking care of it and being there every day.
The learned counsel for the appellant contends that the permission written into the policy was applicable only to the then existing vacancy. This is not its necessary limitation. On the contrary it may be deemed to modify the original contract. It
Moreover, the court find that the general agent, when informed by the insured that the house was again empty, declared “ that this clause upon the policy,” evidently referring to the permit, “ would hold good if it (the house) was unoccupied.” This evidence was admissible, and the construction given by him binds the defendant. It is true the agent testifies to the contrary, but the conflict of evidence was for the trial court, and the question was decided as one of fact and not of law. It is therefore sustained by Underwood v. Farmers' Joint-Stock Ins. Co. ( 57 N. Y. 500 ); Pechner v. Phoenix Ins. Co. (65 id. 195); Marcus v. St. Louis Mutual Life Ins. Co. (68 id. 625). It is found as a fact that the agent making the statement was a general agent, and it was clearly within the power intrusted to him as such. It is true there is a provision that “the use of general terms, or any thing less than a distinct specific agreement clearly expressed and indorsed on the policy, shall not be construed as a waiver of any printed condition or restriction therein,” but the company itself could dispense with the condition by oral consent, as well as by writing, and the general agent, unless specially restricted, could do the same. This was held in
Another defense rests upon an alleged violation of a provision of the policy declaring that “in case * * * of the creation of any lien, or the levy, of an execution ” upon “ the subject insured, without the consent of this company indorsed hereon,” the insurance secured thereby should cease. Liens by judgment and execution against the insured were obtained, but not by the consent or act of the insured. It is not necessary to consider whether or not they are within the prohibition. (Baley v. Homestead Fire Ins. Co., 80 N. Y. 21 ; 36 Am. Rep. 570 ); for after notice of the judgment, and its enforcement by execution, the company, by its general agents, consented to the assignment of the policy to the plaintiff, who was the purchaser at sheriff’s sale. It thus became in effect anew contract between the company and the assignee, unaffected by the forfeiture, if in any event it could have been insisted upon. (Shearman v. Niagara Fire Ins. Co., 46 N. Y. 526 ; Hooper v. Hudson River Fire Ins. Co., 17 id. 424.)
We have examined the other minor objections stated in the printed points of the appellant, and are of opinion that the defendant has not shown sufficient ground to sustain this appeal.
The judgment should, therefore, be affirmed.
All concur, except Miller and Tracy, JJ., absent.
Judgment affirmed.
Cases cited
- Walsh v. Hartford Fire Insurance 73 N. Y. 5 p. 316, p. 327
- Herrman v. Adriatic Fire Insurance 85 N. Y. 162 p. 319
- Hay v. Star Fire Insurance 77 N. Y. 235 p. 319
- Ames v. New-York Union Insurance 14 N. Y. 253 p. 319, p. 323
- Semmes v. Hartford Insurance 13 Wall. 158 p. 320
- Insurance Companies v. Wright 1 Wall. 456 p. 320
- Benedict v. Ocean Insurance 31 N. Y. 389 p. 320
- Bargett v. Orient Mutual Insurance 3 Bosw. 385 p. 320
- Adams v. Greenwich Insurance 70 N. Y. 166 p. 320
- Shearman v. Niagara Fire Insurance 46 N. Y. 526 p. 320, p. 327
- Carroll v. Charter Oak Insurance 38 Barb. 402 p. 320
- Titus v. Glens Falls Insurance 81 N. Y. 410 p. 320
- Baley v. Homestead Fire Insurance 80 N. Y. 21 p. 320, p. 327
- McGivney v. Phœnix Fire Insurance 1 Wend. 85 p. 320
- Pelton v. Westchester Fire Insurance 77 N. Y. 605 p. 320
- Wilkinson v. First National Fire Insurance Co. of Worcester 72 N. Y. 499 p. 321
- Hoffman v. Ætna Fire Insurance 32 N. Y. 405 p. 324
- De Grove v. Metropolitan Insurance 61 N. Y. 594 p. 324
- Underwood v. Farmers' Joint Stock Insurance 57 N. Y. 500 p. 326
- Van Allen v. Farmers' Joint Stock Insurance 64 N. Y. 469 p. 327