Majority
Headnote
Defendant insured the plaintiffs, who were common carriers, upon the cargo of a canal boat during a voyage from Buffalo to New York. The policy contained this condition : “If, in consequence of ice or the closing of navigation, the said voyage cannot be finished the same season, the risk to end at the place and at the time the voyage is stopped, three days being given to discharge.” The boat was frozen in near Schenectady the latter part of November, and the captain and crew left it. On the 25th of that month the canal commissioners passed a resolution that the canal be closed December 5. The river remained open, and on December 7 the State officers cut a channel through the ice in the canal, and the boat was towed to Albany, where, after it was “ hitched on to a steamboat,” to be taken to New York, and while lying at the dock, it sank, in consequence of an injury it received after it left the canal, and not caused by the ice. In an action upon the policy, held, that the facts did not show, as matter of law, that the risk had terminated at the time of the loss ; that the condition in the policy had reference to an event which should actually end the voyage for the season — not to a temporary difficulty which could be overcome.The plaintiffs were common carriers, and the policy in question was issued to them under the name of E. Delalnmt & Co. It took effect on the 3d and 7th of November, 1873. In terms it covered the cargo of the boat “James Maloney,” during a voyage from Buffalo to New York, but contained a provision “ that if in consequence of ice or the closing of navigation, the said voyage cannot be finished the same season, the risk to end at the place, and at the time the voyage is stopped, three days being given to discharge.”
Ice formed, and the boat was frozen in three or four miles west of Schenectady during the latter part of November, and the captain and crew left the boat.* On the 25th of that month, the canal commissioners, by resolution, determined that the canals of the State “ be closed on Friday, December 5th.” On the 7th of December, however, the State officers in charge opened the canal by letting in water and cutting a channel through the ice, and the “ Maloney,” with other boats, was towed by a tug to Troy, and thence down the river to Albany. It was there “ hitched on to a steamboat,” to be taken to New York, but before starting, and while lying at the dock, it careened over and sank. That a loss then occurred is not disputed, but the defendant contended at the trial, that by reason of the above circumstances the event had already happened, which by the clause quoted terminated the risk, and asked the
“ Countersigned at Buffalo, N. Y., this 3d day of -November, 1873.”
The second is upon “ oats,” the third on “ bones,” but except in these particulars and the amount of insurance, are similar to the first. The shipping bill ran from the master of the boat to the plaintiffs, and notice thereon to the consignee described the property as pledged to the Farmers and Mechanics’ National Bank of Buffalo, as collateral security for an accompanying draft of $730.48, and that upon payment of the draft the claim of the bank would cease. The bill of lading and the certificate of $1,000 were also indorsed over to the bank as security ; the
At the time of shipment the plaintiffs advanced to the captain of the boat $733.48 on account of freight, and the same was noted on the bill of lading. They also advanced on account of expenses in getting the property through $97. By an arrangement between Wannemaeher and the plaintiffs, and Worthington and the plaintiffs before this action was commenced, the plaintiffs became entitled to the certificates which those parties held, and they were subsequently, although not until after suit brought, returned, and they produced them on the trial. The case was submitted to the jury as one in which the plaintiffs, if entitled to any thing, might recover for the advances made and for their liability to Wannemaeher, as the owner of the bones for loss incurred on that property, and to Worthington the owner of the oats, for the residue of loss on them. The verdict rendered was for $1,700 and interest, in all $2,311.70. The defendant’s counsel, at the close of the charge, asked “ the court to charge that they (the plaintiffs) cannot recover the advances made or'any interest they had in the property.” The trial judge declined to do so, and an exception was taken. Upon this appeal no point is made upon that exception, and the argument for the appellant turns upon the ground stated in the motion for a nonsuit, or as it is now framed by its counsel, that “ the plaintiffs are not the parties in interest.”
It is conceded by the appellant that the contract of insurance was with the plaintiffs. The question raised by its- counsel relates to the effect of the certificates. They refer to the policy, adopt its provisions, and are enforceable only according to its terms. In substance they embody consent of the insurers toan assignment by the assured of an interest under the policy, and when transferred by the latter, entitle the indorsee in case of loss to recover under them. The transfers, in this case, were
It is also argued by the appellant that the policy was assigned before loss, and without notice to the defendant, and hence is 'void under a condition of the policy, which requires such notice to be given. The evidence discloses no assignment of the policy. The plaintiffs at all times continued to be its owners, subject to the interest acquired by the assignees of the certificates. So far as those instruments af; fected the title, the defendant was not entitled to notice, because by the form in which they were issued the loss was made payable to such person as the insured should appoint.
We think no error was committed in the reception of evidence, and that the learned judge properly directed the jury to inquire whether the boat was navigated with ordinary
The judgment should therefore be affirmed.
All concur, except Ruger, Ch. J., and Rapallo, J., dissenting.
Judgment affirmed.
Cases cited
- Sherwood v. Mercantile Mutual Isurance 66 N. Y. 630 p. 539, p. 541
- Greenfield v. Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance 47 N. Y. 430 p. 539
- Shotwell v. Jefferson Insurance 5 Bosw. 247 p. 539
- Horn v. Town of New Lots 83 N. Y. 100 p. 539
- Wheeler v. Ruckman 51 N. Y. 391 p. 539
- Perkins v. Hill 56 N. Y. 87 p. 539
- Bennett v. Lycoming County Mutual Insurance 67 N. Y. 274 p. 539
- Keeney v. Home Insurance 71 N. Y. 396 p. 540
- Eaton v. Alger 47 N. Y. 345 p. 544